Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujita et al. (US 2018/0019375 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fujita et al. teach a method for manufacturing a nitride semiconductor light-emitting element (III-nitride semiconductor light-emitting device 100; Figs. 1 and 2C, [0038]), comprising: forming a light-emitting layer (40; Fig. 2C, [0038]) comprising a well layer (41; Fig. 1, [0038]) comprising AlGaN ([0039]) and emitting ultraviolet light ([0030]); forming, on the light-emitting layer (40), an electron blocking layer (50b1; Fig. 2C, [0053]) comprising AlGaN ([0039]) with a first Al composition ratio (the Al composition ratio of 50b1) higher than an Al composition ratio of the well layer (the Al content of 41; the Al content of 50b1, which is a part of the layer 50, is higher than the Al content of 42, which is higher than Al content of 41; [0053, 0043, 0042]); forming an intermediate layer (50a/50b2/50c is an intermediate layer between 50b1 and 60; Fig. 2C) containing both the n-type dopant (50a is Si-based doped and Si is an n-type dopant; Fig. 2C, [0038, 0040]) and the p-type dopant (50c is p-type doped and has p-type impurities; Fig. 2C, [0051]) by intermittently supplying an n-type dopant (dopants are supplied using impurity gases as disclosed in [0081], n-type dopant of Si is supplied to 50a of Si doped layer, but stopped at the layer 50b2 of undoped layer; Fig. 2C; [0053, 0081]) and a p-type dopant (dopants are supplied using impurity gases as disclosed in [0081], p-type dopant is stopped in layers 50a of Si doped layer and 50b2 of undoped layer, but is started in the layer 50c of p doped layer; [0053-0054, 0081]) onto an upper surface of the electron blocking layer (50b1; see Figs 2C and 4G; [0053, 0038, 0069]); and forming, on the intermediate layer (50a, 50b2, 50c), a p-type cladding layer (60; Fig. 2C, [0038]) comprising AlGaN ([0039]) with a second Al composition ratio (the Al content of 60; [0038]) lower than the first Al composition ratio (the Al content of 50b1, which is a part of the layer 50, is higher than the Al content of 60, [0053, 0038]) and being doped with a predetermined concentration of a p-type dopant ([0044]).
Fujita et al. do not explicitly teach a second Al composition ratio higher than the Al composition ratio of the well layer.
Fujita et al. teach a second Al composition ratio (the Al content of 60, which includes 61; [0038, 0043, 0055]) to be 0.35≦y<b ([0055]), where y is the Al content of 61, and b is the Al content of the barrier layer as shown in [0020], and 0.4≦b≦0.95 as shown in ([0020]). Thus, 0.35≦y<0.95. Fujita et al. also teach the Al composition ratio of the well layer to be from 0.3 to 0.8 ([0042]). Thus, Fujita et al. teach at least a partial range of y (i.e. a second Al composition ratio) from about 0.8 to 0.95 would satisfy the claimed relationship of “a second Al composition ratio higher than the Al composition ratio of the well layer”, that establishes a prima facie case of obviousness (MPEP 2144.05).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Northrup et al. (US 2013/0082237 A1) teach a light emitting device having Mg doped layers on the top of the electron blocking layer.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 7/12/2026