DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-15 in the reply filed on 10/21/25 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 09/07/23. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 09/07/23. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 4 lines 28-29 – the phrase “the winding 109b is electrically connected to the switches SW2 and SW6” appears it should be replaced with “the winding 109b is electrically connected to the switches SW3 and SW6” as fig 1 shows winding 109b is electrically connected to the switches SW3 and SW6
Page 15 line 9– the phrase “voltage vectors (V1, V3, V3)” appears it should be replaced with “voltage vectors (V1, V3, V5)”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tian et al. (US 9520800 B2), hereinafter Tian.
Regarding claim 1, Tian discloses a system (fig 3, AC-DC-AC power converter 2) comprising: an energy storage apparatus (fig 3, DC bus circuit 90); an inverter (fig 3, inverter 80) electrically coupled to the energy storage apparatus (fig 3, 90 is shown electrically coupled to 80); and a pulse width modulation module (fig 3, controller 122; col 7 lines 36-38 “controller 122 provides the switching control signals 124 to the switches S1-S6 in pulse width modulated (PWM) form”) configured to: determine a modulation index based on a voltage of the energy storage apparatus and a target output voltage of the inverter (col 9 lines 14-34 “The controller 122 determines relative on times (dwell times) for three control vectors V.sub.1, V.sub.2 and V.sub.3 (or four vectors when synthesizing a virtual vector se described further below) surrounding the current position of the reference vector V.sub.ref as shown in FIG. 6, where the reference vector V.sub.ref has a corresponding modulation index or amplitude (M) and corresponding phase angle θ, and rotates throughout the space vector modulation diagram 240 according to a desired motor load position and torque in certain motor drive or other power conversion system implementations.”; col 9 lines 47-52 “the switching control signals 124 are provided to the NNPC switches S1-S6 to generate the multilevel output voltage V.sub.AN for each inverter output phase and to control charging and discharging of the capacitors C1 and C2, while reducing or mitigating common mode voltages in the system 2.”); select one of a plurality of pulse width modulation (PWM) approaches based on the modulation index (col 10 lines 4-12 “The modulation index and phase angle are received and used at 252 to identify the location of the reference vector V.sub.ref (FIG. 6). The reference vector, in turn, is used to identify the three surrounding control vectors V.sub.1, V.sub.2 and V.sub.3 (e.g., FIG. 6, or four surrounding original vectors for synthesizing a virtual vector), and space vector modulation processing is used to determine the corresponding “on-time” or dwell time duration intervals t.sub.1, t.sub.2 and t.sub.3 (and optionally t.sub.4) at 252 in FIG. 7.”; col 11 lines 56-67 and col 12 lines 1-57 describe type A and type B modulation operations based on modulation index levels); and determine a switching command for the inverter based on the target output voltage and the selected one of the plurality of PWM modulation approaches (col 12 lines 58-67 and col 13 1-47 describe determining an operation type a or b for inverter and setting switching states from subsets based on the reference vector or target output that is derived from a desired output load condition).
Regarding claim 3, Tian discloses the system of claim 1, wherein, to select one of a plurality of PWM approaches based on the modulation index, the pulse width modulation module is configured to determine in which of at least two modulation regions the modulation index falls (figs 9-13; cols 11-14 thoroughly describe at least 2 types of PWM operations type A and B using vectors of the Type A or Type B subset of the possible switching states. The dashed line circles in fig 9 and 10, labelled 274, 276, 278, 284, 286, and 288, define the modulation index regions).
Regarding claim 7, Tian discloses the system of claim 1, further comprising an energy source (fig 3, three phase power source 102) electrically connected to the energy storage apparatus (fig 3, stages 100a, 100b and 100c are connected to corresponding phases A, B and C of 102 and connected to positive and negative lines 90a and 90b of the DC bus circuit 90 including two DC bus capacitances for energy storage), the energy source configured to provide a direct current (DC) current to the energy storage apparatus (col 7 lines 46-51 “In FIG. 3, three NNPC stages 100a, 100b and 100c are connected to corresponding phases A, B and C of a three phase power source 102 to form a three phase rectifier circuit 70 providing DC voltage in a DC bus circuit 90 including two DC bus capacitances of equal value”).
Regarding claim 8, Tian discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the energy source comprises a rectifier (fig 3, rectifier circuit 70).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al. (US 9520800 B2), hereinafter Tian as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of E. Un and A. M. Hava, "A Near State PWM Method With Reduced Switching Frequency And Reduced Common Mode Voltage For Three-Phase Voltage Source Inverters," 2007 IEEE International Electric Machines & Drives Conference, Antalya, Turkey, 2007, pp. 235-240 and Wang et al (US 20190131868 A1) hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 4, Tian discloses the system of claim 1.
Tian fails to disclose wherein the at least two modulation regions comprise a remote state PWM region and a near state PWM region.
Un discloses near state PWM (NSPWM) method, which reduces the common mode voltage/current, is proposed for three-phase PWM inverter. Un discloses a near state PWM region (figs 2-3; SECTION II- “The Nspwm Method”, “Defined with indices, voltage vectors Vi−1,Vi, and Vi+1 are utilized for region Bi. For example, for the region between 30° and 90° (B2), the applied voltage vectors are V1,V2, and V3(Fig. 3)”).
Un fails to disclose a remote state PWM region.
Wang discloses space vector pulse width modulation (SPWM or SVPWM) and remote state pulse width modulation (RSPWM) operation of the switching circuit. Wang discloses remote state PWM region (fig 2c; par [0020] “Remote state pulse width modulation (RSPWM) can eliminate the CM voltage by rearranging the space vectors. With RSPWM, the same vector is generated by non-adjacent vectors (51, S3 and S5), resulting a zero V.sub.cm as illustrated in FIG. 2C”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Tian and incorporate the use of near and remote state PWM regions as taught by Un and Wang. The advantage of this design is to define modulation regions in order to implement an appropriate PWM operation to reduce common mode voltage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-6, and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 2, Tian et al (US 9520800 B2) discloses the system of claim 1. Tian fails to disclose wherein the plurality of PWM approaches comprise: a near state PWM approach, a single-mode remote state PWM approach, and a dual-mode remote state PWM approach.
Un [E. Un and A. M. Hava, "A Near State PWM Method With Reduced Switching Frequency And Reduced Common Mode Voltage For Three-Phase Voltage Source Inverters," 2007 IEEE International Electric Machines & Drives Conference, Antalya, Turkey, 2007, pp. 235-240] discloses a near state PWM approach (SECTION II “The Nspwm Method”).
Un fails to disclose wherein the plurality of PWM approaches also comprise: a single-mode remote state PWM approach and a dual-mode remote state PWM approach.
Wang et al (US 20190131868 A1) discloses a single-mode remote state PWM approach (par [0020] Remote state pulse width modulation (RSPWM) can eliminate the CM voltage by rearranging the space vectors. With RSPWM, the same vector is generated by non-adjacent vectors (S1, S3 and S5)).
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “a dual-mode remote state PWM approach” wherein the instant application defines the dual-mode remote state PWM approach “In the dual-mode remote state PWM, the sectors 1 to 6 and the non-zero voltage vectors V1 to V6 are rotated by 30° clockwise compared to the sectors shown in FIG. 4. If the reference voltage Vref is in rotated sector 1, 3, or 5, Vref is synthesized using only odd voltage vectors (V1, V3, V3). If Vref is in rotated sector 2, 4, or 6, Vref is synthesized using only even voltage vectors (V2, V4, V6).”.
Regarding claim 5, Tian, Un, and Wang disclose the system of claim 4.
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “the remote state PWM region comprises: a single-mode remote state PWM region, and a dual-mode remote state PWM region”.
Regarding claim 6, it is allowed for its dependency on allowable claim 5.
Regarding claim 9, Tian discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the pulse width modulation module is configured to select the one of the plurality of PWM approaches based on the modulation index.
Tian is found to be the closest prior art referenced.
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “the PWM module is configured to select the one of the plurality of PWM approaches based on a setting, the setting indicating whether or not to reduce common mode voltage”.
Regarding claims 10-11, they are allowed for their dependency on allowable claim 9.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
Claims 12-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 12, Tian discloses a control system for an inverter (fig 3, controller 122), the control system comprising: a pulse width modulation module (col 7 lines 36-38 “controller 122 provides the switching control signals 124 to the switches S1-S6 in pulse width modulated (PWM) form”) configured to: determine a modulation index based on a voltage of an energy storage apparatus in the inverter and a target output voltage of the inverter (col 9 lines 14-34 “The controller 122 determines relative on times (dwell times) for three control vectors V.sub.1, V.sub.2 and V.sub.3 (or four vectors when synthesizing a virtual vector se described further below) surrounding the current position of the reference vector V.sub.ref as shown in FIG. 6, where the reference vector V.sub.ref has a corresponding modulation index or amplitude (M) and corresponding phase angle θ, and rotates throughout the space vector modulation diagram 240 according to a desired motor load position and torque in certain motor drive or other power conversion system implementations.”; col 9 lines 47-52 “the switching control signals 124 are provided to the NNPC switches S1-S6 to generate the multilevel output voltage V.sub.AN for each inverter output phase and to control charging and discharging of the capacitors C1 and C2, while reducing or mitigating common mode voltages in the system 2.”); select one of a plurality of pulse width modulation (PWM) approaches based on one or more of the modulation index (col 10 lines 4-12 “The modulation index and phase angle are received and used at 252 to identify the location of the reference vector V.sub.ref (FIG. 6). The reference vector, in turn, is used to identify the three surrounding control vectors V.sub.1, V.sub.2 and V.sub.3 (e.g., FIG. 6, or four surrounding original vectors for synthesizing a virtual vector), and space vector modulation processing is used to determine the corresponding “on-time” or dwell time duration intervals t.sub.1, t.sub.2 and t.sub.3 (and optionally t.sub.4) at 252 in FIG. 7.”; col 11 lines 56-67 and col 12 lines 1-57 describe type A and type B modulation operations based on modulation index levels); determine a switching command for the inverter based on the target output voltage and the selected one of the plurality of PWM modulation approaches (col 12 lines 58-67 and col 13 1-47 describe determining an operation type a or b for inverter and setting switching states from subsets based on the reference vector or target output that is derived from a desired output load condition); and provide the switching command to the inverter to thereby modulate DC energy in the energy storage apparatus into a driver signal (col 2 lines 20-32 “The rectifier and inverter can be operated using unsynchronized modulation, and may be operated at different switching frequencies, and each provide constant common mode voltage contributions, with the controller providing for offsetting or cancellation of the individual common mode voltage contributions. The controller may provide the rectifier and inverter switching control signals to regulate the switched capacitor voltages by controlling the switched capacitor charging and discharging, for example, through selection of redundant output states for one or more levels associated with the multilevel converter stages to regulate the voltages across the converter stage capacitors.”).
However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “select one of a plurality of pulse width modulation (PWM) approaches based on a common mode voltage setting”.
Regarding claims 13-15, they are allowed for their dependency on allowable claim 12.
Conclusion
/LAUREN ASHLEY SHAW/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838