DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Falco et al. (Int. Journal of Hydrogen Energy 42 (2017) 6771-6786) in view of Harale et al. (US 8,921,619) and Wang et al. (J. of Membrane Science 474 (2015) 39-56).
Regarding claim 14, De Falco et al. (see FIG. 2 on page 6775; also, “Process description” on pages 6774-6775) discloses a process using a membrane reactor for the hydrogenation of carbon dioxide (i.e., for conducting the CO2 hydrogenation reaction (1) as one of the main reactions for DME direct synthesis; see page 6772), said membrane reactor comprising:
a reaction compartment comprising a catalyst bed (i.e., an annular zone between the internal and external tubes of the reaction zone where catalyst particles are packed); a permeate compartment (i.e., the Permeation Zone located inside of the internal tube); and a water-permeable membrane separating the reaction compartment and the permeate compartment (i.e., the inner tube comprises an H2O selective membrane); wherein, during operation of the reactor, water that permeates through the water-permeable membrane is removed from the permeate compartment using a sweep gas and discharged from the reactor to an external condenser where water can condense (see FIG. 1).
De Falco et al. (see FIG. 2) discloses that the inner wall and the outer wall are tubular, and the outer wall is at least partially co-axially arranged around the inner wall (i.e. the membrane reactor is constructed from two co-axial tubes, see discussion under “Process description” on page 6774).
De Falco et al. discloses that the membrane reactor has a longitudinal axis (i.e., corresponding to the horizontal axis, as shown).
De Falco et al. further discloses that the trans-membrane molar flux for water (see equation (21) for determining JH2O and the corresponding discussion at pages 6775-6776) is proportional to the partial pressure difference across the water-permeable membrane and the permeability of the membrane. In particular, De Falco et al. (see “Effect of permeation zone operation conditions” at pages 6780 and the results shown in FIG. 6) discloses,
It is clear that increasing the pressure difference between the reaction and permeation zones, thus reducing the ƞ ratio, leads to a steep improvement of all the membrane reactor performance indexes… Such a behavior is due to the variation of pressure driving force that modifies the water permeated flux, as shown in eq. (21).
Also the ratio Sw has a positive effect on membrane reactor performance, since increasing the sweeping gas flow rate allows the reduction of the water partial pressure in the permeate side and thus the increase of the water permeated flux JH2O.”
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that increasing the pressure difference between the reaction compartment and the permeate compartment by reducing the partial pressure of water in the permeate compartment increases the amount of water that permeates through the water-permeable membrane and thereby improves the performance of the membrane reactor, i.e., by increasing the yield of DME (YDME), the selectivity of DME (SDME), the conversion of COx (XCOx), and the conversion of CO2 (XCO2), (see FIG. 6).
De Falco et al., however, fails to disclose that the permeate compartment comprises a condensing surface placed along essentially the entire longitudinal axis of the membrane reactor and a means for cooling that is connected to said condensing surface, such that during operation of the reactor, water can condense on the condensing surface.
However, Harale et al. discloses a membrane reactor (i.e., a membrane-integrated hydration reactor 110; see FIG. 1; column 4, line 36, to column 6, line 17) comprising a reaction compartment (i.e., the space above a hydrophilic member 132); a permeate compartment (i.e., the space below the hydrophilic member 132); and a water-permeable membrane (i.e., the hydrophilic membrane 132) separating the reaction compartment and the permeate compartment. Specifically, Harale et al. discloses that the permeate compartment comprises a condensing surface (i.e., a condenser 144), such that during operation, water can condense on the condensing surface. In particular, Harale et al. (at column 6, lines 6-11) discloses, “Condenser 144 causes the formation of liquid water on permeate side 136 of hydrophilic membrane 132, lowering the pressure on that side of hydrophilic membrane 132. Lowering the pressure on permeate side 136 increases the pressure drive through hydrophilic membrane 132, removing additional water from feed side 134.”
Harale et al. therefore discloses that the condensing surface 144, which condenses water in the permeate compartment, increases the pressure difference between the reaction compartment and the permeate compartment by reducing the partial pressure of water in the permeate compartment, which then increases the amount of water that permeates through the water-permeable membrane 132.
Wang et al. further illustrates four basic modes of inducing a pressure gradient across a membrane as would be recognized by one of skill in the art (see “3. MD configurations” on pages 45-46; also, FIG. 3.1 on page 47). Under a “sweep gas” mode for inducing a pressure gradient (see FIG. 3.1-C), vapors that permeate through the membrane are removed from the permeate compartment using a sweep gas and discharged with the sweep gas to an external condenser where the vapors can condense. The “sweep gas” mode is essentially the mode of inducing a pressure gradient used by De Falco et al. Wang et al. also discloses an “air-gap” mode for inducing a pressure gradient (see FIG. 3.1-B), wherein vapors that permeate through the membrane are condensed on a condensing surface (i.e., a cooling surface) located in the permeate compartment, and the condensing surface is connected to a means for cooling (i.e., a flowing cooling stream on the other side of the cooling surface). The flowing cooling stream has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) as corresponding to the “means for cooling” as described in Applicant’s specification (see, e.g., page 8, lines 10-18), and equivalents thereof. In the “air-gap” mode, the condensing surface is placed along essentially the entire longitudinal axis of the separator (i.e., corresponding to the horizontal axis, as illustrated). The “air-gap” mode is essentially the mode of inducing a pressure gradient used by Harale et al., since the condensing surface 144 is spaced from the wall of membrane 132 (see FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a condensing surface in the permeate compartment and a means for cooling that was connected to the condensing surface, as an alternative to the supply of sweep gas, in the membrane reactor of De Falco et al. because the provision of either: (i) a condensing surface in the permeate compartment connected with means for cooling (i.e., the “air-gap” mode of inducing a pressure gradient), or (ii) a flow of sweep gas through the permeate compartment with an external condenser (i.e., the “sweep gas” mode of inducing a pressure gradient) would have achieved substantially the same result of reducing the partial pressure of water in the permeate compartment to induce a pressure difference between the reaction compartment and the permeate compartment and to increase the amount of water that permeates through the water permeable membrane during use, as taught by Harale et al. and Wang et al. The substitution of known equivalent structures involves only ordinary skill in the art, and when the prior art is altered by the mere substitution of one element for another known in the field, the combination must do more than yield a predictable result.
Wang et al. (see FIG. 3.1-B) discloses that the condensing surface is placed along essentially the entire longitudinal axis of the separator (i.e., horizontal axis, as shown). Given the structural similarities and functional overlap between the apparatuses of De Falco et al. and Wang et al., it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to likewise provide the condensing surface along essentially the entire longitudinal axis in the membrane reactor of De Falco et al., so that the “continuous removal of water from the reaction environment” as desired by De Falco et al. (see Abstract) can be realized.
Wang et al. discloses that the permeate compartment comprises a means for cooling that is an active cooling device (i.e., the opposite side of the cooling surface is in contact with a flowing cooling stream, see FIG. 3.1-B on page 47), wherein the active cooling device is disconnected from the inner wall (i.e., the cooling surface is spaced from the membrane by an air gap). Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly configure the means for cooling and active-cooling device to be disconnected from the inner wall of the modified membrane reactor of De Falco et al. in order to provide the gap required of the “air-gap” mode for inducing the pressure gradient across the membrane, as taught by Wang et al.
Regarding claims 15 and 18, Wang et al. discloses that the means for cooling comprises an active-cooling device having a passage through which cooling fluid can flow (i.e., a flowing cooling stream across the opposite side of the cooling surface; see FIG. 3.1-B). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly provide an active cooling device having a passage through which cooling fluid can flow as the means for cooling in the modified membrane reactor of De Falco et al.
Regarding claim 16, De Falco et al. discloses that the membrane reactor (see FIG. 2) comprises an inner wall (i.e., the internal tube) bounding an inner space that defines the permeate compartment (i.e., the Permeation Zone), wherein the permeate compartment has said longitudinal axis (i.e., corresponding to the horizontal axis); an outer wall (i.e., the external tube) arranged around the inner wall, wherein the outer wall and the inner wall bound an outer space that defines the reaction compartment (i.e., an annular zone that is the Reaction Zone where catalyst particles are packed); wherein the inner wall comprises the water-permeable membrane (i.e. the H2O selective membrane). The membrane reactor configuration in FIG. 2 of De Falco et al. is therefore in reverse of the claimed membrane reactor configuration, where the inner space instead defines the reaction compartment and the outer space instead defines the permeate compartment. However, either membrane reactor configuration would be expected to achieve substantially the same results, as further evidenced by Harale et al. In particular, Harale et al. (see FIG. 2A and 2B) discloses two membrane reactors constructed from an inner wall bounding an inner space, and an outer wall that is arranged around said inner wall, wherein the outer wall and the inner wall bound an outer space. Under a first configuration (see FIG. 2A), the inner space defines the permeate compartment (i.e., interior fluid conduit 238a) and the outer space defines the reaction compartment (i.e., the annular compartment 230a containing the catalyst 220a). Under a second configuration (see FIG. 2A), the permeate compartment and the reaction compartment are reversed, with the inner space defining the reaction compartment (i.e., the interior fluid conduit 238 containing the catalyst 220b) and the outer space defining the permeate compartment (i.e., the annular volume 230b). Therefore, it would have been an obvious design consideration for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reverse the locations of the permeate compartment and the reaction compartment in the modified membrane reactor of De Falco et al. because either membrane reactor configuration would be expected to achieve substantially the same result, as suggested by Harale et al.
Wang et al. further discloses that under the “air-gap” mode for inducing a pressure gradient across the membrane (see FIG. 3.1-B and corresponding discussion under 3.1(c) on page 46), the condensing surface (i.e., cooling surface) is located away from the wall of the membrane (i.e., by a distance defining the air-gap), and the condensing surface is placed along essentially the entire longitudinal axis of the permeate compartment. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the condensing surface to the outer wall and place the condensing surface along essentially the entire longitudinal axis of the permeate compartment in the modified membrane reactor of De Falco et al. in order to provide the gap required of the “air-gap” mode for inducing the pressure gradient across the membrane, as taught by Wang et al.
Regarding claim 17, De Falco et al. discloses that the membrane reactor (see FIG. 2) comprises an inner wall (i.e., the internal tube) bounding an inner space that defines the permeate compartment (i.e., the Permeation Zone), wherein the permeate compartment has said longitudinal axis (i.e., corresponding to the horizontal axis); an outer wall (i.e., the external tube) that is arranged around the inner wall, wherein the outer wall and the inner wall bound an outer space that defines the reaction compartment (i.e., an annular zone that is the Reaction Zone where catalyst particles are packed); wherein the inner wall comprises the water-permeable membrane (i.e. the H2O selective membrane).
Wang et al. further discloses that under the “air-gap” mode for inducing a pressure gradient across the membrane (see FIG. 3.1-B and corresponding discussion under 3.1(c) on page 46), the condensing surface (i.e., cooling surface) is located away from the wall of the membrane (i.e., by a distance defining the air-gap), and the condensing surface is placed along essentially the entire longitudinal axis of the permeate compartment. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to locate the condensing surface away from the inner wall in the modified membrane reactor of De Falco et al. in order to provide the gap required of the “air-gap” mode for inducing the pressure gradient across the membrane, as taught by Wang et al.
Regarding claim 20, De Falco et al. discloses that the water permeable membrane comprises a hydrophilic membrane that is a zeolite membrane (see discussion under “Hydrophilic membranes and membrane reactor state of the art” on page 6773; see also discussion of the microporous zeolite membrane used as the H2O selective membrane under “Process description” on pages 6774-6775).
Regarding claim 21, De Falco et al. discloses that a suitable catalyst comprises bi-functional catalytic particles of Cu-ZnO-Al2O3/HZSM-5 (see discussion under “Mathematical modeling” on page 6775), and therefore, the catalyst bed comprises copper and zinc oxide.
Regarding claims 22-24 De Falco et al. the hydrophilic membrane to be integrated has to have the following properties:) stability at the DME production operating temperature and pressure (200-3000 C, 30-70 bar (3-7 MPa));highly selective to water steam) with high water steam permeability, leading to a high permeated flux. Conventionally, water selective membranes are applied in the desalination processes, the dehydration of natural gas or air and dehydration of organic compounds by pervaporation. All these processes operate at low temperature less than 1500 C. see page 6773, left col. 4th paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Falco et al. (Int. Journal of Hydrogen Energy 42 (2017) 6771-6786) in view of Harale et al. (US 8,921,619) and Wang et al. (J. of Membrane Science 474 (2015) 39-56), as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Thomas (US 3,358,750).
The combination of De Falco et al., Harale et al., and Wang et al. fails to disclose or adequately suggest protruding surface elements on the condensing surface.
Thomas (see FIG. 1) discloses a condensing surface 2 comprising protruding surface elements (i.e., projections 3 in the form of fins; projections 4 in the form of wires).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide protruding surface elements on the condensing surface in the modified membrane reactor of De Falco et al. because the protruding surface elements would help draw condensate from the condensing surface between the protruding surface elements, which decreases the thickness of the condensate film on that surface, and thereby provides a substantial increase in the film condensation heat transfer coefficient of the surface, as taught by Thomas (see column 2, lines 11-23).
/JAFAR F PARSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692