DETAILED ACTION
Surface Cleaning Apparatus
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 12-29-2025 has been entered. Claims 1-6,10-22 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 7-9 have been cancelled. Claims 21-22 are newly added. Applicant’s amendment overcome the drawing objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office action mailed 09-30-2025. The previous rejection has been updated due to applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments see pages filed 12-29-2025, with respect to the
rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and their dependent claims under 35 U.S.C.102 and 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection (as necessitated by amendment) relies on a different combination of prior art references, not applied in the prior rejection of record to teach the amendments.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
In this case, prior art Pruiett includes sensors that can be configured to determine a travel direction of the floor cleaner (see para 0119, 00134) and prior art Davila discloses a pump that control by the direction the cleaner moves, where the cleaner includes a sensor that determines the direction of movement of the cleaner (see para 0038), where the directions include a forward direction (40) and a backward/ reverse direction (42); wherein depending on the direction of the cleaner a controller activates or deactivates a pump (64’; para 0039).
Therefore, prior art Davila discloses the controller allows the delivery of fluid to be selectively controlled within the pump to dispense fluid or shut off fluid (see 64'; para 0039) based on the direction of the cleaner . A person of ordinary skill in art would be able to modify Pruiett based on teachings from prior art Davila’s so that Pruiett's controller is configured to activate the pump and dispense cleaning fluid from the fluid dispenser in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a forward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus and to deactivate the pump and shut off cleaning fluid dispensing in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a backward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6,10-11,13-16,22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett (US2021/0259494A1) in view of Truitt (US20190387942A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pruiett teaches
a suction source (56, figure 3);
a base (14, figure 2) adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned and comprising:
a suction inlet port (54; para 0065) in fluid communication with the suction source;
a brushroll (60, figure 3) to agitate the surface to be cleaned; and
a fluid dispenser (76, figure 4) to deliver cleaning fluid to at least one of the brushroll and the surface to be cleaned;
an upright body (12, figure 3) pivotally mounted to the base (para 0060-0061);
a pump (78, figure 4) in fluid communication with the fluid dispenser, the pump disposed on one of the base (figure 4) and the upright body;
a motor (80, figure 15; para 0091,0093) coupled with the brushroll to drive the brushroll, the motor disposed on one of the base and the upright body;
a floor type sensing mechanism (124, abstract, para 0047,0048,0077-0078; and the floor type sensor can include one or combination sensors including mechanical sensors that detect changes in physical or mechanical properties); and
a main controller (100, figure 14) in communication with the floor type sensing mechanism and configured to execute:
a dry vacuuming mode (“dry clean/cleaning mode”; para 0077,0150-0151,0159-0160) in which a dry mode operating parameter is set to a predetermined dry mode level, the dry mode operating parameter comprising at least one of a brushroll speed and a suction power level (para 0149-0150); and
a smart wet cleaning mode (“wet clean mode”; para 0150,0113-0114) in which a wet mode operating parameter is set based on data from the floor type sensing mechanism , wherein the wet mode operating parameter is at least one of a fluid dispensing flow rate (para 0150,0113-0114), a brushroll speed, and a suction power level.
However, Pruiett fails teach a base controller, current sensor configured to measure a current draw of the motor; and a speed sensor configured to measure a speed of the motor; wherein the base controller is configured to receive and process data from the current sensor and the speed sensor, and communicate the data to the main controller.
Truitt teaches a method of operating a floor cleaner, where the floor cleaner has different operation modes to correspond to various surfaces that are cleaned by a floor cleaner (see para 0041,0046). The floor cleaner includes a base (58, figure 2) that has a brushroll (94, figure 2), a main controller (100, figure 3), floor sensing mechanism comprising a current sensor configured to measure a current draw of the motor (para 0037-0046); and a speed sensor configured to measure a speed of the motor (para 0037-0046 and base controller (para 0038, figure 3) that is configured wherein the base controller is configured to receive torque, current, speed data and process data from a sensor (para 0038), and communicate the data to the main controller (para 0037-0040)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Pruiett to have a base controller, current sensor configured to measure a current draw of the motor; and a speed sensor configured to measure a speed of the motor; wherein the base controller is configured to receive and process data from the current sensor and the speed sensor, and communicate the data to the main controller based on the teachings of Truitt. This modification would ensure main controller is not overloaded, and allow for the brushroll to be directly controlled (para 0036-0038 of Truitt).
Regarding claim 2, modified Pruiett teaches during the smart wet cleaning mode, the main controller is configured to:
set the wet mode operating parameter to a hard floor level in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a hard floor (see Pruiett para 0059,0077,0088 0101,0104); and set the wet mode operating parameter to a soft floor level in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a soft floor (see Pruiett para 0044 0059,0077).
Regarding claim 3, modified Pruiett teaches wherein in the smart wet cleaning mode the main controller is configured to operate the suction source at a first suction power level in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a hard floor (Pruiett para 0077 0103-0104,0126 0127) and to operate the suction source at a second suction power level that is higher than the first suction power level in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a soft floor (Pruiett para 0077 0103-0104,0126 0127).
Regarding claim 4, modified Pruiett teaches wherein in the smart wet cleaning mode the main controller is configured to operate the motor at a first brushroll speed in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a hard floor and to operate the motor at a second brushroll speed that is higher than the first brushroll speed in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a soft floor (Pruiett para 0077 0103-0104,0126 0127).
Regarding claim 5, modified Pruiett wherein in the smart wet cleaning mode the main controller is configured to operate the pump at a first fluid dispensing flow rate in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a hard floor and to operate the pump at a second fluid dispensing flow rate that is higher than the first fluid dispensing flow rate in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a soft floor (see Pruiett para 0077).
Regarding claim 6, modified Pruiett teaches wherein in the smart wet cleaning mode the main controller is configured to:
operate the suction source at a first suction power level in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a hard floor and to operate the suction source at a second suction power level that is higher than the first suction power level in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a soft floor; and/or (examiner interpreting only one of these limitations need to be met)
operate the motor at a first brushroll speed in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a hard floor and to operate the motor at a second brushroll speed that is higher than the first brushroll speed in response to data from the floor type sensing mechanism indicative of a soft floor (see Pruiett para 0077).
Regarding claim 10, Pruiett teaches a controller capable of collecting data from plurality of sensors (see Pruiett para 0008) and the main controller is configured to monitor motor torque as a function of one or more of motor current and motor speed based on data from the floor type sensing mechanism. (see Truitt para 0037-0046)
Regarding claim 11, modified Pruiett teaches wherein the main controller is configured to detect a change in floor type based on data from the floor type sensing mechanism, the change in floor type caused by the base crossing from a first type to a second floor type, and identify a change in floor type of the surface to be cleaned in response to detecting the change in floor type, and wherein the main controller is configured to adjust the wet mode operating parameter based on the identified change in floor type (see Pruiett para 0077).
Regarding claim 13, modified Pruiett teaches wherein, during the dry vacuuming mode, the main controller is further configured to execute a turbo mode in which the dry mode operating parameter is increased above the predetermined dry mode level (see Pruiett para 0075 discloses when there is a severely dirty floor that information is sent to the main controller the brushroll speed can be increased).
Regarding claim 14, modified Pruiett teaches wherein, during the smart wet cleaning mode, the main controller is further configured to execute a turbo mode in which the wet mode operating parameter is increased . (see Pruiett para 0075 discloses when there is a severely dirty floor that information is sent to the main controller the flow rate of the cleaning fluid can be increased )
Regarding claim 22, modfied Pruiett wherein the base controller is configured to calculate a torque value from the data from the current sensor and the speed sensor and communicate the torque value to the main controller, wherein the main controller is configured to determine whether a floor type is a hard floor or a soft floor based on the torque value. (see Truitt; para 0040-0041)
Claim(s) 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett (US2021/0259494A1) in view of Truitt (US20190387942A1) as applied to claim 1 further in view of Davila (US 20210315432A1)
Regarding claim 12, Pruiett teaches all limitations stated above and a controller capable of collecting data from plurality of sensors (para 0008),and a direction sensor configured to determine a travel direction of the surface cleaning apparatus, ( para 0083, 0119-0131) discloses collecting information regarding mapping and navigation and cleaning path using sensors the main controller in communication with the direction sensor (para 0008,0010), but fails to teach wherein the main controller is configured to activate the pump in the smart wet cleaning mode in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a forward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus and to deactivate the pump in the smart wet cleaning mode in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a backward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus.
Davila teaches a floor cleaner that includes a direction sensor configured to determine a travel direction of the surface cleaning apparatus, a controller in communication with the direction sensor, wherein the main controller is configured to activate and deactivate the pumps within the floor cleaner depending on the direction the floor cleaner is moving(para 0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Pruiett to include a the main controller is configured to activate the pump in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a forward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus and to deactivate the pump in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a backward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus based on the teachings of Davila. This modification would help provide control over the surface cleaning apparatus and pumps during the wet cleaning mode (see Davila para 0039).
Claim(s) 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett (US2021/0259494A1) in view of Truitt (US20190387942A1) as applied to claim 1 further in view of De Wit (US12193621B2).
Regarding claim 15, Pruiett teaches a user interface (32, para 0057-0059 0075,0077,0079) configured to accept user inputs to control the surface cleaning apparatus, the user interface comprising a plurality of input controls, the plurality of input controls comprising:a mode input control to select between the dry vacuuming mode and the smart wet cleaning mode (para 0149-0151), but fails to teach
a turbo input control to activate a turbo mode in which the dry mode operating parameter and/or the wet mode operating parameter is increased.
De Wit teaches a cleaning device that includes a turbo input control to activate a turbo mode in which an operating parameter is increased (col 9 lines 35-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the apparatus of Pruiett to include a turbo input control to activate a turbo mode in which the dry mode operating parameter and/or the wet mode operating parameter is increased based on the teachings of De Wit. This modification makes it easier for a user to increase the cleaning intensity of the surface cleaning apparatus. ( see De Wit abstract , col 2 lines 40-50, col 9 lines 35-50)
Regarding claim 16, Pruiett as modified in claim 15 teaches wherein the user interface further comprises at least one of (examiner interpreting only one of these limitations need to be met);
a power button to control a supply of power to one or more electrical components of the surface cleaning apparatus (see Pruiett para 0120 0149); and
a self-clean button to activate a self-cleaning mode in which an automatic, unattended clean-out cycle is executed.
Claim(s) 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett (US2021/0259494A1) in view of Davila (US 20210315432A1).
Regarding claim 17, Pruiett
a suction source (56, figure 3; para 0068);
a base (14, figure 2) adapted for movement over a surface to be cleaned and comprising:
a suction inlet port (54; para 0065) in fluid communication with the suction source;
a brushroll (60, figure 3) to agitate the surface to be cleaned; and
a fluid dispenser (76, figure 4) to deliver cleaning fluid to at least one of the brushroll and the surface to be cleaned; and an upright body (12, figure 3) pivotally mounted to the base (para 0060-0061);
a pump (78, figure 4) in fluid communication with the fluid dispenser, the pump disposed on one of the base (figure 4) and the upright body; a motor (80, para 0049 0091,0093) coupled with the brushroll to drive the brushroll, the motor disposed on one of the base and the upright body;
a floor type sensor (124, figure 4); a direction sensor (para 0083, 0119-0131 discloses collecting information regarding mapping and navigation and cleaning path using sensors) configured to determine a travel direction of the surface cleaning apparatus; and a controller (100, figure 14) in communication with the floor type sensor and the direction sensor (para 0008,0010); wherein the main controller is configured to execute a smart wet cleaning mode (“wet clean mode”; para 0150,0113-0114) in which a wet mode operating parameter is selected based on data from the floor type sensor , wherein the wet mode operating parameter at least one of a fluid dispensing flow rate (para 0150,0113-0114), a brushroll speed, and a suction power level based on data from the floor type sensor.
However, Pruiett fails to teach wherein the main controller is configured to activate the pump and dispense cleaning fluid from the fluid dispenser in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a forward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus and to deactivate the pump and shut off cleaning fluid dispensing in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a backward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus.
Davila teaches a floor cleaner that includes a direction sensor configured to determine a travel direction of the surface cleaning apparatus, a controller in communication with the direction sensor, wherein the main controller is configured to activate and deactivate the pumps within the floor cleaner depending on the direction the floor cleaner is moving(para 0038-0039).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Pruiett so that the controller is configured to activate the pump and dispense cleaning fluid from the fluid dispenser in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a forward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus and to deactivate the pump and shut off cleaning fluid dispensing in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a backward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus based on the teachings of Davila. This modification would help provide control over the surface cleaning apparatus and pumps during the wet cleaning mode (see Davila para 0038-0039).
Regarding claim 18, modified Pruiett teaches
wherein the controller is configured to: set the wet mode operating parameter to a hard floor level in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a hard floor (see Pruiett para 0059,0077,0088 0101,0104); and
set the wet mode operating parameter to a soft floor level in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a soft floor (see Pruiett para 0044 0059,0077).
Regarding claim 19, modified Pruiett teaches
wherein the controller is configured to operate the pump at a first fluid dispensing flow rate in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a hard floor and to operate the pump at a second fluid dispensing flow rate that is higher than the first fluid dispensing flow rate in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a soft floor (see Pruiett para 0077).
Regarding claim 20, modified Pruiett teaches
wherein the main controller is configured to:operate the suction source at a first suction power level in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a hard floor and to operate the suction source at a second suction power level that is higher than the first suction power level in response to data from the floor type sensormechanism indicative of a soft floor; and/or (examiner interpreting only of these limitations need to be met) operate the motor at a first brushroll speed in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a hard floor and to operate the motor at a second brushroll speed that is higher than the first brushroll speed in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a soft floor (see Pruiett para 0077).
Regarding claim 21, modified Pruiett teaches wherein the controller is configured to:activate the pump and dispense cleaning fluid from the fluid dispenser at a first fluid dispensing flow rate in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a forward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus and in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a hard floor; and activate the pump and dispense cleaning fluid from the fluid dispenser at a second fluid dispensing flow rate in response to data from the direction sensor indicative of a forward stroke of the surface cleaning apparatus and in response to data from the floor type sensor indicative of a soft floor;wherein the second fluid dispensing flow rate is higher than the first fluid dispensing flow rate. (see Pruiett para 0077,0088,0103)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH AKYAA FORDJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723