Detailed Action
Amendment
1. This office action is in response to applicant’s amendments dated 9-30-26 and this office action is a final rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, 13-15, 17-18 and 20-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 11,426,888 to Mon.
Referring to claim 1, Mon discloses a folding utility knife comprising, a handle – at 130, and a blade carrier – at 131, that is pivotably secured to the handle – at 130 – see via structure at the end of 131 providing pivoting about a pivot pin as seen in figures 21-23 and column 11 lines 5-20, the blade carrier – at 131, pivotable between a closed position in which the blade carrier is pivoted inwardly toward the handle – at 130, and an open position in which the blade carrier – at 131, is pivoted outwardly relative to the handle – at 130 – see figures 21-23 and column 11 lines 5-20, the blade carrier – at 131, including a housing – at 141,142,145, in which a blade pocket is formed – see interior cavity in 142 in figures 23-26, in which the blade pocket has a lengthwise dimension – see along longitudinal length of the device in figures 23-26, and a thickness dimension normal to the lengthwise dimension – see at 142 in figures 23-26, the lengthwise dimension is larger than the thickness dimension – see at 142 in figures 23-26, the blade pocket defining at least, a top edge – see proximate the lead line 142 in figure 23, a blade opening on an opposite side of the blade pocket from the top edge – see bottom edge of 142 defining an opening at the bottom edge of 142 to receive a blade – at 135 as seen in figures 21-26, a pair of side edges – front and rear of 142 defining the pocket as seen in figures 23-26, spaced apart along the lengthwise dimension and located on opposite sides of the blade pocket along the lengthwise dimension – see front and rear edges formed by 142, on each side of the pocket in figures 23-26, extending between the top edge and the blade opening – see pocket in 142 disposed between the top and bottom of 142 in figures 21-26, wherein the pair of side edges include a first side edge proximate to the handle – at 130 – see rear side edge of the pocket in 142 as seen in figures 23-26, when the blade carrier – at 131, is in the open position – see figures 21-26, and a second side edge – at 142 at and proximate the front tip of the device, distal to the handle – at 130 – see figures 21-26, when the blade carrier is in the open position – see figures 21-26, and a pair of detents – at 146 received in opening/recess – at 147 of the blade as seen in figures 23-26 and the detent not labeled but shown in figures 23-26 at the opposite side of the blade from detent – at 146 received in the opposite opening/recess in the blade from the opening/recess – at 147 receiving detent 146 as seen in figures 23-26, defined by the pair of side edges – see 146 defined by 145 and front side edge of 142 in figures 23-26 and the rear not labeled detent formed by the rear side edge forming the pocket of 142 as seen in figures 23-26, between the top edge and the blade opening – see detents located between top and bottom edges of 131,141,142 in figures 21-26, spatially separated from the top edge and the blade opening – see the detents not at the top and bottom edges of 131,141,142 in figures 21-26, the blade pocket – formed in 142, contoured to fit a top portion of a utility blade – at 135 – see figures 23-26, that includes a pair of openings – see at 147 at either end of 135 in figures 21-26 that are disposed in the top half of 135, and the pair of detents contoured to fit within the pair of openings to position and hold the top portion of the utility blade – at 135, within the blade pocket – in 142 – see figures 21-26, wherein the pair of detents include a first detent – not labeled detent, defined by the first side edge – rear edge of 142 forming the pocket as seen in figures 23-26, and a second detent – at 146, defined by the second side edge – at 145 at front edge of 142 – see figures 23-26.
Referring to claim 2, Mon further discloses the handle – at 130, includes first and second handle portions – at any two of 132,133,134, that are secured to each other in a spaced apart relationship to define an interior space – see between 132,133 and 134 in figures 21-23, in which at least a bottom portion of the utility blade – at 135, that includes a linear cutting edge – see bottom of 135, is stowed when the blade carrier – at 131, is in the closed position – see figures 21-23 and column 11 lines 5-20.
Referring to claim 3, Mon further discloses the first and second handle portions – at 132,134, are scales – see figures 21-23, and one of the scales is configured as or includes a frame lock – see at least configured as in figures 21-23, configured to engage when the blade carrier – at 131, is pivoted to the open position, and disengage responsive to an applied force to enable the blade carrier to pivot from the open position to the closed position – see figures 21-23 and items 132,134 having portions that interact with item 100 and item 133 includes item 100 that interacts with item 100 as seen in figures 21-23 (it is noted that item 100 is not labeled in figures 21-23 but is the pin structure between items 140 and 135 in figure 23). Further, it is noted that applicant has not positively recited in the claim what the scale(s) engage and disengage with.
Referring to claim 4, Mon further discloses the first and second handle portions – at 132 and 134, include respective liners – at 137 and 138, and scales – at 133,136,139, and one of the liners – at 137 and 138, is configured as or includes a liner lock configured – is at least configure as, to engage when the blade carrier – at 131, is pivoted to the open position, and disengage responsive to an applied force to enable the blade carrier – at 131, to pivot from the open position to the closed position – see figures 21-23 and items 137,138 having portions that interact with item 100 as seen in figures 21-23 (it is noted that item 100 is not labeled in figures 21-23 but is the pin structure between items 140 and 135 in figure 23). Further, it is noted that applicant has not positively recited in the claim what the liner(s) engage and disengage with.
Referring to claim 5, Mon further discloses the blade carrier – at 131, further includes a tang – see at least one of the teeth at rear ends of 141,142 in figure 23, secured to or integrated with the housing – integrated with items 141,142 – see figure 23, the blade carrier – at 131, pivotably secured to the handle – at 130, at the tang – see figures 21-23.
Referring to claim 6, Mon further discloses the tang includes a tab – lower teeth at the rear of 141,142, that juts out from a back of the handle – at 130, when the blade carrier – at 131, is in the closed position – see figures 21-23, a force applied to the tab promoting pivot of the blade carrier – at 131, from the closed position to the open position – see figures 21-23 where the tab is capable of promoting a pivoting of the blade carrier.
Referring to claim 7, Mon further discloses the tang includes jimping – see teeth at the rear of 141,142,with a series of notches – between the teeth, configured to provide a thumb grip on the blade carrier – at 131, when the blade carrier – at 131, is in the open position – see figures 21-23 where the teeth are capable of being contacted by a user’s thumb given the open space between items 132 and 134.
Referring to claim 9, Mon further discloses the blade pocket – in item 142, is structured such that a normal force against a linear cutting edge of the utility blade – at 135, proximate a first detent – not labeled detent at the rear of 142, of the pair of detents promotes rotation of the utility blade about the first detent – see figures 21-26 where any force normal to the blade – at 135 near the detent – at the rear of 142, would cause a rotation at the point of force application, and such that the rotation is resisted by a second detent of the pair of detents – see at 146-148, which resist rotation since items 146-148 are in close relation to the blade – at 135 at the detent – at 146, as seen in figures 23-26.
Referring to claim 10, Mon further discloses the blade carrier – at 131, further includes a cover – at 144,145 and/or top of 142, that is securable to the housing – at 141,142, over the top portion of the utility blade – at 135 – see figures 21-26, to hold the utility blade – at 135, firmly in the blade pocket – in item 142, of the housing – at 141,142 – see figures 23-26.
Referring to claim 11, Mon further discloses the cover includes a boss – see inner surfaces of 144,145 and top of 142, that is contoured to the top portion of the utility blade – at 135 – see figures 23-26, and that is held against the top portion of the utility blade – at 135, when the cover is secured to the housing – at 141,142 – see figures 23-26.
Referring to claim 13, Mon further discloses the blade carrier – at 131, further includes at least one fastener – at 148,149, configured to secure the cover – at 145, to the housing – at 141,142, and the at least one fastener includes a tensioning fastener – at 148, loosened to provide access to the blade pocket for insertion or replacement of the utility blade – see replacement of the blade – at 135, and tightened to hold the utility blade – at 135, firmly in the blade pocket – see figures 23-26.
Referring to claim 14, Mon further discloses the blade carrier – at 131, further includes at least one fastener – at 148,149, configured to secure the cover – at 145, to the housing – at 141,142, and the at least one fastener includes a tensioning fastener – at 148, configured to removably secure a first end of the cover – a 145, to the housing – at 141,142 – see figures 23-26, and a pivot pin – at 100, configured to pivotably secure a second end of the cover – at 145, to the housing – rear end of 141,142 – see figures 21-26.
Referring to claim 15, Mon further discloses the tensioning fastener – at 148 is located proximate the handle – at 130 – see when the blade is in the closed position, and the pivot pin – at 100, is located proximate a distal end of the housing – at 141,142, of the blade carrier – at 131 – see in closed position, and wherein the tensioning fastener – at 148, is located proximate the handle, as a thumb stud – see item 149 capable of being operated by a user’s thumb via item 145, in which a force applied to the thumb stud – at 149, promotes pivot of the blade carrier – at 131, from the closed position to the open position – see figures 23-26 where a pulling force applied at 145 is capable of assisting opening of the blade and blade carrier.
Referring to claim 17, Mon further discloses the first detent – not labeled detent, includes a first protrusion – detent formed as a protrusion as seen at the rear of 142 in figures 23-26, defined by the first edge – see figures 23-26, and the second detent – at 146, includes a second protrusion – see portion of 146 protruding into item 147 as seen in figures 23-26, defined by the second side edge – at 142,144,145 – see figures 23-26.
Referring to claim 18, Mon further discloses each protrusion defined by a side edge of the respective side edges has a convex arcuate shape – see ends of the protrusions in figures 23-26, and the side edge includes concave arcuate transition from the protrusion to a respective overhanging portion of the top edge – see concave portions between the protrusions and top edge of 142 in figures 23-26.
Referring to claim 20, Mon further discloses the folding utility knife further comprises the utility blade – at 135 – see figures 21-23.
Referring to claim 21, Mon further discloses the first protrusion and the second protrusion extend inwardly towards each other along the lengthwise direction – see protrusions extending inward toward the center of the pocket and towards each other in figures 23-26.
Referring to claim 22, Mon further discloses the first protrusion and the second protrusion extend inwardly towards each other within the same imaginary plane – see the protrusions in figures 23-24.
Referring to claim 23, Mon discloses a folding utility knife comprising, a handle – at 130, and a blade carrier – at 131, that is pivotably secured to the handle – at 130 – see via structure at the end of 131 providing pivoting about a pivot pin as seen in figures 21-23 and column 11 lines 5-20, the blade carrier – at 131, pivotable between a closed position in which the blade carrier is pivoted inwardly toward the handle – at 130, and an open position in which the blade carrier – at 131, is pivoted outwardly relative to the handle – at 130 – see figures 21-23 and column 11 lines 5-20, the blade carrier – at 131, including a housing – at 141,142,145, in which a blade pocket is formed – see interior cavity in 142 in figures 23-26, in which the blade pocket has a lengthwise dimension – see along longitudinal length of the device in figures 23-26, and a thickness dimension normal to the lengthwise dimension – see at 142 in figures 23-26, the lengthwise dimension is larger than the thickness dimension – see at 142 in figures 23-26, the blade pocket defining at least, a top edge – see proximate the lead line 142 in figure 23, a blade opening on an opposite side of the blade pocket from the top edge – see bottom edge of 142 defining an opening at the bottom edge of 142 to receive a blade – at 135 as seen in figures 21-26, a pair of side edges – front and rear of 142 proximate the top edge defining the top ends of the pocket as seen in figures 23-26, spaced apart along the lengthwise dimension and located on opposite sides of the blade pocket along the lengthwise dimension – see front and rear edges formed by 142, on each side of the pocket in figures 23-26, extending between the top edge and the blade opening – see pocket in 142 disposed between the top and bottom of 142 in figures 21-26, wherein the pair of side edges include a first side edge proximate to the handle – at 130 – see rear side edge of the pocket in 142 as seen in figures 23-26, when the blade carrier – at 131, is in the open position – see figures 21-26, and a second side edge – at 142 at and proximate the front tip of the device, distal to the handle – at 130 – see figures 21-26, when the blade carrier is in the open position – see figures 21-26, and a pair of detents – at 146 received in opening/recess – at 147 of the blade as seen in figures 23-26 and the detent not labeled but shown in figures 23-26 at the opposite side of the blade from detent – at 146 received in the opposite opening/recess in the blade from the opening/recess – at 147 receiving detent 146 as seen in figures 23-26, defined by the pair of side edges – see 146 defined by 145 and front side edge of 142 in figures 23-26 and the rear not labeled detent formed by the rear side edge forming the pocket of 142 as seen in figures 23-26, between the top edge and the blade opening – see detents located between top and bottom edges of 131,141,142 in figures 21-26, spatially separated from the top edge and the blade opening – see the detents not at the top and bottom edges of 131,141,142 in figures 21-26, the blade pocket – formed in 142, contoured to fit a top portion of a utility blade – at 135 – see figures 23-26, that includes a pair of openings – see at 147 at either end of 135 in figures 21-26 that are disposed in the top half of 135, and the pair of detents contoured to fit within the pair of openings to position and hold the top portion of the utility blade – at 135, within the blade pocket – in 142 – see figures 21-26, the blade pocket further defines a back wall – see wall of 142 forming the interior pocket in 142, and detents of the pair of detents are pins – see pin shapes in figures 23-26, that extend from the back wall – see figures 23-26, located proximate to but spatially separated from the pair of side edges – see spaced below and proximate to the side edges at the top of 142,144 as seen in figures 23-26, and wherein the pair of detents include a first detent – not labeled detent at rear of 142, located proximate the first side edge – see figures 23-26, and proximate to the handle – at 130 – see figures 23-26, when the blade carrier – at 131, is in the open position – see figures 21-26, and a second detent – at 146, located proximate the second side edge – see figures 23-26, and distal to the handle – at 130, when the blade carrier – at 131, is in the open position – see figures 21-26.
Referring to claim 24, Mon further discloses the first detent and the second detent are located closer to respective side edges of the pair of side edges than to each other – see the detents in figures 23-26 that are immediately adjacent the side edges of 142 than to each other at the opposite ends of 142.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mon as applied to claims 1 or 10 above.
Referring to claim 8, Mon does not disclose the housing of the blade carrier is sized such that more than 75% of a linear cutting edge of the utility blade is exposed when the top portion of the utility blade is fit into the blade pocket of the housing. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Mon and have any desired length of the cutting edge to be exposed from the housing including the claimed 75% of the length of the cutting edge as claimed, so as to yield the predictable result of allowing for the blade edge to be of a desired orientation to sufficiently cut the desired amount of material to be cut.
Referring to claim 12, Mon does not disclose the housing and the cover are sized such that less than 25% of a linear cutting edge of the utility blade is covered when the top portion of the utility blade is fit into the blade pocket of the housing and the cover is secured over the top portion of the utility blade. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Mon and have any suitable length of the cutting edge covered including the claimed 25% of the length of the cutting blade, so as to yield the predictable result of allowing for the blade edge to be of a desired orientation to sufficiently cut the desired amount of material to be cut.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s claim amendments and remarks/arguments dated 9-30-26 obviates the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claim 21 detailed in the last office action dated 4-2-26.
Applicant’s claim amendments and remarks/arguments dated 9-30-26 obviates the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1 and 23 detailed in the last office action dated 4-2-26. However, applicant’s claim amendments dated 9-30-26 necessitates the new grounds of rejection detailed earlier in paragraphs 2 and 3 of this office action.
Regarding the prior art rejections of claims 2-15, 17-18, 20-22 and 24 applicant relies upon the same arguments with respect to parent claims 1 and 23 discussed earlier.
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643