DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 21- 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jorasch et al (Pub. No.: US 2021/0342020 A1; hereinafter Jorasch) in view of D1 (JP3725880B2; hereinafter D1)
Consider claims 21, and 34, Jorasch clearly shows and discloses a method for processing sensor data at a headset device, and a headset device comprising at least one processor; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to perform a set of operations, the set of operations comprising: obtaining, from a computing device, control information (enabling users to customize their headset with just the types of sensors that they need for a particular function, The user may provide any other information pertinent to a peripheral device/headset) (paragraph: 0195, 0216); obtaining sensor data associated with the headset device (headset 4000 may include one or more attachment structures 4018a and 4018b consisting of connector points for motion sensors, motion detectors, accelerometers, gyroscopes, and/or rangefinders; 4004a and 4004b are sensors that may be used to detect a user's head motions) (fig. 40, labels: 4018a and 4018b; and paragraph: 0195 and 0199); processing, by the at least one processor of the headset device and using the control information, the sensor data to generate an input indicating an action for the computing device (headset track movement of his head, eyes, and mouth. In this embodiment, when the user tilts his head to the left an accelerometer/sensor data in his headset registers the movement (action)) (paragraphs: 0909); and providing, from the headset device to the computing device, an indication of the generated input, thereby controlling the computing device according to the indicated action (an app may receive data from peripheral devices used by meeting participants (e.g. headsets) the user could be represented in the call as a cartoon character that provided a generic looking face. The character could be animated and controlled by the user's headset detecting head movement. A user might create a cartoon character, but have his headset track movement of his head, eyes, and mouth. When the user tilts his head to the left an accelerometer in his headset registers the movement and sends the movement data to the headset's processor and then to the call platform software/the computing device which is in control of the user's animated avatar, tilting the avatar's head to the left to mirror the head motion of the user) (paragraphs: 0906, 0908-0909); however, Jorasch does not specifically disclose another example for obtaining, from a computing device, control information.
In the same field of endeavor, D1 clearly specifically discloses another example for obtaining, from a computing device, control information (the wireless utility establishes a connection between the computer 10 and the headset 20 in the audio mode when the icon 31 is double-clicked by the user, The computer 10 functions as a source device that transmits audio data via an established transport channel, and the headset 20 functions as a sink device that receives audio data transmitted via an established transport channel) (paragraphs: 030-0037 and fig. 1-3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teaching of D1 into teaching of Jorasch for the purpose of showing more example for transmitting from a computing device to a headset a control information.
Consider claim 28, Jorasch clearly shows and discloses a method for processing sensor data at a headset device, the method comprising: obtaining sensor data associated with the headset device; processing, by the at least one processor of the headset device and using control information, the sensor data to generate an input indicating an action for the computing device (When the user tilts his head to the left an accelerometer sensor in his headset registers the movement and sends the movement data) (paragraph: 0909); wherein the control information comprises at least one of: an indication of a context for processing the sensor data (enabling users to customize their headset with just the types of sensors that they need for a particular function, The user may provide any other information pertinent to a peripheral device/headset) (paragraph: 0195, 0216); obtaining sensor data associated with the headset device (headset 4000 may include one or more attachment structures 4018a and 4018b consisting of connector points for motion sensors, motion detectors, accelerometers, gyroscopes, and/or rangefinders; 4004a and 4004b are sensors that may be used to detect a user's head motions) (fig. 40, labels: 4018a and 4018b; and paragraph: 0195 and 0199); an indication of a type of sensor data to obtain; an indication of a type of input to generate (When the user tilts his head to the left an accelerometer in his headset registers the movement and sends the movement data to the headset's processor) (paragraph: 0909); an indication of a target computing device; or a set of action rules (When the user tilts his head to the left an accelerometer in his headset registers the movement and sends the movement data to the headset's processor then to the call platform software/the computing device which is in control of the user's animated avatar) (paragraph: 0909) ;and providing, from the headset device to the computing device, an indication of the generated input, thereby controlling the computing device according to the indicated action (an app may receive data from peripheral devices used by meeting participants (e.g. headsets) the user could be represented in the call as a cartoon character that provided a generic looking face. The character could be animated and controlled by the user's headset detecting head movement. A user might create a cartoon character, but have his headset track movement of his head, eyes, and mouth. When the user tilts his head to the left an accelerometer in his headset registers the movement and sends the movement data to the headset's processor and then to the call platform software/the computing device which is in control of the user's animated avatar, tilting the avatar's head to the left to mirror the head motion of the user) (paragraphs: 0906, 0908-0909); however, Jorasch does not specifically disclose another example for obtaining, from a computing device, control information.
In the same field of endeavor, D1 clearly specifically discloses another example for obtaining, from a computing device, control information (the wireless utility establishes a connection between the computer 10 and the headset 20 in the audio mode when the icon 31 is double-clicked by the user, The computer 10 functions as a source device that transmits audio data via an established transport channel, and the headset 20 functions as a sink device that receives audio data transmitted via an established transport channel) (paragraphs: 030-0037 and fig. 1-3)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teaching of D1 into teaching of Jorasch for the purpose of showing more example for transmitting from a computing device to a headset a control information.
Consider claims 22, 29 and 35, Jorasch and D1 clearly show the headset device, and the method, wherein the input comprises at least one of user movement input or user intensity input (Jorasch: paragraph 0909).
Consider claims 23, 30, and 36, Jorasch and D1 clearly show the headset device, and the method, wherein the input controls a virtual presence of a user of the computing device (Jorasch: paragraphs 0906, 0908-0909).
Consider claims 24, and 37, Jorasch and D1 clearly show the headset device, and the method, wherein the control information comprises at least one of: an indication of a context for processing the sensor data; an indication of a type of sensor data to obtain; an indication of a type of input to generate; an indication of a target computing device; or a set of action rules (Jorasch: paragraphs 0906, 0908-0909 and fig. 40 and fig. 85).
Consider claims 25, 31 and 38, Jorasch and D1 clearly show the headset device, and the method, wherein the computing device is a first computing device and the set of operations further comprises providing, by the headset device, generated input to a second computing device (Jorasch: paragraphs 0906, 0908-0909 and fig. 85).
Consider claims 26, 32, and 39, Jorasch and D1 clearly show the headset device, and the method, wherein the set of operations further comprises playing, via the headset device, sound output from the computing device (Jorasch: paragraph: 0933 and 1077-1078, and 1104).
Consider claims 27, 33, and 40, Jorasch and D1 clearly show the headset device, and the method, wherein processing the sensor data comprises at least one of compressing, averaging, de-noising, or de-duplicating the obtained sensor data (Jorasch: paragraphs 0906, 0908-0909 and fig. 85).
Response to Arguments
The present Office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on October 16, 2025. Applicants amended claims 1, 28, and 34. Claims 21-40 are now pending in the present application.
Applicant argues on the Applicant’s Response that Jorasch and D1 failed to teach the limitation " processing, by the at least one processor of the headset device and using the control information, the sensor data to generate an input indicating an action for the computing device; and providing, from the headset device to the computing device, an indication of the generated input, thereby controlling the computing device according to the indicated action.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ arguments, Jorasch teaches the character could be animated and controlled by the user's headset. A user might create a cartoon character, but have his headset track movement of his head, eyes, and mouth. In this embodiment, when the user tilts his head to the left an accelerometer/sensor data in his headset registers the movement (action) and sends the movement data to the headset's processor and then to the call platform software which is in control of the user's animated avatar, tilting the avatar's head to the left to mirror the head motion of the user (paragraph: 0909). Moreover, Jorasch teaches the user's headset processor could also use data from an inward looking video camera to capture movement of the user's eyes and mouth (generated input), with the processor managing to send signals (an indication of the generated input) to the central controller or directly to the call platform software to control the user's avatar to reflect the actual facial movements of the user (paragraphs: 0909 and fig. 40). As a result, Jorasch and D1 teaches all the limitation of claims 1, 28, and 34.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/AMAL S ZENATI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693