DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. .
Regarding claim 1, the originally filed specification does not disclose “a first metal member having two legs with each leg disposed between the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core” as amended claim 1.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected as being dependent on claim 1.
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it’s not clear what’s intended by “a first metal member having two legs with each leg disposed between the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core” as amended claim 1. Specifically, it’s not clear which portions of the metal member 3 of the present invention are considered as the “two legs” because there is no detailed explanation/description in the originally filed specification about the “two legs” as currently claimed. As seen in Fig. 1, the metal member 3 has two vertical bent portions from the top horizontal portion and two horizontal bent portions from the lower end of the two vertical bent portions, respectively. So, it’s not clear if the two vertical bent portions or the two horizontal bent portions are considered as claimed “two legs” as amended. Applicant states in the arguments section that Hsieh teaches only one leg of the wire 12 is disposed between the first and second magnetic cores 10 and 14. Based on this argument, the examiner interprets the two vertical bent portions as the “two legs” as amended claim 1.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) as being dependent from claim 1 and therefore inheriting the indefiniteness thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2021/0358678 A1, hereinafter “Wang”).
With respect to claim 1, best understood in view of 35 USC 112(b) rejection, Wang teaches an assembled inductor (FIGs. 1A-3), comprising:
a first magnetic core 20a;
a second magnetic core 20b;
at least a first metal member 30 having two legs 31 and 32 with each leg disposed between the first magnetic core and the second magnetic core; and
a plurality of gaps G1-G3 formed among the first magnetic core, the second magnetic core, and the at least first metal member (paras. [0040], [0047] and [0052]).
With respect to claim 2, Wang teaches the assembled inductor of claim 1, wherein the first magnetic core includes a plurality of inner projections 22a and 23a facing the second magnetic core (para. [0042]).
With respect to claim 3, Wang teaches the assembled inductor of claim 1, further comprising a second metal member 40 disposed in the at least first metal member (para. [0040]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837