DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: typo. “futher” in line 1 should be amended to recite “further”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because the claim recites “the exhaust unit exhausts air from a space between the cover and the body part before the plasma generation unit generates the plasma after the cover is attached to the body part” and thus appears to recite steps of a method in an apparatus claim. It is recommended that Applicant amend the claim to recite “the exhaust unit is configured to exhaust air…” to overcome this objection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 10-16, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 11-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,786,745 (‘745 patent) in view of Morfill et al. (US 2012/0046602) (hereinafter Morfill).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the ‘745 patent discloses a plasma treatment apparatus comprising: a cover configured to be attached to a body part; a plasma generation unit configured to generate plasma and provide the plasma to the cover; a gas supply unit configured to supply a source gas for generating the plasma to the plasma generation unit; an exhaust unit configured to exhaust an exhaust gas from the cover (ll. 1-9).
Claim 1 of the ‘745 patent does not disclose a spacing part disposed on a portion of the cover facing the body part, the spacing part being configured to maintain spacing between the cover and the body part.
Morfill, however, teaches a plasma applicator for treatment of living tissue and wounds (Abstract) including a spacing part disposed on a portion of the cover facing the body part, the spacing part being configured to maintain spacing between the cover and the body part (Fig. 1A, padding 7 maintains spacing between cover 4 and wound 2; para. 64: “The sealing cover 4 encloses a cavity between the wound 2 and the sealing cover 4, wherein the cavity is filled with a gas-permeable and porous padding 7”). Morfill additionally teaches a spacing part in the form of a rigid strut 23 arranged in the cavity thereby preventing the compression of the padding 7 in the case of low pressure in the cavity (Fig. 5; para. 87). Examiner submits that, in view of the evidence above, the padding 7 and/or the rigid strut 23 are interpreted as the claimed spacing part disposed on a portion of the cover facing the body part, the spacing part being configured to maintain spacing between the cover and the body part.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention to modify claim 1 of the ‘745 patent to include a spacing part disposed on a portion of the cover facing the body part, the spacing part being configured to maintain spacing between the cover and the body part by adopting the padding and/or the rigid strut taught by Morfill. Making this modification would be useful for enclosing a cavity between the wound and the sealing cover with porous padding, as well as preventing compression in the case of low pressure in the cavity with a rigid strut, as taught by Morfill.
Regarding claim 10, claim 7 of the ‘745 patent discloses a medicine applied to at least part of one surface of the cover that faces the body part.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 of the ‘745 patent discloses the exhaust unit exhausts air from a space between the cover and the body part before the plasma generation unit generates the plasma after the cover is attached to the body part.
Regarding claim 12, claim 1 of the ‘745 patent discloses a by-product removal unit configured to remove a by-product from the exhaust gas (ll. 10-11).
Regarding claim 13, claim 1 of the ‘745 patent discloses a sensor unit configured to detect whether the body part is sealed by the cover (ll. 12-13).
Regarding claim 14, claim 12 of the ‘745 patent discloses the sensor unit includes at least one contact sensor provided on a boundary surface of the cover that makes contact with the body part and configured to detect whether the boundary surface and the body part are brought into contact with, or separated from, each other.
Regarding claim 15, claim 1 of the ‘745 patent discloses a controller unit configured to control the plasma generation unit, depending on whether the body part is sealed or not (ll. 14-16).
Regarding claim 16, claim 13 of the ‘745 patent discloses the controller stops an operation of the plasma generation unit when the boundary surface and the body part are separated from each other.
Regarding claim 18, claim 14 of the ‘745 patent discloses the controller restarts the operation of the plasma generation unit when the boundary surface and the body part are brought into contact with each other again.
Regarding claim 19, claims 15-16 of the ‘745 patent discloses the exhaust unit includes a variable suction pump configured to take in the exhaust gas from a space between the cover part and the body part, the variable suction pump being variable in suction pressure, wherein when the boundary surface and the body part are separated from each other, the controller raises the suction pressure of the variable suction pump and stops an operation of the variable suction pump after preset time passes, and wherein the controller restarts the operation of the variable suction pump when the boundary surface and the body part are brought into contact with each other again.
Regarding claim 20, claims 17-19 of the ‘745 patent discloses the cover is configured such that a supply hole through which the cover receives the plasma from the plasma generation unit or receives air from the gas supply unit has a larger area than an exhaust hole through which the exhaust gas is discharged to the exhaust unit, and wherein the cover further comprises an exhaust hole adjustment unit configured to hide or open part of the exhaust hole to adjust the area of the exhaust hole, wherein when the boundary surface and the body part are separated from each other, the controller controls the exhaust hole adjustment unit to open part of the exhaust hole to increase the area of the exhaust hole, and wherein when the boundary surface and the body part are brought into contact with each other again, the controller controls the exhaust hole adjustment unit to hide part of the exhaust hole to decrease the area of the exhaust hole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “the sealing part being brought into close contact with the body part” in ll. 2-3. Such positive recitation of the sealing part being in contact with the body part directs the claim to a human organism. It is recommended that Applicant amend the claim to recite the human organism passively in order to overcome this rejection, i.e., “the sealing part configured to be brought into close contact with the body part”.
Regarding claim 14, the claim recites, “a boundary surface of the cover that makes contact with the body part”. Such positive recitation of boundary surface being in contact with the body part directs the claim to a human organism. It is recommended that Applicant amend the claim to recite the human organism passively in order to overcome this rejection, i.e., “a boundary surface of the cover that is configured to make contact with the body part”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 10-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morfill et al. (US 2012/0046602) (hereinafter Morfill).
Regarding claim 1, Morfill discloses a plasma treatment apparatus (Abstract; Figs. 1A, 2, & 5) comprising: a cover configured to be attached to a body part (cover 4); a plasma generation unit configured to generate plasma and provide the plasma to the cover (HV generator 18 with cable 19, electrode 8, electrical contact 9); a gas supply unit configured to supply a source gas for generating the plasma to the plasma generation unit (gas source 12 with conduit 13, inlet valve 14, gas inlet 10); an exhaust unit configured to exhaust an exhaust gas from the cover (suction pump 15 with conduit 17, outlet valve 16, gas outlet 11); and a spacing part disposed on a portion of the cover facing the body part, the spacing part being configured to maintain spacing between the cover and the body part (padding 7; Fig. 5, rigid strut 23; see double patenting rejection above with respect to teachings of Morfill).
Regarding claim 2, Morfill discloses a sealing part disposed at an edge of the cover, the sealing part being brought into close contact with the body part to seal a space between the cover and the body part (Fig. 1A, adhesive 6 on border strip 5; para. 63: “the sealing cover 4 comprises an adhesive boarder strip 5 which is coated with an adhesive 6 for adhering the boarder strip 5 of the sealing cover 4 to the skin of the patient 3 surrounding the wound 2”).
Regarding claim 3, Morfill discloses the cover includes a pad manufactured in advance to cover a wound (Abstract; Figs. 1A, 2, 5, show that cover 4 includes padding 7 and covers a wound 2).
Regarding claim 10, Morfill discloses a medicine is applied to at least part of one surface of the cover that faces the body part (para. 26: “it is also possible to functionalise the sealing cover by coating or impregnating the sealing cover with a substance which is improving the plasma generation and/or which has a medical effect, particularly a sterilizing effect. Therefore, the sealing cover can be coated or impregnated with a bactericide, a fungicide and/or an antiviral substance”).
Regarding claim 11, Morfill discloses the exhaust unit exhausts air from a space between the cover and the body part before the plasma generation unit generates the plasma after the cover is attached to the body part (Fig. 3, S5 exhausting air out of cavity occurs before S8 (treating wound with plasma) and after S1 (adhering cover to wound)).
Regarding claim 13, Morfill discloses a sensor unit configured to detect whether the body part is sealed by the cover (Fig. 1A, pressure sensor 21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morfill in view of Van Wyk et al. (US 2008/0208189) (hereinafter Van Wyk).
Regarding claim 12, Morfill does not disclose a by-product removal unit configured to remove a by-product from the exhaust gas.
Van Wyk, however, teaches devices for thermal tissue treatment (Abstract) with plasma (para. 130) and that gas ventilation and liquid circulation, aspiration and irrigation may be used for cooling and/or removing byproducts and/or debris (para. 133, last sentence).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention to modify Morfill to include a by-product removal unit configured to remove a by-product from the exhaust gas via the techniques of Van Wyk above. Making this modification would be useful for cooling and/or removing byproducts and/or debris, as taught by Van Wyk.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morfill in view of Heikenfield et al. (US 2015/0112164) (hereinafter Heikenfield).
Regarding claim 14, Morfill does not disclose the sensor unit comprises at least one contact sensor provided on a boundary surface of the cover that makes contact with the body part and configured to detect whether the boundary surface and the body part are brought into contact with, or separated from, each other.
Heikenfield, however, teaches a pad for sweat stimulation and biosensing (Abstract) including an electrical sensor associated with said sweat stimulation pad, said sensor adapted to detect direct or indirect contact between said pad and skin, which permits deactivation of said pad (claim 8). If stimulation electrode/pad contact to the skin is inadequate, this can be detected as an increase in impedance and that pad can be deactivated for purpose of skin safety and/or inadequate stimulation (para. 36, with reference to Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of this invention to modify Morfill such that the sensor unit comprises at least one contact sensor provided on a boundary surface of the cover that makes contact with the body part and configured to detect whether the boundary surface and the body part are brought into contact with, or separated from, each other. Making this modification would be useful for detecting inadequate skin contact and then deactivating the pad for skin safety, as taught by Heikenfield.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In the closest prior art, Morfill does not teach or suggest the gas supply unit comprises a fan unit configured to generate an air flow from a first space between the opposite electrodes to a second space between the cover and the body part (claim 4), in combination with other limitations; a controller configured to control the plasma generation unit, depending on whether the body part is sealed or not (claim 15).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (KR 101568380) discloses a skin treatment apparatus using plasma (Abstract).
Watson et al. (US 2013/0071286) discloses cold plasma sterilization devices (Abstract).
/A.A.G./Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796