DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-12 and 14-20 are pending in this application. Claims 1,c3, 12 and 14 have been amended in this application, and claims 2 and 13 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/20/2023 and 12/16/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
35 USC § 112
The amendments filed on 08/03/2026 have bene reviewed, and in view of the amendments made to claims 3 and 14, the examiner withdraws the rejections made under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) for improper claim dependencies.
35 USC § 103
The applicant’s arguments (see Remarks, filed 08/03/2026) have been fully considered by the examiner and are persuasive. However, in view of the amendments to claims 1 and 12, a new grounds of rejection are presented and fully discussed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1, 6-8, 10-12, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udupa (US 20230129957 A1) in view of Stern (Štern, D., Payer, C., Lepetit, V., Urschler, M. (2016). Automated Age Estimation from Hand MRI Volumes Using Deep Learning. In: Ourselin, S., Joskowicz, L., Sabuncu, M., Unal, G., Wells, W. (eds) Medical Image Computing and Computer-Assisted Intervention – MICCAI 2016. MICCAI 2016. Lecture Notes in Computer Science, vol 9901. Springer, Cham).
Regarding claim 1 Udupa discloses; A health screening system comprising:
a set of computerized image analysis tools receiving slice-image medical data of a patient to provide a set of different body composition measurements related to clinical risk factors (Udupa, [0022] CT scans are used to determined body composition [0032] body composition measures associated with risk of certain diseases are quantified by the model);
a model receiving the different body composition measurements exclusively from the set of computerized image analysis tools to provide a health assessment value combining the different body composition measurements and indicating health of the patient (Udupa, [0032] the model takes measures of different tissues of interest, such as adipose, muscle and bone density to quantify the body composition, [0022] CT scans are used to determine body composition directly from images, [0125]-[127] the system outputs a breakdown of the tissue composition values, which per [0032] are values indicative of a patient’s health)
and an output presenting the health assessment value for review (Udupa, [0032] the model takes measures of different tissues of interest, such as adipose, muscle and bone density to quantify the body composition, [0125]-[127] the system outputs a breakdown of the tissue composition values, which per [0032] are values indicative of a patient’s health, [0091] the components and values are presented as an output);
[and wherein the health assessment value is a biological age value.]
Regarding claim 1 Udupa fails to disclose; wherein the health assessment value is an age value.
However, in the same field of endeavor of health risk screening, Stern teaches; wherein the health assessment value is an age value (Stern, page 3, 2 Method, the neural network takes in MRI scans to obtain bone volume features to predict biological age, page 4 section 2.2 DCNN architecture, teaches that the bone volumes and bone ossification scores generated by the model from the images is used to estimate the biological age of the person).
(Stern, page 3, Methods section)
The combination of Udupa and Stern would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. The motivation for the computation of biological age from the hand bone composition measures of a Stern lie in that this estimation allows for assistance in planning of surgeries or determining endocrinological diseases via comparisons of biological age with chronological age. (Stern, abstract)
Regarding claim 6 the combination of Udupa and Stern teaches; The health screening system of claim 1 wherein the output further provides relative significance of the body composition measurements in influencing the health assessment value (Udupa, [0032] the model takes measures of different tissues of interest, such as adipose, muscle and bone density to quantify the body composition, [0125]-[127] the system outputs a breakdown of the tissue composition values, which per [0032] are values indicative of a patient’s health, [0091] the components and values are presented as an output).
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Udupa and Stern teaches; The health screening system of claim 1 wherein the computerized analysis image tools output physical measurements (Udupa, [0032] the model takes measures of different tissues of interest, such as adipose, muscle and bone density to quantify the body composition, [0125]-[127] the system outputs a breakdown of the tissue composition values and measures).
Regarding claim 8 the combination of Udupa and Stern teaches; The health screening system of claim 7 wherein the output further provides images depicting the physical measurements (Udupa, [0091] the tissue component measures are output, [0032] the system outputs a segmentation (visual image/depiction) and quantification (numeric measure) of body composition).
Regarding claim 10 the combination of Udupa and Stern teaches; The health screening system of claim 1 wherein the slice image medical data is computed tomography data (Udupa, [0022] CT scans are used to determined body composition).
Regarding claim 11 the combination of Udupa and Stern teaches; The health screening system of claim 10 wherein the slice image data is abdominal image data (Udupa, [0022] CT scans are used to determined body composition, [0037]-[0038] abdominal regions are imaged).
Regarding claim 12 the combination of Udupa and Stern teaches; A method of assessing a biological age comprising:
(a) obtaining slice image medical data for a patient (Udupa, [0022] CT scans are used to determined body composition [0032] body composition measures associated with risk of certain diseases are quantified by the model);
(b) applying a set of computerized image analysis tools to the slice image medical data to provide a set of different body composition measurements related to clinical risk factors (Udupa, [0022] CT scans are used to determined body composition [0032] body composition measures associated with risk of certain diseases are quantified by the model);
(c) applying the set of different body composition measurements to a computerized model combining the different body composition measurements received exclusively from the image analysis tools into a health assessment value (Udupa, [0032] the model takes measures of different tissues of interest, such as adipose, muscle and bone density to quantify the body composition, [0022] CT scans are used to determine body composition directly from images, [0125]-[127] the system outputs a breakdown of the tissue composition values, which per [0032] are values indicative of a patient’s health);
(Udupa, [0032] the model takes measures of different tissues of interest, such as adipose, muscle and bone density to quantify the body composition, [0125]-[127] the system outputs a breakdown of the tissue composition values, which per [0032] are values indicative of a patient’s health, [0091] the components and values are presented as an output) and wherein the health assessment value is a biological age value (Stern, page 3, 2 Method, the neural network takes in MRI scans to obtain bone volume features to predict biological age, page 4 section 2.2 DCNN architecture, teaches that the bone volumes and bone ossification scores generated by the model from the images is used to estimate the biological age of the person).
The combination of Udupa and Stern would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. The motivation for the computation of biological age from the hand bone composition measures of a Stern lie in that this estimation allows for assistance in planning of surgeries or determining endocrinological diseases via comparisons of biological age with chronological age. (Stern, abstract)
Regarding claim 17 the combination of Udupa and Stern teaches; The method of claim 12 wherein the output further provides relative significance of the body composition measurements in influencing the health assessment value (Udupa, [0032] the model takes measures of different tissues of interest, such as adipose, muscle and bone density to quantify the body composition, [0125]-[127] the system outputs a breakdown of the tissue composition values, which per [0032] are values indicative of a patient’s health, [0091] the components and values are presented as an output)
Regarding claim 18 the combination of Udupa and Stern teaches; The method of claim 12 wherein the computerized analysis image tools output physical measurements (Udupa, [0032] the model takes measures of different tissues of interest, such as adipose, muscle and bone density to quantify the body composition, [0125]-[127] the system outputs a breakdown of the tissue composition values and measures).
Regarding claim 19 the combination of Udupa and Stern teaches; The method of claim 18 wherein the output further provides images depicting the physical measurements (Udupa, [0091] the tissue component measures are output, [0032] the system outputs a segmentation (visual image/depiction) and quantification (numeric measure) of body composition).
Claims 3-4 and claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udupa US 20230129957 A1) in view of Stern (Štern, D., Payer, C., Lepetit, V., Urschler, M. (2016). Automated Age Estimation from Hand MRI Volumes Using Deep Learning. In: Ourselin, S., Joskowicz, L., Sabuncu, M., Unal, G., Wells, W. (eds) Medical Image Computing and Computer-Assisted Intervention – MICCAI 2016. MICCAI 2016. Lecture Notes in Computer Science, vol 9901. Springer, Cham) and in further view of Hospers (Hospers et al, Relation between blood pressure and mortality risk in an older population: role of chronological and biological age, Journal of Internal Medicine, doi: 10.1111/joim.12284 (Year: 2014)).
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Udupa and Stern fails to teach; The health screening system of claim 1 wherein the model provides an empirically derived survival probability
and wherein the age value matches the survival probability obtained from the model to a second distinct model relating survival probability to chronological age.
However, in the same field of endeavor Hospers teaches; The health screening system of claim 2 wherein the model provides an empirically derived survival probability (Hospers, pages 489-490 Data Analysis section, the BMI, cholesterol, smoking, Blood pressure and computed biological age were used to determine mortality risks using a model, survival curves were generated for each variable relating the factors to survival)
(Hospers, Data Analysis)
and wherein the age value matches the survival probability obtained from the model to a second distinct model relating survival probability to chronological age (Hospers, pages 489-490 Data Analysis section, the BMI, cholesterol, smoking, Blood pressure and computed biological age were used to determine mortality risks using a model, survival curves were generated for each variable relating the factors to survival, where in one of the factors was chronical age and biological age. Since both had survival curves, both would have empirical relation to survival).
The combination of Udupa, Stern, and Hospers would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. The combination of Udupa and Stern teach a model using CT scans to compute biological age based upon body composition, however they do not teach the relation of this measure to survival prediction computations. Hospers teaches this deficiency, teaching that mortality risk and survival probability may be correlated with chronological and biological ages using survival curves and multiple models. The addition of this feature to the systems and methods taught by Udupa and Stern would be advantageous in assessing risk factors and reducing mortality risk in high-risk individuals (Hospers, Introduction, page 488).
Regarding claim 4 the combination of Udupa, Stern, and Hospers teaches; The health screening system of claim 3 wherein the second model models input parameters independent of body composition information derived from slice image medical data (Hospers, Data analysis, the system uses multiple regression models to model health data that is non-image focused).
The combination of Udupa, Stern, and Hospers would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Udupa teaches a model using CT scans to assess body composition and health risks, but that use of a separate model to take in the non-CT health parameters. Stern teaches this deficiency, teaching the use of other parameters being considered by the model in computing age and risk factors. The motivation for this combination is that the using multiple factors in computing the biological age may help better estimate it. (Hospers, Introduction, page 488),
Regarding claim 14 the combination of Udupa, Stern, and Hospers teaches; The method of claim 12 wherein the model provides an empirically derived survival probability (Hospers, pages 489-490 Data Analysis section, the BMI, cholesterol, smoking, Blood pressure and computed biological age were used to determine mortality risks using a model, survival curves were generated for each variable relating the factors to survival) and wherein the age value matches the survival probability obtained from the model to a second distinct model relating survival probability to chronological age(Hospers, pages 489-490 Data Analysis section, the BMI, cholesterol, smoking, Blood pressure and computed biological age were used to determine mortality risks using a model, survival curves were generated for each variable relating the factors to survival, where in one of the factors was chronical age and biological age. Since both had survival curves, both would have empirical relation to survival).
The combination of Udupa, Stern, and Hospers would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. The combination of Udupa and Stern teach a model using CT scans to compute biological age based upon body composition, however they do not teach the relation of this measure to survival prediction computations. Hospers teaches this deficiency, teaching that mortality risk and survival probability may be correlated with chronological and biological ages using survival curves and multiple models. The addition of this feature to the systems and methods taught by Udupa and Stern would be advantageous in assessing risk factors and reducing mortality risk in high-risk individuals (Hospers, Introduction, page 488).
Regarding claim 15 the combination of Udupa, Stern, and Hospers teaches; The method of claim 14 wherein the second model models input parameters independent of body composition information derived from slice image imaging (Hospers, Data analysis, the system uses multiple regression models to model health data that is non-image focused).
The combination of Udupa, Stern, and Hospers would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Udupa teaches a model using CT scans to assess body composition and health risks, but that use of a separate model to take in the non-CT health parameters. Stern teaches this deficiency, teaching the use of other parameters being considered by the model in computing age and risk factors. The motivation for this combination is that the using multiple factors in computing the biological age may help better estimate it. (Hospers, Introduction, page 488),
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udupa US 20230129957 A1) in view of Stern (Štern, D., Payer, C., Lepetit, V., Urschler, M. (2016). Automated Age Estimation from Hand MRI Volumes Using Deep Learning. In: Ourselin, S., Joskowicz, L., Sabuncu, M., Unal, G., Wells, W. (eds) Medical Image Computing and Computer-Assisted Intervention – MICCAI 2016. MICCAI 2016. Lecture Notes in Computer Science, vol 9901. Springer, Cham) and in further view of Hospers (Hospers et al, Relation between blood pressure and mortality risk in an older population: role of chronological and biological age, Journal of Internal Medicine, doi: 10.1111/joim.12284 (Year: 2014)) and in further view of Min (US 20230147995 A1).
Regarding claim 5 the combination of Udupa, Stern, and Hospers fails to teach; The health screening system of claim 4 wherein the input parameters of the second model include characteristics of the patient selected from the group of sex, race, and smoking history.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Min teaches; The health screening system of claim 4 wherein the input parameters of the second model include characteristics of the patient selected from the group of sex, race, and smoking history (Min, [1008] the risk estimate includes, age, race, sex and smoking history).
(Min, [1008], emphasis added)
The combination of Udupa, Stern, Hospers and Min would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. The combination of Udupa, Stern, and Hospers teaches a system using multiple patient demographics and CT data to estimate biological age and risk, but does not teach race or ethnicity as a factor in this. Min teaches this deficiency, the motivation for the addition of the factors of race, sex and smoking as taught by Min is that it would improve the combined system of Udupa, Stern and Hospers by taking the full scope of patient demographics into account in the computation. (Min [1008])
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Udupa, Stern, Hospers and Min teaches; The method of claim 15 wherein the input parameters of the second model include characteristics of the patient selected from the group of sex, race, and smoking history (Min, [1008] the risk estimate includes, age, race, sex and smoking history).
The combination of Udupa, Stern, Hospers and Min would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. The combination of Udupa, Stern, and Hospers teaches a system using multiple patient demographics and CT data to estimate biological age and risk, but does not teach race or ethnicity as a factor in this. Min teaches this deficiency, the motivation for the addition of the factors of race, sex and smoking as taught by Min is that it would improve the combined system of Udupa, Stern and Hospers by taking the full scope of patient demographics into account in the computation. (Min [1008])
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Udupa US 20230129957 A1) in view of Stern (Štern, D., Payer, C., Lepetit, V., Urschler, M. (2016). Automated Age Estimation from Hand MRI Volumes Using Deep Learning. In: Ourselin, S., Joskowicz, L., Sabuncu, M., Unal, G., Wells, W. (eds) Medical Image Computing and Computer-Assisted Intervention – MICCAI 2016. MICCAI 2016. Lecture Notes in Computer Science, vol 9901. Springer, Cham) and in further view of Kakadiaris (US 20170337343).
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Udupa and Stern fails to disclose; The health screening system of claim 1 wherein the body composition measurements are selected from the group consisting of: bone density, fat proportion, muscle proportion, liver volume, spleen volume, and aortic plaque.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kakadiaris teaches; The health screening system of claim 1 wherein the body composition measurements are selected from the group consisting of: bone density, fat proportion, muscle proportion, liver volume, spleen volume, and aortic plaque (Kakadiaris [0188] the abdominal CT contains the heart, liver and other abdominal organs including the spleen, [0439]-[0468] details that the system has a 3D volume of all the abdominal organs with labels which can be used in analysis, therefore the liver and spleen volumes would be computed here [0645] abdominal fat can be computed from CT volumes and used in the analysis, [0068] the overall muscle structure, and bone density and structure are collected, [0296] the aorta is modeled included calcifications (plaques)).
The combination of Udupa, Stern and Kakadiaris would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Udupa teaches a method of computing body composition, but does not teach using organ volumes or plaque volumes. Kakadiaris teaches this deficiency. The addition of the volumes of Kakadiaris to the body composition model of Udupa would improve the accuracy and considerations using in patient risk scoring, thereby improving the system (Kakadiaris [0188]-[0190]).
Regarding claim 20 the combination of Udupa, Stern and Kakadiaris teaches; The method of claim 12 wherein the body composition measurements are selected from the group consisting of: bone density, fat classification, area, and density, muscle bulk and density, liver volume and density, spleen volume, and aortic plaque burden (Kakadiaris [0188] the abdominal CT contains the heart, liver and other abdominal organs including the spleen, [0439]-[0468] details that the system has a 3D volume of all the abdominal organs with labels which can be used in analysis, therefore the liver and spleen volumes would be computed here [0645] abdominal fat can be computed from CT volumes and used in the analysis, [0068] the overall muscle structure, and bone density and structure are collected, [0296] the aorta is modeled included calcifications (plaques)).
The combination of Udupa, Stern and Kakadiaris would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Udupa teaches a method of computing body composition, but does not teach using organ volumes or plaque volumes. Kakadiaris teaches this deficiency. The addition of the volumes of Kakadiaris to the body composition model of Udupa would improve the accuracy and considerations using in patient risk scoring, thereby improving the system (Kakadiaris [0188]-[0190]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For a listing of analogous prior art as cited by the examiner, please see the attached PTO 892 Notice of References Cited form.
/J.M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2666
/EMILY C TERRELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2666