DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 9/07/2023 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all the claims read on the composition. This is not found persuasive because although the composition intermediate product is deemed to be useful in preparing a film, it is also useful in preparing glass fabric composites. Thus, the intermediate is a distinct invention from the final products. The inventions are deemed patentably distinct because there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/07/2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chu et al. (US 2020/0109234) in view of Dogan et al. (Composites Part B, 2021, Vol. 222, Article number 109088, internal pages 1-38), and further in the view of Tateno (TW 202219072) or Kent (DE 102006032063).
In ¶ 6, Chu et al. teach a curable composition comprising a polymer comprising at least one first repeating unit consistent with the present formula (IA), and at least one second repeating unit consistent with the present formula (IIA).
In ¶ 30, Chu et al. teach the curable composition to comprise crosslinking allylic-type agents such as triallyl cyanurate (TAC) and triallyl isocyanurate (TAIC).
In ¶ 25, Chu et al. teach the curable composition to comprise additives including initiators, flame retardants, and fillers.
Chu et al. differ from the claimed invention in that the specific hexagonal boron nitride flame retardant is not taught. However, it is known in the art to use the hexagonal BN as flame retardants in polymeric systems, for the purpose of providing flame retardant properties in the composition, such as taught by Dogan et al. (See abstract; page 21; figure 14).
Chu et al. also differ from the claimed invention in that they do not specifically teach the tackifiers. However, by including the tackifiers component in the resin composition, the viscosity of the resin composition can be adjusted without significantly changing the dielectric constant of the cured product of the resin composition, such as taught by Tateno (See ¶ 39) and Kent (See Claims).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to have the hexagonal BN as flame retardants and tackifiers in the curable composition of Chu et al., in order to obtain the advantages taught by Dogan et al., Tateno and Kent, motivated by a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lang et al. (CN 110157105) in view of Dogan et al. (Composites Part B, 2021, Vol. 222, Article number 109088, internal pages 1-38), and further in the view of Tateno (TW 202219072) or Kent (DE 102006032063).
In the abstract and page 2, Lang et al. teach a curable composition comprising an ethylene propylene rubber polymer comprising dicyclopentadiene (DCPD) (consistent with the present formula (IA)), and 5-ethylidene-2-norbornene (consistent with the present formula (IIA)); with auxiliary crosslinking agent triallyl isocyanurate (TAIC) or triallyl cyanurate (TAC); antioxidants; and other auxiliary agents.
Lang et al. differ from the claimed invention in that they do not teach the hexagonal boron nitride flame retardants. However, it is known in the art to use the hexagonal BN as flame retardants in such polymeric systems, for the purpose of providing flame retardant properties to the composition, such as taught by Dogan et al. (See abstract; page 21; figure 14).
Lang et al. also differ from the claimed invention in that they do not specifically teach the tackifiers. However, by including the tackifiers component in the resin composition, the viscosity of the resin composition can be adjusted without significantly changing the dielectric constant of the cured product of the resin composition, such as taught by Tateno (See ¶ 39) and Kent (See Claims).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to have the hexagonal BN flame retardants and tackifiers in the curable composition of Lang et al., in order to obtain the advantages taught by Dogan et al., Tateno and Kent, motivated by a reasonable expectation of success.
/KELECHI C EGWIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762
KCE