DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 (and its related dependent claims 2–8) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the elements. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted elements are: “virtual elements” and specific details thereof, as defined in claim 3. As set forth in claim 1, it is not clear what “virtual elements” are, and furthermore (*), it is essential to consider the “adjusted element coordinates” for the receiving, and thus the claim should be amended to include the language of claim 3 accordingly.
Claim 1 and its related dependent claims, and claim 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, see (*) above.
Regarding claim 6, the claimed, “computing delays and weight for each” … “virtual element” is unclear. The claim is indefinite because the claims do not set forth determining adjusted element coordinates for the virtual elements. Thus, it is unclear how “computing delays and weight for each … virtual element” is performed without adjusted element coordinates for the virtual elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9–20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hajati (US Pub. # 20150345987).
Regarding claims 9 and 13, Hajati teaches, “A system (method) for imaging a target object (para. [0082]), the system comprising: a plurality of ultrasound transducer assemblies (Fig. 9A and 9B, ref. # 905, 955; [0092]), each ultrasound transducer assembly comprising a plurality of transducer elements (see para. [0092]); and control circuitry operatively coupled to the plurality of ultrasound transducer assemblies and configured to operate the plurality of ultrasound transducer assemblies (see [0090] and further see discussion of acquiring images throughout Hajati), wherein the ultrasound transducer assemblies are tileable into a matrix or array configuration (see Fig. 9A, 9B; para. [0090]).”
Regarding claim 10, Hajati teaches, “wherein the matrix or array configuration is a 1- dimensional array, a 2-dimensional matrix or array, a curved matrix array, a piece-wise curved matrix or array, or a flat matrix or array (see Fig. 1 and 6).”
Regarding claim 11, Hajati teaches, “wherein each ultrasound transducer assembly further comprises an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) integrated thereon (see para. [0027]).”
Regarding claim 12, Hajati teaches, “wherein each ultrasound transducer assembly of the plurality is adjusted for relative tilt and offset with respect to a common coordinate system for the plurality of ultrasound transducer assemblies (see para. [0099], describing use of beam steering; an adjustment “for relative tilt and offset with respect to a common coordinate system for the plurality of ultrasound transducer assemblies” is implicit for this type of tiled array.).”
Regarding claim 14, Hajati teaches, “wherein the matrix or array configuration is a 1- dimensional array, a 2-dimensional matrix or array, a curved matrix or array, a piece-wise curved matrix or array, or a flat matrix or array (see Fig. 1 and 6).”
Regarding claim 15, Hajati teaches, “wherein one or more gaps are present between adjacent ultrasound transducer assemblies when tiled into the matrix or array configuration (see Fig. 9A, 9B).”
Regarding claim 16, Hajati teaches, “wherein each ultrasound transducer assembly comprises an application specific integrated circuit (ASIC) operatively coupled to and integrated with the plurality of transducer assemblies for each ultrasound transducer assembly (see para. [0027]).”
Regarding claim 17, Hajati teaches, “wherein each ultrasound transducer assembly of the plurality is adjusted for relative tilt and offset with respect to a common coordinate system for the plurality of ultrasound transducer assemblies (see para. [0099], describing use of beam steering; an adjustment “for relative tilt and offset with respect to a common coordinate system for the plurality of ultrasound transducer assemblies” is implicit for this type of tiled array.).”
Regarding claim 18, Hajati teaches, “wherein at least one ultrasound transducer assembly of the plurality is comprised of one or more capacitive micromachined ultrasound transducer (cMUT), piezoelectric micromachined ultrasound transducer (pMUT), or bulk PZT transducer elements (see para. [0003, 0041]).”
Regarding claim 19, Hajati teaches, “wherein the plurality of the transducer elements for at least one ultrasound transducer assembly comprises a matrix or array of the transducer elements (see Fig. 1 and 6).”
Regarding claim 20, Hajati teaches, “wherein the plurality of the transducer elements for at least one ultrasound transducer assembly comprises a 2-dimensional matrix of the transducer elements (see Fig. 1 and 6).”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1 (and its related dependent claims) would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action. (notably, incorporating claim 3 into claim 1, and amending claim 6 to overcome the 112 rejection as set forth above)
Regarding claim 1, the prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed, “synthesizing receive signals for one or more virtual elements within gaps between the ultrasound transducer assemblies; and (vi) forming a dynamically focused receive beam based on the processed receive signals of the one or more transducer elements and synthesized receive signals of the one or more virtual elements.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO–892 form. The references cited herewith teach ultrasound transducer devices with configurations and control similar to the present application.
/RYAN D WALSH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852