DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The Amendment filed on 30 June 2026 has been entered; claims 1-19 remain pending, of which claims 12-19 were previously withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Pages 6 and 8 of the Remarks, filed 30 June 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 2, and 5-8 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) and the rejections of claims 9-11 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Kouznetsov does not teach a mixture as reaction products; firstly, the Examiner points out that the claims do not recite “reaction products” or a “reaction” but a “mixture”. Secondly, Kouznetsov does teach that the collector composition is a reaction product of one or more surfactants, the hydroxycarboxylic acid, and the oleic acid (which, before, during, and after the reaction, exist as a mixture) (see Column 4, lines 54-64 of Kouznetsov).
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-8 of the Remarks, filed 30 June 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 3 and 4 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 3 and 4 under 35 USC 103 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kouznetsov et al. (U.S. Patent # 9149814), hereinafter “Kouznetsov”.
Regarding Claim 1, Kouznetsov discloses a froth flotation collector (flotation and collected within the froth layer as described in Kouznetsov, Column 3, line 52-54) composition comprising a hydrophobic reaction product (considered to be a mixture before, during and after reaction) of an oleic acid source embodied as oleic acid (Kouznetsov, Column 5, line 10-12); a hydroxycarboxylic acid embodied as ricinoleic acid (Kouznetsov, Column 5, line 19-22); and one or more surfactants (Column 4, line 54 through Column 5, line 34).
Regarding Claim 2, Kouznetsov discloses a froth flotation collector composition where the surfactant is an anionic surfactant (ricinoleic, Kouznetsov, Column 5, line 19-22).
Regarding Claim 5, Kouznetsov discloses a froth flotation collector composition where the surfactant comprises a sulfonated surfactant that comprises an alkyl group (Kouznetsov, Column 7 line 59 - Column 8 line 13).
Regarding Claim 6, Kouznetsov discloses a froth flotation collector composition where the hydroxycarboxylic acid is ricinoleic acid (ricinoleic, Kouznetsov, Column 5, line 19-22).
Regarding Claim 7, Kouznetsov discloses a froth flotation collector composition where the oleic acid source is tall oil fatty acid (tall oil, Kouznetsov, Column 5, line 26-32).
Regarding Claim 8, Kouznetsov a froth flotation collector composition where the oleic acid source is 60 wt % to 95 wt % of the froth flotation collector composition; and the hydroxycarboxylic acid is 0.1 wt % to 5 wt % of the froth flotation collector composition (Kouznetsov, Column 4, line 58-64); and the surfactant is 0.1 wt % to 20 wt % of the froth flotation collector composition (Kouznetsov, Column 4, line 58-64).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kouznetsov, et al. (U.S. Patent # 9149814 in view of Silva et al. (U.S. Patent Publication # 2024/0367179) and Tian et al. (Journal of Cleaner Production, 2018, 174, 625-633), hereinafter “Kouznetsov”, “Silva”, and “Tian”.
Regarding Claim 9, Kouznetsov teaches the mixture of claim 1, and additionally teaches a froth flotation collector composition and a water source (Kouznetsov, Column 4, line 23-30).
Kouznetsov does not disclose a lithium beneficiation slurry that has a lithium ore source.
Silva teaches a lithium beneficiation slurry (Silva: Paragraph [0021]) that has a lithium ore source (Silva: Paragraph [0021]); a water source (Silva, paragraph 21); and the froth flotation collector composition of claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the reference of Kouznetsov with the reference of Silva because the invention of Silva falls within the same field of innovation regarding a froth flotation. One of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be motivated to combine these two inventions because the limitations of the lithium beneficiation slurry added by Silva would improve the flotation performance, increases the grade and recovery of Li2O, and creates a process that is economical and environmentally friendly (Tian: Abstract).
Regarding Claim 10, Kouznetsov and Silva and Tian teaches the limitations of claim 9, and additionally taches a lithium beneficiation slurry where the lithium ore source (Silva: Paragraph [0021]) is a pegmatite (Silva: Paragraph [0091]).
Regarding Claim 11, Kouznetsov and Silva and Tian teaches a lithium beneficiation slurry that has a frother (Silva: Paragraph [0024]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CLARE M. PERRIN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1779
/CLARE M PERRIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779 02 October 2026