DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conover (US 4387902).
Regarding claim 1, Conover discloses a sealing ring 10 Fig. 1, comprising an annular base 11 comprising an inner annular side and an outer annular side; an arc-shaped inside sealing portion 16 protruding inwardly from the inner annular side wherein the inside sealing portion has a contour undulating in an axial direction of the annular base or inclined with respect to a radial direction of the annular base. However, Fig. 1 of Conover fails to explicitly disclose an outside sealing portion protruding outwardly from an outer annular side. Fig. 7 of Conover shows this to be well known in the art. Fig. 7 of Conover discloses the use of an arc-shaped outside sealing portion 16’ protruding outwardly from an outer annular side 20 wherein the outside sealing portion has a contour undulating in an axial direction of the annular base or inclined with respect to a radial direction of the annular base. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to provide the outer side of Conover Fig. 1 with a sealing portion as taught by Conover Fig. 7 with a reasonable expectation for success providing sealing on either surface. Regarding claims 2 and 14, the combination discloses wherein the undulating contour 16 forms a wavy contour.
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses wherein the inclined contour 16 comprises one highest point and one lowest point.
Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses wherein the undulating contour 16 comprises at least two highest points and at least two lowest points, wherein the at least two highest points are arranged rotationally symmetrically with respect to an axis of the annular base, and the at least two lowest points are arranged rotationally symmetrically with respect to the axis of the annular base Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses wherein each of the inside sealing portion 16 and the outside sealing portion 16’ has the contour undulating in the axial direction of the annular base 11 or inclined with respect to the radial direction of the annular base. Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses wherein the contour of the inside sealing portion 16 and the contour of the outside sealing portion 16’ undulate or are inclined synchronously with respect to the annular base 11.
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses wherein the contour of the inside sealing portion 16 and the contour of the outside sealing portion 16’ undulate or are inclined asynchronously with respect to the annular base.
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses wherein the inside sealing portion 16 and the outside sealing portion 16’ each have a sealing surface with arc-shaped cross-sections.
Regarding claim 9, the combination discloses wherein: the annular base 11 comprises a first end and a second end in the axial direction; and the contour 16’ Fig. 7 comprises a first portion which is closer to the first end and a second portion which is closer to the second end, and the contour is configured such that during deformation of the contour being pressed by a component in dynamic contact therewith, the first portion of the contour is pressed and deformed by the component before the second portion, and when the first portion of the contour is pressed and deformed by the component, the second portion of the contour has not been in contact with the component or is not pressed and deformed by the component.
Regarding claim 10, the combination discloses wherein: the annular base 11, the inside sealing portion 16 and the outside sealing portion 16’ are integrally formed. Regarding claim 11, the combination discloses a connector assembly Fig. 7, comprising: a female connector 23; a male connector 22 inserted into the female connector; and a sealing ring 20, wherein the sealing ring is arranged between an outer side of the male connector and an inner side of the female connector to achieve a sealing between the outer side of the male connector and the inner side of the female connector.
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses wherein: the outer side of the male connector 22 Fig. 7 is provided with a male connector accommodation groove 21 in which the sealing ring 20 is at least partially retained; or the inner side of the female connector Fig. 6 is provided with a female connector accommodation groove 12 in which the sealing ring 10 is at least partially retained.
Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses a sealing ring 10 Fig. 1, comprising: an annular base 11 comprising an inner annular side and an outer annular side; an inside sealing portion 16 protruding inwardly from the inner annular side; and an outside sealing portion 16’ Fig. 7 protruding outwardly from the outer annular side, wherein each of the inside sealing portion and the outside sealing portion have an undulating contour that follows an identical direction with each other. However, the combination fails to explicitly disclose the cross section of the sealing ring having a circular cross-section configuration. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that the configuration of the claimed element was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed element was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Regarding claims 15 and 19, the combination as modified discloses the circular cross section comprises at least two highest points and at least two lowest points, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least two highest points are arranged rotationally symmetrically with respect to an axis of the annular base, and the at least two lowest points are arranged rotationally symmetrically with respect to the axis of the annular base. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to control sealing and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 16, the combination discloses wherein: the inside sealing portion 16 Fig. 1 and the outside sealing portion 16’ Fig. 7 each have a sealing surface with an arc-shaped cross-section and the annular base has a rectangular cross-section.
Regarding claim 18, the combination discloses wherein: the annular base 11, the inside sealing portion 16 and the outside sealing portion 16’ are integrally formed.
Regarding claim 20, the combination discloses a connector assembly, comprising: a female connector 23; a male connector 22 inserted into the female connector; and a sealing ring 20, wherein the sealing ring is arranged between an outer side of the male connector and an inner side of the female connector to achieve a sealing between the outer side of the male connector and the inner side of the female connector.
Regarding claim 21, the combination wherein: the outer side of the male connector 22 is provided with a male connector accommodation groove 21 Fig. 7 in which the sealing ring is at least partially retained; or the inner side of the female connector is provided with a female connector accommodation groove 12 Fig. 6 in which the sealing ring is at least partially retained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/14/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant continues to argue that the Conover reference does disclose a seal (already being provided), alleging that "interference and resiliently stressed extensive sidewall and groove-bottom support," are words used to describe a sealing connection. The Examiner disagrees, the Conover reference discloses the size selected is to assure uniform stabilized support by and between the spaced sidewalls of a retaining groove and not creating a seal.
Applicant further argues alleging that the proposed modification actually appears to make a poorer seal. This is not persuasive, since the seal of Conover is constructed to substantially reduce wear, as compared with the indicated types of seals which the inventive seal is particularly adapted to replace. And there is absolutely no tendency of the seal to develop the torsional twist which characterizes prior constructions, thus providing the sealing protrusion on either or both side would not destroy the sealing.
Applicant further argues that the Conover reference fails to disclose that the inside sealing portion and the outside sealing portion each have a sealing surface with an arc-shaped cross-section. The Examiner disagrees. The Conover reference does in fact disclose an arc-shaped cross section (at 16) as clearly illustrated in Fig. 3 below.
Applicant further argues that configuration of the portions of the inside sealing portion, the annular base, and the outside sealing portion together form a circular cross-section is not disclose by the Conover reference. As discussed above, it has been held that the configuration of the claimed element was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed element was significant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675