DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group IA (Claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 2/23/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant also elected species A (Figure 1). As such claims 7-10 are further withdrawn, since these are drawn to non elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brandvold (US 5,098,278).
Regarding claim 1, Brandvold discloses a concrete finishing edger tool, comprising:
a handle (Item 10);
a shaping element (Item 12) comprising a rounded portion (Item 16) with a radius from around 1/8 inch to around 1 inch (Column 3 Lines 57-59); and
a tang (Item 11), wherein the tang, the handle and the shaping element are coupled.
Regarding claim 5, Brandvold discloses the concrete finishing edger tool of claim 1, wherein the shaping element is configured to shape vertical edges of a concrete structure, while the concrete structure is wet and supported by forms, to create a uniform finish (without arguing the intended use aspect, Column 1 Lines 50-68).
Regarding claim 6, Brandvold discloses the concrete finishing edger tool of claim 1, wherein the shaping element is configured to fit in limited access areas of a concrete structure while supported by forms, wherein the limited access areas include one or more of pipe penetration, post penetration, slab edge, cut line, cut joint, instance and irregular angle (without arguing the intended use aspect, Column 1 Lines 50-68). .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandvold (US 5,098,278) in view of Murray (US 7,784,143).
Regarding claim 2, Brandvold discloses the concrete finishing edger tool of claim 1. Brandvold fails to explicitly disclose wherein the shaping element is constructed from around 16 gauge to around 20 gauge high-carbon steel metal.
Murray teaches a finishing tool wherein the shaping element is constructed from around 16 gauge to around 20 gauge high-carbon steel metal (Column 3 Lines 18-46). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material and thickness in which the shaping element of Brandvold is constructed of to be as taught by Murray. Such a modification is viewed as a change in material, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). Brandvold in column 3 Lines 6-7 discusses how any material. Using the material and thickness as taught by Murray leads to a tool with a long life (Column 1 Lines 41-46).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandvold (US 5,098,278) in view of Linville (US 961,302).
Regarding claim 3, Brandvold discloses the concrete finishing edger tool of claim 1. Brandvold fails to explicitly disclose wherein the length of the shaping element is between around 7 inches and around 11 inches.
Linville teaches a shaping element that has a length of the shaping element is between around 7 inches and around 11 inches (Page 1 Lines 48-55 discusses the length of 10-12 inches but it up to the user). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the length of the shaping element of Brandvold to be roughly the same size as taught by Linville. Such a modification is viewed as a change in size, which has been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see MPEP 2144.04). A common stair is roughly 7” tall. Since Brandvold is related to helping forming a stair, having a shaping element closer to this dimension would make sense. That way it would take less material to produce and would take up less room for storage.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandvold (US 5,098,278) in view of Turner (US 3,608,944).
Regarding claim 4, Brandvold discloses the concrete finishing edger tool of claim 1. Brandvold fails to explicitly disclose wherein the tang is offset from the handle by around 1 inch to around 2 inches.
Turner teaches a finishing tool wherein the tang is offset from the handle by around 1 inch to around 2 inches (Column 2 Lines 5-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the length of the tank such that the offset from the handle to the blade was roughly 1-2 inches. Such a modification is viewed as a change in size, which ahs been held to be of routine by one skilled in the art (see mpep 2144.04). Such a modification would allow for the handle to be offset from the shaping element, but not long enough that would cause wrist strain while carrying cement (or mortar) while on the shaping element.
Conclusion
/TOM RODGERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723