DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
An amendment responsive to the non-final Office Action dated May 15, 2026 was submitted on August 13, 2026. Claims 1 and 2 were amended. Claims 3-10 were canceled. Claims 11 and 12 were added. Claims 1, 2, 11 and 12 are currently pending.
The amendments to the claims have overcome the rejections under 35 USC 112(b) of claims 4, 8 and 10 (¶¶ 4-5 of the Office Action). These rejections have therefore been withdrawn.
The amendments to claim 1 have overcome the prior art rejections of claims 1 and 2 (¶¶ 8-10 of the Office Action). These rejections have therefore been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection of these claims have been made as detailed below. New claims 11 and 12 have also been addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsumoto et al. (Japanese Patent Publication No. JP S58-97268A, cited in IDS submitted September 7, 2023, machine language translation provided and cited below).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumoto discloses a roll press device (FIG. 4 of Matsumoto) comprising: a pair of press rolls (FIG. 4 of Matsumoto, press rolls #3); a first auxiliary roll disposed upstream of the pair of press rolls (FIG. 4 of Matsumoto, upstream auxiliary roll #5); and a second auxiliary roll disposed downstream of the pair of press rolls (FIG. 4 of Matsumoto, downstream auxiliary roll #5), wherein the roll press device is configured to press a laminate structure by allowing the laminate structure to pass between the pair of press rolls (FIG. 4 of Matsumoto, press rolls #3 adapted to press electrode plate #1 which has a laminate structure), and wherein a first laminate-structure contact surface of the first auxiliary roll and a second laminate-structure contact surface of the second auxiliary roll are both positioned above a virtual plane that the laminate structure includes when the laminate structure passes between the pair of press rolls, or are both positioned below the virtual plane (FIG. 4 of Matsumoto, electrode plate contact surface with upstream and downstream auxiliary rolls #5 below virtual plane of electrode plate passing between press rolls #3; claim only requires one of the recited configurations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto.
Regarding claim 2, Matsumoto does not specifically disclose the roll press device wherein a first angle of the first laminate-structure contact surface with respect to the virtual plane and a second angle of the second laminate-structure contact surface with respect to the virtual plane are each larger than zero degrees and are each equal to or less than 10 degrees. Matsumoto, however, discloses that the auxiliary rollers can be moved up and down to adjust the speed between each roll pressing process ([0034] of Matsumoto). Matsumoto therefore establishes that the displacement of the auxiliary rollers (and hence the angle formed between the electrode plate and the virtual plane) is a variable which achieves a recognized result (i.e., adjusting the speed between rolling processes) ([0034] of Matsumoto). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the displacement and hence the angle of the electrode plate with the virtual plane in the method of Matsumoto, including providing angles as recited in claim 2. Moreover, as set forth in the MPEP, once a parameter is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977) (MPEP §2144.05 II B).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsumoto in view of Yoon et al. (Korean Patent Publication No. KR 10-2014-0029808 A, cited in IDS submitted September 7, 2023; machine language translation provided in previous Office Action and cited below).
Regarding claim 11, Matsumoto does not specifically disclose the roll press device further comprising a position adjustment mechanism configured to control respective positions of the first auxiliary roll and the second auxiliary roll in an upward direction and a downward direction. Yoon, however, discloses a roll press device (FIG. 4 of Yoon) comprising an adjustable auxiliary roller #310 wherein the roller #310 is connected to a driving unit #320 for driving the roller up and down (FIG. 5, [0044] of Yoon). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the driving unit to drive the auxiliary rollers up and down in the device of Matsumoto to allow for the up and down movement of the rollers as taught by Yoon (FIG. 5, [0044] of Yoon). Since the driving unit moves the rollers up and down thereby determining their positions, the driving unit is a “position adjustment mechanism”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, the closest prior art is to Matsumoto. Matsumoto discloses a roll press device (FIG. 4 of Matsumoto) comprising: a pair of press rolls (FIG. 4 of Matsumoto, press rolls #3); a first auxiliary roll disposed upstream of the pair of press rolls (FIG. 4 of Matsumoto, upstream auxiliary roll #5); and a second auxiliary roll disposed downstream of the pair of press rolls (FIG. 4 of Matsumoto, downstream auxiliary roll #5), wherein the roll press device is configured to press a laminate structure by allowing the laminate structure to pass between the pair of press rolls (FIG. 4 of Matsumoto, press rolls #3 adapted to press electrode plate #1 which has a laminate structure), and wherein a first laminate-structure contact surface of the first auxiliary roll and a second laminate-structure contact surface of the second auxiliary roll are both positioned above a virtual plane that the laminate structure includes when the laminate structure passes between the pair of press rolls, or are both positioned below the virtual plane (FIG. 4 of Matsumoto, electrode plate contact surface with upstream and downstream auxiliary rolls #5 below virtual plane of electrode plate passing between press rolls #3; claim only requires one of the recited configurations). Neither Matsumoto, however, nor any of the other prior art references of record teach or reasonably suggest a roll press device wherein the position adjustment mechanism includes a position detector and at least one of a hydraulic cylinder and an air cylinder, and is configured to control the respective positions of the first auxiliary roll and the second auxiliary roll in the upward direction and the downward direction based on a detection result of the position detector as recited in claim 12.
The prior art as a whole therefore fails to teach or reasonably suggest the totality of the invention as defined by claim 12. In the absence of further prior art guidance, it would not have been obvious to arrive at the invention of claim 12 without impermissible hindsight. For the foregoing reasons, the invention of claim 12 is deemed non-obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER W. RAIMUND
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1746
/CHRISTOPHER W RAIMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746