DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Rejections under Double Patenting: Regarding the Double Patenting rejections over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11178076 B2 and claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11843550 B2, the Applicant’s arguments are considered but are moot as the amendment changes the scope of the claim. A new reference is applied addressing the modified limitation and the Double Patenting rejections in regard to the above parent applications are maintained.
Rejections under 35 USC 103
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant argues that the prior art fails to teach the amended limitation, previously recited in the alternative in claim 5, that has now been incorporated into claim 1.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. The amendment changes the scope of the invention. A new reference is applied in a new grounds of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11178076 B2 (hereinafter ‘076) in view of Trivedi et al. (“Trivedi”) (US 7768939 B1) and Honjo et al. (“Honjo”) (US 20100064129 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of ‘818
Claim 1 of ‘076
At least one non-transitory storage medium storing instructions for being executed by programmable circuitry, the programmable circuitry for being used in association with network interface circuitry, the instructions, when executed, by the programmable circuitry resulting in performance of operations comprising: subjecting access to at least one queue to at least one spin lock, the at least one queue being for use in processing of packet data received via the network interface circuitry, the at least one spin lock to be provided in response to at least one request of at least one entity; and determining whether to indicate occurrence of at least one other request based at least in part upon whether the at least one other request is made while the access to the at least one queue is subject to the at least one spin lock, the at least one other request being for obtaining of the at least one spin lock, wherein: the at least one requesting entity is associated with one or more sockets: and at least one other requesting entity is associated with one or more other sockets and is to make the at least one other request
At least one non-transitory storage medium storing instructions for being executed by programmable circuitry, the programmable circuitry for being used in association with network interface circuitry, the instructions, when executed, by the programmable circuitry resulting in performance of operations comprising: subjecting access to at least one queue to at least one spin lock, the at least one queue being for use in processing of packet data received via the network interface circuitry, the at least one spin lock to be provided in response to at least one request of at least one entity while the at least one requesting entity is in a polling state of the at least one requesting entity; determining whether to indicate occurrence of at least one other request based at least in part upon whether the at least one other request is made while the access to the at least one queue is subject to the at least one spin lock, the at least one other request being for obtaining of the at least one spin lock, the at least one other request to be made by at least one other entity while the at least one other entity is in a polling state of the at least one other entity; and releasing the at least one spin lock; wherein: the at least one entity is associated with at least one socket; and the network interface circuitry is for use in media access control (MAC) layer processing.
Claim 1 teaches multiple connections but does not teach sockets for the other entity.
Trivedi teaches these connections are sockets, thus at least one requesting entity is associated with one or more sockets, and at least one other requesting entity is associated with one or more other sockets [Column 9 ll 25-53 Figure 2, shows sockets pertaining to a connection to a device, thus one entity pertains to one socket and a different entity pertains to a different socket, ].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention to specify sockets associated with the connection. Claim 1 teaches the connections to other entities and it is known in the art the connections comprise sockets as in Trivedi who teaches TCP sockets are used to manage TCP connections see Column 1.
Claim 1 teaches interfaces but does not teach NAPI interface.
Honjo teaches the instructions are associated with a driver entity that is for use in association with a new application programming interface (NAPI) compliant interface [¶0058 devices include device drivers with interfaces, using socket interfaces, NAPI as an intermediate layer].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify a driver associated with NAPI compliant interface as in Honjo. Claim 1 teaches the instructions pertaining to the spin lock, and the claim does not further indicate how the instructions are associated with the claimed driver, only that the claimed driver may be implemented. Honjo teaches a similar network device implementing the claimed driver as this aids in preventing reduction of response ability while the system is under network load ¶0058.
Claims 2-4, 6-9, 11-14 rejected based on claim 1 of ‘076 in view of Trivedi.
Claim 5 rejected based on claim 6 of ‘076 in view of Trivedi.
Claim 1-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11843550 B2 (hereinafter ‘550) in view of Trivedi et al. (“Trivedi”) (US 7768939 B1) and Honjo et al. (“Honjo”) (US 20100064129 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of ‘818
Claim 1 of ‘550
At least one non-transitory storage medium storing instructions for being executed by programmable circuitry, the programmable circuitry for being used in association with network interface circuitry, the instructions, when executed, by the programmable circuitry resulting in performance of operations comprising: subjecting access to at least one queue to at least one spin lock, the at least one queue being for use in processing of packet data received via the network interface circuitry, the at least one spin lock to be provided in response to at least one request of at least one entity; and determining whether to indicate occurrence of at least one other request based at least in part upon whether the at least one other request is made while the access to the at least one queue is subject to the at least one spin lock, the at least one other request being for obtaining of the at least one spin lock, wherein: the at least one requesting entity is associated with one or more sockets: and at least one other requesting entity is associated with one or more other sockets and is to make the at least one other request
At least one non-transitory storage medium storing instructions for being executed by programmable circuitry, the programmable circuitry for being used in association with network interface circuitry, the instructions, when executed, by the programmable circuitry resulting in performance of operations comprising: subjecting access to at least one queue to at least one spin lock, the at least one queue being for use in processing of packet data received via the network interface circuitry, the at least one spin lock to be provided in response to at least one request of at least one entity while the at least one requesting entity is in a polling state of the at least one requesting entity; determining whether to indicate occurrence of at least one other request based at least in part upon whether the at least one other request is made while the access to the at least one queue is subject to the at least one spin lock, the at least one other request being for obtaining of the at least one spin lock, the at least one other request to be made by at least one other entity while the at least one other entity is in a polling state of the at least one other entity; and releasing the at least one spin lock; wherein: the at least one entity is associated with at least one socket; the network interface circuitry is for use in media access control (MAC) layer processing and/or physical (PHY) layer processing; and the instructions are associated, at least in part, with a driver entity.
Claim 1 teaches multiple connections but does not teach sockets for the other entity.
Trivedi teaches these connections are sockets, thus at least one requesting entity is associated with one or more sockets, and at least one other requesting entity is associated with one or more other sockets [Column 9 ll 25-53 Figure 2, shows sockets pertaining to a connection to a device, thus one entity pertains to one socket and a different entity pertains to a different socket].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention to specify sockets associated with the connection. Claim 1 teaches the connections to other entities and it is known in the art the connections comprise sockets as in Trivedi who teaches TCP sockets are used to manage TCP connections see Column 1.
Claim 1 teaches interfaces but does not teach NAPI interface.
Honjo teaches the instructions are associated with a driver entity that is for use in association with a new application programming interface (NAPI) compliant interface [¶0058 devices include device drivers with interfaces, using socket interfaces, NAPI as an intermediate layer].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify a driver associated with NAPI compliant interface as in Honjo. Claim 1 teaches the instructions pertaining to the spin lock, and the claim does not further indicate how the instructions are associated with the claimed driver, only that the claimed driver may be implemented. Honjo teaches a similar network device implementing the claimed driver as this aids in preventing reduction of response ability while the system is under network load ¶0058.
Claims 2-4, 6-9, 11-14 rejected based on claim 1 of ‘550 in view of Trivedi.
Claim 5 rejected based on claim 5 of ‘550 in view of Trivedi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1-15 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hagersten (EP 0817042 A2) in view of Trivedi et al. (“Trivedi”) (US 7768939 B1) and Honjo et al. (“Honjo”) (US 20100064129 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hagersten teaches:
At least one non-transitory storage medium storing instructions for being executed by programmable circuitry, the programmable circuitry for being used in association with network interface circuitry, the instructions, when executed, by the programmable circuitry resulting in performance of operations comprising:
subjecting access to at least one queue to at least one spin lock, the at least one queue being for use in processing of packet data received via the network interface circuitry [page 17-20, Figure 14-15a shows, the queue via home agent control unit 410 for processing requests via queues 404, 402, subject to spin lock operations, the queue being for processing packets received from the network via the queues, RTSs, RTOs, see “during operation home agent 102 receives transaction requests from network 14 through input header queue 84.” Following this, “For this example, it is assumed that each of RTS transaction requests RTS(1)-RTS(7) correspond to requests from spinning processors that are each contending for access to the same locked memory region. It is further assumed that the RTO transaction RTO(1) is an unrelated transaction request.”], the at least one spin lock to be provided in response to at least one request of at least one entity [page 17-20 show requests from network considered to include a requesting entity, Figure 14-15a shows request RTO(2) Figure 15(b) corresponding to at least one request, and the spin lock provided to this high priority queue 402, “ When the transaction for request RTS(3) completes, request RTO(2) will be passed to home agent control unit 410 through transaction blocking unit 408. Since RTO(2) bypasses requests RTS(4)-RTS(7) via the high priority queue 402, it is serviced before the servicing of RTS(4)-RTS(7). Accordingly, the lock bit for the memory region will be set, and the processors issuing RTS(4)-RTS(7) will not detect a free lock and will not initiate atomic test-and-set operations.” Wherein lock bit being set initiates spin lock “If the test of the lock bit indicates that the memory region is currently locked, the process initiates a software loop wherein the lock bit is continuously read until the lock bit is detected as cleared, at which time the process reinitiates the atomic test-and-set operation” see page 3];
and determining whether to indicate occurrence of at least one other request based at least in part upon whether the at least one other request is made while the access to the at least one queue is subject to the at least one spin lock, the at least one other request being for obtaining of the at least one spin lock [page 17-20, Figure 15B, other requests being RTSs received, placed into queue 404, corresponding to “determining whether to indicate occurrence” and this is based on RTSs made while spin lock in effect for queue 402, “If the test of the lock bit indicates that the memory region is currently locked, the process initiates a software loop wherein the lock bit is continuously read until the lock bit is detected as cleared, at which time the process reinitiates the atomic test-and-set operation” see page 3, the initiating of atomic test-and-set operations being “indicate occurrence”], wherein the at least one requesting entity is associated with a connection [page 17-20, Figure 14-15a shows request RTO(2) Figure 15(b) corresponding to at least one request, wherein requests received via network 14, shown in Figure 1 to include plurality of entities SMP nodes]; and the at least one other requesting entity is associated with a connection [page 17-20, Figure 15B, other requests being RTSs received, placed into queue 404, corresponding to any of entities as in Figure 1 including a second entity] and is to make the at least one other request [page 17-20, Figure 15B, other requests being RTSs received, placed into queue 404, corresponding to any of entities as in Figure 1 including a second entity].
Hagersten teaches multiple connections as in Figure 1 wherein over the network 14 requests from the other nodes may be received as in page 17-20 but does not teach sockets.
Trivedi teaches these connections are sockets, thus at least one requesting entity is associated with one or more sockets, and at least one other requesting entity is associated with one or more other sockets [Column 9 ll 25-53 Figure 2, shows sockets pertaining to a connection to a device, thus one entity pertains to one socket and a different entity pertains to a different socket].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention to specify sockets associated with the connection. Hagersten shows in Figure 1 connections and it is known in the art the connections comprise sockets as in Trivedi who teaches TCP sockets are used to manage TCP connections see Column 1.
Hagersten teaches interfaces but does not teach NAPI interface.
Honjo teaches the instructions are associated with a driver entity that is for use in association with a new application programming interface (NAPI) compliant interface [¶0058 devices include device drivers with interfaces, using socket interfaces, NAPI as an intermediate layer].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify a driver associated with NAPI compliant interface as in Honjo. Hagersten teaches the instructions pertaining to the spin lock, and the claim does not further indicate how the instructions are associated with the claimed driver, only that the claimed driver may be implemented. Honjo teaches a similar network device implementing the claimed driver as this aids in preventing reduction of response ability while the system is under network load ¶0058.
Regarding claim 2, Hagersten-Trivedi-Honjo teaches:
The at least one non-transitory storage medium of claim 1, wherein: the at least one spin lock is to be provided in response to the at least one request of the at least one requesting entity while the at least one requesting entity is in a polling state of the at least one requesting entity [Hagersten page 17-20, Figure 14-15a shows request RTO(2) Figure 15(b) corresponding to at least one request from one requesting entity, and the spin lock subjected to queue 404, in 402, which triggers spin lock on queue 404, “ When the transaction for request RTS(3) completes, request RTO(2) will be passed to home agent control unit 410 through transaction blocking unit 408. Since RTO(2) bypasses requests RTS(4)-RTS(7) via the high priority queue 402, it is serviced before the servicing of RTS(4)-RTS(7). Accordingly, the lock bit for the memory region will be set, and the processors issuing RTS(4)-RTS(7) will not detect a free lock and will not initiate atomic test-and-set operations.” Wherein lock bit being set initiates spin lock, during which “If the test of the lock bit indicates that the memory region is currently locked, the process initiates a software loop wherein the lock bit is continuously read until the lock bit is detected as cleared, at which time the process reinitiates the atomic test-and-set operation” see page 3, continuously reading corresponding to a polling state];
and/or the at least one other request is to be made by at least one other entity while the at least one other requesting entity is in a polling state of the at least one other entity.
Regarding claim 3, Hagersten-Trivedi-Honjo teaches:
The at least one non-transitory storage medium of claim 1, wherein: the network interface circuitry is for use in media access control (MAC) layer processing and/or physical (PHY) layer processing; the instructions are associated, at least in part, with a Linux operating system- associated driver entity;
and/or the programmable circuitry comprises at least one central processing unit (CPU) core of a host computer [Hagersten page 6, figure 1, system associated with SMP nodes with multiple processors 16A-16B contending for access to memory regions].
Regarding claim 4, Hagersten-Trivedi-Honjo teaches:
The at least one non-transitory storage medium of claim 1, wherein the operations also comprise one or more of: releasing the at least one spin lock [Hagersten page 3 shows lock may be released, “For both implementations, when a memory region corresponding to a contended spin-lock is released, all N spinning processors will generate RTS transactions bound for the cache line.”]; and/or determining, based at least in part upon whether the at least one queue contains remaining packet data to be processed, whether to enter an idle state.
Regarding claim 5, Hagersten-Trivedi-Honjo teaches:
The at least one non-transitory storage medium of claim 1, wherein: the determining whether to indicate the occurrence of the at least one other request is based, at least in part, upon whether at least one other requesting entity successfully obtained the at least one spin lock as result of making the at least one other request [Hagersten page 17-20, Figure 15B, other requests being RTSs received and placed into queue 404 corresponding to “indicate the occurrence of the at least one other request” and this placement in queue is based on queue 404 detecting lock bit for access and not obtaining spin lock, “If the test of the lock bit indicates that the memory region is currently locked, the process initiates a software loop wherein the lock bit is continuously read until the lock bit is detected as cleared, at which time the process reinitiates the atomic test-and-set operation” see page 3].
Regarding claims 6-15, see similar rejections for claim 1-5 which teaches the physical structure performing the corresponding method.
Conclusion
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478