DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Claims 1-5 in the reply filed on 1/5/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions are not independent or distinct and that a serious search burden does not exist. This is not found persuasive.
Contrary to Applicant’s argument, the inventions are clearly independent or distinct as indicated by Claims 1-5: Figs. 17-22, drawn to a blood draw device comprising a catheter, introducer, actuator, a first housing member comprising a plurality of lower snaps and first upper snap, a second housing member comprising a second upper snap comprising a hook; Species II, Claims 6-8: Figs 23-24, drawn to a blood draw device comprising a catheter, introducer, actuator, a first housing member comprising a plurality of lower snaps and first upper snap, a second housing member comprising a second upper snap comprising a hook, the second housing member also comprising a snap stop; Species III, Claims 9-11: Figs 25-26, drawn to a blood draw device comprising a catheter, introducer, actuator, a first housing member comprising a plurality of detents, a second housing member comprising a plurality of bump outs; Species IV, Claims 12-13: Fig. 28, drawn to a blood draw device comprising a catheter, introducer, actuator, a first housing member comprising a plurality of lower snaps and first upper snap, a second housing member comprising a second upper snap comprising a hook, the second housing member also comprising a mating surface and window; Species V, Claims 14-16: Figs. 31-34, drawn to a blood draw device comprising a catheter, introducer, actuator, a first housing member and second housing member comprising a plurality of pegs and a plurality of peg holes; Species VI, Claims 17-19: Fig. 30, drawn to a blood draw device comprising a catheter, introducer, actuator, a first housing member comprising a plurality of lower snaps, first upper snap, and horizontally oriented ledge, a second housing member comprising a second upper snap comprising a hook, the second housing member also comprising a stop feature and an abutment surface.
As a consequence, there is a search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species because it requires a different field of search for one of the inventions in a manner that is not likely to result in finding art pertinent to the other inventions (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 6-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species (Groups II-VI), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the distal end drives” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Clarification requested.
Claims 3-4 are rejected by virtue of their dependence from claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devgon (US 20170216564) (cited by Applicant) in view of Ribelin (SG 10202006530), Jaros (WO 2021038041) and Stamp (US 20180311438) (cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Devgon teaches (Fig. 3) a blood draw device (200) for use with a peripheral intravenous catheter (PIVC) comprising: a catheter (260); an introducer housing (exterior of 210) having a proximal end and a distal end (Fig. 3), and a top surface and a bottom surface (See Fig. 5), the housing having a first housing member (220) and a second housing member (230) each extending between the proximal end and the distal end (Fig. 5), and an actuator (270) movably coupled to the introducer housing (Fig. 5), the actuator configured to move relative to the introducer housing to move a distal end of the catheter from a position within the introducer housing to a position outside the introducer housing (Figs. 23-25; Paragraph [0097]).
However, Devgon does not teach “with the first housing member and the second housing member coupled together via a plurality of snaps formed thereon to define an inner volume configured to movably receive the catheter; wherein the plurality of snaps comprises: a plurality of lower snaps formed on the first housing member and spaced apart between the proximal end and the distal end, each of the plurality of lower snaps extending out from the first housing member from a snap proximal end to a snap distal end, the snap distal end of each of the plurality of lower snaps comprising a hook that is oriented downward toward the bottom surface; a first upper snap formed on the first housing member at the distal end, the first upper snap extending out from the first housing member from a snap proximal end to a snap distal end, the snap distal end of the first upper snap comprising a hook that is oriented upward toward the top surface; and a second upper snap formed on the second housing member at the proximal end, the second upper snap extending out from the second housing member from a snap proximal end to a snap distal end, the snap distal end of the second upper snap comprising a hook that is oriented downward toward the bottom surface.”
Ribelin, in a related field of endeavor, teaches a catheter device (Fig. 49) comprising a first housing member (12A) and the second housing member (12B) coupled together via a plurality of snaps (1230) formed thereon to define an inner volume configured to movably receive the catheter (Fig. 49), wherein the plurality of snaps comprises: a plurality of lower snaps (1230) formed on the first housing member (12A) and spaced apart between the proximal end and the distal end (Fig. 49), each of the plurality of lower snaps extending out from the first housing member from a snap proximal end to a snap distal end, the snap distal end of each of the plurality of lower snaps comprising a hook that is oriented downward toward the bottom surface (Paragraph [000196]; See Fig. 49 tabs 1230 illustrate hook-like bottom surface).
Jaros, in a related field of endeavor, teaches a catheter assembly (Figs. 19 and 25) comprising a comprising a first upper snap (tab 398) formed on the first housing member (193) at the distal end (Fig. 25), the first upper snap extending out from the first housing member from a snap proximal end to a snap distal end, (Fig. 25), the snap distal end of the first upper snap comprising a hook that is oriented upward toward the top surface (Fig. 25, tab 398 illustrates detent surface that resembles a hook).
Stamp, in a related field of endeavor, teaches an injection device (Fig. 2) comprising a second upper snap (100) formed on the second housing member at the proximal end (See Fig. 2, one of the half shells of position control member 20), the second upper snap extending out from the second housing member from a snap proximal end to a snap distal end, (Fig. 2), the snap distal end of the second upper snap comprising a hook that is oriented downward toward the bottom surface. (Fig. 2; Paragraph [0056] snap-locking means 100 comprising various notches and lugs);
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Devgon to teach “with the first housing member and the second housing member coupled together via a plurality of snaps formed thereon to define an inner volume configured to movably receive the catheter; wherein the plurality of snaps comprises: a plurality of lower snaps formed on the first housing member and spaced apart between the proximal end and the distal end, each of the plurality of lower snaps extending out from the first housing member from a snap proximal end to a snap distal end, the snap distal end of each of the plurality of lower snaps comprising a hook that is oriented downward toward the bottom surface” as taught by Ribelin, “a first upper snap formed on the first housing member at the distal end, the first upper snap extending out from the first housing member from a snap proximal end to a snap distal end, the snap distal end of the first upper snap comprising a hook that is oriented upward toward the top surface” as taught by Jaros, “and a second upper snap formed on the second housing member at the proximal end, the second upper snap extending out from the second housing member from a snap proximal end to a snap distal end, the snap distal end of the second upper snap comprising a hook that is oriented downward toward the bottom surface” as taught by Stamp. Doing so provides a secure mating mechanism for joining the top and bottom housing portions. (Paragraph [000196] of Ribelin).
Regarding claim 2, Devgon does not teach “wherein the first upper snap is driven further into a mating surface of the second housing member responsive to a twisting of the proximal end of the introducer housing relative to the distal end drives, to prevent separation of the first housing member from the second housing member”.
Jaros teaches a catheter assembly (Figs. 19 and 25) wherein the first upper snap (tab 398) is driven further into a mating surface (recess 378) of the second housing member (194) responsive to a twisting of the proximal end of the introducer housing relative to the distal end drives, to prevent separation of the first housing member from the second housing member. (Paragraphs [00475]-[00476], [00481]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Devgon to teach “wherein the first upper snap is driven further into a mating surface of the second housing member responsive to a twisting of the proximal end of the introducer housing relative to the distal end drives, to prevent separation of the first housing member from the second housing member” as taught by Jaros. Doing so provides a secure mating mechanism for joining the left and right housing frames. (Paragraph [00482]).
Regarding claim 3, Devgon does not teach “an alignment feature formed on the first housing member on the distal end thereof, below the first upper snap, the alignment feature engaging another mating feature on the second housing member to prevent disengaging of the first upper snap from the mating surface on the second housing member.”
Jaros teaches (Fig. 25) an alignment feature (392) formed on the first housing member (193), the alignment feature engaging another mating feature (Fig. 19, slot 368) on the second housing member (194) to prevent disengaging of the first upper snap from the mating surface on the second housing member. (Paragraph [00476]).
Though the alignment feature in Jaros is “on the proximal end”, and therefore not “below the first upper snap” as claimed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Devgon to teach “an alignment feature formed on the first housing member on the distal end thereof, below the first upper snap, the alignment feature engaging another mating feature on the second housing member to prevent disengaging of the first upper snap from the mating surface on the second housing member” as an obvious matter of design choice, as shifting the positional arrangement of the snap connections that join the two halves of the housing together would not have modified the operation of the device.
Regarding claim 5, Devgon does not teach “wherein the first housing member forms a portion of the top surface and the second housing member forms another portion of the top surface, the portion of the top surface separated from the another portion of the top surface to define a groove that extends generally from the proximal end to the distal end, and wherein a portion of the actuator is engaged with the groove to enable movement of the actuator relative to the introducer housing”.
Jaros teaches wherein the first housing member (193) forms a portion of the top surface and the second housing member (194) forms another portion of the top surface, the portion of the top surface separated from the another portion of the top surface to define a groove that extends generally from the proximal end to the distal end, (See Fig. 32; Paragraphs [00492]-[00493]), and wherein a portion of the actuator (404) is engaged with the groove to enable movement of the actuator relative to the introducer housing. (Paragraph [00492]).
As a result, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Devgon to teach “wherein the first housing member forms a portion of the top surface and the second housing member forms another portion of the top surface, the portion of the top surface separated from the another portion of the top surface to define a groove that extends generally from the proximal end to the distal end, and wherein a portion of the actuator is engaged with the groove to enable movement of the actuator relative to the introducer housing” as taught by Jaros. Doing so provides a secure mating mechanism for joining the left and right housing frames. (Paragraph [00482]). Doing so presents a mechanism for pushing or grasping by a practitioner. (Paragraph [00488]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 4, Devgon does not teach “wherein the alignment feature comprises another lower snap extending out from the first housing member from a snap proximal end to a snap distal end, the snap distal end of the another lower snap comprising a hook that is oriented downward toward the bottom surface.”
Jaros teaches (Fig. 25) wherein the alignment feature comprises another lower snap (bottom detent 392) extending out from the first housing member from a snap proximal end to a snap distal end, Paragraph [00476]), however, Jaros does not specifically teach “the snap distal end of the another lower snap comprising a hook that is oriented downward toward the bottom surface.”
Conclusion
/OM PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791