DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on 24 January 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 3 and 17 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are still pending in this application, with claims 1, 12 and 17 being independent.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON et al. (US 20170161006 A1), referred herein as KWON in view of Agrawal et al. (US 20210225234 A1), referred herein as Agrawal.
Regarding Claim 1, KWON in view of MACDOUGALL teaches an electronic device (KWON Abst: The mobile terminal includes: a case having a plurality of faces), comprising:
a device housing defining a first end and a distal end situated at an opposite side of the device housing relative to the first end (KWON [0099] The touch sensor may be configured in a form of a film having a touch pattern, disposed between the window 151a and a display on a rear surface of the window 151a, or a metal wire which is patterned directly on the rear surface of the window 151a; [0138] The display unit 151 may be seamlessly formed over the plurality of faces of the case 104. While the figure shows that the display unit 151 is segmented into first, second and third display units 151a, 151b and 151c for convenience of description, the first, second and third display units 151a, 151b and 151c correspond to one seamless display unit); 151b and 151c are opposite to each other; 151a and the back surface are opposite to each other.
one or more displays causing a presentation of one or more user actuation targets relative to first end of the device housing (KWON [0151] Referring to FIG. 6, the controller 180 of the mobile terminal 100 according to one embodiment of the present invention may display images on respective faces of the display unit 151 such that the images correspond to an entity in step S10. [0152] The entity may refer to a real object. For example, the entity can include material objects such as a book, tree, computer, etc. The entity may include objects of various types. However, a book is exemplified for convenience of understanding; [0206] Referring to FIG. 24(a), the button B may be considered to be provided to a virtual rotating body VB. For example, buttons of different types can be respectively provided to faces of the virtual rotating body VB in the form of a triangular prism. The virtual rotating body VB may be displayed on the second display unit 151b while rotating in a specific direction according to touch operation of the user);
KWON does not but Agrawal teaches
one or more sensors detecting an object approaching the distal end a portion of the device housing (Agrawal [0030] when the device is resting face down on a table or other substantially horizontal surface, the device may employ a proximity sensor and gyroscope, for example, to determine where to display notifications. Thus, for example, if the user is detected in a certain direction with respect to the device, the device displays the notification on the device edge display portion that is most directly facing the user. If it cannot be determined where the user is, the device may display the notification on both edges in a two-edge device, or on all edges in a three- or four-edge device); and
KWON in view of Agrawal further teaches
one or more processors, operable with the one or more sensors, the one or more processors causing, in response to the object approaching the distal end of the device housing, the one or more displays to alter the presentation of the one or more user actuation targets to be relative to the distal end of the device housing (Agrawal [0051] If at stage 707 it was determined that the edge screen areas were covered to some extent by the user's hand or palm, then the device determines at stage 715 whether there is coverage on both (all) edges, and if so, determines the relative areas covered at stage 717, displaying the notification on the edge with the least coverage at stage 719. If it is instead determined at stage 715 that there is an edge with no coverage, the device displays the notification on that edge at stage 721);
wherein the presentation of the one or more user actuation targets is altered to an opposite arrangement (Agrawal [0046] FIG. 3 is a simplified front view of the device 210 when 2 lateral edge screen areas 309 are included; [0051] If at stage 707 it was determined that the edge screen areas were covered to some extent by the user's hand or palm, then the device determines at stage 715 whether there is coverage on both (all) edges, and if so, determines the relative areas covered at stage 717, displaying the notification on the edge with the least coverage at stage 719. If it is instead determined at stage 715 that there is an edge with no coverage, the device displays the notification on that edge at stage 721; Agrawal FIG. 23: button B and power button; FIG. 18.1C: thumbnails).
Agrawal disclosed systems and methods of managing notifications on a curved display surface of a mobile electronic communications device, therefore is an analogous to the present application.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KWON to incorporate the teachings of Agrawal, and apply the proximity sensor and display technique into the mobile terminal, which changes display of a display unit on which an image of an entity is displayed in response to a user operation.
Doing so would able to provide a device having interesting functions as well as interesting constructions.
Regarding Claim 2, KWON in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches the one or more processors further detecting an operating mode of the electronic device, wherein the presentation of the one or more user actuation targets is altered as a function of the operating mode (KWON [0177] Referring to FIG. 14(a), the second display unit 151b may display at least one thumbnail IC corresponding to indexes. The user may select a specific thumbnail IC with a finger F. [0178] Referring to FIG. 14(b), the controller 180 may change display of the first display unit 151a in response to the selection of the user, made through the second display unit 151b. For example, upon selection of the specific thumbnail IC displayed on the second display unit 151b, the controller 180 can display a page corresponding to the selected thumbnail IC on the first display unit 151a).
Regarding Claim 4, KWON in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches the one or more displays presenting the one or more user actuation targets along one or more minor faces of the device housing (KWON [0179] Referring to FIG. 15, the mobile terminal 100 may be tilted in various manners according to user manipulation. For example, the mobile terminal 100 can be tilted such that the second display unit 151b can be seen or the third display unit 151c, which is opposite to the second display unit 151b, can be seen).
Regarding Claim 5, KWON in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches the one or more displays comprising a single display (KWON [0037] The output unit 150 is shown having a display unit 151).
Regarding Claim 6, KWON in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 5, and further teaches the single display comprising a unitary glass fascia defining at least one major surface spanning a major face of the device housing and one or more curved contours spanning one or more minor faces of the device housing (KWON [0096] The display unit 151 outputs information processed in the mobile terminal 100. The display unit 151 may be implemented using one or more suitable display devices. Examples of such suitable display devices include a liquid crystal display (LCD), a thin film transistor-liquid crystal display (TFT-LCD), an organic light emitting diode (OLED), a flexible display; [0135] As shown in FIG. 3, the mobile terminal 100 according to another embodiment of the present invention may include a display unit 151 which is seamlessly provided to at least two of a plurality of faces of a case 104. [0136] Referring to FIG. 3(a), the case 104 of the mobile terminal 100 may have a hexahedral shape).
Regarding Claim 7, KWON in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 6, and further teaches the single display presenting the one or more user actuation targets along the one or more curved contours (KWON [0176] Referring to FIG. 13(b), when the user turns the second display unit 151b toward the user, the controller 180 may display the thumbnails IC. The thumbnails IC may be indexes of the e-book. For example, the thumbnail IC can correspond to chapter indexes, specific points designated by the user, or the like.).
Regarding Claim 17, KWON in view of MACDOUGALL teaches an electronic device (KWON Abst: The mobile terminal includes: a case having a plurality of faces), comprising:
a device housing having an end and a distal end (KWON [0099] The touch sensor may be configured in a form of a film having a touch pattern, disposed between the window 151a and a display on a rear surface of the window 151a, or a metal wire which is patterned directly on the rear surface of the window 151a; [0138] The display unit 151 may be seamlessly formed over the plurality of faces of the case 104. While the figure shows that the display unit 151 is segmented into first, second and third display units 151a, 151b and 151c for convenience of description, the first, second and third display units 151a, 151b and 151c correspond to one seamless display unit); 151b and 151c are opposite to each other; 151a and the back surface are opposite to each other.
one or more displays presenting one or more user actuation targets defining one or more virtual buttons (KWON [0151] Referring to FIG. 6, the controller 180 of the mobile terminal 100 according to one embodiment of the present invention may display images on respective faces of the display unit 151 such that the images correspond to an entity in step S10. [0152] The entity may refer to a real object. For example, the entity can include material objects such as a book, tree, computer, etc. The entity may include objects of various types. However, a book is exemplified for convenience of understanding; [0206] Referring to FIG. 24(a), the button B may be considered to be provided to a virtual rotating body VB. For example, buttons of different types can be respectively provided to faces of the virtual rotating body VB in the form of a triangular prism. The virtual rotating body VB may be displayed on the second display unit 151b while rotating in a specific direction according to touch operation of the user);
one or more sensors detecting an object tapping on or pushing KWON [0036] If desired, the sensing unit 140 may alternatively or additionally include other types of sensors or devices, such as a touch sensor; [0203] Referring to FIG. 22(b), the user may touch the second display unit 151b. Here, the touch operation may differ from a touch operation of selecting the function of the button B. For example, the user can perform a touch operation of dragging a region where the button B is displayed in the horizontal direction. [0204] Referring to FIG. 23(a), upon application of the drag touch operation, the controller 180 may change the type of the displayed button B. For example, the volume button B1 can be changed to a power button B2); and
KWON does not but Agrawal teaches
tapping on or pushing the distal end (Agrawal [0030] when the device is resting face down on a table or other substantially horizontal surface, the device may employ a proximity sensor and gyroscope, for example, to determine where to display notifications. Thus, for example, if the user is detected in a certain direction with respect to the device, the device displays the notification on the device edge display portion that is most directly facing the user. If it cannot be determined where the user is, the device may display the notification on both edges in a two-edge device, or on all edges in a three- or four-edge device);
KWON in view of Agrawal further teaches
one or more processors, operable with the one or more sensors, the one or more processors causing, in response to the object tapping on or pushing is the distal end of the device housing, the one or more displays to alter presentation of the one or more user actuation targets (Agrawal [0051] If at stage 707 it was determined that the edge screen areas were covered to some extent by the user's hand or palm, then the device determines at stage 715 whether there is coverage on both (all) edges, and if so, determines the relative areas covered at stage 717, displaying the notification on the edge with the least coverage at stage 719. If it is instead determined at stage 715 that there is an edge with no coverage, the device displays the notification on that edge at stage 721). The same motivation as claim 1 applies here.
Regarding Claim 19, KWON in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 17, and further teaches the one or more displays comprising a glass fascia defining at least one major surface spanning a major face of the device housing (KWON [0096] The display unit 151 outputs information processed in the mobile terminal 100. The display unit 151 may be implemented using one or more suitable display devices. Examples of such suitable display devices include a liquid crystal display (LCD), a thin film transistor-liquid crystal display (TFT-LCD), an organic light emitting diode (OLED), a flexible display; [0135] As shown in FIG. 3, the mobile terminal 100 according to another embodiment of the present invention may include a display unit 151 which is seamlessly provided to at least two of a plurality of faces of a case 104. [0136] Referring to FIG. 3(a), the case 104 of the mobile terminal 100 may have a hexahedral shape).
Regarding Claim 20, KWON in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 17, and further teaches the end of the electronic device and the distal end of the electronic device separated by at least one curved contour (KWON [0176] Referring to FIG. 13(b), when the user turns the second display unit 151b toward the user, the controller 180 may display the thumbnails IC. The thumbnails IC may be indexes of the e-book. For example, the thumbnail IC can correspond to chapter indexes, specific points designated by the user, or the like.).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON et al. (US 20170161006 A1), referred herein as KWON in view of Agrawal et al. (US 20210225234 A1), referred herein as Agrawal and Sheu et al. (US 11087720 B1), referred herein as Sheu.
Regarding Claim 8, KWON in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach the claimed limitations herein.
However, Sheu teaches the distal end of the device housing comprising a second end of the device housing separated from the first end of the device housing by a major face of the device housing (Sheu Claim 1. the first body including a first front edge and a first upper edge both positioned at a distal end from a hinge coupling the first body and the second body, the second body including a second front edge and a second upper edge both positioned at a distal end from the hinge coupling the first body and the second body opposite to the hinge).
Sheu disclosed methods, systems, and computer programs encoded on computer storage medium, for detecting a relative positioning between a first body and a second body of a hinged information handling system, therefore is an analogous to the present application.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KWON to incorporate the teachings of Sheu, and apply the device structure for adjusting an edge user interface display of an information handling system into the mobile terminal, which changes display of a display unit on which an image of an entity is displayed in response to a user operation.
Doing so, users would be able to know important information easily, without unnecessary steps to obtain such information.
Regarding Claim 9, KWON in view of Agrawal and Sheu teaches the method of claim 8, and further teaches the one or more displays presenting the one or more user actuation targets along minor faces of the electronic device situated between the first end of the device housing and the second end of the device housing (KWON [0183] Referring to FIG. 16(b) and (c), the user may tilt the mobile terminal 100 to the left or right. Upon sensing of tilting of the mobile terminal 100, the controller 180 may change display of the display unit 151 in response to the tilting. The first display unit 151a may display a specific page number PNC. For example, the contents of page 45 of the e-book can be displayed on the first display unit 151).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KWON et al. (US 20170161006 A1), referred herein as KWON in view of Agrawal et al. (US 20210225234 A1), referred herein as Agrawal and MACDOUGALL et al. (US 11087720 B1), referred herein as MACDOUGALL
Regarding Claim 10, KWON in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 1, but does not teach the claimed limitations herein.
However, MACDOUGALL teaches the one or more sensors detecting the object approaching the distal end of the device housing when the electronic device is in a pocket-enclosed condition (MACDOUGALL [0038] while manipulating a portable electronic device, a user (intentionally or unintentionally) may rotate his/her hand resulting in a change of the orientation of the portable electronic device (or the display of the portable electronic device) relative to the user. Similarly, when a user retrieves a portable media device from a pocket or other resting place, the user inadvertently may grasp the portable device such that the conventional orientation of the portable electronic device (or the conventional orientation of the display of the portable electronic device) is upside down (or otherwise misaligned) relative to the user).
MACDOUGALL disclosed a method for orienting elements displayed on a display of an electronic device relative to a user of the electronic device, therefore is an analogous to the present application.
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KWON to incorporate the teachings of MACDOUGALL, and apply the method of displaying information based on determined orientation of the portable electronic device (into the mobile terminal, which changes display of a display unit on which an image of an entity is displayed in response to a user operation.
Doing so would improve a user's ability to view, perceive, and interact with elements displayed on the display of a portable electronic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3, 11 and 18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 3, KWON in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 1. However, claim 3 in the context of claim 1 as a whole, the prior art does not teach “ wherein one or more user actuation targets comprises a plurality of virtual buttons arranged in a predefined order and the opposite arrangement causes the predefined order to extend in an opposite direction along the device housing.” Therefore, claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of claim 1 and 3.
Regarding Claim 11, KWON in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 1. However, claim 11 in the context of claim 1 as a whole, the prior art does not teach “the one or more processors precluding the one or more displays from altering the presentation of the one or more user actuation targets when the one or more sensors detect the object approaching the distal end of the device housing while a wired headset is coupled to the electronic device.” Therefore, claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of claim 1 and 11.
Regarding Claim 18, KWON in view of Agrawal teaches the method of claim 17. However, claim 18 in the context of claim 17 as a whole, the prior art does not teach “the one or more processors precluding the one or more displays from altering the presentation of the one or more user actuation targets when the one or more sensors detect the object tapping on or pushing the distal end while a wired headset is coupled to the electronic device” Therefore, claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of claim 17 and 18.
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding Claim 12, KWON in view of Agrawal teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a device housing;
one or more displays presenting one or more user actuation targets;
one or more sensors detecting a rotation of the electronic device relative to a direction of gravity; and
one or more processors, operable with the one or more sensors, the one or more processors:
causing, in response to the one or more sensors detecting the rotation of the electronic device relative to the direction of gravity, the one or more displays to alter presentation of the one or more user actuation targets.
However, claim 12 as a whole, the prior art does not teach “and precluding the one or more displays from altering the presentation of the one or more user actuation targets when the one or more sensors detecting the rotation while the electronic device is in an enclosed condition.” Therefore, claim 12 as a whole is allowable.
Claims 13-16 are allowable by virtue of their dependencies.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 24 January 2026, with respect to the 103 rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 2, Applicant's Remarks, with respect to claim 1, the applicant argues There is no disclosure of reversing the ordering of multiple buttons along a face such that the predefined order extends in the opposite direction. Examiner respectfully disagrees with that argument. Although Kwon failed to teach the rearrangement of the location of displayed content as claimed, Kown explicitly teaches actuation targets in FIG. 23 and FIG. 18.1C. Those clickable thumbnails and/or displayed buttons of Kwon are arrangement in a different way based on different operations. However, according to the disclosure of FIG. 3 and FIG. 7.715 and 721, Agrawal disclosed an operation that causes the notification been displayed in an opposite arrangement, such as the notification would be shown on the right edge of 309 if the left edge of 309 is fully covered. It would be obvious to the one with ordinary skill in the art to replace the notification of Agrawal with the soft buttons of Kwon. Doing so would achieve the same result as claimed. Regarding this argument, it is respectfully noted that, Kown in view of Agrawal teaches the limitation of wherein the presentation of the one or more user actuation targets is altered to an opposite arrangement, as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Samantha (YUEHAN) WANG/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2617