DETAILED ACTION
1, 5-8, 13-16 and 18-25 have been examined and are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 7, 8, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qualcomm (Qualcomm Incorporated, “PDSCH and PUSCH enhancements for 52.6-71GHz band” cited in IDS received November 26, 2024) in view of WANG (US 20240023098 A1)
In regards to claim 1, Qualcomm (Qualcomm Incorporated, “PDSCH and PUSCH enhancements for 52.6-71GHz band” cited in IDS received November 26, 2024) teaches an information feedback method, performed by a terminal, comprising:
receiving at least one piece of downlink control information (DCI) (See [2.2.4 Multi-PDSCH/PUSCH with single grant] “The design of multi-PDSCH scheduling with single DCI can leverage Rel.16 multi-PUSCH grant as much as possible, such as the following…”);
dividing, into multiple physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) subsets, a PDSCH set scheduled by each DCI, (See [2.2.4 Multi-PDSCH/PUSCH with single grant] “The design of multi-PDSCH scheduling with single DCI can leverage Rel.16 multi-PUSCH grant as much as possible, such as the following…”);
determining a downlink assignment index (DAI) corresponding to each of the PDSCH subsets (See [2.2.4 Multi-PDSCH/PUSCH with single grant] “…For multi-PDSCH grant, we need to define new way to indicate DAI, to avoid the misalignment of the dynamic feedback codebooks between the UE and gNB in the case of misdetection of one of the multi-PDSCH grants.…”); and feeding back a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) for the multiple PDSCH subsets according to the DAI corresponding to each of the PDSCH subsets (See [2.2.4 Multi-PDSCH/PUSCH with single grant] “…For multi-PDSCH grant, we need to define new way to indicate DAI, to avoid the misalignment of the dynamic feedback codebooks between the UE and gNB in the case of misdetection of one of the multi-PDSCH grants.…”);
The feedback feature of Qualcomm differs from that of claim 1 in the following manner: (1) Qualcomm is silent on wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH , (2) Qualcomm is silent on wherein a counting granularity of the DAI is the PDSCH subset (3) Qualcomm is silent on where a quantity of PDSCHs in each PDSCH subset is determined based on information predefined by a protocol, (4) Qualcomm is silent on wherein the feeding back the HARQ-ACK for the multiple PDSCH subsets comprises performing HARQ-ACK feedback for the multiple PDSCH subsets at a single feedback position and (5) Qualcomm is further silent on wherein in a case that the HARQ-ACK feedback is performed for the multiple PDSCH subsets at the single feedback position, the DCI comprises a first DAI indication field, the first DAI indication filed is used to indicate a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH. (“[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG further teaches with respect to the PDSCH subsets/groups, where a counting granularity of a DAI is the PDSCH group/subset (See [Fig. 8A] where C-DAI counts the PDSCH group/subset), where a quantity of PDSCHs in each PDSCH subset is determined based on information predefined by a protocol (See [Fig. 2] which illustrates a predefined relationship indicating a relationship between a quantity of PDSCHs in a PDSCH subset (i.e. PDSCH group size) and a Modulation and Coding Scheme), wherein the feeding back the HARQ-ACK for the multiple PDSCH subsets comprises performing HARQ-ACK feedback for the multiple PDSCH subsets at a single feedback position (See in [Fig. 8A] where the feedback for the PDSCH group indicated by C-DAI = 1, the PDSCH group indicated by C-DAI = 2, and the PDSCH group indicated by C-DAI = 3, is indicated by a single PUCCH or PUSCH) and wherein in a case that the HARQ-ACK feedback is performed for the multiple PDSCH subsets at the single feedback position, the DCI comprises a first DAI indication field, the first DAI indication field is used to indicate a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets (See [Fig. 8A] where a first DAI indication field, C-DAI = 1, 2, or 3, indicates a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets, Also read where it recites “[0099] FIG. 8A illustrates a schematic diagram 800A illustrating an example generation of HARQ feedback during scheduling of multiple data channels by DCI in a CC according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, in the whole group of downlink data channels scheduled by a single DCI, counter DAIs for each downlink data channel in the whole group keep the same value as signaled in the DCI. The terminal device 110 may generate 1 or 2 HARQ bits for each downlink data channel depending on the supported TB numbers in this cell. A HARQ codebook may be generated in ascending order of the counter DAIs. [0100] As shown in FIG. 8A, PDCCH 810 schedules four PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #0 to #3, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 810 of slot #0 is 1. PDCCH 820 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #4 and #5, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 820 of slot #4 is 2. PDCCH 830 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #6 and #7, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 830 of slot #6 is 3. Assuming that the downlink data is received correctly on PDSCH #0 to #7. In case that 1 TB is supported, a HARQ codebook 840 may be generated. In case that 2 TBs are supported, a HARQ codebook 850 may be generated.”). WANG suggests performing these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 1. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 5, The combination of Qualcomm in view of WANG teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first PDSCH subset is any one of the following scheduled by the DCI: the 1st PDSCH subset, the last PDSCH subset, or a PDSCH subset of a preset index. Qualcomm in view of WANG is believed to arrive at method of claim 1, for the reasons provided with respect to claim 1 above. With respect to the remaining feature(s) of claim 5, Qualcomm is silent on wherein the first PDSCH subset is any one of the following scheduled by the DCI: the 1st PDSCH subset, the last PDSCH subset, or a PDSCH subset of a preset index. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH. (“[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG further teaches with respect to the PDSCH subsets/groups, where a counting granularity of a DAI is the PDSCH group/subset (See [Fig. 8A] where C-DAI counts the PDSCH group/subset), wherein in a case that the HARQ-ACK feedback is performed for the multiple PDSCH subsets at the single feedback position, the DCI comprises a first DAI indication field, the first DAI indication field is used to indicate a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets, wherein the first PDSCH subset is any one of the following scheduled by the DCI: the 1st PDSCH subset (i.e. PDSCH subset with C-DAI = 1) , the last PDSCH subset (i.e. PDSCH subset with C-DAI = 3), or a PDSCH subset of a preset index (i.e. anyone of PDSCH subsets indicated by C-DAI = 1, 2, or 3),. (See [Fig. 8A] where a first DAI indication field, C-DAI = 1, 2, or 3, indicates a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets, Also read where it recites “[0099] FIG. 8A illustrates a schematic diagram 800A illustrating an example generation of HARQ feedback during scheduling of multiple data channels by DCI in a CC according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, in the whole group of downlink data channels scheduled by a single DCI, counter DAIs for each downlink data channel in the whole group keep the same value as signaled in the DCI. The terminal device 110 may generate 1 or 2 HARQ bits for each downlink data channel depending on the supported TB numbers in this cell. A HARQ codebook may be generated in ascending order of the counter DAIs. [0100] As shown in FIG. 8A, PDCCH 810 schedules four PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #0 to #3, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 810 of slot #0 is 1. PDCCH 820 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #4 and #5, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 820 of slot #4 is 2. PDCCH 830 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #6 and #7, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 830 of slot #6 is 3. Assuming that the downlink data is received correctly on PDSCH #0 to #7. In case that 1 TB is supported, a HARQ codebook 840 may be generated. In case that 2 TBs are supported, a HARQ codebook 850 may be generated.”). WANG suggests performing these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 5. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 6, The combination of Qualcomm in view of WANG teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein DAIs corresponding to other PDSCH subsets in the multiple PDSCH subsets except the first PDSCH subset are derived based on a predefined rule and the DAI corresponding to the first PDSCH subset. With respect to the method of claim 1, Qualcomm in view of WANG is believed to arrive at method of claim 1, for the reasons provided with respect to claim 1 above. With respect to the remaining feature(s) of claim 6, Qualcomm is silent on wherein DAIs corresponding to other PDSCH subsets in the multiple PDSCH subsets except the first PDSCH subset are derived based on a predefined rule and the DAI corresponding to the first PDSCH subset. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH. (“[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG further teaches with respect to the PDSCH subsets/groups, where a counting granularity of a DAI is the PDSCH group/subset (See [Fig. 8A] where C-DAI counts the PDSCH group/subset), wherein in a case that the HARQ-ACK feedback is performed for the multiple PDSCH subsets at the single feedback position, wherein DAIs corresponding to other PDSCH subsets in the multiple PDSCH subsets except the first PDSCH subset ( see Fig. 8A, where PDSCH subset/group with C-DAI = 1 is regarded as first PDSCH subset) are derived based on a predefined rule (i.e. incremented based on the C-DAI of the first PDSCH subset/group being equal to 1, so the next PDSCH subset/group has a C-DAI = 2, and the following PDSCH subset/group has a C-DAI = 3, etc….) and the DAI corresponding to the first PDSCH subset. (See [Fig. 8A] where a first DAI indication field, C-DAI = 1, 2, or 3, indicates a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets, Also read where it recites “[0099] FIG. 8A illustrates a schematic diagram 800A illustrating an example generation of HARQ feedback during scheduling of multiple data channels by DCI in a CC according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, in the whole group of downlink data channels scheduled by a single DCI, counter DAIs for each downlink data channel in the whole group keep the same value as signaled in the DCI. The terminal device 110 may generate 1 or 2 HARQ bits for each downlink data channel depending on the supported TB numbers in this cell. A HARQ codebook may be generated in ascending order of the counter DAIs. [0100] As shown in FIG. 8A, PDCCH 810 schedules four PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #0 to #3, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 810 of slot #0 is 1. PDCCH 820 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #4 and #5, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 820 of slot #4 is 2. PDCCH 830 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #6 and #7, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 830 of slot #6 is 3. Assuming that the downlink data is received correctly on PDSCH #0 to #7. In case that 1 TB is supported, a HARQ codebook 840 may be generated. In case that 2 TBs are supported, a HARQ codebook 850 may be generated.”). WANG suggests performing these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 6. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 7, The combination of Qualcomm in view of WANG teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that HARQ-ACK feedback is performed for the multiple PDSCH subsets at a single feedback position, the DCI comprises a second DAI indication field, and the second DAI indication field is used to indicate DAIs corresponding to at least two PDSCH subsets among the multiple PDSCH subsets. Qualcomm in view of WANG is believed to arrive at method of claim 1, for the reasons provided with respect to claim 1 above. With respect to the remaining feature(s) of claim 7, Qualcomm is silent on wherein in a case that HARQ-ACK feedback is performed for the multiple PDSCH subsets at a single feedback position, the DCI comprises a second DAI indication field, and the second DAI indication field is used to indicate DAIs corresponding to at least two PDSCH subsets among the multiple PDSCH subsets. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH. (“[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG further teaches with respect to the PDSCH subsets/groups, where a counting granularity of a DAI is the PDSCH group/subset (See [Fig. 12] where C-DAI counts the PDSCH group/subset), where the DCI comprises a second DAI indication field, and the second DAI indication field is used to indicate DAIs corresponding to at least two PDSCH subsets among the multiple PDSCH subsets. (See [Fig. 12] which illustrates the first DAI indication field, C-DAI = 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5, the C-DAI indicating a DAI corresponding to a first/particular PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets Further referring to [Fig. 12] note the second CAI indication field, T-DAI = 3 or 5, that indicate DAIs corresponding to at least two PDSCH subsets among the multiple PDSCH subsets, with the T-DAI = 3 corresponding to PDSCH subsets indicated by C-DAI = 1, 2, or 3, and T-DAI = 5, corresponding to the PDSCH subsets indicated by C-DAI = 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5, Also read where it recites “[0123] In this embodiment, the number of downlink data channels scheduled by a single DCI in a PDCCH monitoring occasion is the same for each serving cell. The HARQ codebook may be generated first in ascending order of received multiple PDSCHs and then in ascending order of serving cell index and finally in ascending order of PDCCH monitoring occasions. This will be described in detail with reference to FIG. 12. [0124] FIG. 12 illustrates a schematic diagram 1200 illustrating an example generation of HARQ feedback during scheduling of multiple data channels by DCI in CA according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, in the whole group of downlink data channels scheduled by DCI, c-DAIs for each downlink data channel in the whole group keep the same value as signaled in the DCI, and the t-DAI is used to judge if there is any missing detection in some PDCCH monitoring occasions. The terminal device 110 may generate 1 or 2 HARQ bits for each downlink data channel depending on the supported TB numbers in this cell. [0125] As shown in FIG. 12, in PDCCH monitoring occasion #0, i.e., slot #0, each of PDCCH 1210 in Pcell, PDCCH 1220 in Scan and PDCCH 1230 in Scell2 schedules four PDSCHs. The HARQ codebook may be concluded based on Table 4...”). WANG suggests performing these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 7. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 8, The combination of Qualcomm (Qualcomm Incorporated, “PDSCH and PUSCH enhancements for 52.6-71GHz band” cited in IDS received November 26, 2024) in view of WANG suggest the method according to claim 7, wherein the second DAI indication field is used to indicate the DAI corresponding to each PDSCH subset among the multiple PDSCH subsets. Regarding the method of claim 7, Qualcomm in view of WANG is believed to arrive at method of claim 7, for the reasons provided with respect to claim 7 above. With respect to the remaining feature(s) of claim 8, Qualcomm is silent on wherein the second DAI indication field is used to indicate the DAI corresponding to each PDSCH subset among the multiple PDSCH subsets. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH. (“[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG further teaches with respect to the PDSCH subsets/groups, where a counting granularity of a DAI is the PDSCH group/subset (See [Fig. 12] where C-DAI counts the PDSCH group/subset), wherein the second DAI indication field is used to indicate the DAI corresponding to each PDSCH subset among the multiple PDSCH subsets (See [Fig. 12] which illustrates the first DAI indication field, C-DAI = 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5, the C-DAI indicating a DAI corresponding to a first/particular PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets Further referring to [Fig. 12] note a second indication field, a T-DAI = 3 or 5, that indicates DAIs corresponding to at least two PDSCH subsets among the multiple PDSCH subsets, with the T-DAI = 3 corresponding to PDSCH subsets indicated by C-DAI = 1, 2, or 3, and T-DAI = 5, corresponding to the PDSCH subsets indicated by C-DAI = 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5, Also read where it recites “[0123] In this embodiment, the number of downlink data channels scheduled by a single DCI in a PDCCH monitoring occasion is the same for each serving cell. The HARQ codebook may be generated first in ascending order of received multiple PDSCHs and then in ascending order of serving cell index and finally in ascending order of PDCCH monitoring occasions. This will be described in detail with reference to FIG. 12. [0124] FIG. 12 illustrates a schematic diagram 1200 illustrating an example generation of HARQ feedback during scheduling of multiple data channels by DCI in CA according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, in the whole group of downlink data channels scheduled by DCI, c-DAIs for each downlink data channel in the whole group keep the same value as signaled in the DCI, and the t-DAI is used to judge if there is any missing detection in some PDCCH monitoring occasions. The terminal device 110 may generate 1 or 2 HARQ bits for each downlink data channel depending on the supported TB numbers in this cell. [0125] As shown in FIG. 12, in PDCCH monitoring occasion #0, i.e., slot #0, each of PDCCH 1210 in Pcell, PDCCH 1220 in Scan and PDCCH 1230 in Scell2 schedules four PDSCHs. The HARQ codebook may be concluded based on Table 4..”). WANG suggests these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 8. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 13, The combination of Qualcomm in view of Wang suggests the method according to claim 1, wherein each PDSCH in each of the PDSCH subsets corresponds to independent HARQ-ACK bit information, or each of the PDSCH subsets corresponds to unified HARQ-ACK bit information. Regarding the method of claim 1, Qualcomm in view of WANG is believed to arrive at method of claim 1, for the reasons provided with respect to claim 1 above. With respect to the remaining feature(s) of claim 13, Qualcomm is silent on wherein each PDSCH in each of the PDSCH subsets corresponds to independent HARQ-ACK bit information, or each of the PDSCH subsets corresponds to unified HARQ-ACK bit information. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH. (“[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG further teaches with respect to the PDSCH subsets/groups, where a counting granularity of a DAI is the PDSCH group/subset (See [Fig. 8A] and [Fig. 9B] where C-DAI counts the PDSCH group/subset), wherein each PDSCH in each of the PDSCH subsets corresponds to independent HARQ-ACK bit information, or each of the PDSCH subsets corresponds to unified HARQ-ACK bit information. (See [Fig. 10B] which illustrates where each PDSCH (i.e. PDSCH #0 – PDSCH #7) in each of the PDSCH subsets (i.e. PDSCH#0 – PDSCH#3, PDSCH#4-PDSCH#5, and PDSCH#6-PDSCH#7) correspond to independent HARQ-ACK bit information as indicated by [Fig. 10A, Ref 1040]. See [Fig. 11] which illustrates where each of the PDSCH subsets (i.e PDSCH#0 – PDSCH#3, PDSCH#4-PDSCH#5, and PDSCH#6-PDSCH#7) corresponds to unified HARQ-ACK bit information as indicated by [Fig. 11, Ref 1130]). WANG suggests these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 13. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 14, the combination of Qualcomm in view of WANG suggest the method according to claim 1, wherein the dividing, into multiple PDSCH subsets, a PDSCH set scheduled by each DCI comprises: dividing, into the multiple PDSCH subsets according to first information, the PDSCH set scheduled by each DCI; wherein the first information comprises any one of the following: a quantity of PDSCHs in each PDSCH subset; or a quantity of bits of HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to a PDSCH set scheduled by each DCI. Qualcomm in view of WANG is believed to arrive at method of claim 1, for the reasons provided with respect to claim 1 above. With respect to the remaining feature(s) of claim 14, Qualcomm is silent on wherein the dividing, into multiple PDSCH subsets, a PDSCH set scheduled by each DCI comprises: dividing, into the multiple PDSCH subsets according to first information, the PDSCH set scheduled by each DCI; wherein the first information comprises any one of the following: a quantity of PDSCHs in each PDSCH subset; or a quantity of bits of HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to a PDSCH set scheduled by each DCI. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, where the dividing is according to a quantity of PDSCHs in each PDSCH subset, wherein the quantity of PDSCHs in each subset is indicated by information predefined by a protocol and/or configuration information from a network side device (i.e. a bit included in the DCI information indicated the size of the PDSCH sets/groups), ( Read the following “[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG suggests these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 14. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 15, the combination of Qualcomm in view of WANG suggest the method according to claim 14, wherein the quantity of PDSCHs in each PDSCH subset is determined based on at least one of the following: information predefined by a protocol; configuration information from a network side device; or a subcarrier spacing (SCS); or the quantity of bits of HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to a PDSCH set scheduled by each DCI is determined based on at least one of the following: information predefined by a protocol; configuration information from a network side device; or an SCS. Qualcomm in view of WANG is believed to arrive at method of claim 14, for the reasons provided with respect to claim 14 above. With respect to the remaining feature(s) of claim 15, Qualcomm is silent on wherein the dividing, into multiple PDSCH subsets, a PDSCH set scheduled by each DCI comprises: dividing, into the multiple PDSCH subsets according to first information, the PDSCH set scheduled by each DCI; wherein the first information comprises any one of the following: a quantity of PDSCHs in each PDSCH subset; or a quantity of bits of HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to a PDSCH set scheduled by each DCI. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, where the dividing is according to a quantity of PDSCHs in each PDSCH subset, wherein the quantity of PDSCHs in each subset is indicated by information predefined by a protocol and/or configuration information from a network side device (i.e. a bit included in the DCI information indicated the size of the PDSCH sets/groups), ( Read the following “[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG suggests these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 15. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 16, Qualcomm teaches an information sending method, performed by a network side device, comprising:
sending at least one piece of downlink control information (DCI) to a terminal (See [2.2.4 Multi-PDSCH/PUSCH with single grant] “The design of multi-PDSCH scheduling with single DCI can leverage Rel.16 multi-PUSCH grant as much as possible, such as the following…”);
wherein the at least one piece of DCI is used by the terminal to divide, into multiple physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) subsets, a PDSCH set scheduled by each DCI, determine a downlink assignment index (DAI) corresponding to each of the PDSCH subsets, and feed back a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) for the multiple PDSCH subsets according to the DAI corresponding to each of the PDSCH subsets, (See [2.2.4 Multi-PDSCH/PUSCH with single grant] “The design of multi-PDSCH scheduling with single DCI can leverage Rel.16 multi-PUSCH grant as much as possible, such as the following…”, “…For multi-PDSCH grant, we need to define new way to indicate DAI, to avoid the misalignment of the dynamic feedback codebooks between the UE and gNB in the case of misdetection of one of the multi-PDSCH grants.…”, “…For multi-PDSCH grant, we need to define new way to indicate DAI, to avoid the misalignment of the dynamic feedback codebooks between the UE and gNB in the case of misdetection of one of the multi-PDSCH grants.…”);
The feedback feature of Qualcomm differs from that of claim 16 in the following manner: (1) Qualcomm is silent on wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH , (2) Qualcomm is silent on wherein a counting granularity of the DAI is the PDSCH subset (3) Qualcomm is silent on where a quantity of PDSCHs in each PDSCH subset is determined based on information predefined by a protocol, (4) Qualcomm is silent on wherein the feeding back the HARQ-ACK for the multiple PDSCH subsets comprises performing HARQ-ACK feedback for the multiple PDSCH subsets at a single feedback position and (5) Qualcomm is further silent on wherein the DCI satisfies that, in a case that the HARQ-ACK feedback is performed for the multiple PDSCH subsets at the single feedback position, the DCI comprises a first DAI indication field, the first DAI indication filed is used to indicate a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH. (“[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG further teaches with respect to the PDSCH subsets/groups, where a counting granularity of a DAI is the PDSCH group/subset (See [Fig. 8A] where C-DAI counts the PDSCH group/subset), where a quantity of PDSCHs in each PDSCH subset is determined based on information predefined by a protocol (See [Fig. 2] which illustrates a predefined relationship indicating a relationship between a quantity of PDSCHs in a PDSCH subset (i.e. PDSCH group size) and a Modulation and Coding Scheme), wherein the feeding back the HARQ-ACK for the multiple PDSCH subsets comprises performing HARQ-ACK feedback for the multiple PDSCH subsets at a single feedback position (See in [Fig. 8A] where the feedback for the PDSCH group indicated by C-DAI = 1, the PDSCH group indicated by C-DAI = 2, and the PDSCH group indicated by C-DAI = 3, is indicated by a single PUCCH or PUSCH) and wherein in a case that the HARQ-ACK feedback is performed for the multiple PDSCH subsets at the single feedback position, the DCI comprises a first DAI indication field, the first DAI indication field is used to indicate a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets (See [Fig. 8A] where a first DAI indication field, C-DAI = 1, 2, or 3,, indicates a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets, Also read where it recites “[0099] FIG. 8A illustrates a schematic diagram 800A illustrating an example generation of HARQ feedback during scheduling of multiple data channels by DCI in a CC according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, in the whole group of downlink data channels scheduled by a single DCI, counter DAIs for each downlink data channel in the whole group keep the same value as signaled in the DCI. The terminal device 110 may generate 1 or 2 HARQ bits for each downlink data channel depending on the supported TB numbers in this cell. A HARQ codebook may be generated in ascending order of the counter DAIs. [0100] As shown in FIG. 8A, PDCCH 810 schedules four PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #0 to #3, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 810 of slot #0 is 1. PDCCH 820 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #4 and #5, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 820 of slot #4 is 2. PDCCH 830 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #6 and #7, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 830 of slot #6 is 3. Assuming that the downlink data is received correctly on PDSCH #0 to #7. In case that 1 TB is supported, a HARQ codebook 840 may be generated. In case that 2 TBs are supported, a HARQ codebook 850 may be generated.”). WANG suggests performing these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 16. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 18, the combination of Qualcomm in view of Wang suggests the method according to claim 16, wherein the method further comprises: determining a new data indicator (NDI) corresponding to each of the PDSCH subsets; wherein the NDI is sent to the terminal through the at least one piece of DCI. Qualcomm in view of WANG is believed to arrive at method of claim 16, for the reasons provided with respect to claim 16 above. With respect to the remaining feature(s) of claim 18, Qualcomm is silent on wherein the method further comprises: determining a new data indicator (NDI) corresponding to each of the PDSCH subsets; wherein the NDI is sent to the terminal through the at least one piece of DCI, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 18. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH, where a new data indicator (NDI) is determined for each of the respective PDSCH subsets, the NDI for each subset, being included in the DCI, (“[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG further teaches with respect to the PDSCH subsets/groups, where a counting granularity of a DAI is the PDSCH group/subset (See [Fig. 8A] where C-DAI counts the PDSCH group/subset), where a quantity of PDSCHs in each PDSCH subset is determined based on information predefined by a protocol (See [Fig. 2] which illustrates a predefined relationship indicating a relationship between a quantity of PDSCHs in a PDSCH subset (i.e. PDSCH group size) and a Modulation and Coding Scheme), wherein the feeding back the HARQ-ACK for the multiple PDSCH subsets comprises performing HARQ-ACK feedback for the multiple PDSCH subsets at a single feedback position (See in [Fig. 8A] where the feedback for the PDSCH group indicated by C-DAI = 1, the PDSCH group indicated by C-DAI = 2, and the PDSCH group indicated by C-DAI = 3, is indicated by a single PUCCH or PUSCH) and wherein in a case that the HARQ-ACK feedback is performed for the multiple PDSCH subsets at the single feedback position, the DCI comprises a first DAI indication field, the first DAI indication field is used to indicate a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets (See [Fig. 8A] where a first DAI indication field, C-DAI = 1, 2, or 3,, indicates a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets, Also read where it recites “[0099] FIG. 8A illustrates a schematic diagram 800A illustrating an example generation of HARQ feedback during scheduling of multiple data channels by DCI in a CC according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, in the whole group of downlink data channels scheduled by a single DCI, counter DAIs for each downlink data channel in the whole group keep the same value as signaled in the DCI. The terminal device 110 may generate 1 or 2 HARQ bits for each downlink data channel depending on the supported TB numbers in this cell. A HARQ codebook may be generated in ascending order of the counter DAIs. [0100] As shown in FIG. 8A, PDCCH 810 schedules four PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #0 to #3, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 810 of slot #0 is 1. PDCCH 820 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #4 and #5, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 820 of slot #4 is 2. PDCCH 830 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #6 and #7, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 830 of slot #6 is 3. Assuming that the downlink data is received correctly on PDSCH #0 to #7. In case that 1 TB is supported, a HARQ codebook 840 may be generated. In case that 2 TBs are supported, a HARQ codebook 850 may be generated.”). WANG suggests performing these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 18. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 19, Qualcomm (Qualcomm Incorporated, “PDSCH and PUSCH enhancements for 52.6-71GHz band” cited in IDS received November 26, 2024) teaches an information feedback method, performed by a terminal, comprising: teaches a terminal, comprising
receiving at least one piece of downlink control information (DCI) (See [2.2.4 Multi-PDSCH/PUSCH with single grant] “The design of multi-PDSCH scheduling with single DCI can leverage Rel.16 multi-PUSCH grant as much as possible, such as the following…”);
dividing, into multiple physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) subsets, a PDSCH set scheduled by each DCI, (See [2.2.4 Multi-PDSCH/PUSCH with single grant] “The design of multi-PDSCH scheduling with single DCI can leverage Rel.16 multi-PUSCH grant as much as possible, such as the following…”);
determining a downlink assignment index (DAI) corresponding to each of the PDSCH subsets(See [2.2.4 Multi-PDSCH/PUSCH with single grant] “…For multi-PDSCH grant, we need to define new way to indicate DAI, to avoid the misalignment of the dynamic feedback codebooks between the UE and gNB in the case of misdetection of one of the multi-PDSCH grants.…”); and feeding back a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) for the multiple PDSCH subsets according to the DAI corresponding to each of the PDSCH subsets(See [2.2.4 Multi-PDSCH/PUSCH with single grant] “…For multi-PDSCH grant, we need to define new way to indicate DAI, to avoid the misalignment of the dynamic feedback codebooks between the UE and gNB in the case of misdetection of one of the multi-PDSCH grants.…”);
Qualcomm differs from claim 19, in the following: (1) Qualcomm is silent on the terminal, the UE, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform the remaining features of claim 19, (2) Qualcomm is silent on dividing, into multiple physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) subsets, the PDSCH set scheduled by each DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH, (3) Qualcomm is silent on wherein a counting granularity of the DAI is the PDSCH subset (4) Qualcomm is silent on where a quantity of PDSCHs in each PDSCH subset is determined based on information predefined by a protocol, (5) Qualcomm is silent on where the UE performs HARQ-ACK feedback for the multiple PDSCH subsets at a single feedback position and (6) Qualcomm is further silent on where in a case that the HARQ-ACK feedback is performed for the multiple PDSCH subsets at the single feedback position, the DCI comprises a first DAI indication field, the first DAI indication filed is used to indicate a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH. WANG suggests performing this feature in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG further teaches with respect to the PDSCH subsets/groups, where a counting granularity of a DAI is the PDSCH group/subset (See [Fig. 8A] where C-DAI counts the PDSCH group/subset), where a quantity of PDSCHs in each PDSCH subset is determined based on information predefined by a protocol (See [Fig. 2] which illustrates a predefined relationship indicating a relationship between a quantity of PDSCHs in a PDSCH subset (i.e. PDSCH group size) and a Modulation and Coding Scheme), wherein the feeding back the HARQ-ACK for the multiple PDSCH subsets comprises performing HARQ-ACK feedback for the multiple PDSCH subsets at a single feedback position (See in [Fig. 8A] where the feedback for the PDSCH group indicated by C-DAI = 1, the PDSCH group indicated by C-DAI = 2, and the PDSCH group indicated by C-DAI = 3, is indicated by a single PUCCH or PUSCH) and wherein in a case that the HARQ-ACK feedback is performed for the multiple PDSCH subsets at the single feedback position, the DCI comprises a first DAI indication field, the first DAI indication field is used to indicate a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets (See [Fig. 8A] where a first DAI indication field, C-DAI = 1, 2, or 3,, indicates a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets, Also read where it recites “[0099] FIG. 8A illustrates a schematic diagram 800A illustrating an example generation of HARQ feedback during scheduling of multiple data channels by DCI in a CC according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, in the whole group of downlink data channels scheduled by a single DCI, counter DAIs for each downlink data channel in the whole group keep the same value as signaled in the DCI. The terminal device 110 may generate 1 or 2 HARQ bits for each downlink data channel depending on the supported TB numbers in this cell. A HARQ codebook may be generated in ascending order of the counter DAIs. [0100] As shown in FIG. 8A, PDCCH 810 schedules four PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #0 to #3, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 810 of slot #0 is 1. PDCCH 820 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #4 and #5, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 820 of slot #4 is 2. PDCCH 830 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #6 and #7, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 830 of slot #6 is 3. Assuming that the downlink data is received correctly on PDSCH #0 to #7. In case that 1 TB is supported, a HARQ codebook 840 may be generated. In case that 2 TBs are supported, a HARQ codebook 850 may be generated.”). WANG suggests performing these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
WANG further teaches a terminal comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the terminal to perform features pertaining to feedback for PDSCH transmissions (“[0176] FIG. 20 is a simplified block diagram of a device 2000 that is suitable for implementing embodiments of the present disclosure. The device 2000 can be considered as a further example implementation of the terminal device 110 or the network device 120 as shown in FIG. 1. Accordingly, the device 2000 can be implemented at or as at least a part of the terminal device 110 or the network device 120. [0177] As shown, the device 2000 includes a processor 2010, a memory 2020 coupled to the processor 2010, a suitable transmitter (TX) and receiver (RX) 2040 coupled to the processor 2010, and a communication interface coupled to the TX/RX 2040. The memory 2010 stores at least a part of a program 2030. The TX/RX 2040 is for bidirectional communications. The TX/RX 2040 has at least one antenna to facilitate communication, though in practice an Access Node mentioned in this application may have several ones. The communication interface may represent any interface that is necessary for communication with other network elements, such as X2/Xn interface for bidirectional communications between eNBs/gNBs, S 1/NG interface for communication between a Mobility Management Entity (MME)/Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF)/SGW/UPF and the eNB/gNB, Un interface for communication between the eNB/gNB and a relay node (RN), or Uu interface for communication between the eNB/gNB and a terminal device.) [0178] The program 2030 is assumed to include program instructions that, when executed by the associated processor 2010, enable the device 2000 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure, as discussed herein with reference to FIGS. 4 to 19. The embodiments herein may be implemented by computer software executable by the processor 2010 of the device 2000, or by hardware, or by a combination of software and hardware. The processor 2010 may be configured to implement various embodiments of the present disclosure. Furthermore, a combination of the processor 2010 and memory 2020 may form processing means 2050 adapted to implement various embodiments of the present disclosure.”
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by adopting terminal structure of WANG and by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 19. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 20, the combination of Qualcomm (Qualcomm Incorporated, “PDSCH and PUSCH enhancements for 52.6-71GHz band” cited in IDS received November 26, 2024) in view of Wang suggests a network side device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program or instruction is executed by the processor, steps of the information sending method according to claim 16 are implemented. With respect to a network side device executing the steps of the information sending method according to claim 16, the combination of Qualcomm in view of Wang is believed to suggest claim 16, for the same reasons provided with respect to claim 16, above. With regards to the remaining features of claim 20, Qualcomm is silent on the network side device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein when the program or instruction is executed by the processor, steps of the information sending method according to claim 16 are implemented. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving cellular communications.
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH. WANG suggests performing this feature in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG further teaches a network device comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or an instruction stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or instruction, when executed by the processor, causes the network device to perform features pertaining to feedback for PDSCH transmissions (“[0176] FIG. 20 is a simplified block diagram of a device 2000 that is suitable for implementing embodiments of the present disclosure. The device 2000 can be considered as a further example implementation of the terminal device 110 or the network device 120 as shown in FIG. 1. Accordingly, the device 2000 can be implemented at or as at least a part of the terminal device 110 or the network device 120. [0177] As shown, the device 2000 includes a processor 2010, a memory 2020 coupled to the processor 2010, a suitable transmitter (TX) and receiver (RX) 2040 coupled to the processor 2010, and a communication interface coupled to the TX/RX 2040. The memory 2010 stores at least a part of a program 2030. The TX/RX 2040 is for bidirectional communications. The TX/RX 2040 has at least one antenna to facilitate communication, though in practice an Access Node mentioned in this application may have several ones. The communication interface may represent any interface that is necessary for communication with other network elements, such as X2/Xn interface for bidirectional communications between eNBs/gNBs, S 1/NG interface for communication between a Mobility Management Entity (MME)/Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF)/SGW/UPF and the eNB/gNB, Un interface for communication between the eNB/gNB and a relay node (RN), or Uu interface for communication between the eNB/gNB and a terminal device.) [0178] The program 2030 is assumed to include program instructions that, when executed by the associated processor 2010, enable the device 2000 to operate in accordance with the embodiments of the present disclosure, as discussed herein with reference to FIGS. 4 to 19. The embodiments herein may be implemented by computer software executable by the processor 2010 of the device 2000, or by hardware, or by a combination of software and hardware. The processor 2010 may be configured to implement various embodiments of the present disclosure. Furthermore, a combination of the processor 2010 and memory 2020 may form processing means 2050 adapted to implement various embodiments of the present disclosure.”
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by adopting network device structure of WANG and by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 20. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 21, the combination of Qualcomm (Qualcomm Incorporated, “PDSCH and PUSCH enhancements for 52.6-71GHz band” cited in IDS received November 26, 2024) in view of Wang suggests the terminal according to claim 19, wherein the first PDSCH subset is any one of the following scheduled by the DCI: the 1st PDSCH subset, the last PDSCH subset, or a PDSCH subset of a preset index. With respect to the terminal according to claim 19, Qualcomm in view of WANG is believed to arrive at terminal of claim 19, for the reasons provided with respect to claim 19 above. With respect to the remaining feature(s) of claim 20, Qualcomm is silent on wherein the first PDSCH subset is any one of the following scheduled by the DCI: the 1st PDSCH subset, the last PDSCH subset, or a PDSCH subset of a preset index. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH. (“[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG further teaches with respect to the PDSCH subsets/groups, where a counting granularity of a DAI is the PDSCH group/subset (See [Fig. 8A] where C-DAI counts the PDSCH group/subset), wherein in a case that the HARQ-ACK feedback is performed for the multiple PDSCH subsets at the single feedback position, the DCI comprises a first DAI indication field, the first DAI indication field is used to indicate a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets, wherein the first PDSCH subset is any one of the following scheduled by the DCI: the 1st PDSCH subset (i.e. PDSCH subset with C-DAI = 1) , the last PDSCH subset (i.e. PDSCH subset with C-DAI = 3), or a PDSCH subset of a preset index (i.e. anyone of PDSCH subsets indicated by C-DAI = 1, 2, or 3),. (See [Fig. 8A] where a first DAI indication field, C-DAI = 1, 2, or 3, indicates a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets, Also read where it recites “[0099] FIG. 8A illustrates a schematic diagram 800A illustrating an example generation of HARQ feedback during scheduling of multiple data channels by DCI in a CC according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, in the whole group of downlink data channels scheduled by a single DCI, counter DAIs for each downlink data channel in the whole group keep the same value as signaled in the DCI. The terminal device 110 may generate 1 or 2 HARQ bits for each downlink data channel depending on the supported TB numbers in this cell. A HARQ codebook may be generated in ascending order of the counter DAIs. [0100] As shown in FIG. 8A, PDCCH 810 schedules four PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #0 to #3, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 810 of slot #0 is 1. PDCCH 820 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #4 and #5, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 820 of slot #4 is 2. PDCCH 830 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #6 and #7, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 830 of slot #6 is 3. Assuming that the downlink data is received correctly on PDSCH #0 to #7. In case that 1 TB is supported, a HARQ codebook 840 may be generated. In case that 2 TBs are supported, a HARQ codebook 850 may be generated.”). WANG suggests performing these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 21. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 22, the combination of Qualcomm (Qualcomm Incorporated, “PDSCH and PUSCH enhancements for 52.6-71GHz band” cited in IDS received November 26, 2024) in view of Wang suggests the terminal according to claim 19, wherein DAIs corresponding to other PDSCH subsets in the multiple PDSCH subsets except the first PDSCH subset are derived based on a predefined rule and the DAI corresponding to the first PDSCH subset. With respect to terminal of claim 19, Qualcomm in view of WANG is believed to arrive at the terminal of claim 19, for the reasons provided with respect to claim 19 above. With respect to the remaining feature(s) of claim 22, Qualcomm is silent on wherein DAIs corresponding to other PDSCH subsets in the multiple PDSCH subsets except the first PDSCH subset are derived based on a predefined rule and the DAI corresponding to the first PDSCH subset. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH. (“[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG further teaches with respect to the PDSCH subsets/groups, where a counting granularity of a DAI is the PDSCH group/subset (See [Fig. 8A] where C-DAI counts the PDSCH group/subset), wherein in a case that the HARQ-ACK feedback is performed for the multiple PDSCH subsets at the single feedback position, wherein DAIs corresponding to other PDSCH subsets in the multiple PDSCH subsets except the first PDSCH subset ( see Fig. 8A, where PDSCH subset/group with C-DAI = 1 is regarded as first PDSCH subset) are derived based on a predefined rule (i.e. incremented based on the C-DAI of the first PDSCH subset/group being equal to 1, so the next PDSCH subset/group has a C-DAI = 2, and the following PDSCH subset/group has a C-DAI = 3, etc….) and the DAI corresponding to the first PDSCH subset. (See [Fig. 8A] where a first DAI indication field, C-DAI = 1, 2, or 3, indicates a DAI corresponding to a first PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets, Also read where it recites “[0099] FIG. 8A illustrates a schematic diagram 800A illustrating an example generation of HARQ feedback during scheduling of multiple data channels by DCI in a CC according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, in the whole group of downlink data channels scheduled by a single DCI, counter DAIs for each downlink data channel in the whole group keep the same value as signaled in the DCI. The terminal device 110 may generate 1 or 2 HARQ bits for each downlink data channel depending on the supported TB numbers in this cell. A HARQ codebook may be generated in ascending order of the counter DAIs. [0100] As shown in FIG. 8A, PDCCH 810 schedules four PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #0 to #3, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 810 of slot #0 is 1. PDCCH 820 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #4 and #5, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 820 of slot #4 is 2. PDCCH 830 schedules two PDSCHs, i.e., PDSCH #6 and #7, and the c-DAI in PDCCH 830 of slot #6 is 3. Assuming that the downlink data is received correctly on PDSCH #0 to #7. In case that 1 TB is supported, a HARQ codebook 840 may be generated. In case that 2 TBs are supported, a HARQ codebook 850 may be generated.”). WANG suggests performing these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 22. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 23, the combination of Qualcomm (Qualcomm Incorporated, “PDSCH and PUSCH enhancements for 52.6-71GHz band” cited in IDS received November 26, 2024) in view of Wang suggests the terminal according to claim 19, wherein in a case that HARQ- ACK feedback is performed for the multiple PDSCH subsets at a single feedback position, the DCI comprises a second DAI indication field, and the second DAI indication field is used to indicate DAIs corresponding to at least two PDSCH subsets among the multiple PDSCH subsets. Regarding the terminal of claim 19, Qualcomm in view of WANG is believed to arrive at the terminal of claim 19, for the reasons provided with respect to claim 19 above. With respect to the remaining feature(s) of claim 23, Qualcomm is silent on wherein in a case that HARQ-ACK feedback is performed for the multiple PDSCH subsets at a single feedback position, the DCI comprises a second DAI indication field, and the second DAI indication field is used to indicate DAIs corresponding to at least two PDSCH subsets among the multiple PDSCH subsets. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH. (“[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG further teaches with respect to the PDSCH subsets/groups, where a counting granularity of a DAI is the PDSCH group/subset (See [Fig. 12] where C-DAI counts the PDSCH group/subset), where the DCI comprises a second DAI indication field, and the second DAI indication field is used to indicate DAIs corresponding to at least two PDSCH subsets among the multiple PDSCH subsets. (See [Fig. 12] which illustrates the first DAI indication field, C-DAI = 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5, the C-DAI indicating a DAI corresponding to a first/particular PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets Further referring to [Fig. 12] note the second CAI indication field, T-DAI = 3 or 5, that indicate DAIs corresponding to at least two PDSCH subsets among the multiple PDSCH subsets, with the T-DAI = 3 corresponding to PDSCH subsets indicated by C-DAI = 1, 2, or 3, and T-DAI = 5, corresponding to the PDSCH subsets indicated by C-DAI = 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5, Also read where it recites “[0123] In this embodiment, the number of downlink data channels scheduled by a single DCI in a PDCCH monitoring occasion is the same for each serving cell. The HARQ codebook may be generated first in ascending order of received multiple PDSCHs and then in ascending order of serving cell index and finally in ascending order of PDCCH monitoring occasions. This will be described in detail with reference to FIG. 12. [0124] FIG. 12 illustrates a schematic diagram 1200 illustrating an example generation of HARQ feedback during scheduling of multiple data channels by DCI in CA according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, in the whole group of downlink data channels scheduled by DCI, c-DAIs for each downlink data channel in the whole group keep the same value as signaled in the DCI, and the t-DAI is used to judge if there is any missing detection in some PDCCH monitoring occasions. The terminal device 110 may generate 1 or 2 HARQ bits for each downlink data channel depending on the supported TB numbers in this cell. [0125] As shown in FIG. 12, in PDCCH monitoring occasion #0, i.e., slot #0, each of PDCCH 1210 in Pcell, PDCCH 1220 in Scan and PDCCH 1230 in Scell2 schedules four PDSCHs. The HARQ codebook may be concluded based on Table 4...”). WANG suggests performing these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 23. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 24, the combination of Qualcomm (Qualcomm Incorporated, “PDSCH and PUSCH enhancements for 52.6-71GHz band” cited in IDS received November 26, 2024) in view of Wang suggests the terminal according to claim 23, wherein the second DAI indication field is used to indicate the DAI corresponding to each PDSCH subset among the multiple PDSCH subsets. Regarding the terminal of claim 23, Qualcomm in view of WANG is believed to arrive at the terminal of claim 23, for the reasons provided with respect to claim 23 above. With respect to the remaining feature(s) of claim 24, Qualcomm is silent on wherein the second DAI indication field is used to indicate the DAI corresponding to each PDSCH subset among the multiple PDSCH subsets. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH. (“[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG further teaches with respect to the PDSCH subsets/groups, where a counting granularity of a DAI is the PDSCH group/subset (See [Fig. 12] where C-DAI counts the PDSCH group/subset), wherein the second DAI indication field is used to indicate the DAI corresponding to each PDSCH subset among the multiple PDSCH subsets (See [Fig. 12] which illustrates the first DAI indication field, C-DAI = 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5, the C-DAI indicating a DAI corresponding to a first/particular PDSCH subset, and the first PDSCH subset is one of the multiple PDSCH subsets Further referring to [Fig. 12] note a second indication field, a T-DAI = 3 or 5, that indicates DAIs corresponding to at least two PDSCH subsets among the multiple PDSCH subsets, with the T-DAI = 3 corresponding to PDSCH subsets indicated by C-DAI = 1, 2, or 3, and T-DAI = 5, corresponding to the PDSCH subsets indicated by C-DAI = 1, 2, 3, 4, or 5, Also read where it recites “[0123] In this embodiment, the number of downlink data channels scheduled by a single DCI in a PDCCH monitoring occasion is the same for each serving cell. The HARQ codebook may be generated first in ascending order of received multiple PDSCHs and then in ascending order of serving cell index and finally in ascending order of PDCCH monitoring occasions. This will be described in detail with reference to FIG. 12. [0124] FIG. 12 illustrates a schematic diagram 1200 illustrating an example generation of HARQ feedback during scheduling of multiple data channels by DCI in CA according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, in the whole group of downlink data channels scheduled by DCI, c-DAIs for each downlink data channel in the whole group keep the same value as signaled in the DCI, and the t-DAI is used to judge if there is any missing detection in some PDCCH monitoring occasions. The terminal device 110 may generate 1 or 2 HARQ bits for each downlink data channel depending on the supported TB numbers in this cell. [0125] As shown in FIG. 12, in PDCCH monitoring occasion #0, i.e., slot #0, each of PDCCH 1210 in Pcell, PDCCH 1220 in Scan and PDCCH 1230 in Scell2 schedules four PDSCHs. The HARQ codebook may be concluded based on Table 4..”). WANG suggests these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 24. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
In regards to claim 25, the combination of Qualcomm (Qualcomm Incorporated, “PDSCH and PUSCH enhancements for 52.6-71GHz band” cited in IDS received November 26, 2024) in view of Wang suggests the terminal according to claim 19, wherein each PDSCH in each of the PDSCH subsets corresponds to independent HARQ-ACK bit information, or each of the PDSCH subsets corresponds to unified HARQ-ACK bit information. Regarding the terminal of claim 19, Qualcomm in view of WANG is believed to arrive at terminal of claim 19, for the reasons provided with respect to claim 19 above. With respect to the remaining feature(s) of claim 25, Qualcomm is silent on wherein each PDSCH in each of the PDSCH subsets corresponds to independent HARQ-ACK bit information, or each of the PDSCH subsets corresponds to unified HARQ-ACK bit information. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving feedback for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH).
WANG for example teaches a feature for feedback that involves dividing into multiple PDSCH subsets, PDSCH groups, a PDSCH set scheduled by DCI, wherein a PDSCH subset comprises more than one PDSCH. (“[0059] As shown in FIG. 4, the network device 120 may generate 410 DCI for scheduling multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise slot information for the multiple data channels. In some embodiments, the DCI may comprise a new data indicator (NDI) field indicating a data transmission type. In some embodiments, the DCI may further comprise a redundancy version (RV) field. Of course, the DCI may further comprise any other suitable information. For example, the DCI may further comprise modulation and coding scheme (MCS) information. As another example, the DCI may further comprise HARQ process information. In another example, the DCI may further comprise a total number of the data channels scheduled by the DCI. [0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly... [0068] FIG. 6 illustrates a schematic diagram 600 illustrating an example grouping of data channels scheduled by DCI according to embodiments of the present disclosure. In this example, C=8, and M=3. That is, there are 8 PDSCHs scheduled by one PDCCH, as shown by PDSCH #0 to #7 in FIG. 6, and there are 3 PDSCH groups in the DCI. With the above equations (1), (4) and (5), it is determined that PDSCH #0 and PDSCH #1 occupy Group #2 and PDSCH #3 occupy Group #1, and PDSCH #4, PDSCH #5, PDSCH #6 and PDSCH #7 occupy Group #2, as shown in FIG. 6…[0071] In these embodiments, the network device 120 may introduce one additional bit in the DCI to signal the number of data channels in each group (also referred to as a group size). DCI payload may be designed as below. [0072] DCI payload: [0073] multi-PDSCHs-grouping support—0 or 1 bit. [0074] 1 bit if the higher layer parameter multi-PDSCHs-Bundling-Flag is true. [0075] 0 bit otherwise. If multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 0, the network device 120 may set the group size=2, else if multi-PDSCH-grouping support is 1, the network device 120 may set the group size=4.”).
WANG further teaches with respect to the PDSCH subsets/groups, where a counting granularity of a DAI is the PDSCH group/subset (See [Fig. 8A] and [Fig. 9B] where C-DAI counts the PDSCH group/subset), wherein each PDSCH in each of the PDSCH subsets corresponds to independent HARQ-ACK bit information, or each of the PDSCH subsets corresponds to unified HARQ-ACK bit information. (See [Fig. 10B] which illustrates where each PDSCH (i.e. PDSCH #0 – PDSCH #7) in each of the PDSCH subsets (i.e. PDSCH#0 – PDSCH#3, PDSCH#4-PDSCH#5, and PDSCH#6-PDSCH#7) correspond to independent HARQ-ACK bit information as indicated by [Fig. 10A, Ref 1040]. See [Fig. 11] which illustrates where each of the PDSCH subsets (i.e PDSCH#0 – PDSCH#3, PDSCH#4-PDSCH#5, and PDSCH#6-PDSCH#7) corresponds to unified HARQ-ACK bit information as indicated by [Fig. 11, Ref 1130]). WANG suggests these features in order to reduce the number bits required for encoding the downlink control information (DCI) (“[0060] According to embodiments of the present disclosure, the multiple data channels are divided into a plurality of groups, and one of bits in each of the NDI field and the RV field corresponds to one group among the plurality of groups. In other words, data channels within one group shares the same NDI and RV bits. In this way, the number of bits in DCI can be reduced significantly”)
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feedback feature of Qualcomm by incorporating the PDSCH subset/group feature suggested by WANG, to arrive at claim 25. A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to reduce the number of bits required for encoding downlink control information (DCI).
Conclusion
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476