DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The word “the” in line 2 should be replaced with “an.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 10 and 21-22, the “styrene/butadiene” rubbers 1 and 2 and “hydrogenated styrene/butadiene” rubbers 1 and 2 include structures which include bracketed units without repeat unit variables, and do not directly specify that, for example, “styrene butadiene rubbers 1” are defined by the preceding text. One having ordinary skill in the art would therefore be unable to determine the full metes and bounds of which materials are included in the claimed group of tackifiers.
Claim 23 is rendered indefinite because it depends on claim 21 which is indefinite as described above,
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao-087 (US Patent No. 6,538,087 B2) in view of Blasius (US 2021/0155782 A1) and Yao (US Patent No. 9,012,546 B2). White (WO 2015/103006 A1) is included as an evidentiary reference.
Regarding claim 1, Zhao-087 teaches a polymer composition (Abstract), wherein the polymer of the composition contains cyclic olefin monomer(s) (col. 1, lines 24-27 and lines 54-65). Zhao-087 teaches that the cyclic olefin monomers include those of the following chemical structure:
Monomer Structure of Zhao-087 (US Patent No. 6,538,087 B2)
Wherein X’’’ may be a methylene group with a carbon chain length of 1, a may be a single bond, R1-R4 independently represent hydrogen, hydrocarbyl, or functional substituents, and m is an integer of 0-5 (col. 1, line 54 – col. 2, line 6).
Zhao-087 specifically indicates that more than one of the aforementioned monomers may be used (col. 1, lines 54-57) and indicates that substituents R1-R4 are independently selected (col. 2, lines 7-8).
Zhao-087 teaches that these monomers specifically include norbornene (col. 34, lines 15-22) and butentyl norbornene (col. 49, lines 25-40), which respectively read on norbornene and “ButenylNB” from the claimed lists of monomers.
Zhao-087 further teaches the incorporation of, inter alia, tackifiers, antioxidants, and synergists (col. 56, lines 12-14), which read on the claimed components “d)” and “e)”.
Zhao-087 therefore teaches a polymer containing all of the claimed monomer units and therefore meets the claimed limitation requiring a “vinyl addition polymer formed from” the claimed monomers.
Regarding the compositional limitation of the second monomer, as described above Zhao-087 specifically states that more than one monomer may be used (Col. 1, lines 54-57), and particularly points out the usage of post crosslinkable monomers in amounts ranging from about 0.1 to about 50 mole percent based on the total monomer mixture (col. 51, lines 61-65) and indicates that multifunctional norbornene monomers are optional (col. 51, lines 61-65). The mole percentage described above may therefore refer to a portion of the overall mixture of only two monomers, which encompasses the claimed range of “about ten mole percent to about forty mole percent,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Zhao-087 differs from claim 1 because, while it specifically mentions the incorporation of crosslinking agents (col. 2, line 65 – col. 3, line 1), Zhao-087 is silent with regard to the particularly claimed crosslinking agents.
In the same field of endeavor, Blasius teaches curable shaped components including crosslinked products of thermoplastic polymers (Abstract), wherein the polymer may comprise copolymers containing norbornene units ([0014]). Likewise to Zhao-087, Blasius teaches the incorporation of crosslinking agents, and specifically exemplifies the usage of triallyl isocyanurate ([0017]). It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known in the art as suitable for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute triallyl isocyanurate in place of the crosslinkers of Zhao-087, as Blasius teaches triallyl isocyanurate as a suitable crosslinking agent for norbornene-based copolymers.
Zhao-087 teaches the incorporation of flame retardants (col. 56, line 11), but further differs from claim 1 because it is silent with regarding the particularly claimed flame retardant.
In the same field of endeavor, Yao teaches DOPO-derived compounds useful as flame retardants (Abstract), and particularly mentions that polyolefin polymers may be used within the inventive flame retardant composition (col. 9, line 25). Furthermore, norbornene-based polymers are recognized in the art as polyolefin polymers (c.f. White p. 5, first paragraph).
Yao teaches a specific flame retardant which is DiDOPO (col. 3 ,lines 24-40), which reads on the claimed organophosphorus compound because the instant disclosure particularly states that DiDOPO is a member of claimed formula “III” (c.f. claim 4). It is prima facie obvious to select a material based on its art-recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP 2144.07). It therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize DiDOPO as the flame retardant within the formulation of Zhao-087, as Yao recognizes it as a suitable flame retardant for polyolefin compositions (of which norbornene-based polymers are a member). Yao further teaches that said compound may be added in amounts ranging from about 0.1 to about 100 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of polymer (col. 10, lines 3-7). This is equivalent to a range of 0.1 to 100 weight percent based on the amount of polymer within the composition, which overlaps the claimed range of “greater than 70 weight percent based on the amount of polymer,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Zhao-087 is silent with regard to the claimed UL-94 rating, dissipation factor, and dielectric constant values. Nevertheless, Zhao-087 as modified results in a composition which is structurally identical to the claimed composition, which contains all of the same components in all of the claimed compositional amounts. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The claimed UL-94 rating, dissipation factor, and dielectric constant values will therefore necessarily be present in Zhao-087 as modified and as applied above.
Regarding claims 2-3, as described above, Zhao-087 teaches the incorporation of norbornene and butenyl norbornene, which read on the respectively claimed lists.
Regarding claim 4, as described above, Yao specifically teaches the use of DiDOPO (col. 3 ,lines 24-40) which is featured in the claimed list.
Regarding claim 11, Zhao-087 teaches the incorporation of organic peroxide initiators including inter alia dicumyl peroxide (col. 50, line 19), which reads on “dicumyl peroxide” from the claimed list.
Regarding claim 13, Zhao-087 teaches the formation of a film from the inventive composition (e.g., col. 60, lines 64-67).
Regarding claim 14, as described above, Yao teaches the incorporation of DiDOPO in amounts ranging from 0.1 to 100 weight percent based on the amount of polymer within the composition. This amount would be obvious to add to the composition of Zhao-087 as described above, and the range of amounts overlaps the claimed range of “higher than ninety weight percent based on the polymer,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Zhao-087 as modified is silent regarding the claimed UL-94 rating, dissipation factor, and dielectric constant characteristics. Nevertheless, Zhao-087 as modified results in a composition which is structurally identical to the claimed composition, which contains all of the same components in all of the claimed compositional amounts. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The claimed UL-94 rating, dissipation factor, and dielectric constant values will therefore necessarily be present in Zhao-087 as modified and as applied above.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao-087 (US Patent No. 6,538,087 B2) in view of Blasius (US 2021/0155782 A1) and Yao (US Patent No. 9,012,546 B2), and further in view of Perez (WO 2021/074734).
Regarding claims 6-7, Zhao-087 as modified meets all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Zhao-087 as modified differs from claims 6 and 7 because it is silent with regard to the claimed boron nitride particles.
In the same field of endeavor, Perez teaches a cyclic olefin composition containing thermally conductive particles (Abstract), wherein the composition may be norbornene-based (c.f. p. 3, lines 7-10). The conductive filler may be boron nitride (p. 1, line 23), which may be hexagonal in form and plate-like (p. 15, lines 15-23), and which may be a bi-modal distribution of smaller and larger particles, having sizes no greater than 10 microns and at least 30 microns (p. 15, line 30 – p. 16, line 19). Since each of the small and large particles may comprise up to 50 vol. % of the boron nitride particles (p. 15, line 30 – p. 16, line 19), the overall boron nitride particle distribution will fall within the claimed range of “0.05 micrometer to 50 micrometer,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness. Finally, Perez teaches that the boron nitride is included in at least 40 wt% of the composition (Abstract), and teaches that the cyclic olefin polymer comprises between 5 and 60 wt% of the overall composition (p. 32, claim 10). The filler of Perez is therefore included in amounts ranging from about 67 wt% to about 800 wt% based on the amount of polymer, which overlaps the claimed range of “about 10 weight percent to about 120 weight percent,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Zhao-087 teaches that additives may be introduced into the formulation for the purpose of enhancing/modifying the materials properties of the inventive composition (col. 56, lines 25-41). Furthermore, Perez teaches that the thermally conductive particles are added to the composition specifically to improve the thermal conductivity of the composition (c.f. p. 1, lines 14-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the boron nitride particles of Perez into the formulation of Zhao-087 as modified for the purpose of improving a materials characteristic (thermal conductivity) thereof.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao-087 (US Patent No. 6,538,087 B2) in view of Blasius (US 2021/0155782 A1) and Yao (US Patent No. 9,012,546 B2) and further in view of Lion Elastomers (Trilene Liquid EPDM for Coatings).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao-087 as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Zhao-087 teaches the incorporation of tackifiers as described above, but differs from claim 10 because it is silent with regard to the specifically claimed tackifiers. Zhao-087 additionally teaches the incorporation of EPDM rubber (col. 56, line 18), but is silent with regard to the particularly claimed EPDM rubber within the claimed list of “tackifier” materials.
In the same field of endeavor, Lion teaches a line of Trilene liquid EPDM materials for coating applications, including Trilene T65 (p. 1), and teaches their suitability for coating formulations (p. 1).
Zhao-087 further teaches that the inventive composition is useful as a film (e.g., col. 60, lines 64-67), and it is prima facie obvious to select a material based on its art-recognized suitability for its intended use (See MPEP 2144.07). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize Trilene T65 as the EPDM rubber within Zhao-087, as Lion teaches it as a useful EPDM rubber for coatings formulations. Trilene T65 reads on the claimed tackifier ethylene-propylene-dicyclopentadiene terpolymer tackifier because the instant Specification states that this material is Trilene T65 (c.f. instant Specification at p. 33, lines 16-18).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao-087 (US Patent No. 6,538,087 B2) in view of Blasius (US 2021/0155782 A1) and Yao (US Patent No. 9,012,546 B2) and further in view of Scholz (US 2015/0351237 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Zhao-087 as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Zhao-087 as modified teaches the incorporation of TAIC, dicumyl peroxide, DiDOPO, and polymers which may contain multiple monomers including norbornene, butyl norbornene, and butenylnorbornene, as described above; however, Zhao-087 as modified includes Trilene T65 EPDM rubber instead of the 1,2-butadiene rubber B1000 as described in the first member of the claimed group.
In the same field of endeavor, Scholz teaches circuit assemblies (Abstract), comprising a blend of resins which may include combinations of curable cyclic olefin copolymers and other resins (p. 18, claim 3), and wherein the blended resins may include EPDM terpolymers such as Trilene 65 ([0091]). Scholz teaches that 1,2-polybutadienes may also be alternatively included ([0085]), and specifically includes the usage of B1000 from Nisso America ([0085]). Scholtz therefore recognizes B1000 and Trilene T65 as suitable alternatives to one another within compositions which comprise a blend of resins which may include cyclic olefin copolymers. Finally, it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known in the art as suitable for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute B1000 in place of Trilene T65 within the formulation of Zhao-087 as modified, as Scholtz teaches it as a suitable alternative resin to Trilene T65 for blending with cyclic olefin copolymers.
In so doing, the composition of Zhao-087 as modified meets all of the compositional limitations of the first mixture within the claimed list of claim 12.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao-087 (US Patent No. 6,538,087 B2) in view of Blasius (US 2021/0155782 A1) and Yao (US Patent No. 9,012,546 B2) and Perez (WO 2021/074734), and further in view of Scholz (US 2015/0351237 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Zhao-087 as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 6, as described above. Zhao-087 as modified teaches the incorporation of boron nitride, TAIC, dicumyl peroxide, DiDOPO, and polymers which may contain multiple monomers including norbornene, butyl norbornene, and butenylnorbornene, as described above; however, Zhao-087 as modified includes Trilene T65 EPDM rubber instead of the 1,2-butadiene rubber B1000 as described in the first member of the claimed group.
In the same field of endeavor, Scholz teaches circuit assemblies (Abstract), comprising a blend of resins which may include combinations of curable cyclic olefin copolymers and other resins (p. 18, claim 3), and wherein the blended resins may include EPDM terpolymers such as Trilene 65 ([0091]). Scholz teaches that 1,2-polybutadienes may also be alternatively included ([0085]), and specifically includes the usage of B1000 from Nisso America ([0085]). Scholtz therefore recognizes B1000 and Trilene T65 as suitable alternatives to one another within compositions which comprise a blend of resins which may include cyclic olefin copolymers. Finally, it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known in the art as suitable for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute B1000 in place of Trilene T65 within the formulation of Zhao-087 as modified, as Scholtz teaches it as a suitable alternative resin to Trilene T65 for blending with cyclic olefin copolymers.
In so doing, the composition of Zhao-087 as modified meets all of the compositional limitations of the first mixture within the claimed list of claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, as described above, Yao teaches the incorporation of DiDOPO in amounts ranging from about 0.1 to about 100 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of polymer (col. 10, lines 3-7). The term “about” in-context represents an approximate range, which would include values slightly above and slightly below 100 parts. Yao therefore teaches the incorporation of slightly above 100 parts by weight of DiDOPO per 100 parts by weight of polymer, which falls within the claimed “amount higher than hundred weight percent based on the polymer,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
As described in the rejection of claim 6, above, the filler of Perez (including boron nitride) is included in amounts ranging from about 67 wt% to about 800 wt% based on the amount of polymer, which overlaps the claimed range of “about 10 weight percent to about seventy five weight percent,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Zhao-087 is silent with regard to the claimed UL-94 rating, dissipation factor, and dielectric constant values. Nevertheless, Zhao-087 as modified results in a composition which is structurally identical to the claimed composition, which contains all of the same components in all of the claimed compositional amounts. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The claimed UL-94 rating, dissipation factor, and dielectric constant values will therefore necessarily be present in Zhao-087 as modified and as applied above.
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao-087 (US Patent No. 6,538,087 B2) in view of Blasius (US 2021/0155782 A1) and Yao (US Patent No. 9,012,546 B2) and further in view of Cruce (US 2018/0037677 A1).
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Zhao-087 as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Zhao-087 differs from claims 17 and 19 because it is silent with regard to the formation of a glass fabric composite.
In the same field of endeavor, Cruce teaches compositions and methods for improving impact properties of polymer-matrix composites (Abstract), and specifies that the composition includes cyclic olefin compositions ([0005]) and glass fabric substrates ([0384]). It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its art recognized suitability for its intended use (See MPEP 2144.07). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a glass fabric composite with the composition of Zhao-087 as modified, as Cruce teaches that cyclic olefin compositions are suitable for the formation of glass fabric composites.
Zhao-087 is silent regarding the claimed UL-94 rating, dissipation factor, and dielectric constant values. Nevertheless, Zhao-087 as modified results in a composition which is structurally identical to the claimed composition, which contains all of the same components in all of the claimed compositional amounts. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The claimed UL-94 rating, dissipation factor, and dielectric constant values will therefore necessarily be present in Zhao-087 as modified and as applied above.
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao-087 (US Patent No. 6,538,087 B2) in view of Blasius (US 2021/0155782 A1) and Yao (US Patent No. 9,012,546 B2) and Perez (WO 2021/074734), and further in view of Cruce (US 2018/0037677 A1).
Regarding claims 18 and 20, Zhao-087 as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Zhao-087 differs from claims 18 and 20 because it is silent with regard to the formation of a glass fabric composite.
In the same field of endeavor, Cruce teaches compositions and methods for improving impact properties of polymer-matrix composites (Abstract) and specifies that the composition includes cyclic olefin compositions ([0005]) and glass fabric substrates ([0384]). It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its art recognized suitability for its intended use (See MPEP 2144.07). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a glass fabric composite with the composition of Zhao-087 as modified, as Cruce teaches that cyclic olefin compositions are suitable for the formation of glass fabric composites.
Zhao-087 is silent regarding the claimed UL-94 rating, dissipation factor, and dielectric constant values. Nevertheless, Zhao-087 as modified results in a composition which is structurally identical to the claimed composition, which contains all of the same components in all of the claimed compositional amounts. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The claimed UL-94 rating, dissipation factor, and dielectric constant values will therefore necessarily be present in Zhao-087 as modified and as applied above.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao-087 (US Patent No. 6,538,087 B2) in view of Blasius (US 2021/0155782 A1) and Yao (US Patent No. 9,012,546 B2), and further in view of Lion-T67 (Trilene Liquid EPDM product guide, 2015).
Regarding claim 21, as described in the rejection of claim 1, above Zhao-087 as modified teaches a polymer optionally containing norbornene and butenyl norbornene in the claimed compositional amount. Zhao-087 further teaches the incorporation of, inter alia, tackifiers, antioxidants, and synergists (col. 56, lines 12-14). In view of Blasius, the claimed crosslinking component TAIC is rendered obvious; in view of Yao, the claimed organophosphorus compound is rendered obvious. Yao teaches that said compound may be added in amounts ranging from about 0.1 to about 100 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of polymer (col. 10, lines 3-7). This is equivalent to a range of 0.1 to 100 weight percent based on the amount of polymer within the composition, which overlaps the claimed range of “from about 70 weight percent to about 180 weight percent,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Zhao-087 teaches the incorporation of tackifiers as described above but differs from claim 21 because it is silent with regard to the specifically claimed tackifiers.
In the same field of endeavor, Lion-T67 teaches a line of Trilene liquid EPDM materials for coating applications, including Trilene T67 (p. 1), and teaches their suitability for coating formulations (p. 1).
Zhao-087 further teaches that the inventive composition is useful as a film (e.g., col. 60, lines 64-67), and it is prima facie obvious to select a material based on its art-recognized suitability for its intended use (See MPEP 2144.07). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize Trilene T67 as the EPDM rubber within Zhao-087, as Lion teaches it as a useful EPDM rubber for coatings formulations. Trilene T67 reads on the claimed tackifier ethylene-propylene-ethylidenenorbornene terpolymer tackifier because the instant Specification states that this material is Trilene T67 (c.f. instant Specification at p. 33, lines 13-15).
Zhao-087 is silent with regard to the claimed UL-94 rating, dissipation factor, and dielectric constant values. Nevertheless, Zhao-087 as modified results in a composition which is structurally identical to the claimed composition, which contains all of the same components in all of the claimed compositional amounts. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The claimed UL-94 rating, dissipation factor, and dielectric constant values will therefore necessarily be present in Zhao-087 as modified and as applied above.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao-087 (US Patent No. 6,538,087 B2) in view of Blasius (US 2021/0155782 A1) and Yao (US Patent No. 9,012,546 B2), and further in view of Lion-T67 (Trilene Liquid EPDM product guide, 2015) and Perez (WO 2021/074734).
Regarding claim 22, as described in the rejection of claim 1, above Zhao-087 as modified teaches a polymer optionally containing norbornene and butenyl norbornene in the claimed compositional amount. Zhao-087 further teaches the incorporation of, inter alia, tackifiers, antioxidants, and synergists (col. 56, lines 12-14). In view of Blasius, the claimed crosslinking component TAIC is rendered obvious; in view of Yao, the claimed organophosphorus compound is rendered obvious. Yao teaches that said compound may be added in amounts ranging from about 0.1 to about 100 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of polymer (col. 10, lines 3-7). This is equivalent to a range of 0.1 to 100 weight percent based on the amount of polymer within the composition, which overlaps the claimed range of “from about 70 weight percent to about 180 weight percent,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Zhao-087 teaches the incorporation of tackifiers as described above but differs from claim 21 because it is silent with regard to the specifically claimed tackifiers.
In the same field of endeavor, Lion-T67 teaches a line of Trilene liquid EPDM materials for coating applications, including Trilene T67 (p. 1), and teaches their suitability for coating formulations (p. 1).
Zhao-087 further teaches that the inventive composition is useful as a film (e.g., col. 60, lines 64-67), and it is prima facie obvious to select a material based on its art-recognized suitability for its intended use (See MPEP 2144.07). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to utilize Trilene T67 as the EPDM rubber within Zhao-087, as Lion teaches it as a useful EPDM rubber for coatings formulations. Trilene T67 reads on the claimed tackifier ethylene-propylene-ethylidenenorbornene terpolymer tackifier because the instant Specification states that this material is Trilene T67 (c.f. instant Specification at p. 33, lines 13-15).
Zhao-087 as modified differs from claim 22 because it is silent with regard to the claimed boron nitride particles.
In the same field of endeavor, Perez teaches a cyclic olefin composition containing thermally conductive particles (Abstract), wherein the composition may be norbornene-based (c.f. p. 3, lines 7-10). The conductive filler may be boron nitride (p. 1, line 23), which may be hexagonal in form and plate-like (p. 15, lines 15-23), and which may be a bi-modal distribution of smaller and larger particles, having sizes no greater than 10 microns and at least 30 microns (p. 15, line 30 – p. 16, line 19). Since each of the small and large particles may comprise up to 50 vol. % of the boron nitride particles (p. 15, line 30 – p. 16, line 19), the overall boron nitride particle distribution will fall within the claimed range of “0.05 micrometer to 50 micrometer,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness. Finally, Perez teaches that the boron nitride is included in at least 40 wt% of the composition (Abstract), and teaches that the cyclic olefin polymer comprises between 5 and 60 wt% of the overall composition (p. 32, claim 10). The filler of Perez is therefore included in amounts ranging from about 67 wt% to about 800 wt% based on the amount of polymer, which overlaps the claimed range of “about 10 weight percent to about 120 weight percent,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Zhao-087 teaches that additives may be introduced into the formulation for the purpose of enhancing/modifying the materials properties of the inventive composition (col. 56, lines 25-41). Furthermore, Perez teaches that the thermally conductive particles are added to the composition specifically to improve the thermal conductivity of the composition (c.f. p. 1, lines 14-16). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the boron nitride particles of Perez into the formulation of Zhao-087 as modified for the purpose of improving a materials characteristic (thermal conductivity) thereof.
Zhao-087 is silent with regard to the claimed UL-94 rating, dissipation factor, and dielectric constant values. Nevertheless, Zhao-087 as modified results in a composition which is structurally identical to the claimed composition, which contains all of the same components in all of the claimed compositional amounts. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The claimed UL-94 rating, dissipation factor, and dielectric constant values will therefore necessarily be present in Zhao-087 as modified and as applied above.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao-087 (US Patent No. 6,538,087 B2) in view of Blasius (US 2021/0155782 A1) and Yao (US Patent No. 9,012,546 B2), and Lion-T67 (Trilene Liquid EPDM product guide, 2015), and further in view of Cruce (US 2018/0037677 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Zhao-087 as modified teaches all of the limitations of claim 21, as described above. Zhao-087 as modified differs from claims 23 because it is silent with regard to the formation of a glass fabric composite.
In the same field of endeavor, Cruce teaches compositions and methods for improving impact properties of polymer-matrix composites (Abstract) and specifies that the composition includes cyclic olefin compositions ([0005]) and glass fabric substrates ([0384]). It is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its art recognized suitability for its intended use (See MPEP 2144.07). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a glass fabric composite with the composition of Zhao-087 as modified, as Cruce teaches that cyclic olefin compositions are suitable for the formation of glass fabric composites.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 13, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As an initial matter, the applicant has amended claims 10-12 and 15 to remove trademarks/trade names, and thus the 112(b) rejections based on said names have been withdrawn. However, an indefiniteness issue of claim 10 and newly added claims 21-23 remains. Furthermore, the objection to claim 14 has not been addressed by the applicant, and therefore remains in-place, as described above.
Applicant asserts that the claimed composition is patentably distinct from the prior art references. Applicant begins by noting that the prior art reference Zhao-087 teaches an exemplary embodiment containing an alkoxysilyl component which is not claimed in the instant application. However, the alkoxysilyl-containing formulation of Zhao-087 merely comprises an exemplary embodiment thereof, and the alkoxysilyl-containing monomer is not required in every embodiment of Zhao-087. Importantly, patents are relevant as prior art for all of the information that they contain, and non-preferred and alternative embodiments nonetheless constitute prior art (see MPEP 2123.I and II). Furthermore, the present claims as drafted require that the claimed polymer is “formed from” the claimed monomers. This phrasing does not constitute a closed composition, and thus the claimed polymer as drafted is open to the incorporation of additional monomers; therefore, the embodiment within Zhao-087 which contains alkoxysilyl-containing monomers is not disqualified from reading on the claimed composition merely by the incorporation of the alkoxysilyl-containing monomers.
Applicant argues that Blasius does not teach polynorbornenes within its exemplary compositions. However, as described above, Blasius teaches that the inventive polymer may comprise copolymers containing norbornene units ([0014]). Furthermore, as described above, patents are relevant as prior art for all of the information that they contain, and non-preferred and alternative embodiments nonetheless constitute prior art (see MPEP 2123.I and II).
Applicant argues that the Examiner has failed to provide a scientific reasoning as to why a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to arrive at the claimed invention via Zhao-087 and Blasius. As an initial matter, the rejection is in view of Zhao-087 and Blasius but further includes additional references to teach all of the claimed components. However, as described above, the rejection is based on adjudicated obviousness rationales including obviousness of substitutions of equivalents known within the art. The claimed composition is therefore rejected on the basis of the legal concept of obviousness.
Applicant argues that Yao does not contemplate the claimed polymer type. However, as shown by the Applicant in claim 6 of Yao, Yao teaches polyolefins. As taught by evidentiary reference White (see rejection of claim 1, above), norbornene-based polymers are recognized in the art as polyolefin polymers (c.f. White p. 5, first paragraph). Yao therefore contemplates genera of polymers which norbornene polymers fall within.
Regarding evidentiary reference White – the applicant has stated that “it is not clear how White provides any motivation if at all to one of skilled in the art to arrive at this invention at the effective date of filing this application.” However, White is utilized as an evidentiary reference and therefore merely provides evidence of scientific facts – White is not utilized within the combination of prior art to render obvious the claimed composition.
Applicant asserts that the inherency argument supplied in the previous rejection is incorrect because the combined references do not produce a composition structurally identical to the claimed composition; however, as described previously and above, the prior art references render obvious a combination of every component as claimed, within all of the bounds of the claimed compositional amounts. It is therefore unclear in what way the prior art composition is incongruous with the composition as claimed.
Applicant asserts that Zhao-087 is not “remotely” structurally identical to the claimed composition; however, as described above, Zhao-087 in view of the other prior art references renders every feature of the claimed composition obvious.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues allegations of unexpected results. Whether unexpected results are the result of unexpectedly improved results or a property not taught by the prior art, the objective evidence of nonobviousness must be commensurate in scope with the claims which the evidence is offered to support. In other words, the showing of unexpected results must be reviewed to see if the results occur over the entire claimed range. See MPEP 716.02(d). In this case, the Applicant points to examples 8A, 8B, and 9A-9C to support the assertion that the claimed composition’s satisfactory “reliability” properties and a synergistic effect of boron nitride are unexpected. However, these examples represent compositions containing highly narrowed ranges of materials compared to the claims (e.g., Examples 8A and 8B contain only a single embodiment of the claimed terpolymer, despite the claims being open to many combinations of monomers and compositional amounts thereof). Furthermore, the “reliability” ratings are merely provided as “good” or “bad” with not clarification of what these terms refer to. The significance of these results are therefore unable to be accurately determined.
Applicant need not provide data for every possible composition as claimed, but the data provided are not reasonably commensurate in scope with the claims so as to rebut a prima facie determination of obviousness.
Applicant repeatedly alleges that the Examiner has “resorted to incorrect obviousness analysis.” However, the obviousness analyses applied in the rejection above (and previously) are based on adjudicated obviousness rationales, teachings of the prior art indicating overlapping polymer types (as described above, White provides evidence that norbornene-based polymers are recognized in the art as polyolefin polymers (c.f. White p. 5, first paragraph)), and inherency rationales which are based on the adjudicated precedent that products of identical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. These analyses are found appropriate for the rejection of the claimed compositions.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA CALEB BLEDSOE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762