DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed August 28, 2026, has been entered. Claims 1-7 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 35 U.S.C. § 112 rejection previously presented in the Final Office Action mailed June 23, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 28, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, see pages 4-7, that the combination of previously presented prior art reference Liu et al. (Patent Number CN 203,632,748 U), hereafter referred to as Liu, with previously presented prior art reference Rijssemus (Patent Publication Number GB 2,549,375 A), hereafter referred to as Rijssemus, fails to disclose “a microstrip directional coupler is disposed in the output path with a coupling port of the microstrip directional coupler connected to the test port” as recited by independent claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As shown in Rijssemus, Fig. 3, the microstrip directional coupler 54 is located in the output path of the amplifiers 30 and 44, providing a connection to output 16. As suggested by the combination of Liu and Rijssemus, including the circuit of Liu at the output of Rijssemus would result in the test port of Liu being in an output path including the microstrip directional coupler of Rijssemus. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are unconvincing, and the rejections of claims 1-7 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Rijssemus.
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses:
A cable network device (Liu, Fig. 1) wherein a test port (Fig. 1, 51) is associated with the at least one output (Fig. 1, see connection between 51 and 6), and an amplifier element (Fig. 1, 5) and at least one equalizer (Fig. 1, 4) are disposed between the coupling port and the test port (Fig. 1, see connection between coupling port 1 and test port 51 via equalizer 4 and amplifier 5), but fails to disclose comprising a signal path connecting at least one input to at least one output, the signal path comprising an input path connecting the at least input to at least one amplifier for amplifying upstream and/or downstream signals, and an output path connecting the at least one amplifier to the at least one output, and wherein a microstrip directional coupler is disposed in the output path with a coupling port of the microstrip directional coupler connected to the test port.
However, Rijssemus teaches comprising a signal path (Rijssemus, Fig. 3, see path from input 12 to output 16) connecting at least one input to at least one output (Fig. 3, see connection between input 12 and output 16), the signal path comprising an input path (Fig. 3, see path between input 12 and amplifying unit 24/24’/30/44) connecting the at least input to at least one amplifier for amplifying upstream and/or downstream signals (Fig. 3, see connection between input 12 and amplifiers 30 and 44), and an output path (Fig. 3, see connection between 24’ and output 16) connecting the at least one amplifier to the at least one output (Fig. 3, see connection between amplifiers 30 and 44 and output 16), and wherein a microstrip directional coupler (Fig. 3, 54) is disposed in the output path (Fig. 3, see connection between 54 and output 16) with a coupling port of the microstrip directional coupler connected to the test port (Fig. 3, see connection between coupling port 84 of microstrip directional coupler 54 and output 16, and consider output 16 coupled to input 1 of Liu, Fig. 1, with connection between coupling port 1 and test port 51 of Liu, Fig. 1).
Liu and Rijssemus are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving cable network devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Liu to incorporate the teachings of Rijssemus to include the microstrip directional coupler of Rijssemus in the circuit of Liu, which would have the effect of optimizing cable loss compensation for the cable network of Liu (Rijssemus, Page 2, lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 3, Liu further discloses:
wherein the at least one equalizer is disposed between the coupling port and the test port (Liu, Fig. 1, see connection between coupling port 1 and test port 51 via equalizer 4).
Regarding claim 5, Liu fails to disclose:
wherein the output is connected to the output port of the microstrip directional coupler.
However, Rijssemus further teaches wherein the output is connected to the output port of the microstrip directional coupler (Rijssemus, Fig. 3, see connection between microstrip directional coupler 54 and output port 16, and consider input port 1 of Liu coupled to output port 6, with output port 6 of Liu coupled to output port 16 of Rijssemus via the circuit of Liu.
Liu and Rijssemus are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving cable network devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Liu to incorporate the teachings of Rijssemus to include the microstrip directional coupler of Rijssemus in the circuit of Liu, which would have the effect of optimizing cable loss compensation for the cable network of Liu (Rijssemus, Page 2, lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 6, Liu further discloses:
wherein the cable network device is an active device requiring electrical power to operate (Liu, Paragraph 4, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 7, Liu fails to disclose:
when configured for signals complying with a high frequency spectrum of 1.8 GHz and above.
However, Rijssemus further teaches when configured for signals complying with a high frequency spectrum of 1.8 GHz and above (Rijssemus, Page 2, lines 14-17).
Liu and Rijssemus are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving cable network devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Liu to incorporate the teachings of Rijssemus to use the frequency spectrum of Rijssemus for the device of Liu, which would have the effect of enabling conversion between user and network signals (Rijssemus, Page 2, lines 14-17).
Claims 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Rijssemus as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tomomitsu et al. (Patent Number JP 3,843,841 B2), hereafter referred to as Tomomitsu.
Regarding claim 2, Liu and Rijssemus fail to disclose:
wherein the at least one equalizer is disposed between the amplifier element and the test port.
However, Tomomitsu teaches wherein the at least one equalizer is disposed between the amplifier element and the test port (Tomomitsu, Fig. 1, see connection between amplifier 30R and test port 18R via equalizer 34R).
Liu, Rijssemus, and Tomomitsu are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifier circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Liu to incorporate the teachings of Tomomitsu to include the equalizer of Tomomitsu in the circuit of Liu, which would have the effect of enabling control over the gain of the circuit of Liu (Tomomitsu, Paragraph 12, lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 4, Liu further discloses:
and a second equalizer (Liu, Fig. 1, 4) disposed between the coupling port and the test port (Fig. 1, see connection between coupling port 1 and test port 51 via equalizer 4), but fails to disclose wherein two equalizers are provided, a first equalizer disposed between the amplifier element and the test port.
However, Tomomitsu teaches wherein two equalizers are provided (consider equalizer 4 of Liu, Fig. 1 as one equalizer, and equalizer 34R of Tomomitsu, Fig. 1 as the second equalizer), a first equalizer (Tomomitsu, Fig. 1, 34R) disposed between the amplifier element and the test port (Fig. 1, see connection between amplifier 30R and test port 18R via equalizer 34R).
Liu, Rijssemus, and Tomomitsu are all considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of improving amplifier circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified Liu to incorporate the teachings of Tomomitsu to include the equalizer of Tomomitsu in the circuit of Liu, which would have the effect of enabling control over the gain of the circuit of Liu (Tomomitsu, Paragraph 12, lines 1-9).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kinamon et al. (Patent Publication Number US 2019/0036588 A1) discloses a cable network device with a 1.8 GHz frequency band.
/LANCE TORBJORN BARTOL/Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843