DETAILED ACTION
Surface Cleaning Apparatus
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7-16-2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 17, and their dependent claims under 35 U have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ziegler (US-20070016328-A1) and Villaroman (US-20200187741-A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,10-11,13-16,22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett (US2021/0259494A1) in view of Truitt (US20190387942A1) further in view of Villaroman (US20200187741A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pruiett teaches
a suction source (56, figure 3);
a base (14, figure 2) adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned and comprising:
a suction inlet port (54; para 0065) in fluid communication with the suction source;
a brushroll (60, figure 3) to agitate the surface to be cleaned; and
a fluid dispenser (76, figure 4) to deliver cleaning fluid to at least one of the brushroll and the surface to be cleaned;
an upright body (12, figure 3) pivotally mounted to the base (para 0060-0061);
a pump (78, figure 4) in fluid communication with the fluid dispenser, the pump disposed on one of the base (figure 4) and the upright body;
a motor (80, figure 15; para 0091,0093) coupled with the brushroll to drive the brushroll, the motor disposed on one of the base and the upright body;
a floor type sensing mechanism (124, abstract, para 0047,0048,0077-0078; and the floor type sensor can include one or combination sensors including mechanical sensors that detect changes in physical or mechanical properties); and
a main controller (100, figure 14) in communication with the floor type sensing mechanism and configured to execute:
a dry vacuuming mode (“dry clean/cleaning mode”; para 0077,0150-0151,0159-0160) in which a dry mode operating parameter is set to a predetermined dry mode level, the dry mode operating parameter comprising at least one of a brushroll speed and a suction power level (para 0149-0150); and
a smart wet cleaning mode (“wet clean mode”; para 0150,0113-0114) in which a wet mode operating parameter is set based on data from the floor type sensing mechanism , wherein the wet mode operating parameter is at least one of a fluid dispensing flow rate (para 0150,0113-0114), a brushroll speed, and a suction power level.
However, Pruiett fails teach a base controller, current sensor configured to measure a current draw of the motor; and a speed sensor configured to measure a speed of the motor; wherein the base controller is configured to receive and process data from the current sensor and the speed sensor, and communicate the data to the main controller.
Truitt teaches a method of operating a floor cleaner, where the floor cleaner has different operation modes to correspond to various surfaces that are cleaned by a floor cleaner (see para 0041,0046). The floor cleaner includes a base (58, figure 2) that has a brushroll (94, figure 2), a main controller (100, figure 3), floor sensing mechanism comprising a current sensor configured to measure a current draw of the motor (para 0037-0046); and a speed sensor configured to measure a speed of the motor (para 0037-0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pruiett to have a current sensor configured to measure a current draw of the motor; and a speed sensor configured to measure a speed of the motor based on the teachings of Truitt. This modification would ensure the surface cleaning apparatus can determine different floor surface based on information the sensors sensed, and operate the surface cleaning apparatus in a manner optimized for the type of floor surface. (para 0036-0041 of Truitt).
Villaroman teaches a surface cleaning apparatus (310; para 0152) that includes a base controller (377, para 0152), the base controller is configured to receive and process data from a current sensor and a speed sensor, and communicate the data to the main controller (para 0152-0153).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Pruiett to have a base controller and wherein the base controller is configured to receive and process data from the current sensor and the speed sensor, and communicate the data to the main controller based on the teachings of Villaroman. This modification would allow the surface cleaning apparatus to have a separate controller from the main controller, that a user can easily replace and perform maintenance.
Regarding claim 2, modified Pruiett teaches during the smart wet cleaning mode, the main controller is configured to:
set the wet mode operating parameter to a hard floor level in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a hard floor (see Pruiett para 0059,0077,0088 0101,0104); and set the wet mode operating parameter to a soft floor level in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a soft floor (see Pruiett para 0044 0059,0077).
Regarding claim 3, modified Pruiett teaches wherein in the smart wet cleaning mode the main controller is configured to operate the suction source at a first suction power level in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a hard floor (Pruiett para 0077 0103-0104,0126 0127) and to operate the suction source at a second suction power level that is higher than the first suction power level in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a soft floor (Pruiett para 0077 0103-0104,0126 0127).
Regarding claim 4, modified Pruiett teaches wherein in the smart wet cleaning mode the main controller is configured to operate the motor at a first brushroll speed in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a hard floor and to operate the motor at a second brushroll speed that is higher than the first brushroll speed in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a soft floor (Pruiett para 0077 0103-0104,0126 0127).
Regarding claim 5, modified Pruiett wherein in the smart wet cleaning mode the main controller is configured to operate the pump at a first fluid dispensing flow rate in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a hard floor and to operate the pump at a second fluid dispensing flow rate that is higher than the first fluid dispensing flow rate in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a soft floor (see Pruiett para 0077).
Regarding claim 6, modified Pruiett teaches wherein in the smart wet cleaning mode the main controller is configured to:
operate the suction source at a first suction power level in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a hard floor and to operate the suction source at a second suction power level that is higher than the first suction power level in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a soft floor; and/or (examiner interpreting only one of these limitations need to be met)
operate the motor at a first brushroll speed in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a hard floor and to operate the motor at a second brushroll speed that is higher than the first brushroll speed in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a soft floor (see Pruiett para 0077).
Regarding claim 10, Pruiett teaches a controller capable of collecting data from plurality of sensors (see Pruiett para 0008) and the main controller is configured to monitor motor torque as a function of one or more of motor current and motor speed based on data from the floor type sensing mechanism. (see Truitt para 0037-0046)
Regarding claim 11, modified Pruiett teaches wherein the main controller is configured to detect a change in floor type based on data from the floor type sensing mechanism, the change in floor type caused by the base crossing from a first type to a second floor type, and identify a change in floor type of the surface to be cleaned in response to detecting the change in floor type, and wherein the main controller is configured to adjust the wet mode operating parameter based on the identified change in floor type (see Pruiett para 0077).
Regarding claim 13, modified Pruiett teaches wherein, during the dry vacuuming mode, the main controller is further configured to execute a turbo mode in which the dry mode operating parameter is increased above the predetermined dry mode level (see Pruiett para 0075 discloses when there is a severely dirty floor that information is sent to the main controller the brushroll speed can be increased).
Regarding claim 14, modified Pruiett teaches wherein, during the smart wet cleaning mode, the main controller is further configured to execute a turbo mode in which the wet mode operating parameter is increased . (see Pruiett para 0075 discloses when there is a severely dirty floor that information is sent to the main controller the flow rate of the cleaning fluid can be increased )
Regarding claim 22, modfied Pruiett wherein the base controller is configured to calculate a torque value from the data from the current sensor and the speed sensor and communicate the torque value to the main controller, wherein the main controller is configured to determine whether a floor type is a hard floor or a soft floor based on the torque value. (see Truitt; para 0040-0041)
Claim(s) 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett (US2021/0259494A1) in view of Truitt (US20190387942A1) and Villaroman (US20200187741A1) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Ziegler (US20070016328A1)
Regarding claim 12, Pruiett teaches all limitations stated above and a controller capable of collecting data from plurality of sensors (para 0008),and a direction sensor configured to determine a travel direction of the surface cleaning apparatus, ( para 0083, 0119-0131) discloses collecting information regarding mapping and navigation and cleaning path using sensors the main controller in communication with the direction sensor (para 0008,0010), but fails to teach wherein the main controller is configured to activate the pump in the smart wet cleaning mode in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a forward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus and to deactivate the pump in the smart wet cleaning mode in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a backward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus.
Ziegler teaches a surface cleaning apparatus that has different cycles, and also a controller that activates and deactivates the cleaning fluid pump depending on which direction the surface cleaning apparatus is moving. (see para 0363-0364 of Ziegler)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Pruiett to include a main controller is configured to activate the pump in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a forward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus and to deactivate the pump in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a backward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus based on the teachings of Ziegler. This modification would help ensure liquid is not placed on the floor where the surface cleaning apparatus will not or is unable to pick it up. (see Ziegler para 0363-0364).
Therefore, Pruiett as modified above would disclose wherein the main controller is configured to activate the pump in the smart wet cleaning mode (“wet clean mode”; para 0150,0113-0114) in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a forward stroke (see Ziegler para 0363-0364) of the surface cleaning apparatus and to deactivate the pump in the smart wet cleaning mode (“dry clean/cleaning mode”; para 0077,0150-0151,0159-0160) in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a backward stroke (see Ziegler para 0363-0364) of the surface cleaning apparatus.
Claim(s) 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett (US2021/0259494A1) in view of Truitt (US20190387942A1) and Villaroman (US20200187741A1) as applied to claim 1 further in view of De Wit (US12193621B2).
Regarding claim 15, Pruiett teaches a user interface (32, para 0057-0059 0075,0077,0079) configured to accept user inputs to control the surface cleaning apparatus, the user interface comprising a plurality of input controls, the plurality of input controls comprising:a mode input control to select between the dry vacuuming mode and the smart wet cleaning mode (para 0149-0151), but fails to teach
a turbo input control to activate a turbo mode in which the dry mode operating parameter and/or the wet mode operating parameter is increased.
De Wit teaches a cleaning device that includes a turbo input control to activate a turbo mode in which an operating parameter is increased (col 9 lines 35-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Pruiett to include a turbo input control to activate a turbo mode in which the dry mode operating parameter and/or the wet mode operating parameter is increased based on the teachings of De Wit. This modification makes it easier for a user to increase the cleaning intensity of the surface cleaning apparatus. ( see De Wit abstract , col 2 lines 40-50, col 9 lines 35-50)
Regarding claim 16, Pruiett as modified in claim 15 teaches wherein the user interface further comprises at least one of (examiner interpreting only one of these limitations need to be met);
a power button to control a supply of power to one or more electrical components of the surface cleaning apparatus (see Pruiett para 0120 0149); and
a self-clean button to activate a self-cleaning mode in which an automatic, unattended clean-out cycle is executed.
Claim(s) 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett (US2021/0259494A1) in view of Ziegler (US20070016328A1).
Regarding claim 17, Pruiett
a suction source (56, figure 3; para 0068);
a base (14, figure 2) adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned and comprising:
a suction inlet port (54; para 0065) in fluid communication with the suction source;
a brushroll (60, figure 3) to agitate the surface to be cleaned; and
a fluid dispenser (76, figure 4) to deliver cleaning fluid to at least one of the brushroll and the surface to be cleaned; and an upright body (12, figure 3) pivotally mounted to the base (para 0060-0061);
a pump (78, figure 4) in fluid communication with the fluid dispenser, the pump disposed on one of the base (figure 4) and the upright body; a motor (80, para 0049 0091,0093) coupled with the brushroll to drive the brushroll, the motor disposed on one of the base and the upright body;
a floor type sensor (124, figure 4); a direction sensor (para 0083, 0119-0131 discloses collecting information regarding mapping and navigation and cleaning path using sensors) configured to determine a travel direction of the surface cleaning apparatus; and a controller (100, figure 14) in communication with the floor type sensor and the direction sensor (para 0008,0010); wherein the main controller is configured to execute a smart wet cleaning mode (“wet clean mode”; para 0150,0113-0114) in which a wet mode operating parameter is selected based on data from the floor type sensor , wherein the wet mode operating parameter at least one of a fluid dispensing flow rate (para 0150,0113-0114), a brushroll speed, and a suction power level based on data from the floor type sensor.
However, Pruiett fails to teach wherein the main controller is configured to activate the pump and dispense cleaning fluid from the fluid dispenser in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a forward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus and to deactivate the pump and shut off cleaning fluid dispensing in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a backward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus.
Ziegler teaches a surface cleaning apparatus that has different cycles, and also a controller that activates and deactivates the cleaning fluid pump depending on which direction the surface cleaning apparatus is moving. (see para 0363-0364 of Ziegler)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Pruiett to include a main controller is configured to activate the pump in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a forward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus and to deactivate the pump in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a backward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus based on the teachings of Ziegler. This modification would help ensure liquid is not placed on the floor where the surface cleaning apparatus will not or is unable to pick it up. (see Ziegler para 0363-0364).
Regarding claim 18, modified Pruiett teaches
wherein the controller is configured to: set the wet mode operating parameter to a hard floor level in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a hard floor (see Pruiett para 0059,0077,0088 0101,0104); and
set the wet mode operating parameter to a soft floor level in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a soft floor (see Pruiett para 0044 0059,0077).
Regarding claim 19, modified Pruiett teaches
wherein the controller is configured to operate the pump at a first fluid dispensing flow rate in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a hard floor and to operate the pump at a second fluid dispensing flow rate that is higher than the first fluid dispensing flow rate in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a soft floor (see Pruiett para 0077).
Regarding claim 20, modified Pruiett teaches
wherein the main controller is configured to:operate the suction source at a first suction power level in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a hard floor and to operate the suction source at a second suction power level that is higher than the first suction power level in response to data from the floor type sensormechanism indicative of a soft floor; and/or (examiner interpreting only of these limitations need to be met) operate the motor at a first brushroll speed in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a hard floor and to operate the motor at a second brushroll speed that is higher than the first brushroll speed in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a soft floor (see Pruiett para 0077).
Regarding claim 21, modified Pruiett teaches wherein the controller is configured to:activate the pump and dispense cleaning fluid from the fluid dispenser at a first fluid dispensing flow rate in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a forward stroke (see para 0363-0364 of Ziegler) of the surface cleaning apparatus and in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a hard floor; and activate the pump and dispense cleaning fluid from the fluid dispenser at a second fluid dispensing flow rate in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a forward stroke (see para 0363-0364 of Ziegler) of the surface cleaning apparatus and in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a soft floor;wherein the second fluid dispensing flow rate is higher than the first fluid dispensing flow rate. (see Pruiett para 0077,0088,0103)
Conclusion
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723