DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Claim rejections based on prior art
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/29/2026 with respect to claims 21-40 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Double Patenting: Applicant’s remarks are not persuasive because. Both the current application and patent 11,762,658 are directed to a second, different VSP of a plurality of VSPs accessing a buffer, register ‘of’ a first VSP after the performance of matrix multiplication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101: the rejection below is still applied because the location of the ‘internal buffer’ is not clear, disclose. The claim language doesn’t require the ‘internal buffer’ to be part of the system. Instead of the phrase ‘of the.. ’, using a word such as ‘within’ might be better.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103: with respect to claim limitation “wherein a first VSP of the plurality of VSPs stores subsets of the first portions of the first matrix in an internal buffer of the first VSP, and wherein a different VSP of the plurality of VSPs accesses the subsets from the internal buffer of the first VSP after the first VSP performs the matrix multiplication”, see paragraphs 0081 and 0102 of Boswell, which teach different cores/processors accessing metrices results in a register file, result queue, an internal buffer. Please note, phrase “an internal buffer of the first VSP” or “an internal buffer of the second VSP” makes the respective limitation confusing because the location of the ‘internal buffer’ is not clear, disclose. The claim language doesn’t require the ‘internal buffer’ to be part of the system.
Note, even though prosecution is now closed, to help expedite any further potential prosecution of this application, Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner to discuss the invention, and a potential allowance.
OBJECTIONS TO THE CLAIMS
Claims 21-40 are s objected to as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
As per claims 21, 29 and 37, phrase “an internal buffer of the first VSP” or “an internal buffer of the second VSP” makes the respective limitation confusing because the location of the ‘internal buffer’ is not clear, disclose or if the ‘internal buffer’ is even part of the system. Correction is needed.
REJECTIONS NOT BASED ON PRIOR ART
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 21-40 are directed to the abstract idea of a judicial exception for abstract idea without significantly more. For example, claim 1 is directed to performing matrix multiplication on first portions of a first matrix and first portions of a second matrix, which are abstract idea. Additionally, when considered as a whole, the claim does not include an inventive concept sufficient to transform the abstract idea into a patent-eligible application. The claim merely recites generic computing processors (e.g., vector signal processors) without any improvements to functioning of a computer or any specific technological implementation. The claim does not add any meaningful limitations beyond the abstract idea itself.
REJECTIONS BASED ON PRIOR ART
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed, approved immediately upon submission, and reduces waiting time for Terminal Disclaimer to be manually approved. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over the claims of 1-20 of U.S. Pat. No. 11,762,658, since the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in patents. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is at least fully disclosed in the reference patents and application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Wilder et al. (US pub. 2010/0274990), hereinafter, “Wilder”, in view of Boswell et al. (US pub. 2022/0391206), hereinafter, “Boswell”
3. As per claims 21, 29 and 37, Wilder discloses an apparatus [see paragraph 0002, which discloses “an apparatus and method for performing SIMD (Single Instruction Multiple Data) multiply-accumulate (MAC) operations”] comprising: a plurality of vector signal processors (VSPs) (taking into consideration of applicant’s specification/claim disclosing “plurality of vector signal processors (VSPs) comprising multiply/accumulate elements”, see paragraph 0015 of Wilder, which discloses a SIMD data processing circuitry to perform a plurality of iterations of a multiply-accumulate process and paragraph 0026 which discloses a SIMD register bank for storing data elements), wherein the VSPs perform matrix multiplication on first portions of a first matrix and first portions of a second matrix (see paragraph 0048 which discloses “performing said plurality of iterations of a multiply-accumulate process, each iteration of the multiply-accumulate process comprising performing N multiply-accumulate operations in parallel in order to produce N multiply-accumulate data elements”).
Wilder fails to expressly discloses wherein a first VSP of the plurality of VSPs stores subsets of the first portions of the first matrix in an internal buffer of the first VSP, and wherein a different VSP of the plurality of VSPs accesses the subsets from the internal buffer of the first VSP after the first VSP performs the matrix multiplication.
To take into consideration, from Boswell: paragraph 0081, disclosing “many algorithms are designed around a fundamental arithmetic operation of multiplying a first input matrix with a second input matrix and summing the result with a third input matrix (i.e., a collector matrix)… where A is an input matrix of size N×K, B is an input matrix of size K×M, and C is the collector matrix of size N×M. The collector matrix C is read in from the register file, and the results of the MMA operation are accumulated and written over the data for the collector matrix C in the register file. In one embodiment, the collector matrix C and the result matrix D (C.sub.out=D) may be different operands such that the result of the MMA operation is not written over the collector matrix C ”, paragraph 0082, which discloses “the MMA operation multiplies an input matrix A 710 by an input matrix B 720, and accumulates the result in a collector matrix C 730” and paragraph 0088, which discloses “For example, as shown in FIG. 7, a first element of the collector matrix C.sub.0,0 is generated as the result of a dot product operation between a first vector <A.sub.0,0, A.sub.0,1, A.sub.0,2, A.sub.0,3> of the input matrix A 710 and a first vector <B.sub.0,0, B.sub.1,0, B.sub.2,0, B.sub.3,0> of the input matrix B 720. The first vector of the input matrix A 710 represents a first row of the input matrix A 710. The first vector of the input matrix B 720 represents a first column of the input matrix B 720. Thus, the dot product between these two vectors is given as: where the dot product operation is fundamentally the execution of four multiplication operations performed on corresponding elements of the two vectors followed by four addition operations that sum the four partial products generated by the multiplication operations along with the initial value of the element of the collector matrix. Each of the other elements of the collector matrix C 730 is then calculated in a similar manner using different combinations of the vectors of the input matrices. For example, another element of the collector matrix C 730, element C.sub.3,2, is generated as the result of a dot product operation between a fourth vector <A.sub.3,0, A.sub.3,1, A.sub.3,2, A.sub.3,3> of the input matrix A 710 and a third vector <B.sub.0,2, B.sub.1,2, B.sub.2,2, B.sub.3,2> of the input matrix B 720. As shown in the MMA operation of FIG. 7, each vector of the input matrix A 710 is consumed by eight dot product operations configured to generate a corresponding row of elements of the collector matrix C 730. Similarly, each vector of the input matrix B 720 is consumed by eight dot product operations configured to generate a corresponding column of elements of the collector matrix C 730. While each of the 64 dot product operations to generate the elements of the collector matrix C 730 is unique as defined by using a different pair of vectors from the input matrices, each vector of the first input operand and each vector of the second input operand are consumed by multiple dot product operations and contribute to multiple individual elements of a result matrix”.
More importantly, with respect to claim limitation “wherein a first VSP of the plurality of VSPs stores subsets of the first portions of the first matrix in an internal buffer of the first VSP, and wherein a different VSP of the plurality of VSPs accesses the subsets from the internal buffer of the first VSP after the first VSP performs the matrix multiplication”, see paragraphs 0081 and 0102, which teach different cores/processors accessing metrices results in a register file, result queue, an internal buffer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate Boswell’s teaching of matrix multiply and accumulate (MMA) dot product operations to include steps of: generating a plurality of partial products by multiplying each element of a first vector with a corresponding element of a second vector; aligning the plurality of partial products and accumulating the plurality of aligned partial products into a result queue utilizing at least one adder, into Wilder’s teaching of a method for performing SIMD multiply-accumulate operations including SIMD data processing circuitry responsive to control signals to perform data processing operations in parallel on multiple data elements, for the benefit of improving the efficiency of a processor by having register files with multiple banks such that operands can be efficiently stored in separate banks and multiple operands can be loaded from the register file into the inputs of a datapath in a single clock cycle, as taught by Boswell.
4. As per claims 22 and 30, the combination of Wilder and Boswell discloses “The apparatus of claim 21” [see rejection to claim 21 above], wherein the plurality of VSPs further comprise a first buffer, a second buffer, and an output buffer, and wherein subsets of the first portions of the first and second matrices are copied to the first and second buffers in the plurality of VSPs prior to initiating the matrix multiplication (see paragraph 0073 of Wilder, which discloses “all of the required input data elements and coefficient data elements are read from a SIMD register bank into internal registers of the SIMD data processing circuitry prior to the computations”).
5. As per claims 23 and 31, the combination of Wilder and Boswell discloses “The apparatus of claim 22” [see rejection to claim 22 above], wherein, during a current iteration of the matrix multiplication, the VSPs perform matrix multiplication on the subsets of the first portions of the first and second matrices stored in the corresponding first and second buffers (see paragraph 0048 of Wilder, which discloses “performing said plurality of iterations of a multiply-accumulate process, each iteration of the multiply-accumulate process comprising performing N multiply-accumulate operations in parallel in order to produce N multiply-accumulate data elements”).
6. As per claims 24 and 32, the combination of Wilder and Boswell discloses “The apparatus of claim 23” [see rejection to claim 23 above], wherein, during the current iteration, the subsets of the first portions of the first matrix comprise operands that are rotated between different VSPs through a crossbar switch that interconnects the plurality of VSPs after the VSPs perform the matrix multiplication for the current iteration (see paragraph 0015 of Wilder, which discloses “during each iteration, the SIMD data processing circuitry determines N input data elements from the first vector and a single coefficient data element from the second vector” and paragraph 0107 of Boswell, which discloses “the crossbar 915 and operand collectors 920 may be implemented between the register file 420 and the one or more cores 450. Furthermore, the result queue 950 may be implemented between the one or more cores 450 and the interconnect network 480, which enables the result stored in the result queue 950 to be written back to the register file 420. Consequently, the processor 900 is a PPU 200 comprising a plurality of SMs 340, each SM 340 in the plurality of SMs 340 including the register file 420 and a number of cores 450, each core 450 in the number of cores 450 including an instance of the HMMA datapath 930”).
7. As per claims 25, 33 and 38, the combination of Wilder and Boswell discloses “The apparatus of claim 24” [see rejection to claim 24 above], further comprising: a crossbar switch that interconnects the plurality of VSPs, wherein the subsets of the first portions of the first matrix are rotated to the different VSPs via the crossbar switch (see paragraph 0099 of Boswell, which discloses “a crossbar 915 or other type of switchable interconnect may be coupled to the read ports of the register banks 910 and the inputs of the operand collectors. The crossbar 915 can be configured to route the signals from a read port associated with any of the register banks 910 to a particular operand collector 920” and paragraph 0107, which discloses “the crossbar 915 and operand collectors 920 may be implemented between the register file 420 and the one or more cores 450. Furthermore, the result queue 950 may be implemented between the one or more cores 450 and the interconnect network 480, which enables the result stored in the result queue 950 to be written back to the register file 420. Consequently, the processor 900 is a PPU 200 comprising a plurality of SMs 340, each SM 340 in the plurality of SMs 340 including the register file 420 and a number of cores 450, each core 450 in the number of cores 450 including an instance of the HMMA datapath 930”).
8. As per claims 26 and 34, the combination of Wilder and Boswell discloses “The apparatus of claim 21” [see rejection to claim 21 above], wherein the VSPs perform the matrix multiplication for all combinations of the subsets of the first portions of the first and second matrices during a first round of iterations (see figures 1A-1B and paragraph 0114 of Wilder, which discloses “each repeating MAC instruction receives a first vector of input data elements, and a second vector of coefficient data elements, and generates one set of N multiply-accumulate results”).
9. As per claims 27 and 35, the combination of Wilder and Boswell discloses “The apparatus of claim 26” [see rejection to claim 26 above], wherein the plurality of VSPs further comprise: output buffers, wherein the VSPs write accumulated results of the multiplications to the output buffer subsequent to performing the matrix multiplication in the first round
of iterations and prior to beginning a second round of iterations (see paragraph 0015 of Wilder, which discloses “after performance of the plurality of iterations the SIMD data processing circuitry then outputs N multiply-accumulate results”).
10. As per claims 28 and 36, the combination of Wilder and Boswell discloses “The apparatus of claim 27” [see rejection to claim 27 above], wherein second portions of the first and second matrices are fetched into a plurality of registers in response to the VSPs writing the accumulated results to the output buffers (see paragraph 0015 of Wilder, which discloses “during each iteration, the SIMD data processing circuitry determines N input data elements from the first vector and a single coefficient data element from the second vector”).
11. As per claim 39, the combination of Wilder and Boswell discloses “The method of claim 37” [see rejection to claim 37 above], further comprising: fetching the first portions of the first matrix and the first portions of the second matrix into vector general-purpose registers (VGPRs) associated with the VSPs; and copying the first portions of the first matrix and the first portions of the second matrix from the VGPRs into first and second buffers in the VSPs, respectively, prior to beginning the multiplication (see paragraph 0015 of Wilder, which discloses “during each iteration, the SIMD data processing circuitry determines N input data elements from the first vector and a single coefficient data element from the second vector”).
12. As per claim 40, the combination of Wilder and Boswell discloses “The method of claim 37” [see rejection to claim 37 above], writing accumulated results of multiplying the first portions of the first and second matrices into an output buffer in response to completing the multiplication. (see paragraph 0015 of Wilder, which discloses “during each iteration, the SIMD data processing circuitry determines N input data elements from the first vector and a single coefficient data element from the second vector”).
CLOSING COMMENTS
Conclusion
a. STATUS OF CLAIMS IN THE APPLICATION
The following is a summary of the treatment and status of all claims in the application as recommended by M.P.E.P. 707.07(i):
a(1) CLAIMS REJECTED IN THE APPLICATION
Per the instant office action, claims 21-40 have received a final action on the merits.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
b. DIRECTION OF FUTURE CORRESPONDENCES
IMPORTANT NOTE
If attempts to reach the above noted Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Mr. Idriss Alrobaye, can be reached at the following telephone number: Area Code (571) 270-1023.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/Ernest Unelus/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2181