DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II regarding claims 8-14 in the reply filed on 1/12/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-7 and 15-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hooton (2020/0205307).
Regarding Claim 8: Hooton teaches a portable electronic device comprising: a display (218 shown in fig. 2); wireless communication circuitry (paragraph [0084]); a battery (224); and an enclosure enclosing the display (fig. 2), the wireless communication circuitry (fig. 2), and the battery (fig. 2), the enclosure comprising: a housing subassembly (fig. 2) comprising: a first wall section (306) defining at least a portion of a first side exterior surface of the portable electronic device (figs. 2-3); a second wall section (310) defining at least a portion of a second side exterior surface of the portable electronic device opposite to the first side exterior surface (figs. 2-3); and a lower chassis section (230) welded to the first wall section along a first side of the lower chassis section (paragraph 0097]) and welded to the second wall section along a second side of the lower chassis section (paragraph 0097]); a first housing component (one corner portion of 312) coupled to a first end of the housing subassembly and defining a first exterior corner surface of the portable electronic device (figs. 2-3); a second housing component (other corner portion of 312) coupled to the first end of the housing subassembly and defining a second exterior corner surface of the portable electronic device (figs. 2-3); a front cover (top portion of display 218 in fig. 2) coupled to the housing subassembly and defining a front exterior surface of the portable electronic device (figs. 2-3); and a rear cover (240) coupled to the housing subassembly and defining a rear exterior surface of the portable electronic device (figs. 2-3).
Regarding Claim 9: Hooton teaches the first wall section comprises: a core portion (404) formed from a first metal and defining a portion of an interior surface of the portable electronic device (fig. 4a-4b); and a cladding portion (402) bonded to the core portion and defining the first side exterior surface of the portable electronic device (figs. 4a-4b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hooton (2020/0205307) as applied to the claims above, and further in view of Hooton (2019/0082555).
Regarding Claim 10: Hooton ‘307 lacks a specific teaching of the lower chassis section is welded to the core portion of the first wall section.
Hooton ‘555 teaches the lower chassis section (502) is welded to the core portion (paragraph [0069]) of the first wall section (110).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Hooton ‘307 by having the lower chassis section is welded to the core portion of the first wall section as disclosed by Hooton ‘555 in order to allow for a seamless welding between the two material since they are the same material it allows for an easier and stronger connection between the components of the apparatus.
Regarding Claim 11: Hooton ‘307 teaches the core portion comprises aluminum alloy (paragraph [0044]); the lower chassis section comprises aluminum alloy (paragraph [0044]); and the cladding portion comprises titanium alloy (paragraph [0061]).
Regarding Claim 12: Hooton ‘307 teaches the lower chassis section defines a first side facing the front cover (figs. 2-3) and a second side facing the rear cover (figs. 2-3); the battery is coupled to the first side of the lower chassis section (figs. 2-3) and positioned between the lower chassis section and the front cover (figs. 2-3); but lacks a specific teaching of the portable electronic device further comprises a charging coil coupled to the rear cover and positioned between the lower chassis section and the rear cover.
Hooton ‘555 teaches the portable electronic device further comprises a charging coil (160) coupled to the rear cover (figs. 1a-2 and paragraph [0048]) and positioned between the lower chassis section and the rear cover (figs. 1a-2 and paragraph [0048]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Hooton ‘307 by having the portable electronic device further comprises a charging coil coupled to the rear cover and positioned between the lower chassis section and the rear cover as disclosed by Hooton ‘555 in order to allow for wireless electronic charging of the apparatus while not interfering with the internal components and lower case portions.
Regarding Claim 13: Hooton ‘307 lacks a specific teaching of the lower chassis section defines a first interlock structure; the first housing component defines a second interlock structure; and the portable electronic device further comprises a molded polymer structure engaged with the first interlock structure and the second interlock structure and retaining the first housing component to the lower chassis section.
Hooton ‘555 teaches the lower chassis section defines a first interlock structure (figs. 3a-3c and 8a-9); the first housing component defines a second interlock structure (figs. 3a-3c and 8a-9); and the portable electronic device further comprises a molded polymer structure engaged with the first interlock structure and the second interlock structure and retaining the first housing component to the lower chassis section (paragraphs [0037], [0038], [0041], and [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Hooton ‘307 by having the lower chassis section defines a first interlock structure; the first housing component defines a second interlock structure; and the portable electronic device further comprises a molded polymer structure engaged with the first interlock structure and the second interlock structure and retaining the first housing component to the lower chassis section as disclosed by Hooton ‘555 in order to allow for a seamless connection between the two components which allows for a stronger more stable device decreasing the chances of damage to the internal components of the apparatus while still keeping the integrity of the overall apparatus.
Regarding Claim 14: Hooton ‘307 lacks a specific teaching of the molded polymer structure is a first molded polymer structure; and the portable electronic device further comprises a second molded polymer structure positioned between an end of the first wall section and an end of the first housing component and defining a portion of the first side exterior surface of the portable electronic device.
Hooton ‘555 teaches the molded polymer structure is a first molded polymer structure (paragraphs [0037], [0038], [0041], and [0043]); and the portable electronic device further comprises a second molded polymer structure positioned between an end of the first wall section and an end of the first housing component (paragraphs [0037], [0038], [0041], and [0043]) and defining a portion of the first side exterior surface of the portable electronic device (paragraphs [0037], [0038], [0041], and [0043]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Hooton ‘307 by having the molded polymer structure is a first molded polymer structure; and the portable electronic device further comprises a second molded polymer structure positioned between an end of the first wall section and an end of the first housing component and defining a portion of the first side exterior surface of the portable electronic device as disclosed by Hooton ‘555 in order to allow for a seamless connection between the two components which allows for a stronger more stable device decreasing the chances of damage to the internal components of the apparatus while still keeping the integrity of the overall apparatus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited on the PTO-892 disclosed /teach similar portable electronic devices including display devices and wireless communication technology wherein the casing is described in detail specifically including welding of portions of the housing.
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841