DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 61, 62, 70, 75, 76, 80, and 81 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ITOYA, JP 2010211577.
Re claims 61, 75, and 80:
ITOYA discloses a data transmission system, comprising:
A receiving application comprising instructions for execution on a receiving device including a processor and a memory [0007] [0015],
Wherein the receiving application:
Presents a guidance instruction on the receiving device regarding a position of a contactless card relative to the receiving device [0019] [0021] [0022] [0044]-[0046], and
Updates the guidance instruction based on a position of the contactless card relative to the receiving device and a type of the contactless card [0021] [0022] [0037] [0046].
Re claims 62, 76, and 81:
ITOYA discloses the data transmission system, method for data transmission, and computer-accessible medium of claims 61, 75, and 80, wherein the receiving application determines the type of contactless card by searching a database of types of contactless cards [0043] [0044].
Re claim 64:
ITOYA discloses the data transmission system of claim 61, wherein the guidance instruction instructs the position of the contactless card in front of the receiving device [0021] [Figure 1].
Re claim 70:
ITOYA discloses the data transmission system of claim 61, wherein the guidance instruction comprises a targeting box for positioning the contactless card [Figures 3, 4, 8, and 9].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 65 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITOYA, JP 2010211577.
Re claim 65:
ITOYA teaches the data transmission system of claim 61 as discussed above. ITOYA does not teach the guidance instruction instructs the position of the contactless card behind the receiving device; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill try different placements of the contactless card relative to the receiving device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to instruct placement of the contactless card behind the receiving device to prevent a view of the instructions from being obstructed.
Claim(s) 66 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITOYA, JP 2010211577 in view of LENOVO SINGAPORE PTE LTD (hereinafter “LENOVO”), JP 2016024746.
Re claim 66:
ITOYA teaches the data transmission system of claim 61, but does not teach the guidance instruction instructs the position of the contactless card alongside the receiving device.
LENOVO teaches a data transmission system comprising a receiving application configured to present a guidance instruction on a receiving device regarding a position of a contactless card relative to the receiving device, wherein the guidance instruction instructs the position of the contactless card alongside the receiving device [0019]-[0021] [0040] [0056]-[0058] [Figure 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of LENOVO in the system of ITOYA such that the guidance instruction instructs the position of the contactless card alongside the receiving device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to instruct placement of the contactless card alongside the receiving device to prevent a view of the instructions from being obstructed.
Claim(s) 69 and 79 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITOYA, JP 2010211577 in view of MATSUMOTO et al, US 2015/0161601.
Re claims 69 and 79:
ITOYA discloses the data transmission system of claim 61 and method of claim 75, but does not explicitly teach the guidance instruction instructs a gesture of the contactless card relative to the receiving device.
MATSUMOTO teaches a data transmission system comprising a receiving device configured to present a guidance instruction on the receiving device regarding a position of a contactless card relative to the receiving device, wherein the guidance instruction instructs a tapping gesture of the contactless card on the receiving device [0026] [0074] [Figure 6B].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of MATSUMOTO in the data transmission system of ITOYA such that the guidance instruction further instructs a gesture of the contactless card relative to the receiving device. Instructing a tapping gesture of a contactless card relative to a card reader is merely one of many common instructions given to card holders to interact with a contactless type card reader.
Claim(s) 71 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITOYA, JP 2010211577 in view of HANDA, JP 2017085228.
Re claim 71:
ITOYA teaches the data transmission system of claim 61, but does not teach the receiving application presents a soft button configured to trigger a read of the contactless card.
HANDA teaches a medium identification information reading unit (110) configured to read non-contact type IC cards, wherein the medium identification reading unit presents a soft button configured to trigger a read of the contactless card [0115] [0117] [0151] [0228].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of HANDA in the system of ITOYA such that the receiving application presents a soft button configured to trigger a read of the contactless card. Such incorporation helps eliminate unintended card reading.
Claim(s) 72-73 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITOYA, JP 2010211577 in view of HANDA, JP 2017085228, as applied in claim 71, and further in view of MATSUZAKI, US 2017/0318172.
Re claims 72-73:
ITOYA, in view of HANDA, teaches the data transmission system of claim 71, but does not teach the receiving application presents feedback regarding the contactless card via the soft button.
MATSUZAKI teaches an application presents a soft button (502) configured to trigger a reading of a document [0097]. A screen notifies a user of a placement orientation of the document for scanning. When the document is not determined to be in the placement orientation as notified on the screen, the soft button is greyed out, which presents feedback regarding the document to the user [0097].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of MATSUZAKI in the system of ITOYA, in view of HANDA, such that the receiving application presents feedback regarding the contactless card via the soft button by greying out the button when the card is not sufficiently proximate to the receiving device. Such incorporation helps prevent communication error between the card and the receiving device when the card is not properly in position to be read.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 63, 68, 74, 77, and 78 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LAURA A GUDORF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876