DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment, filed 05/12/2026.
Claims 79-81, 83, 86-102 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 82, and 84-85 have been cancelled, and claims 79, 93, 97 and 101-102 have been amended. This action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 79, 88, 93-95, and 100-102 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reisman et al. (“Reisman” Pub. No. 2024/0061513), and Stafford et al. (“Stafford”, Pub. No. 2016/0306431).
Per claim 79, Reisman teaches a computer system configured to communicate with one or more input devices a wrist-worn device, the computer system comprising:
one or more processors; and memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for:
detecting, via one or more input devices that are incorporated into the wrist-worn device, an air gesture that is performed by a hand and that includes a rotation of the hand (figs 1A-1C and 2A-2C; [0053]…FIG. 1C shows the user 115 rotating their wrist (e.g., a navigation gesture) while maintaining the pinch gesture from FIG. 1B. FIG. 1C further shows selection of a user interface element 135 (e.g., a music application) within the radial menu 131 in accordance with wrist rotation. [0054]… FIG. 1D shows selection of a user interface element 137 (e.g., a camera application) within the radial menu 131 in accordance with wrist rotation. [0059]…The notification 216 indicates to the user that a rotating their wrist would confirm that they want to send the user message 210 to the remote user (John). [0060]… FIG. 2C shows the user 115 having rotated their wrist 90 degrees (e.g., a control gesture) while holding the pinch gesture. FIG. 2C further shows the scene 204 with (responsive to the control gesture) an updated communication interface 208 with element 220 indicating that the user message 210 has been sent to the remote user (John).); and
in response to detecting the air gesture:
in accordance with a determination that the air gesture satisfies a first set of criteria, wherein the first set of criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the rotation of the hand was detected while the hand was performing a pinch gesture (figs 1A-1C and 2A-2C; [0053]…FIG. 1C shows the user 115 rotating their wrist (e.g., a navigation gesture) while maintaining the pinch gesture from FIG. 1B. FIG. 1C further shows selection of a user interface element 135 (e.g., a music application) within the radial menu 131 in accordance with wrist rotation. [0054]… FIG. 1D shows selection of a user interface element 137 (e.g., a camera application) within the radial menu 131 in accordance with wrist rotation. [0060]… FIG. 2C shows the user 115 having rotated their wrist 90 degrees (e.g., a control gesture) while holding the pinch gesture. FIG. 2C further shows the scene 204 with (responsive to the control gesture) an updated communication interface 208 with element 220 indicating that the user message 210 has been sent to the remote user (John).);
performing, at the computer system, a first operation based on the air gesture, wherein performing the first operation includes performing the first operation based on a magnitude of movement of the rotation of the hand (figs 1A-1C and 2A-2C; [0053]…FIG. 1C shows the user 115 rotating their wrist (e.g., a navigation gesture) while maintaining the pinch gesture from FIG. 1B. FIG. 1C further shows selection of a user interface element 135 (e.g., a music application) within the radial menu 131 in accordance with wrist rotation. [0060]… FIG. 2C shows the user 115 having rotated their wrist 90 degrees (e.g., a control gesture) while holding the pinch gesture. FIG. 2C further shows the scene 204 with (responsive to the control gesture) an updated communication interface 208 with element 220 indicating that the user message 210 has been sent to the remote user (John).); and
initiating a process for generating a set of one or more haptic outputs that indicates that the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria, wherein initiating the process for generating the set of one or more haptic outputs includes sending one or more instructions that cause the wrist-worn device to generate the set of one or more haptic outputs that indicates that the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria ([0061]…in some embodiments, the wrist-wearable device 120 and/or the head-wearable device 202 provides visual, audio, and/or haptic feedback to the user to indicate that a performed gesture stage has been detected (e.g., distinct feedback provided in response to each type of gesture).);
Reisman does not specifically teach in accordance with a determination that the hand was not performing the pinch gesture when the rotation of the hand was detected, forgoing performing the first operation based on the air gesture.
However, Stafford teaches in accordance with a determination that the hand was not performing the pinch gesture when the rotation of the hand was detected, forgoing performing the first operation based on the air gesture ([0158]… When the scene 602B is being displayed on the HMD 102, the user 106 releases a pinch and hold gesture, e.g., the pinch and hold gesture performed using the left hand 130A, etc. [0159]…Upon determining that a pinch and hold gesture is not performed by the user 106, the processor of the game console 408 unpins, e.g., detaches, disassociates, inactivates, etc., a coupling between the pinch and hold gesture and the scene 602B. For example, the processor of the game console 408 determines not to move, e.g., translate, rotate, slide, etc., the scene 602B with movement of a hand of the user 106 with which the pinch and hold gesture was being performed. As another example, the scene 602B does not change when the user 106 moves his/her hands after a release gesture is performed until the user 106 makes another pinch and hold gesture.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Stafford in the invention of Reisman because doing so would enhance operability of the system in performing operations based on combination of user gestures.
Per claim 88, the modified Reisman teaches he computer system of claim 79, the one or more programs including further instructions for: while performing the first operation based on the air gesture, detecting a first change to the air gesture that includes the rotation of the hand and in response to detecting the first change to the air gesture that includes the rotation of the hand and in accordance with a determination that the rotation of the hand has stopped while the hand has continued to perform the pinch gesture, continuing to perform the first operation (Reisman, fig. 1C and 1D; [0053] and [0054]; which show the user can selectively stopping wrist rotation at each user interface element such as element 135 and 137 of Figs. 1C and 1D. In addition, Fig. 1C and 1D show continuing of an operation of navigating through radial menu 131 and displaying options for each element 135 and 137 of the radial menu 131).
Per claim 93, the modified Reisman teaches the computer system of claim 79, the one or more programs further including instructions for: while performing the first operation based on the air gesture, detecting a third change to the air gesture that includes the rotation of the hand and in response to detecting the third change to the air gesture that includes the rotation of the hand and in accordance with a determination that the hand is no longer performing the pinch gesture, ceasing performance of the first operation (Reisman, fig. 1C and 1D; [0050]… performing a pinch gesture could display the menu, movement of the wrist could allow navigation through the menu as shown in figs. 1C and 1D. [0053]…FIG. 1C shows the user 115 rotating their wrist (e.g., a navigation gesture) while maintaining the pinch gesture from FIG. 1B. FIG. 1C further shows selection of a user interface element 135 (e.g., a music application) within the radial menu 131 in accordance with wrist rotation. [0054]…FIG. 1D shows selection of a user interface element 137 (e.g., a camera application) within the radial menu 131 in accordance with wrist rotation. [0055]…In some embodiments, the radial menu 131 is no longer displayed in accordance with the user releasing the pinch gesture. Stafford, [0158]… When the scene 602B is being displayed on the HMD 102, the user 106 releases a pinch and hold gesture, e.g., the pinch and hold gesture performed using the left hand 130A, etc. [0159]…Upon determining that a pinch and hold gesture is not performed by the user 106, the processor of the game console 408 unpins, e.g., detaches, disassociates, inactivates, etc., a coupling between the pinch and hold gesture and the scene 602B. For example, the processor of the game console 408 determines not to move, e.g., translate, rotate, slide, etc., the scene 602B with movement of a hand of the user 106 with which the pinch and hold gesture was being performed. As another example, the scene 602B does not change when the user 106 moves his/her hands after a release gesture is performed until the user 106 makes another pinch and hold gesture.).
Per claim 94, the modified Reisman teaches the computer system of claim 79, wherein the first operation is an operation that is performed with respect to one or more virtual objects in an extended reality environment (Reisman, [0048]…Embodiments of this disclosure may include or be implemented in conjunction with various types or embodiments of artificial-reality systems. Artificial reality constitutes a form of reality that has been altered by virtual objects for presentation to a user. Such artificial reality may include and/or represent virtual reality (VR), augmented reality (AR), mixed reality (MR), hybrid reality, or some combination and/or variation of one or more of the these. Artificial-reality content may include completely generated content or generated content combined with captured (e.g., real-world) content. The artificial-reality content may include video, audio, haptic feedback, or some combination thereof, any of which may be presented in a single channel or in multiple channels (such as stereo video that produces a three-dimensional effect to a viewer). Additionally, in some embodiments, artificial reality may also be associated with applications, products, accessories, services, or some combination thereof, which are used, for example, to create content in an artificial reality and/or are otherwise used in (e.g., to perform activities in) an artificial reality.)
Per claim 95, the modified Reisman teaches the computer system of claim 79, wherein the computer system is in communication with a includes one or more display generation components, and wherein the first set of criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when the one or more display generation components are in an active state (Reisman, figs 1A-1C and 2A-2C; [0058]…The user 115 in FIG. 2A is viewing a scene 204 that includes a communication interface 208 with a user message 210 and a notification 212 (i.e. an active state). The notification 212 indicates to the user that a pinch gesture would cause the user message 210 to be sent to a remote user (John). In the example of FIG. 2A, the wrist-wearable device 120 includes a display with a user interface 214 that corresponds to (duplicates) the communication interface 208 (e.g., the user can view (and optionally interact) with either the interface 208 or the interface 214) (i.e. an active state) ).
Per claim 100, the modified Reisman teaches the computer system of claim 79, wherein performing the first operation based on the air gesture includes:
in response to detecting a first portion of the air gesture that includes a pinch and hold gesture, displaying, via one or more display generation components that are incorporated into the computer system, a plurality of virtual objects that includes a virtual object that corresponds to a first application (Reisman, [0052]… FIG. 1B shows the user 115 performing a pinch gesture (e.g., a priming gesture) that involves the user's pinkie finger contacting the thumb. FIG. 1B further shows the scene 130 updating (responsive to the pinch gesture) to include multiple options (e.g., tooltips) for interacting with a user interface element 133 (e.g., corresponding to a messenger application) on the radial menu 131 (i.e. computer-generated object or virtual object).); and
while displaying the plurality of virtual objects and while continuing to detect the air gesture, detecting a second portion of the air gesture that includes the rotation of the hand (Reisman, [0053]… FIG. 1C shows the user 115 rotating their wrist (e.g., a navigation gesture) while maintaining the pinch gesture from FIG. 1B. FIG. 1C further shows selection of a user interface element 135 (e.g., a music application) within the radial menu 131 in accordance with wrist rotation.);
in response to detecting the second portion of the air gesture that includes the rotation of the hand, updating an appearance of a user interface that includes the plurality of virtual objects, including indicating that input focus has moved from the virtual object that corresponds to the first application to a virtual object that corresponds to a second application that is different from the first application (Reisman, [0054]…FIG. 1D shows selection of a user interface element 137 (e.g., a camera application) within the radial menu 131 in accordance with wrist rotation.);
while updating an appearance of a user interface and while indicating that the virtual object that corresponds to the second application has input focus, detecting a third portion of the air gesture that includes release of the pinch and hold gesture and in response to detecting the third portion of the air gesture that includes release of the pinch and hold gesture while displaying the virtual object that corresponds to the second application, displaying a user interface that corresponds the second application (Reisman, [0009]…In one example, a priming gesture can include a press-and-hold of the user's middle finger and thumb (which can then cause activation of a user interface, such as by causing display of a menu of options, followed by a navigation gesture that can include rotational movement of a user's wrist to move between the menu of options, followed by a control gesture (e.g., release of the press-and-hold gesture) to cause execution of a command associated with a currently in-focus option when the control gesture is received. [0050]… Robin could use a single multi-stage in-air hand gesture present a menu, navigate to the video player application within the menu, and open it. For example, performing a pinch gesture could display the menu, movement of the wrist could allow navigation through the menu, and releasing the pinch could activate the icon for the video player application.)
Claims 101 and 102 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 79.
Claim(s) 80-81, 83, 86-87, and 89-92 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reisman et al. (“Reisman” Pub. No. 2024/0061513), Stafford et al. (“Stafford”, Pub. No. 2016/0306431), and Hong et al. (“Hong”, US 2015/0085621).
Per claim 80, Reisman teaches the computer system of claim 79, but does not teach wherein: in response to detecting the air gesture and in accordance with a determination that the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria: in accordance with a determination that the hand was rotated with a first magnitude of movement, the first operation is performed with a first magnitude of performance; and in accordance with a determination that the hand was rotated with a second magnitude of movement that is different from the first magnitude of movement, the first operation is performed with a second magnitude of performance that is different from the first magnitude of performance.
However, Hong teaches in response to detecting the air gesture and in accordance with a determination that the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria: in accordance with a determination that the hand was rotated with a first magnitude of movement, the first operation is performed with a first magnitude of performance, and in accordance with a determination that the hand was rotated with a second magnitude of movement that is different from the first magnitude of movement, the first operation is performed with a second magnitude of performance that is different from the first magnitude of performance (figs. 2-9; [0029]…The rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch. More specifically, the rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch using at least one rotation sensing means included in the smart watch and may transmit a sensing result to the processor 1050. [0052]…As previously described with reference to FIG. 2, the smart watch 4010 of the disclosure may detect a snap motion in the first direction (hereinafter, referred to as a first snap motion) and a snap motion in the second direction (hereinafter, referred to as a second snap motion) in different manners. At this time, the first direction and the second direction may correspond to an outward direction and an inward direction, respectively. The smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at a first threshold speed or more as the first snap motion. On the other hand, the smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at less than the first threshold speed and then rotating in the second direction at a second threshold speed or more within a predetermined time as the second snap motion. The first threshold speed and the second threshold speed may be the same or different from each other. The threshold speeds may be set based on design of the smart watch 4010 or kind and purpose of an application being executed by the smart watch 4010 or by a user. [0063]… a wrist 5010 of a human can rotate within a predetermined angle range. On the assumption that, when a back side of a hand of the human is parallel to the ground, the wrist 5010 of the human is at an angle of 0 degrees, the wrist 5010 of the human can rotated by about 180 degrees although there are differences among individuals. Consequently, the first position and the second position may be changed depending upon current tilts .theta.1 and .theta.2 of the wrist 5010. For example, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 45 degrees in a state in which the smart watch is currently at the first position, the first direction may be an outward direction and the second direction may be an inward direction. On the other hand, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 135 degrees, the first direction may be an inward direction and the second direction may be an outward direction. As previously described, the first direction may be a rotation direction in which a maximum rotation angle is relatively large and the second direction may be a rotation direction in which the maximum rotation angle is relatively small.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Hong in the invention of Reisman because doing so would enhance user’s interactions by detecting a variety of arm motions of the user and allowing a variety of commands may correspond to the detected motions.
Per claim 81, Reismnan teaches the computer system of claim 79, but does not teach wherein: in response to detecting the air gesture and in accordance with a determination that the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria: in accordance with a determination that the hand was rotated at a first speed and the hand was rotated a first angular distance, the first operation is performed with a third magnitude of performance; and in accordance with a determination that the hand was rotated at a second speed that is greater than the first speed and the hand was rotated a second angular distance that is different from the first angular distance, the first operation is performed with a fourth magnitude of performance that is different from greater than the third magnitude of performance.
However, Hong teaches in response to detecting the air gesture and in accordance with a determination that the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria: in accordance with a determination that the hand was rotated at a first speed and the hand was rotated a first angular distance, the first operation is performed with a third magnitude of performance, and in accordance with a determination that the hand was rotated at a second speed that is greater than the first speed and the hand was rotated a second angular distance that is different from the first angular distance, the first operation is performed with a fourth magnitude of performance that is different from greater than the third magnitude of performance (figs. 2-9; [0029]…The rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch. More specifically, the rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch using at least one rotation sensing means included in the smart watch and may transmit a sensing result to the processor 1050. [0052]…As previously described with reference to FIG. 2, the smart watch 4010 of the disclosure may detect a snap motion in the first direction (hereinafter, referred to as a first snap motion) and a snap motion in the second direction (hereinafter, referred to as a second snap motion) in different manners. At this time, the first direction and the second direction may correspond to an outward direction and an inward direction, respectively. The smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at a first threshold speed or more as the first snap motion. On the other hand, the smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at less than the first threshold speed and then rotating in the second direction at a second threshold speed or more within a predetermined time as the second snap motion. The first threshold speed and the second threshold speed may be the same or different from each other. The threshold speeds may be set based on design of the smart watch 4010 or kind and purpose of an application being executed by the smart watch 4010 or by a user. [0063]… a wrist 5010 of a human can rotate within a predetermined angle range. On the assumption that, when a back side of a hand of the human is parallel to the ground, the wrist 5010 of the human is at an angle of 0 degrees, the wrist 5010 of the human can rotated by about 180 degrees although there are differences among individuals. Consequently, the first position and the second position may be changed depending upon current tilts .theta.1 and .theta.2 of the wrist 5010. For example, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 45 degrees in a state in which the smart watch is currently at the first position, the first direction may be an outward direction and the second direction may be an inward direction. On the other hand, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 135 degrees, the first direction may be an inward direction and the second direction may be an outward direction. As previously described, the first direction may be a rotation direction in which a maximum rotation angle is relatively large and the second direction may be a rotation direction in which the maximum rotation angle is relatively small.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Hong in the invention of Reisman because doing so would enhance user’s interactions by detecting a variety of arm motions of the user and allowing a variety of commands may correspond to the detected motions.
Per claim 83, Reisman teaches the computer system of claim 79, but does not specifically teach wherein: in response to detecting the air gesture and in accordance with a determination that the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria: in accordance with a determination that the hand was rotated in a first direction, the first operation is performed based on the first direction, and in accordance with a determination that the hand was rotated in a second direction that is different from the first direction, the first operation is performed based on the second direction.
However, Hong teaches in response to detecting the air gesture and in accordance with a determination that the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria: in accordance with a determination that the hand was rotated in a first direction, the first operation is performed based on the first direction, and in accordance with a determination that the hand was rotated in a second direction that is different from the first direction, the first operation is performed based on the second direction (figs. 2-9; [0029]…The rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch. More specifically, the rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch using at least one rotation sensing means included in the smart watch and may transmit a sensing result to the processor 1050. [0052]…As previously described with reference to FIG. 2, the smart watch 4010 of the disclosure may detect a snap motion in the first direction (hereinafter, referred to as a first snap motion) and a snap motion in the second direction (hereinafter, referred to as a second snap motion) in different manners. At this time, the first direction and the second direction may correspond to an outward direction and an inward direction, respectively. The smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at a first threshold speed or more as the first snap motion. On the other hand, the smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at less than the first threshold speed and then rotating in the second direction at a second threshold speed or more within a predetermined time as the second snap motion. The first threshold speed and the second threshold speed may be the same or different from each other. The threshold speeds may be set based on design of the smart watch 4010 or kind and purpose of an application being executed by the smart watch 4010 or by a user. [0063]… a wrist 5010 of a human can rotate within a predetermined angle range. On the assumption that, when a back side of a hand of the human is parallel to the ground, the wrist 5010 of the human is at an angle of 0 degrees, the wrist 5010 of the human can rotated by about 180 degrees although there are differences among individuals. Consequently, the first position and the second position may be changed depending upon current tilts .theta.1 and .theta.2 of the wrist 5010. For example, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 45 degrees in a state in which the smart watch is currently at the first position, the first direction may be an outward direction and the second direction may be an inward direction. On the other hand, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 135 degrees, the first direction may be an inward direction and the second direction may be an outward direction. As previously described, the first direction may be a rotation direction in which a maximum rotation angle is relatively large and the second direction may be a rotation direction in which the maximum rotation angle is relatively small.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Hong in the invention of Reisman because doing so would enhance user’s interactions by detecting a variety of arm motions of the user and allowing a variety of commands may correspond to the detected motions.
Per claim 86, Reisman teaches the computer system of claim 79, comprising generating a first set of one or more haptic outputs that indicates the first state in the first sequence of states has been reached and generating a second set of one or more haptic outputs that indicates that the second state in the first sequence of states have been reached ([0061]…in some embodiments, the wrist-wearable device 120 and/or the head-wearable device 202 provides visual, audio, and/or haptic feedback to the user to indicate that a performed gesture stage has been detected (e.g., distinct feedback provided in response to each type of gesture)).
Reisman does not specifically teach wherein performing the first operation based on the air gesture includes transitioning through a first sequence of states, and the one or more programs further including instructions for: while transitioning through the first sequence of states: a determination that a first state in the first sequence of states has been reached, a determination that a second state in the first sequence of states has been reached.
However, Hong teaches wherein performing the first operation based on the air gesture includes transitioning through a first sequence of states, and the one or more programs further including instructions for: while transitioning through the first sequence of states: a determination that a first state in the first sequence of states has been reached, a determination that a second state in the first sequence of states has been reached (figs. 2-9; [0029]…The rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch. More specifically, the rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch using at least one rotation sensing means included in the smart watch and may transmit a sensing result to the processor 1050. [0052]…As previously described with reference to FIG. 2, the smart watch 4010 of the disclosure may detect a snap motion in the first direction (hereinafter, referred to as a first snap motion) and a snap motion in the second direction (hereinafter, referred to as a second snap motion) in different manners. At this time, the first direction and the second direction may correspond to an outward direction and an inward direction, respectively. The smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at a first threshold speed or more as the first snap motion. On the other hand, the smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at less than the first threshold speed and then rotating in the second direction at a second threshold speed or more within a predetermined time as the second snap motion. The first threshold speed and the second threshold speed may be the same or different from each other. The threshold speeds may be set based on design of the smart watch 4010 or kind and purpose of an application being executed by the smart watch 4010 or by a user. [0063]… a wrist 5010 of a human can rotate within a predetermined angle range. On the assumption that, when a back side of a hand of the human is parallel to the ground, the wrist 5010 of the human is at an angle of 0 degrees, the wrist 5010 of the human can rotated by about 180 degrees although there are differences among individuals. Consequently, the first position and the second position may be changed depending upon current tilts .theta.1 and .theta.2 of the wrist 5010. For example, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 45 degrees in a state in which the smart watch is currently at the first position, the first direction may be an outward direction and the second direction may be an inward direction. On the other hand, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 135 degrees, the first direction may be an inward direction and the second direction may be an outward direction. As previously described, the first direction may be a rotation direction in which a maximum rotation angle is relatively large and the second direction may be a rotation direction in which the maximum rotation angle is relatively small.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Hong in the invention of Reisman because doing so would enhance user’s interactions by detecting a variety of arm motions of the user and allowing a variety of commands may correspond to the detected motions.
Per claim 87, Reisman teaches the computer system of claim 79, comprising generating a respective set of one or more haptic outputs that indicates that the particular state has been reached ([0061]…in some embodiments, the wrist-wearable device 120 and/or the head-wearable device 202 provides visual, audio, and/or haptic feedback to the user to indicate that a performed gesture stage has been detected (e.g., distinct feedback provided in response to each type of gesture)).
Reisman does not specifically teach performing the first operation based on the air gesture includes transitioning through a second sequence of states, and the one or more programs further including instructions for: while transitioning through the second sequence of states, and detecting that a particular state in the second sequence of states has been reached.
However, Hong teaches performing the first operation based on the air gesture includes transitioning through a second sequence of states, and the one or more programs further including instructions for: while transitioning through the second sequence of states, and detecting that a particular state in the second sequence of states has been reached (figs. 2-9; [0029]…The rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch. More specifically, the rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch using at least one rotation sensing means included in the smart watch and may transmit a sensing result to the processor 1050. [0052]…As previously described with reference to FIG. 2, the smart watch 4010 of the disclosure may detect a snap motion in the first direction (hereinafter, referred to as a first snap motion) and a snap motion in the second direction (hereinafter, referred to as a second snap motion) in different manners. At this time, the first direction and the second direction may correspond to an outward direction and an inward direction, respectively. The smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at a first threshold speed or more as the first snap motion. On the other hand, the smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at less than the first threshold speed and then rotating in the second direction at a second threshold speed or more within a predetermined time as the second snap motion. The first threshold speed and the second threshold speed may be the same or different from each other. The threshold speeds may be set based on design of the smart watch 4010 or kind and purpose of an application being executed by the smart watch 4010 or by a user. [0063]… a wrist 5010 of a human can rotate within a predetermined angle range. On the assumption that, when a back side of a hand of the human is parallel to the ground, the wrist 5010 of the human is at an angle of 0 degrees, the wrist 5010 of the human can rotated by about 180 degrees although there are differences among individuals. Consequently, the first position and the second position may be changed depending upon current tilts .theta.1 and .theta.2 of the wrist 5010. For example, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 45 degrees in a state in which the smart watch is currently at the first position, the first direction may be an outward direction and the second direction may be an inward direction. On the other hand, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 135 degrees, the first direction may be an inward direction and the second direction may be an outward direction. As previously described, the first direction may be a rotation direction in which a maximum rotation angle is relatively large and the second direction may be a rotation direction in which the maximum rotation angle is relatively small.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Hong in the invention of Reisman because doing so would enhance user’s interactions by detecting a variety of arm motions of the user and allowing a variety of commands may correspond to the detected motions.
Per claim 89, Reisman teaches the computer system of claim 79, ceasing to perform the first operation ([0056]…the radial menu ceases to be displayed in response to a control gesture being performed).
Reisman does not specifically teach the one or more programs further including instructions for: while performing the first operation based on the air gesture, detecting a second change to the air gesture that includes the rotation of the hand; and in response to detecting the second change to the air gesture that includes the rotation of the hand and a determination that the hand has changed from being rotated in a first direction to be rotated in a second direction that is different from the first direction.
However, Hong teaches performing the first operation based on the air gesture, detecting a second change to the air gesture that includes the rotation of the hand and in response to detecting the second change to the air gesture that includes the rotation of the hand and a determination that the hand has changed from being rotated in a first direction to be rotated in a second direction that is different from the first direction (figs. 2-9; [0029]…The rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch. More specifically, the rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch using at least one rotation sensing means included in the smart watch and may transmit a sensing result to the processor 1050. [0052]…As previously described with reference to FIG. 2, the smart watch 4010 of the disclosure may detect a snap motion in the first direction (hereinafter, referred to as a first snap motion) and a snap motion in the second direction (hereinafter, referred to as a second snap motion) in different manners. At this time, the first direction and the second direction may correspond to an outward direction and an inward direction, respectively. The smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at a first threshold speed or more as the first snap motion. On the other hand, the smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at less than the first threshold speed and then rotating in the second direction at a second threshold speed or more within a predetermined time as the second snap motion. The first threshold speed and the second threshold speed may be the same or different from each other. The threshold speeds may be set based on design of the smart watch 4010 or kind and purpose of an application being executed by the smart watch 4010 or by a user. [0063]… a wrist 5010 of a human can rotate within a predetermined angle range. On the assumption that, when a back side of a hand of the human is parallel to the ground, the wrist 5010 of the human is at an angle of 0 degrees, the wrist 5010 of the human can rotated by about 180 degrees although there are differences among individuals. Consequently, the first position and the second position may be changed depending upon current tilts .theta.1 and .theta.2 of the wrist 5010. For example, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 45 degrees in a state in which the smart watch is currently at the first position, the first direction may be an outward direction and the second direction may be an inward direction. On the other hand, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 135 degrees, the first direction may be an inward direction and the second direction may be an outward direction. As previously described, the first direction may be a rotation direction in which a maximum rotation angle is relatively large and the second direction may be a rotation direction in which the maximum rotation angle is relatively small.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Hong in the invention of Reisman because doing so would enhance user’s interactions by detecting a variety of arm motions of the user and allowing a variety of commands may correspond to the detected motions.
Per claim 90, Reisman teaches the computer system of claim 79, comprising generating a third set of one or more haptic outputs that indicate that the first portion of the first operation is being performed and generating a fourth set of one or more haptic outputs that indicate that the second portion of the first operation is being performed ([0061]…in some embodiments, the wrist-wearable device 120 and/or the head-wearable device 202 provides visual, audio, and/or haptic feedback to the user to indicate that a performed gesture stage has been detected (e.g., distinct feedback provided in response to each type of gesture)).
Reisman does not specifically teach while performing the first operation based on the air gesture: a determination that a first portion of the first operation is being performed, and a determination that a second portion of the first operation is being performed, wherein the second portion of the first operation is different from the first portion of the first operation.
However, Hong teaches the first operation based on the air gesture: a determination that a first portion of the first operation is being performed, and a determination that a second portion of the first operation is being performed, wherein the second portion of the first operation is different from the first portion of the first operation (figs. 2-9; [0029]…The rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch. More specifically, the rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch using at least one rotation sensing means included in the smart watch and may transmit a sensing result to the processor 1050. [0052]…As previously described with reference to FIG. 2, the smart watch 4010 of the disclosure may detect a snap motion in the first direction (hereinafter, referred to as a first snap motion) and a snap motion in the second direction (hereinafter, referred to as a second snap motion) in different manners. At this time, the first direction and the second direction may correspond to an outward direction and an inward direction, respectively. The smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at a first threshold speed or more as the first snap motion. On the other hand, the smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at less than the first threshold speed and then rotating in the second direction at a second threshold speed or more within a predetermined time as the second snap motion. The first threshold speed and the second threshold speed may be the same or different from each other. The threshold speeds may be set based on design of the smart watch 4010 or kind and purpose of an application being executed by the smart watch 4010 or by a user. [0063]… a wrist 5010 of a human can rotate within a predetermined angle range. On the assumption that, when a back side of a hand of the human is parallel to the ground, the wrist 5010 of the human is at an angle of 0 degrees, the wrist 5010 of the human can rotated by about 180 degrees although there are differences among individuals. Consequently, the first position and the second position may be changed depending upon current tilts .theta.1 and .theta.2 of the wrist 5010. For example, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 45 degrees in a state in which the smart watch is currently at the first position, the first direction may be an outward direction and the second direction may be an inward direction. On the other hand, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 135 degrees, the first direction may be an inward direction and the second direction may be an outward direction. As previously described, the first direction may be a rotation direction in which a maximum rotation angle is relatively large and the second direction may be a rotation direction in which the maximum rotation angle is relatively small.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Hong in the invention of Reisman because doing so would enhance user’s interactions by detecting a variety of arm motions of the user and allowing a variety of commands may correspond to the detected motions.
Per claim 91, Reisman teaches the computer system of claim 79, comprising generating a fifth set of haptics that indicate that the air gesture is being performed and generating a sixth set of haptics that indicate that the air gesture is being performed ([0061]…in some embodiments, the wrist-wearable device 120 and/or the head-wearable device 202 provides visual, audio, and/or haptic feedback to the user to indicate that a performed gesture stage has been detected (e.g., distinct feedback provided in response to each type of gesture)).
Riesman does not specifically teach wherein performing the first operation based on the air gesture includes: a determination that the air gesture is being performed at a first speed, and a determination that the air gesture is being performed at a second speed that is different from the first speed.
However, Hong teaches performing the first operation based on the air gesture includes: a determination that the air gesture is being performed at a first speed, and a determination that the air gesture is being performed at a second speed that is different from the first speed (figs. 2-9; [0029]…The rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch. More specifically, the rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch using at least one rotation sensing means included in the smart watch and may transmit a sensing result to the processor 1050. [0052]…As previously described with reference to FIG. 2, the smart watch 4010 of the disclosure may detect a snap motion in the first direction (hereinafter, referred to as a first snap motion) and a snap motion in the second direction (hereinafter, referred to as a second snap motion) in different manners. At this time, the first direction and the second direction may correspond to an outward direction and an inward direction, respectively. The smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at a first threshold speed or more as the first snap motion. On the other hand, the smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at less than the first threshold speed and then rotating in the second direction at a second threshold speed or more within a predetermined time as the second snap motion. The first threshold speed and the second threshold speed may be the same or different from each other. The threshold speeds may be set based on design of the smart watch 4010 or kind and purpose of an application being executed by the smart watch 4010 or by a user. [0063]… a wrist 5010 of a human can rotate within a predetermined angle range. On the assumption that, when a back side of a hand of the human is parallel to the ground, the wrist 5010 of the human is at an angle of 0 degrees, the wrist 5010 of the human can rotated by about 180 degrees although there are differences among individuals. Consequently, the first position and the second position may be changed depending upon current tilts .theta.1 and .theta.2 of the wrist 5010. For example, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 45 degrees in a state in which the smart watch is currently at the first position, the first direction may be an outward direction and the second direction may be an inward direction. On the other hand, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 135 degrees, the first direction may be an inward direction and the second direction may be an outward direction. As previously described, the first direction may be a rotation direction in which a maximum rotation angle is relatively large and the second direction may be a rotation direction in which the maximum rotation angle is relatively small.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Hong in the invention of Reisman because doing so would enhance user’s interactions by detecting a variety of arm motions of the user and allowing a variety of commands may correspond to the detected motions.
Per claim 92 Reisman teaches the computer system of claim 79, but does not specifically teach wherein the first operation is performed at a first rate in response to detecting the air gesture, and the one or more programs further including instructions for: while performing the first operation at the first rate, detecting an additional rotation of the hand while the hand is performing the pinch gesture; and in response to detecting the additional rotation of the hand while the hand is performing the pinch gesture, performing the first operation at a second rate that is different from the first rate.
However, Hong teaches the first operation is performed at a first rate in response to detecting the air gesture, and the one or more programs further including instructions for: while performing the first operation at the first rate, detecting an additional rotation of the hand while the hand is performing the pinch gesture; and in response to detecting the additional rotation of the hand while the hand is performing the pinch gesture, performing the first operation at a second rate that is different from the first rate (figs. 2-9; [0029]…The rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch. More specifically, the rotation sensor unit 1020 may sense a rotation direction and a rotation speed of the smart watch using at least one rotation sensing means included in the smart watch and may transmit a sensing result to the processor 1050. [0052]…As previously described with reference to FIG. 2, the smart watch 4010 of the disclosure may detect a snap motion in the first direction (hereinafter, referred to as a first snap motion) and a snap motion in the second direction (hereinafter, referred to as a second snap motion) in different manners. At this time, the first direction and the second direction may correspond to an outward direction and an inward direction, respectively. The smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at a first threshold speed or more as the first snap motion. On the other hand, the smart watch 4010 may detect a snap motion rotating in the first direction at less than the first threshold speed and then rotating in the second direction at a second threshold speed or more within a predetermined time as the second snap motion. The first threshold speed and the second threshold speed may be the same or different from each other. The threshold speeds may be set based on design of the smart watch 4010 or kind and purpose of an application being executed by the smart watch 4010 or by a user. [0063]… a wrist 5010 of a human can rotate within a predetermined angle range. On the assumption that, when a back side of a hand of the human is parallel to the ground, the wrist 5010 of the human is at an angle of 0 degrees, the wrist 5010 of the human can rotated by about 180 degrees although there are differences among individuals. Consequently, the first position and the second position may be changed depending upon current tilts .theta.1 and .theta.2 of the wrist 5010. For example, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 45 degrees in a state in which the smart watch is currently at the first position, the first direction may be an outward direction and the second direction may be an inward direction. On the other hand, in a case in which the angle .theta.1 defined between the back side of the hand of the human and the ground is 135 degrees, the first direction may be an inward direction and the second direction may be an outward direction. As previously described, the first direction may be a rotation direction in which a maximum rotation angle is relatively large and the second direction may be a rotation direction in which the maximum rotation angle is relatively small.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Hong in the invention of Reisman because doing so would enhance user’s interactions by detecting a variety of arm motions of the user and allowing a variety of commands may correspond to the detected motions.
Claim(s) 96, 98 and 99 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reisman et al. (“Reisman” Pub. No. 2024/0061513), Stafford et al. (“Stafford”, Pub. No. 2016/0306431), and Sharma et al. (“Sharma”, Pub. No. 2023/0308505).
Per claim 96, Reisman teaches he computer system of claim 79, wherein the air gesture is detected while displaying, via one or more display generation components that are incorporated into the computer system, a first virtual object and a second virtual object that is different from the first virtual object ([0052]… FIG. 1B shows the user 115 performing a pinch gesture (e.g., a priming gesture) that involves the user's pinkie finger contacting the thumb. FIG. 1B further shows the scene 130 updating (responsive to the pinch gesture) to include multiple options (e.g., tooltips) for interacting with a user interface element 133 (e.g., corresponding to a messenger application) on the radial menu 131. [0053]… FIG. 1C shows the user 115 rotating their wrist (e.g., a navigation gesture) while maintaining the pinch gesture from FIG. 1B. FIG. 1C further shows selection of a user interface element 135 (e.g., a music application) within the radial menu 131 in accordance with wrist rotation. [0054]…FIG. 1D shows selection of a user interface element 137 (e.g., a camera application) within the radial menu 131 in accordance with wrist rotation.)
Reisman does not specifically teach wherein: in response to detecting the air gesture: in accordance with a determination that the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria while attention of a user is directed to the first virtual object, the first operation is performed with respect to the first virtual object; and in accordance with a determination that the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria while attention of the user is directed to the second virtual object, the first operation is performed with respect to the second virtual object.
However, Sharma teaches in response to detecting the air gesture: in accordance with a determination that the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria while attention of a user is directed to the first virtual object, the first operation is performed with respect to the first virtual object; and in accordance with a determination that the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria while attention of the user is directed to the second virtual object, the first operation is performed with respect to the second virtual object ([0132]… As a user (e.g., user 802) switches their gaze from a first application to a second application, the first application may be de-selected, or un-focused, in order for the second application to be selected, or focused on. Similarly, as a user (e.g., user 802) switches their gaze from the second application to the first application, the second application may be de-selected, or un-focused, in order for the first application to be selected, or focused on. [0169]…The system 1200 may further include a first gesture 1210 (see FIG. 12A) and a second gesture 1212 (see FIG. 12B). The gestures 1210, 1212 may be gestures that the user 1202 makes with their hand. For example, the gestures 1210, 1212 may be a wave gesture, a pinch gesture, a first gesture, an open hand gesture, a blink gesture, a wink gesture, an eye-dwell, a snap gesture, a click gesture, a clap gesture, or similar gestures that are pre-configured to serve a function in system 1200. [0171]… mechanisms described herein provide users (e.g., user 1202) with the ability to transfer applications between computing devices by using a combination of their gaze, and a gesture. The computing devices 1204, 1206 may receive gaze data corresponding to the user 1202, and gesture data corresponding to the gesture 1210 and/or or gesture 1212. Referring specifically to FIG. 12A, the user 1202 is shown to be looking at the word processing application 1212 on the first computing device 1204, while also making the first gesture 1210 (e.g., a pinching gesture with a hand). According to mechanisms described herein, the word processing application 1210 is selected on the first computing device 1204). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Sharma in the invention of Reisman because doing so would enhance user’s experience by providing various interaction modalities for performing actions in an artificial reality environment.
Per claim 98, Reisman teaches the computer system of claim 79, but does not teach wherein the first set of criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when attention of a user is directed to a first location, and wherein attention of the user is determined based on a gaze of the user being directed to the first location ([0132]… As a user (e.g., user 802) switches their gaze from a first application to a second application, the first application may be de-selected, or un-focused, in order for the second application to be selected, or focused on. Similarly, as a user (e.g., user 802) switches their gaze from the second application to the first application, the second application may be de-selected, or un-focused, in order for the first application to be selected, or focused on.) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Sharma in the invention of Reisman because doing so would enhance user’s experience by providing various interaction modalities for performing actions in an artificial reality environment.
Per claim 99, Reisman teaches the computer system of claim 79, wherein the first set of criteria includes a criterion that is satisfied when attention of a user is directed to a second location, and wherein attention of the user is determined based on the hand of the user being within a predetermined distance away from the second location [0132]… As a user (e.g., user 802) switches their gaze from a first application to a second application, the first application may be de-selected, or un-focused, in order for the second application to be selected, or focused on. Similarly, as a user (e.g., user 802) switches their gaze from the second application to the first application, the second application may be de-selected, or un-focused, in order for the first application to be selected, or focused on. [0169]… The gestures 1210, 1212 may be detected by the computing devices 1204, 1206, for example via a sensor (e.g., a camera, an RGB sensor, an infrared sensor, a LiDAR sensor, a motion sensor, or any other type of sensor that is capable of recognizing a gesture made by a user). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Sharma in the invention of Reisman because doing so would enhance user’s experience by providing various interaction modalities for performing actions in an artificial reality environment.
Claim(s) 97 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reisman et al. (“Reisman” Pub. No. 2024/0061513), Stafford et al. (“Stafford”, Pub. No. 2016/0306431), Sharma et al. (“Sharma”, Pub. No. 2023/0308505), and Hong et al. (“Hong”, US 2015/0085621).
Per claim 97, Reisman teaches the computer system of claim 79, wherein the air gesture is detected while displaying, via one or more display generation components that are incorporated into the computer system, a third virtual object, and wherein: in response to detecting the air gesture: in accordance with a determination that the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria while a user is directed to the third virtual object and the third virtual object is responsive to a rotation of the hand, the first operation is performed with respect to the third virtual object and based on movement of the hand ([0052]… FIG. 1B shows the user 115 performing a pinch gesture (e.g., a priming gesture) that involves the user's pinkie finger contacting the thumb. FIG. 1B further shows the scene 130 updating (responsive to the pinch gesture) to include multiple options (e.g., tooltips) for interacting with a user interface element 133 (e.g., corresponding to a messenger application) on the radial menu 131. [0053]… FIG. 1C shows the user 115 rotating their wrist (e.g., a navigation gesture) while maintaining the pinch gesture from FIG. 1B. FIG. 1C further shows selection of a user interface element 135 (e.g., a music application) within the radial menu 131 in accordance with wrist rotation. [0054]…FIG. 1D shows selection of a user interface element 137 (e.g., a camera application) within the radial menu 131 in accordance with wrist rotation. Stafford, [0158]… When the scene 602B is being displayed on the HMD 102, the user 106 releases a pinch and hold gesture, e.g., the pinch and hold gesture performed using the left hand 130A, etc. [0159]…Upon determining that a pinch and hold gesture is not performed by the user 106, the processor of the game console 408 unpins, e.g., detaches, disassociates, inactivates, etc., a coupling between the pinch and hold gesture and the scene 602B. For example, the processor of the game console 408 determines not to move, e.g., translate, rotate, slide, etc., the scene 602B with movement of a hand of the user 106 with which the pinch and hold gesture was being performed. As another example, the scene 602B does not change when the user 106 moves his/her hands after a release gesture is performed until the user 106 makes another pinch and hold gesture.); and
Reisman does not specifically teach the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria while attention of a user is directed to the third virtual object and in accordance with a determination that the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria while attention of the user is directed to the third virtual object and the third virtual object is not responsive to a rotation of the hand, the first operation is not performed with respect to the third virtual object.
However, Sharma teaches the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria while attention of a user is directed to the third virtual object and in accordance with a determination that the air gesture satisfies the first set of criteria while attention of the user is directed to the third virtual object and the third virtual object is responsive to a gesture of the hand ([0132]… As a user (e.g., user 802) switches their gaze from a first application to a second application, the first application may be de-selected, or un-focused, in order for the second application to be selected, or focused on. Similarly, as a user (e.g., user 802) switches their gaze from the second application to the first application, the second application may be de-selected, or un-focused, in order for the first application to be selected, or focused on. [0169]…The system 1200 may further include a first gesture 1210 (see FIG. 12A) and a second gesture 1212 (see FIG. 12B). The gestures 1210, 1212 may be gestures that the user 1202 makes with their hand. For example, the gestures 1210, 1212 may be a wave gesture, a pinch gesture, a first gesture, an open hand gesture, a blink gesture, a wink gesture, an eye-dwell, a snap gesture, a click gesture, a clap gesture, or similar gestures that are pre-configured to serve a function in system 1200. [0171]… mechanisms described herein provide users (e.g., user 1202) with the ability to transfer applications between computing devices by using a combination of their gaze, and a gesture. The computing devices 1204, 1206 may receive gaze data corresponding to the user 1202, and gesture data corresponding to the gesture 1210 and/or or gesture 1212. Referring specifically to FIG. 12A, the user 1202 is shown to be looking at the word processing application 1212 on the first computing device 1204, while also making the first gesture 1210 (e.g., a pinching gesture with a hand). According to mechanisms described herein, the word processing application 1210 is selected on the first computing device 1204).
Hong teaches the third virtual object is not responsive to a rotation of the hand, the first operation is not performed with respect to the third virtual object (fig. 9, steps S9040 shows an operation is not performed when detection of a rotation of the hand in step s9010)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teaching of Sharma and Hong in the invention of Reisman because doing so would enhance user’s experience by providing various interaction modalities for performing actions in an artificial reality environment, and would enhance user’s interactions by detecting a variety of arm motions of the user and allowing a variety of commands may correspond to the detected motions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
/THANH T VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179