Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2 and 9-17 set forth in the amendment submitted 8/06/2026 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-10, filed 8/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by NAKAMURA et al. (Hereinafter, “Nakamura”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200051717 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 10-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swaim et al. (Hereinafter, “Swaim”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210063440 A1 in view of Nakamura ‘717 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 7-9, of the remarks, filed on 8/06/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by NAKAMURA et al. (Hereinafter, “Nakamura”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200051717 A1, that “First, Nakamura fails to disclose a shunt resistor comprising"a substrate having electrically conductive structures to carry current in a current path through the shunt resistor," as recited in amended claim 1. The Action cites Nakamura Paragraph [0061], Fig. 6A, substrate 11 as disclosing the recited substrate. Action at 4. The applicant respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 recites a substrate as an element of the claimed shunt resistor. Nakamura's substrate 11 is not a substrate that is an element of the shunt resistor A itself, as applicant claims, but rather is merely a substrate to which Nakamura's shunt resistor A is mounted. Therefore, Nakamura fails to teach the substrate recited in amended claim 1. (Remarks-Page 7)
……………….
Amended claim 1 also recites that these one or more canceling inductance measurement leads are positioned to "cancel inductive effects in a voltage measurement made across the resistive portion using the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads" (emphasis added). With these amendments, it is clear that the recited canceling inductance measurement leads are used to measure a voltage across the resistive portion of the claimed shunt resistor. The "leads" taught by Nakamura, i.e. bonding wires W1 and W2 shown in Fig. 6A, are not used to measure a voltage; rather, they are used to conduct current through Nakamura's shunt resistor. See, e.g. Nakamura [0061] and Fig. 6A ("a current is flowed between the wiring patterns 7a, 7b" [through bonding wires W1 and W2, and the shunt resistor A]). Nowhere does Nakamura teach that bonding wires W1 and W2 are used to make a voltage measurement across the shunt resistor.
…………….
Therefore, the canceling inductance measurement leads are separate and distinct from the current path of the current to be measured flowing through the shunt resistor. Nakamura fails to teach this feature of amended claim 1. Instead, the bonding wires W1 and W2 taught by Nakamura directly form a part of the current path through Nakamura's shunt resistor A, i.e. the current path between conductive structures 7a and 7b. Consequently, Nakamura fails to teach "the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads separate from the current path through the shunt resistor," as recited in amended claim 1, and instead teaches the opposite.
……..
Nakamura's bonding wires W1 and W2, as shown in Fig. 6a, 6b, are clearly separate and distinct from Nakamura's shunt resistor A. The bonding wires make the electrical connections between (Remarks-Page 8) conductive structures 7a, 7b, and the shunt resistor A. However, the bonding wires are very clearly not positioned "on" Nakamura's shunt resistor A. Rather, they are completely external components to shunt resistor A, which merely serve to connect the shunt resistor into the current path to be measured. Moreover, as discussed above, Nakamura does not teach that the bonding wires W1 and W2 are used to make a voltage measurement across the shunt resistor. Therefore, Nakamura can not, and does not teach "the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads positioned on the shunt resistor to cancel inductive effects in a voltage measurement made across the resistive portion using the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads," as recited in amended claim 1.
In sum, Nakamura fails to anticipate amended claim 1 because Nakamura fails to teach any one of the elements of amended claim 1 discussed above. Accordingly, the applicant respectfully requests the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 102 be withdrawn.
Claims 2 and 9 are allowable based at least on their dependency from claim 1, which is allowable for the reasons discussed above.
Claim 2 is also alternatively allowable in its own right, because Nakamura fails to teach elements of claim 2. In particular, Nakamura fails to teach "the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads reside on and are in contact with the insulator, each lead extending from one of the caps on opposite ends of the substrate," as recited in claim 2. The Action cites Nakamura's insulator 17 as teaching the recited "insulator." Action at 7. But, insulator 17 is only shown in Nakamura's Fig. 4A and 4B, and disclosed in [0055] as "insulating film (side wall) 17 is formed on the side surface of the resistive element 5 prior to the plating step. In this way, it becomes possible to prevent a short circuit between the first electrode 1 and the second electrode 3 due to the plating film on the side surface." Insulator 17 is never shown in Nakamura's Fig. 6a, and there is no teaching in Nakamura of "the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads reside on and are in contact with the insulator," as recited in claim 2.
Accordingly, the applicant respectfully requests the rejection of claims 2 and 9 under 35 USC 102 be withdrawn (Remarks-page 9)”.
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 7-9 (stated above), filed on 8/06/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-2 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by NAKAMURA et al. (Hereinafter, “Nakamura”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200051717 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 5/06/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive because applicant has amended the claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of independent claim 1 has been withdrawn. However, applicant has amended the claim 1, and added the limitation, “a substrate having electrically conductive structures to carry current in a current path through the shunt resistor; a resistive portion in electrical contact with the electrically conductive structures to form a portion of the current path through the shunt resistor; and one or more canceling inductance measurement leads electrically connected to the electrically conductive structures and the resistive portion, the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads separate from the current path through the shunt resistor, the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads positioned on the shunt resistor to cancel inductive effects in a voltage measurement made across the resistive portion using the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads”, which necessitates a new ground of rejection. NAKAMURA et al. (Hereinafter, “Nakamura”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200051717 A1 is reapplied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 1 as explained below. Nakamura is reapplied to show that substrate as the electrodes 1 and 3 (conductive structures) because a substrate is simply the material that something else acts on or builds upon. Therefore electrode 3 can be considered as the substrate as the resistive portion 5 is on electrode 3. For the broadest reasonable interpretation electrode can be considered as the substrate. Claim 1 recites substrate having conductive structures and Nakamura discloses electrodes as the conductive structures to carry current in a current path through the shunt resistor. Therefore because of the amendment Nakamura is reapplied to meet the amended claim limitation and Nakamura now discloses a shunt resistor comprising "a substrate having electrically conductive structures to carry current in a current path through the shunt resistor. Therefore, applicant’s argument that First, Nakamura fails to disclose a shunt resistor comprising "a substrate having electrically conductive structures to carry current in a current path through the shunt resistor," as recited in amended claim 1 is not persuasive as explained below.
Applicant’s argument “Nowhere does Nakamura teach that bonding wires W1 and W2 are used to make a voltage measurement across the shunt resistor” is persuasive because applicant has amended the claim and added limitation which changes the scope of the claims and Nakamura is reapplied and showed in Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura below shows that a voltage measurement made across the resistive portion using the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads.
Similarly applicant’s argument, “Consequently, Nakamura fails to teach "the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads separate from the current path through the shunt resistor," as recited in amended claim 1, and instead teaches the opposite” is persuasive because applicant has amended the claim and added limitation which changes the scope of the claims and Nakamura is reapplied and showed in Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura below shows that the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads separate from the current path through the shunt resistor.
Applicant’s argument regarding dependent claims 2 and 9 is also persuasive and Nakamura is reapplied to reject the claim limitation as applicant has amended claim 1 which changes the scope of the claim and therefore Nakamura is reapplied to meet the amended limitation of claim 2, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly reapplied reference Nakamura, as set forth below.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by NAKAMURA et al. (Hereinafter, “Nakamura”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200051717 A1, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly reapplied reference Nakamura, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 10, of the remarks, filed on 8/06/2026, regarding the rejection of Claim(s) 10-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swaim et al. (Hereinafter, “Swaim”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210063440 A1 in view of Nakamura ‘717 A1, that “Claim 10 is amended to recite the same features of the shunt resistor as amended claim 1. For the same reasons discussed above with respect to amended claim 1, Nakamura fails to teach multiple features of the shunt resistor recited in amended claim 10. Therefore, since Swaim fails to teach the specific features of the shunt resistor recited in amended claim 10, as admitted by the Office Action, and since Nakamura fails to cure these deficiencies in the disclosure of Swaim, the Applicant respectfully submits that amended claim 10 is patentable over the combination of Swaim and Nakamura.
Claims 11-17 are patentable based at least on their dependency from patentable claim 10. Accordingly, the applicant respectfully requests the rejection of claims 10-17 under 35 USC 103 be withdrawn.”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 10 (stated above), filed on 8/06/2026, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 10-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swaim et al. (Hereinafter, “Swaim”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210063440 A1 in view of Nakamura ‘717 A1, as applied to the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 5/06/2026 have been fully considered and is persuasive because applicant has amended the claim 10. Therefore, the rejection of independent claim 10 has been withdrawn. However, applicant has amended the claim 10, and added the limitation similar to independent claim 1, “a substrate having electrically conductive structures to carry current in a current path through the shunt resistor; a resistive portion in electrical contact with the electrically conductive structures to form a portion of the current path through the shunt resistor; and one or more canceling inductance measurement leads electrically connected to the electrically conductive structures and the resistive portion, the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads separate from the current path through the shunt resistor, the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads positioned on the shunt resistor to cancel inductive effects in a voltage measurement made across the resistive portion using the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads”, which necessitates a new ground of rejection. NAKAMURA et al. (Hereinafter, “Nakamura”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200051717 A1 is reapplied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 10 as explained above. Claim(s) 10-17 are now rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swaim et al. (Hereinafter, “Swaim”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210063440 A1 in view of Nakamura ‘717 A1, as set forth below. Therefore, applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly reapplied reference Nakamura, as set forth below. See the rejection set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by NAKAMURA et al. (Hereinafter, “Nakamura”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200051717 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Nakamura teaches a shunt resistor [A] (A shunt resistor structure in which electrodes and a resistive element are laminated; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-3; FIGS. 5A, 5B and 5C depict a configuration example of a current sensing resistor according to a fourth embodiment of the present invention; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-3; FIGS. 6A and 6B depict an example of a mounting structure for mounting the current sensing resistor according to the fourth embodiment of the present invention onto a substrate; Paragraph [0025] Line 1-4), comprising:
a substrate [3+1] (a first electrode and a disc-shaped second electrode 3 as the substrate) (The shunt resistor A according to the present embodiment includes a first electrode 1 and a resistive element 5 that are ring-shaped and have a through-hole, and a disc-shaped second electrode 3 formed underneath and having a protruding shape; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-5) having electrically conductive structures [3, 1] (first electrode 1 and second electrode 3 as the conductive structures) to carry current in a current path through the shunt resistor [A] (a current sensing shunt resistor A according to the present embodiment is provided with a disc-shaped resistive element 5, and disc-shaped first electrode (terminal) 1 and second electrode (terminal) 3 that are formed on both surfaces of the resistive element 5 to flow current through the resistive element; Paragraph [0032] Line 1-6; Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura below shows the current path)
a resistive portion [5] (resistive element 5 as the resistive portion) (The shunt resistor A according to the present embodiment includes a first electrode 1 and a resistive element 5 that are ring-shaped and have a through-hole, and a disc-shaped second electrode 3 formed underneath and having a protruding shape; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-5) in electrical contact with the electrically conductive structures [1, 3] (a current sensing shunt resistor A according to the present embodiment is provided with a disc-shaped resistive element 5, and disc-shaped first electrode (terminal) 1 and second electrode (terminal) 3 that are formed on both surfaces of the resistive element 5 to flow current through the resistive element; Paragraph [0032] Line 1-6) to form a portion of the current path through the shunt resistor [A] (The second electrode 3 on the lower surface of the shunt resistor A may be adhered to the substrate without providing the pattern 7x. The wire W2 connects a wiring pattern 7a with the first electrode 1. The wire W1 connects a wiring pattern 7b with the protrusion 3a; Paragraph [0060] Line 11-16; Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura below shows a resistive portion [5] in electrical contact with the electrically conductive structures [1, 3] to form a portion of the current path through the shunt resistor [A]); and
Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura
one or more canceling inductance leads [voltage-sensing wires as the cancelling inductance leads] (Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura above shows cancelling inductance leads as it cancel the influence of inductance) (In addition, the voltage-sensing wires can be preferably connected to the first electrode 1 and the protrusion 3a (second electrode) on the upper surface side of the shunt resistor A; Paragraph [0061] Line 4-7) electrically connected to the electrically conductive structures [1, 3] and the resistive portion [5] (In the shunt resistor A according to the present embodiment, the first electrode 1 and a part of the second electrode 3 are exposed on the upper surface. Accordingly, it is possible to take voltage only from the upper surface side. The shape insulates (electrically floats) the connecting portion of the second electrode 3 on the lower surface, and ensures a current path from the first electrode 1 on the upper surface only through a bonding wire that is not depicted. Then, a current flow becomes a current that cancels a magnetic flux, making it possible to also cancel the influence of inductance; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-11),
the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads [voltage-sensing wires] separate from the current path through the shunt resistor [A] (Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura above shows the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads separate from the current path through the shunt resistor [A]),
the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads [the voltage-sensing wires as the cancelling inductance leads] positioned on the shunt resistor [A] (Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura above shows the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads [the voltage-sensing wires as the cancelling inductance leads] positioned on the shunt resistor [A]) to cancel inductive effects in a voltage measurement [V] made across the resistive portion [5] using the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads (In addition, the voltage-sensing wires can be preferably connected to the first electrode 1 and the protrusion 3a (second electrode) on the upper surface side of the shunt resistor A. Accordingly, the upper surface side of the shunt resistor A may be used for sensing voltage, while the lower surface may be used for a heat-dissipating path; Paragraph [0061] Line 4-9; In the shunt resistor A according to the present embodiment, the first electrode 1 and a part of the second electrode 3 are exposed on the upper surface. Accordingly, it is possible to take voltage only from the upper surface side. The shape insulates (electrically floats) the connecting portion of the second electrode 3 on the lower surface, and ensures a current path from the first electrode 1 on the upper surface only through a bonding wire that is not depicted. Then, a current flow becomes a current that cancels a magnetic flux, making it possible to also cancel the influence of inductance; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-11).
Regarding claim 2, Nakamura teaches a shunt resistor, wherein:
the electrically conductive structures [1, 3] comprise caps [1, 3a] (protrusion 3a as the cap) on opposite ends of the substrate [1, 3] (The first electrode 1 and the second electrode 3 have different areas that appear on the outer surfaces of the shunt resistor, the area of the first electrode being smaller than the area of the second electrode. The second electrode 3 includes a protrusion 3a protruding in a space inside the ring-shaped first electrode and resistive element 5; Paragraph [0057] Line 5-11; Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura above shows the electrically conductive structures comprise caps [3a] on opposite ends of the substrate [3]);
the resistive portion [5] (The shunt resistor A according to the present embodiment includes a first electrode 1 and a resistive element 5 that are ring-shaped and have a through-hole, and a disc-shaped second electrode 3 formed underneath and having a protruding shape. The first electrode 1 and the second electrode 3 have different areas that appear on the outer surfaces of the shunt resistor, the area of the first electrode being smaller than the area of the second electrode. The second electrode 3 includes a protrusion 3a protruding in a space inside the ring-shaped first electrode and resistive element 5; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-11) resides on and is in contact with the substrate [3] (The second electrode 3 on the lower surface of the shunt resistor A may be adhered to the substrate; Paragraph [0060] Line 11-13; Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura above shows the resistive portion [5] resides on and is in contact with the substrate [3]);
an insulator [17] resides on and is in contact with the resistive portion [5] (A groove O is formed between the protrusion 3a of the second electrode 3 and the ring-shaped first electrode and resistive element 5. The groove O may be filled with an insulator 17, as depicted in FIG. 5B. For example, as the insulator 17, epoxy resin, cement material, ceramic paste or the like may be filled in the groove O. In another example, a member obtained by processing an insulating material, such as ceramic, into a shape that can be fitted in the groove O may be accommodated in the groove O and fixed by an adhesive, for example; Paragraph [0057] Line 11-20; Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura above shows an insulator [17] resides on and is in contact with the resistive portion [A]); and
the one or more canceling measurement inductance leads [voltage sensing wires] reside on and are in contact with the insulator [17] (Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura above shows the one or more canceling measurement inductance leads reside on and are in contact with the insulator [17]),
each lead extending from one of the caps [3a] on opposite ends of the substrate [3] (Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura above shows each lead extending from one of the caps [3a] on opposite ends of the substrate [3]).
Regarding claim 9, Nakamura teaches a shunt resistor, wherein
at least one of the resistive portion [5] (The second electrode 3 as the resistive portion on the lower surface of the shunt resistor A may be adhered to the substrate; Paragraph [0060] Line 13-15), the electrically conductive structures [1, 3], and the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads, are one of painted or printed onto the substrate [11] (FIG. 6A depicts an example of such mounting structure, illustrating an example of a mounting structure for the current sensing resistor according to the fourth embodiment. As depicted in FIG. 6A, wiring patterns (current line, main path) 7, 7 of Cu are formed on a substrate 11; Paragraph [0060] Line 1-5; Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura above and figure 5B shows the resistive portion [5], the electrically conductive structures [1, 3a] are one of painted or printed onto the substrate [3]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swaim et al. (Hereinafter, “Swaim”) in the US Patent Application Publication Number US 20210063440 A1 in view of Nakamura ‘717 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Swaim teaches a modular tip interconnect (A probe is connectable to a test instrument for measuring signals of a DUT, where the probe includes a probe head that includes multiple leads configured to connect to signal probe points of the DUT, and a sensor connected between two of the leads; Abstract; FIG. 1 is a simplified block diagram of a probe connectable to a test instrument for measuring signals of a device under test (DUT); Paragraph [0004] Line 1-3), comprising:
a connector (wire connected between test and measurement instrument 170 (with the interconnect 122, 121) and the cable 133A, 133B) at a first end of the interconnect [122, 121] (probe output 121, 121 as the first end of the interconnect) configured to connect to a probe of a test and measurement instrument [170] (The probe 100 also includes two probe outputs for connecting to the test instrument 170. In the depicted embodiment, the probe outputs include first (primary) probe output 121 and second (optional) probe output 122; Paragraph [0022] Line 1-4); and
a shunt resistor [131] (Also, the resistor 131 may be a coaxial shunt, which is essentially a sense resistor constructed in a coaxial manner; Paragraph [0025] Line 10-12) located at a second end of the interconnect [111, 112] (probe inputs 111, 112, 113 as the second end) configured to connect to a device under test (DUT) [160] (In addition, the probe 100 includes a sensor 130 connected to each of the first and second probe inputs 111 and 112 for detecting current and voltage at the signal probe points of the DUT 160; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-4; In the depicted embodiment, the sensor 130 includes a resistor 131 through which DUT current passes between the first and second probe inputs 111 and 112 for detecting the current and voltage; Paragraph [0025] Line 1-4).
Swaim fails to teach the shunt resistor comprising: a substrate having electrically conductive structures to carry current in a current path through the shunt resistor; a resistive portion in electrical contact with the electrically conductive structures to form a portion of the current path through the shunt resistor; and one or more canceling inductance measurement leads electrically connected to the electrically conductive structures and the resistive portion, the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads separate from the current path through the shunt resistor, the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads configured positioned on the shunt resistor to cancel inductive effects in a voltage measurement made across the resistive portion using the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads.
Nakamura teaches a shunt resistor [A] (A shunt resistor structure in which electrodes and a resistive element are laminated; Paragraph [0011] Line 1-3; FIGS. 5A, 5B and 5C depict a configuration example of a current sensing resistor according to a fourth embodiment of the present invention; Paragraph [0024] Line 1-3; FIGS. 6A and 6B depict an example of a mounting structure for mounting the current sensing resistor according to the fourth embodiment of the present invention onto a substrate; Paragraph [0025] Line 1-4), comprising:
a substrate [3+1] (a first electrode and a disc-shaped second electrode 3 as the substrate) (The shunt resistor A according to the present embodiment includes a first electrode 1 and a resistive element 5 that are ring-shaped and have a through-hole, and a disc-shaped second electrode 3 formed underneath and having a protruding shape; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-5) having electrically conductive structures [3, 1] (first electrode 1 and second electrode 3 as the conductive structures) to carry current in a current path through the shunt resistor [A] (a current sensing shunt resistor A according to the present embodiment is provided with a disc-shaped resistive element 5, and disc-shaped first electrode (terminal) 1 and second electrode (terminal) 3 that are formed on both surfaces of the resistive element 5 to flow current through the resistive element; Paragraph [0032] Line 1-6; Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura below shows the current path)
a resistive portion [5] (resistive element 5 as the resistive portion) (The shunt resistor A according to the present embodiment includes a first electrode 1 and a resistive element 5 that are ring-shaped and have a through-hole, and a disc-shaped second electrode 3 formed underneath and having a protruding shape; Paragraph [0057] Line 1-5) in electrical contact with the electrically conductive structures [1, 3] (a current sensing shunt resistor A according to the present embodiment is provided with a disc-shaped resistive element 5, and disc-shaped first electrode (terminal) 1 and second electrode (terminal) 3 that are formed on both surfaces of the resistive element 5 to flow current through the resistive element; Paragraph [0032] Line 1-6) to form a portion of the current path through the shunt resistor [A] (The second electrode 3 on the lower surface of the shunt resistor A may be adhered to the substrate without providing the pattern 7x. The wire W2 connects a wiring pattern 7a with the first electrode 1. The wire W1 connects a wiring pattern 7b with the protrusion 3a; Paragraph [0060] Line 11-16; Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura below shows a resistive portion [5] in electrical contact with the electrically conductive structures [1, 3] to form a portion of the current path through the shunt resistor [A]); and
Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura
one or more canceling inductance leads [voltage-sensing wires as the cancelling inductance leads] (Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura above shows cancelling inductance leads as it cancel the influence of inductance) (In addition, the voltage-sensing wires can be preferably connected to the first electrode 1 and the protrusion 3a (second electrode) on the upper surface side of the shunt resistor A; Paragraph [0061] Line 4-7) electrically connected to the electrically conductive structures [1, 3a (protrusion of 3)] and the resistive portion [5] (In the shunt resistor A according to the present embodiment, the first electrode 1 and a part of the second electrode 3 are exposed on the upper surface. Accordingly, it is possible to take voltage only from the upper surface side. The shape insulates (electrically floats) the connecting portion of the second electrode 3 on the lower surface, and ensures a current path from the first electrode 1 on the upper surface only through a bonding wire that is not depicted. Then, a current flow becomes a current that cancels a magnetic flux, making it possible to also cancel the influence of inductance; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-11),
the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads [voltage-sensing wires] separate from the current path through the shunt resistor [A] (Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura above shows the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads separate from the current path through the shunt resistor [A]),
the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads [the voltage-sensing wires as the cancelling inductance leads] positioned on the shunt resistor [A] (Figure 6A: Modified Figure 6A of Nakamura above shows the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads [the voltage-sensing wires as the cancelling inductance leads] positioned on the shunt resistor [A]) to cancel inductive effects in a voltage measurement [V] made across the resistive portion [5] using the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads (In addition, the voltage-sensing wires can be preferably connected to the first electrode 1 and the protrusion 3a (second electrode) on the upper surface side of the shunt resistor A. Accordingly, the upper surface side of the shunt resistor A may be used for sensing voltage, while the lower surface may be used for a heat-dissipating path; Paragraph [0061] Line 4-9; In the shunt resistor A according to the present embodiment, the first electrode 1 and a part of the second electrode 3 are exposed on the upper surface. Accordingly, it is possible to take voltage only from the upper surface side. The shape insulates (electrically floats) the connecting portion of the second electrode 3 on the lower surface, and ensures a current path from the first electrode 1 on the upper surface only through a bonding wire that is not depicted. Then, a current flow becomes a current that cancels a magnetic flux, making it possible to also cancel the influence of inductance; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-11). The purpose of doing so is to obtain a current sensing shunt resistor that has good heat dissipation and high reliability, to reduce the size of apparatus, minimizing the footprint of components such as a shunt resistor to provide small-sized, and to have small inductance, to reduce self-inductance value, to provide a shunt resistor structure which is very small and low-profile and has excellent mounting properties and good high frequency characteristics.
It would have obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the shunt resistor of Swaim by the shunt resistor disclosed by Nakamura, because Nakamura teaches to include the substrate, resistive portion and canceling inductance lead of the shunt resistor obtains a current sensing shunt resistor that has good heat dissipation and high reliability (Paragraph [0007), reduces the size of apparatus, minimizing the footprint of components such as a shunt resistor (Paragraph [0009]), provides small-sized, and have small inductance (Paragraph [0010]), reduces self-inductance value (Paragraph [0011), provides a shunt resistor structure which is very small and low-profile and has excellent mounting properties and good high frequency characteristics (Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 11, Swaim teaches a modular tip interconnect,
further comprising a cable [133A, 133B] (lead 133A as the cable) (The sensor 130 is connected to the current detection circuit 133 and the voltage detection circuit 135, mentioned above. The current detection circuit 133 includes a first lead 133A connected to the first node 130A of the sensor 130; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-5) between the connector (the wire between the cable and the interconnect 122, 121) and the shunt resistor [131] (Figure 1 shows that a cable between the connector and the shunt resistor [131]).
Regarding claim 12, Swaim teaches a modular tip interconnect,
wherein the cable comprises one of a differential cable, a coaxial cable, or a twisted pair cable (Then, the probe head 106 may be replaced with another probe head associated with geometries and/or performance requirements of another DUT. When removably connected, the probe head 106 may be include any type of compatible connectors for connecting to the circuitry of the base 105 (e.g., current detection circuit 133 and voltage detection circuit 135, discussed below), such as subminiature version A (SMA) connectors, micro coaxial connector (MCX) connectors, micro-miniature coaxial (MMCX) connectors, or custom coaxial or non-coaxial connectors, for example; Paragraph [0020] Line 8-18).
Regarding claim 13, Swaim teaches a modular tip interconnect,
wherein the shunt resistor [131] resides in an intermediate structure [130] (sensor 130 as the intermediate structure which includes shunt resistor 131) (In the depicted embodiment, the sensor 130 includes a resistor 13; Paragraph [0025] Line 1-2; Figure 1 shows that wherein the shunt resistor resides in an intermediate structure between the cable and the DUT [160]) between the cable [133A] (lead 133A as the cable) (The sensor 130 is connected to the current detection circuit 133 and the voltage detection circuit 135, mentioned above. The current detection circuit 133 includes a first lead 133A connected to the first node 130A of the sensor 130; Paragraph [0026] Line 1-5) and the DUT [160] (Figure 1 shows that the shunt resistor [131] resides in an intermediate structure [130] between the cable [133A] and the DUT [160]).
Regarding claim 14, Swaim teaches a modular tip interconnect,
wherein the shunt resistor [131] connects to an interconnect [[115, 116, 117] on the DUT [160] (The first and second signal leads 115 and 116 and the ground lead 117 are flexible, and may be provided in various lengths to facilitate connections to the signal probe points and ground of the DUT 160; Paragraph [0021] Line 23-26).
Regarding claim 15, Swaim teaches a modular tip interconnect,
wherein the interconnect [115, 116, 117] to the DUT [160] comprises one of wires or a sculpted flexible circuit (The first and second signal leads 115 and 116 and the ground lead 117 are flexible, and may be provided in various lengths to facilitate connections to the signal probe points and ground of the DUT 160; Paragraph [0021] Line 23-26).
Regarding claim 16, Swaim teaches a modular tip interconnect,
wherein the leads land on the flex circuit (The first and second signal leads 115 and 116 and the ground lead 117 are flexible, and may be provided in various lengths to facilitate connections to the signal probe points and ground of the DUT 160; Paragraph [0021] Line 23-26).
Regarding claim 17, Swaim teaches a modular tip interconnect,
wherein the shunt resistor [131] is configured to be soldered directly to the DUT [160] (The probe head 106 is connected to the DUT (e.g., DUT 160) by soldering, for example, the first and second probe inputs 111 and 112 to open ends of a broken trace in the DUT; Paragraph [0056] Line 3-6; The sensor 130 is in the probe head 106; Paragraph [0024] Line 11-12; shunt resistor is in the current sensor and current sensor is in the probe head and probe head is connected to the DUT by soldering. Therefore, the shunt resistor [131] is configured to be soldered directly to the DUT).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
HARADA (US 20170271055 A1) discloses, “SHUNT RESISTOR- [Abstract] A shunt resistor includes a resistive body and a pair of electrodes each bonded to the resistive body. The resistive body has an obverse surface and a reverse surface that face in mutually opposite directions. The two electrodes are separate from each other in a first direction perpendicular to the thickness direction of the resistive body. The resistive body has two ends separate from each other in the first direction. [0022] A shunt resistor A10 according to a first embodiment, with reference to FIGS. 1 to 7. The shunt resistor A10 includes a resistive body 1 and a pair of electrodes 2. [0026] As shown in FIG. 3, the resistive-body obverse surface 11 faces outwards of the shunt resistor A10. The resistive-body obverse surface 11 has a pair of resistive-body obverse curved surface portions 111, which are located at opposite ends in the first direction X. As shown in FIGS. 3 and 7, the pair of resistive-body obverse curved surface portions 111 protrude outwards of the shunt resistor A10. The portion of the surface 11 other than the pair of resistive-body obverse curved surface portions 111 constitutes a flat surface perpendicular to the thickness direction Z. [0027] As shown in FIG. 3, the resistive-body reverse surface 12 faces in the opposite direction to the resistive-body obverse surface 11 in the thickness direction Z. The resistive-body reverse surface 12 has a pair of resistive-body reverse curved surface portions 121, which are located at opposite ends in the first direction X. As shown in FIGS. 3 and 7, a pair of resistive-body reverse curved surface portions 121 protrude outwards of the shunt resistor A10, like the pair of resistive-body obverse curved surface portions 111. The portion of the resistive-body reverse surface 12 other than the pair of resistive-body reverse curved surface portions 121 constitutes a flat surface perpendicular to the thickness direction Z-However Harada does not disclose one or more canceling inductance measurement leads electrically connected to the electrically conductive structures and the resistive portion, the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads separate from the current path through the shunt resistor, the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads configured positioned on the shunt resistor to cancel inductive effects in a voltage measurement made across the resistive portion using the one or more canceling inductance measurement leads.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858