Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "engagement members configured and dimensioned to fit" in claim 1 where “members” is the generic placeholder and “configured and dimensioned to fit” is the functional language. (*Note: the specification discloses (Summary of invention para 8) that the engagement members can include a plurality of ridges)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 13-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bartz (U.S. Patent no. 20130098210).
Regarding claim 1, Bartz discloses:
A wrench (20, Figs 2 and 5, see below, [0017]) for removing a cover on a container comprising:
a) a handle (28) at a proximal region of the wrench (handle is referred to as blade or lever arm, Figs 3, 5 and 7, [0018] [0019]); and
b) a head at a distal region of the wrench (21, Figs 2-4, [0017]), the head having
i) an inner wall (inner wall surface of aperture 22, Fig 3 [0017]);
ii) a plurality of engagement members configured and dimensioned to fit within a plurality of slots of the cover, the plurality of engagement members projecting inwardly toward a center of the head (engagement members defined as ridges or high points between respective shallow portions of ratchet 25 surface, Figs 2-3, [0017]);
iii) a plurality of slots, a slot of the plurality of slots formed between adjacent engagement members (slots defined as shallow portions between respective ridges of ratchet 25 surface, Figs 3 and 5); and
iv) a taper on the inner wall having an angle (taper defined by slope of R2 to R1, Fig 5, [0017]), the angle substantially complementing an angle of an external wall of the cover (understanding that the cover, or details of the cover wall angle, is not positively recited in the claim and that the wrench of Bartz would be capable of complementing an external wall angle of a cover, depending on the particular geometry of the cover).
Figures 2, 3 and 5 for reference:
Regarding claim 2, Bartz discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the head defines a closed circumferential area (21, Figs 2-4, [0017]).
Regarding claim 3, Bartz discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the head extends around 360 degrees to engage the cover around 360 degrees of the external wall of the cover (21, Figs 2-4, [0017]).
Regarding claim 4, Bartz discloses of the limitations of claim 3, as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the taper of extends around 360 degrees around the head (Figs 2 and 5, [0017]).
Regarding claim 5, Bartz discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the angle of the taper of the inner wall of the head exceeds an angle of the taper of the external wall of the cover (the cover is not positively recited in the claims and the taper defined by slope of R2 to R1 is capable of exceeding a cover’s taper angle, depending on the particular geometry of the cover, Fig 5, [0017]).
Regarding claim 6, Bartz discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the angle of the taper of the head converges relative to a surface angle of the cover, thereby increasing the interference with the cover and enabling higher torque to be applied (the cover is not positively recited in the claims and the taper profile defined by slope of R2 to R1 is capable of converging relative to a surface angle of a cover, depending on the particular geometry of the cover, Fig 5, [0017]).
Regarding claim 7, Bartz discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the head conforms to a profile of the cover uniformly around a circumference of the cover (depending on the particular geometry and scale of the cover Fig 5 [0017]).
Regarding claim 8, Bartz discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the head engages the cover on multiple planes in an interference engagement (any particular structure of the cover has not been positively recited, so that depending on the particular geometry and scale of the cover, the taper profile defined by slope of R2 to R1 is capable of engaging a cover on multiple planes in an interference engagement shown by annotated Fig 5 below illustrating two example tangential planes, understanding these planes exist around the circumference of the aperture, and a horizontal plane, Figs 2 and 5 [0017]).
Regarding claim 9, Bartz discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the plurality of engagement members includes a plurality of ridges extending inwardly from the internal wall of the head toward the center of the head (the ridges defined as described above, the peaks projecting inwardly from the surface of the aperture towards the center of the head, Figs 2-5 [0017]).
Regarding claim 13, Bartz discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the head has a central transverse axis extending transverse to a longitudinal axis of the wrench and passes through a center of the head, and the taper of the inner wall of the head tapers outwardly in a direction away from the central transverse axis (Annotated Fig 5 shown below to illustrate an example central transverse axis extending transverse to an example longitudinal axis of the wrench while passing through a center of the head and the taper extending outwardly from the axis).
Regarding claim 14, Bartz discloses the limitations of claim 13, as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the angle of the taper of the inner wall of the head is equal to an inwardly extending angle of the external wall of the cap (any particular structure of the cover has not been positively recited, so that depending on the particular geometry and scale of the cover, the angle of the taper profile defined by slope of R2 to R1 is capable of equaling an inwardly extending angle of the external wall of the cap on a cover Figs 2 and 5 [0017]).
Regarding claim 15, Bartz discloses the limitations of claim 14, as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the angle of the taper of the inner wall of the head is greater than an inwardly extending angle of the external wall of the cap (any particular structure of the cover has not been positively recited, so that depending on the particular geometry and scale of the cover, the angle of the taper profile defined by slope of R2 to R1 is capable of exceeding an inwardly extending angle of the external wall of the cap on a cover Figs 2 and 5 [0017]).
Regarding claim 17, Bartz discloses:
A wrench (20, Figs 2 and 5, [0017]) for removing a cover on a container comprising:
a) a handle (28) at a proximal region (handle is referred to as blade, Figs 3, 5 and 7, [0018] [0019]); and
b) a head at a distal region (21, Figs 2-4, [0017]), the head defining a closed area extending around 360 degrees (shown by the closed circular area of 21, Figs 2-4, [0017]), the head having an inner wall (inner wall surface of aperture 22, Fig 3 [0017]) having a taper angled outwardly with respect to a central transverse axis of the head (taper defined by slope of R2 to R1, Fig 5, [0017]), the taper angle being equal to or greater than an inwardly tapering angle of the cover (understanding that the cover, or details of the cover wall angle, is not positively recited in the claim and that the wrench of Bartz would be capable of equaling or exceeding an inwardly tapering angle of a cover, depending on the particular geometry of the cover).
Regarding claim 18, Bartz discloses the limitations of claim 17, as described above, and further discloses:
The wrench of claim 17, further comprising
i) a plurality of ridges extending inwardly from an internal wall of the head toward a center of the head (engagement members defined as ridges or high points between respective shallow portions of ratchet 25 surface, Fig 3, [0017]); and
ii) a plurality of slots (slots defined as shallow portions between respective ridges of ratchet 25 surface, Figs 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 19, Bartz discloses the limitations of claim 17, as described above, and further discloses:
The wrench of claim 17, wherein the angle of the taper (taper defined by slope of R2 to R1, Fig 5, [0017]) of the inner wall of the head is equal to an inwardly extending angle of an external wall of the cap (understanding that the cover, or details of the cover wall angle, is not positively recited in the claim and that the wrench of Bartz would be capable of equaling an inwardly tapering angle of a cover, depending on the particular geometry of the cover).
Regarding claim 20, Bartz discloses the limitations of claim 17, as described above, and further discloses:
The wrench of claim 17, wherein the angle of the taper (taper defined by slope of R2 to R1, Fig 5, [0017]) of the inner wall of the head is greater than an inwardly extending angle of an external wall of the cap (understanding that the cover, or details of the cover wall angle, is not positively recited in the claim and that the wrench of Bartz would be capable of exceeding an inwardly tapering angle of a cover, depending on the particular geometry of the cover).
Claims 1, 10, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hood (U.S. Patent no. 20080083302).
Regarding claim 1, Hood discloses:
A wrench (100, Figs 1 and 2) for removing a cover on a container comprising:
a) a handle at a proximal region of the wrench (110 and 120, Figs 1-4 shown below, [0031]); and
b) a head at a distal region of the wrench (Figs 1-4, [0031] [0032]), the head having
i) an inner wall (Figs 2 and 4, [0033]);
ii) a plurality of engagement members configured and dimensioned to fit within a plurality of slots of the cover, the plurality of engagement members projecting inwardly toward a center of the head (Figs 2 and 4, [0041] [0042]);
iii) a plurality of slots, a slot of the plurality of slots formed between adjacent engagement members (The slots are formed between the “gripping portions” seen in Figs 2 and 4, [0041] [0042]); and
iv) a taper on the inner wall having an angle (Taper formed by the triangular arrangement or the V-shaped arrangement Figs 2 and 4 [0043] [0044] [0045]), the angle substantially complementing an angle of an external wall of the cover (understanding that the cover, or details of the cover wall angle, is not positively recited in the claim and that the wrench of Hood would be capable of complementing an external wall angle of a cover, depending on the particular geometry of the cover).
Figures 1-4 for reference:
Regarding claim 10, Hood discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the plurality of engagement members are arranged in an asymmetric pattern (Figs 1, 2 and 4 illustrate the asymmetrical arrangement of engagement members (151, 152, 161, 162).
Regarding claim 12, Hood discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses:
further comprising a ratcheting mechanism (Figs 4-6 and 8 illustrate the ratcheting mechanism [0014] [0036] [0037] [0038]).
Regarding claim 16, Hood discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, and further discloses:
wherein the head forms an open area extending less than 180 degrees (Figs 1 and 7 exhibit the jar opener in the open position demonstrating the tool’s ability to form an open area of less than 180 degrees [0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartz in view of Hsieh (U.S. Patent no. 6145414).
Regarding claim 11, Bartz discloses the limitations of claim 1, as described above, Bartz fails to teach a wrench wherein one or more of the plurality of engagement members is wider than an adjacent member.
Regarding claim 11, Hsieh teaches a wrench (Fig 14) wherein one or more of the plurality of engagement members is wider than an adjacent member (the longitudinal lengths of the first tooth (11) and the second (12) and third teeth (13) are designed at a ratio of 4:3:3, Fig 15-20 [3]).
Bartz and Hsieh are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor: hand tools. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the hand tool of Bartz to incorporate the teachings of Hsieh and provide a wrench wherein one or more of the plurality of engagement members is wider than an adjacent member. This would produce the predictable result of positively grasping and turning covers or caps of covers [3].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent no. 20130283979 a Cap Wrench for Military Style Fuel Cans teaches an opening tool with a head, a handle and specialized engagement member geometry. U.S. Patent no. 20080072709 a Container Top Opener with Directionally Inclined Gripping Ribs teaches an opening tool with a head containing tapered engagement members in the inner wall of the head.
/J.M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/HADI SHAKERI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723