DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9–12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US Pub. # 20160209502), hereinafter referred to as Kim.
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches, “A method of imaging a target object, the method comprising: providing a plurality of ultrasound transducer assemblies (Fig. 3; 11k (11e, 11f) & 11l (11g, 11h)), each ultrasound transducer assembly comprising a plurality of ultrasound transducer elements (abstract, first and second ultrasound elements); tiling the plurality of ultrasound transducer assemblies into a matrix or array configuration (see Fig. 3) that defines one or more gaps (g4, g5) between the plurality of transducer assemblies; processing receive signals (Fig. 1, ref. # 13) of each transducer element; synthesizing receive signals by defining one or more virtual elements for the one or more gaps between the transducer assemblies (abstract & claim 1; para. [0083–0103, 0233, 0234]); and acquiring an image of the target object using the tiled plurality of ultrasound transducer assemblies (abstract; para. [0102–0109, 0166]).”
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches, “wherein the matrix or array configuration is a 1-dimensional array, a 2-dimensional matrix or array, a curved matrix array, a piece-wise curved matrix or array, or a flat matrix or array (Fig. 3; para. [0135]).”
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches, “wherein each ultrasound transducer assembly further comprises an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) integrated thereon (para. [0150]).”
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches, “wherein each ultrasound transducer assembly of the plurality is adjusted for relative tilt and offset with respect to a common coordinate system for the plurality of ultrasound transducer assemblies (see para. [0170, 0171]; steering description is an adjustment as claimed and implicit for this type of tiled array).”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1–2, 4–8, 13–14, 16–18, and 20–22 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 1–2, and 4–8, the prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed, “(v) defining one or more virtual elements for one or more gaps between the ultrasound transducer assemblies and generating synthesized receive signals for the one or more virtual elements using the processed receive signals of one or more transducer elements of the plurality; and (vi) forming a dynamically focused receive beam based on the processed receive signals of the one or more transducer elements and synthesized receive signals of the one or more virtual elements.”
Regarding claims 13–14, 16–18, and 20–22, the prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed, “generate synthesized receive signals for the one or more virtual elements using the processed receive signals of one or more transducer elements, and form a focused receive beam based on the processed receive signals of the one or more transducer elements and the synthesized receive signals of the one or more virtual elements.”
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 9–12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN D WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852