DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statement filed 11/01/2023 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 0855814 A2 (hereinafter “EP’814”).
Regarding claim 1, EP’814 discloses a fiber optic terminal (Fig. 3; page 5, lines 44) comprising ports for supporting physical path redundancy in an optical network, comprising: a shell defining a cavity (i.e. a housing or “shell” is necessarily disclosed by EP’814, because the structure shown in Fig. 3 cannot be used without some type of housing enclosure to contain the components shown in the figure, i.e. shell); at least one primary wavelength division multiplexer device (“working-system” in Fig. 3) disposed within the cavity of the shell; at least one redundant wavelength division multiplexer (“standby-system” in Fig. 3) device disposed within the cavity of the shell; at least one input connection port (“optical input” in Fig. 3) wherein the at least one input connection port comprises at least a first input optical fiber (“Fr” to 72 in Fig. 3) and a second input optical fiber with the first input optical fiber being in optical communication with the at least one PWDM device (i.e. the fiber coupled between 72 and 30 of “working-system” in Fig. 3), and the second input optical fiber being in optical communication with the at least one RWDM device (i.e. the fiber coupled between 72 and 30 of “standby-system” in Fig. 3); at least one multifiber primary output connection port (“optical output” via “working-system” in Fig. 3) comprising an optical connector opening and a connection port passageway formed in a portion of the shell (“optical output” in Fig. 3), wherein the at least one multifiber primary output connection port is in optical communication with the at least one primary wavelength division multiplexer device (“working-system” in Fig. 3); and at least one multifiber redundant output connection port (“optical output” via “standby-system” in Fig. 3) comprising an optical connector opening and a connection port passageway formed in a portion of the shell (“optical output” in Fig. 3), wherein the at least one multifiber redundant output connection port is in optical communication with the at least one redundant wavelength division multiplexer device (“standby-system” in Fig. 3).
However, EP’814 does not explicitly disclose that the optical connector opening is for receiving an external male plug connector, as claimed in the present application. On the other hand, the use of optical connector openings for receiving male plug connectors is well known and common in the optical communications art. Male-female plug arrangement has been widely used in the industry as a standard mechanical coupling configuration because it provides reliable and secure optical coupling that is cost-effective to produce. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the arf before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of EP’814 to have the optical connector openings for receiving male plug connectors, in the manner claimed and recited in the present application.
Regarding claim 2, EP’814 discloses wherein the at least one input connection port comprises wherein the at least one input connection port comprises at least a first input optical channel comprising a first transmit channel and a first receive channel begin in optical communication with the at least one PWDM device (transmit and receive channels are clearly shown in Fig. 2; see also page 5, lines 30-41; also, the configuration of Fig. 2 are incorporated into the fiber optic terminal of Fig. 3- page 5, line 45-46); and a second input optical channel comprising a second transmit channel and a second receive channel being in optical communications with the at least one RWDM device (transmit and receive channels are clearly shown in Fig. 2; see also page 5, lines 30-41; also, the configuration of Fig. 2 are incorporated into the fiber optic terminal of Fig. 3- page 5, line 45-46).
Regarding claim 3-4, EP’814 discloses wherein the at least one multifiber primary and redundant output connection port (“optical output” in Fig. 3) further comprising at least one receive optical pathway and at least one transmit optical pathway (transmit and receive channels are clearly shown in Fig. 2; see also page 5, lines 30-41; also, the configuration of Fig. 2 are incorporated into the fiber optic terminal of Fig. 3- page 5, line 45-46).
Regarding claim 5, EP’814 renders obvious a fiber optic terminal with all the claimed limitations as discussed above regarding claim 1. Although EP’814 discloses an input connection port comprising at least a first input optical fiber and a second input optical fiber with the first input fiber being communication with the PWDM device and the second input optical fiber being in communication with the RWDM device, it does not explicitly disclose the input connection port comprising two primary and two redundant input optical fibers being in communication with PWDM and RWDM, as claimed in claim 5 of the present application. On the other hand, using two input fibers instead of one input fiber would have been readily recognized as advantageous and desirable to one of ordinary skill in the art. Using two input fibers is predictably and widely implemented in the optical communications art in order to increase the bandwidth of the device and allow for more robust optical input/output coupling arrangements. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of EP’814 to have the input connection port with two primary input optical fibers and two redundant input optical fibers with the two primary input optical fibers being in optical communication with the at least one PWDM device, and the two redundant input optical fibers being in optical communication with the at least one RWDM device, in the manner claimed in claim 5 of the present application.
Regarding claim 6, EP’814 discloses wherein the primary input optical fiber comprise a primary transmit fiber and a primary receive fiber being in communication with the at least one PWDM device, and the redundant input fiber comprises a redundant transmit fiber and a redundant receive fiber being in optical communication with the at least one RWDM device. As such, the claimed limitations of claim 6 would have been also rendered obvious over the modification of EP’814 in the manner discussed above regarding claim 5.
Regarding claim 10, EP’814 discloses a fiber optic terminal as discussed in claim 1. In addition, EP’814 discloses at least one PWDM device (“working-system” in Fig. 3) and at least one RWDM device (“standby-system” in Fig. 3) disposed in the first portion of the shell (i.e. shell is necessarily present as discussed regarding claim 1), wherein the input connection port, at least one multifiber primary and redundant output connection port are disposed in the second portion of the shell (i.e. right side of Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, EP’814 discloses wherein the at least one multifiber primary and redundant output connection port are disposed in the same row of connection ports (i.e. “optical output” connected to 71 as shown in Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 12-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP’814 in view of US Patent Application Publication No. US 2019/0004251 A1 to Dannoux et al. (hereinafter “Dannoux”).
Regarding claims 12-15, EP’814 discloses a fiber optic terminal as discussed above regarding claim 1. However, it does not explicitly disclose the output connection port further comprising a securing feature biased to a retain position by a resilient member; wherein the securing feature comprises a bore comprising a locking feature; wherein the locking feature comprises a ramp with a ledge, wherein the locking feature comprises a retention surface as claimed. On the other hand, such features are known in the art. For example, Dannoux discloses a fiber optic terminal comprising an output connection port comprising a securing feature (230 in Fig. 18) biased to a retain position by a resilient member (250 in Fig. 18); wherein the securing feature comprises a bore (232 in Fig. 19) comprising a locking feature (233 in Fig. 19); wherein the locking feature comprises a ramp with a ledge (236 Fig. 19), wherein the locking feature comprises a retention surface (238a, 238b in Fig. 19) as claimed. Such a securing feature would have been readily recognized as advantageous and desirable to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would allow for mechanically secure, yet repeatably couplable optical connector arrangement that is resistant to accidental disconnection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of EP’814 to have a securing feature biased to a retain position by a resilient member; wherein the securing feature comprises a bore comprising a locking feature; wherein the locking feature comprises a ramp with a ledge, wherein the locking feature comprises a retention surface as claimed in claims 12-15.
Regarding claim 17, neither EP’814 nor Dannoux explicitly discloses the terminal being weatherproof. However, weatherproofing optical terminal with various seals is well known and common in the fiber optic terminal art. Such weatherproofing would have been readily recognized as advantageous and desirable to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would allow for deployment of fiber optic terminal in a harsh environment without the need for additional environmental protection components. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the at before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of EP’814 and Dannoux to have the terminal being weatherproof as claimed.
Regarding claims 18-19, neither EP’814 nor Dannoux explicitly discloses the terminal housing shell defining a volume of 800 cm3, or a port density of one port per 20mm as claimed. On the other hand, such a compact fiber optic terminal housing is well known and common in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to have a housing have a small volume such as 800 cm3, or a port density of one port per 20mm, since such dimension would allow for a space-efficient optical terminal device capable of coupling large number of fiber optic connectors for a given space. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of EP’814 and Dannoux to have the terminal housing shell defining a volume of 800 cm3, or a port density of one port per 20mm as claimed in the present application.
Regarding claim 19, neither EP’814 nor Dannoux explicitly discloses the use of a marking indicia as claimed in the present application. On the other hand, the use of marking indicia is well known and common in the art. Such use of marking indicia is commonly used by one of ordinary skill in the art to allow a new user of the device having no previous knowledge of the internal configuration of the fiber optic terminal to make desired optical connector connections to a specific optical port of the terminal. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of EP’814 and Dannoux to use a marking indicia as claimed.
Regarding claim 20-21, EP’814 discloses a fiber optic terminal as discussed above regarding claim 1. However, it does not explicitly disclose the use of a keying portion comprising a protrusion that engages with a female key disposed on an external fiber optic connector as claimed. On the other hand, Dannoux discloses the input connection port comprising a keying portion for proper orientation of an external fiber optic connector (260 in Fig. 24), wherein the keying portion comprises a protrusion for engaging with a female key disposed on the external fiber optic connector (150 in Fig. 6). One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize such keying features as advantageous and desirable since it would ensure optical fiber and the optical terminal to maintain optimal orientation for low-loss optical coupling. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the device of EP’814 to have a keying portion comprising a protrusion that engages with a female key disposed on an external fiber optic connector as claimed in claims 20-21.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8-9 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As discussed above a fiber optic terminal comprising at least one primary wavelength division multiplexer device, at least one redundant wavelength division multiplexer device, at least one input connection port with at least one first input optical fiber and a second input fiber in communication with PWDM device and RWDM device, at least one multifiber primary output connection port, and at least one multifiber redundant output connection port, is known in the art. However, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests such a fiber optic terminal wherein the at least one multifiber primary output connection port comprises four optical channels with each optical channel comprising at least one receive optical pathway and at least one transmit optical pathway, or wherein at least one multifiber redundant output connection port comprises four optical channels with each of the four optical channels comprising a receive optical pathway and a transmit optical pathway, as claimed in the present application.
Conclusion
/SUNG H PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874