DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39-42 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halpert (US 2017/0333153) in view of Eichler et al. (US 2012/0130230).
Halpert discloses With respect to claims 28 and 39, Halpert discloses a surgical device (10) for marking a biological tissue, the surgical device comprising: an elongated shaft (Figs. 2-4); a tip disposed distally on the elongated shaft (14; 28; Figs. 2-4), the tip comprising an absorbent material ([0016-0017]); and a sheath slidably disposed on the shaft, the sheath being longitudinally movable between an extended configuration and a retracted configuration; wherein in the extended configuration, the sheath at least partially covers a distal portion of the shaft and the tip; and wherein, in the retracted configuration, at least a portion of the tip is exposed ([0028]). Halpert does not teach wherein the elongated shaft includes an impedance sensor proximate the distal end. However, Eichler et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor wherein the tip includes an impedance sensor such that the sensors are visible when exposed to a field of ionizing radiation (e.g., x-rays; [0005]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Halpert with an impedance sensor as taught by Eichler et al. such that the position of the tip is visible under radiation ([0005]).
With respect to claims 40-42, and 46, Halpert discloses wherein the tip is loaded with a marking substance comprises at least one of an ink or dye ([0016-0017]).
Claim(s) 43-45, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halpert (US 2017/0333153) in view of Eichler et al. (US 2012/0130230) as applied to claim 39, further in view of Falahee (US 2004/0127824).
Halpert discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for wherein the marking substance comprises a radionuclide, radiopaque substance, a magnetic substance, or in a dry state. However, Falahee teaches in the same field of endeavor wherein the marking substance comprises a radionuclide, radiopaque substance, a magnetic substance, or in a dry state ([0006]; [0009]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the marking substance as taught by Falahee as it is well known in the art to be biocompatible and non-toxic ([0006]).
Claim(s) 71-74 and 78 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halpert (US 2017/0333153) in view of Zimet-Rubner et al. (US 2014/0119645).
Halpert discloses With respect to claims 28 and 39, Halpert discloses a surgical device (10) for marking a biological tissue, the surgical device comprising: an elongated shaft (Figs. 2-4); a tip disposed distally on the elongated shaft (14; 28; Figs. 2-4), the tip comprising an absorbent material ([0016-0017]); and a sheath slidably disposed on the shaft, the sheath being longitudinally movable between an extended configuration and a retracted configuration; wherein in the extended configuration, the sheath at least partially covers a distal portion of the shaft and the tip; and wherein, in the retracted configuration, at least a portion of the tip is exposed ([0028]). Halpert does not teach wherein the elongated shaft includes a suction port proximate the distal end. However, Zimet-Rubner et al. teaches in the same field of endeavor wherein the end includes suction device for removing the marking material ([0057]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Halpert with a suction device as taught by Zimet-Rubner et al. in order to remove the marker material ([0057]).
With respect to claims 72-74, and 78, Halpert discloses wherein the tip is loaded with a marking substance comprises at least one of an ink or dye ([0016-0017]).
Claim(s) 75-77, and 79 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halpert (US 2017/0333153) in view of Zimet-Rubner et al. (US 2014/0119645) as applied to claim 71, further in view of Falahee (US 2004/0127824).
Halpert discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for wherein the marking substance comprises a radionuclide, radiopaque substance, a magnetic substance, or in a dry state. However, Falahee teaches in the same field of endeavor wherein the marking substance comprises a radionuclide, radiopaque substance, a magnetic substance, or in a dry state ([0006]; [0009]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the marking substance as taught by Falahee as it is well known in the art to be biocompatible and non-toxic ([0006]).
Claim(s) 80 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halpert (US 2017/0333153) in view of Zimet-Rubner et al. (US 2014/0119645) as applied to claim 71, further in view of Griffin (US 6,972,022).
Halpert discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for wherein the elongated shaft includes a magnet proximate the distal end. However, Griffin teaches in the same field of endeavor wherein the marker body includes a magnet to prevent the marker from sliding off a magnetic drop or other magnetic surface (col. 2, lines 19-25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Halpert with a magnet as taught by Griffin in order to allow attachment to magnetic surfaces and prevent it from sliding off (col. 2, lines 19-25).
Claim(s) 81 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Halpert (US 2017/0333153) in view of Eichler et al. (US 2012/0130230) as applied to claim 39, further in view of Griffin (US 6,972,022).
Halpert discloses the subject matter substantially as claimed except for wherein the elongated shaft includes a magnet proximate the distal end. However, Griffin teaches in the same field of endeavor wherein the marker body includes a magnet to prevent the marker from sliding off a magnetic drop or other magnetic surface (col. 2, lines 19-25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided Halpert with a magnet as taught by Griffin in order to allow attachment to magnetic surfaces and prevent it from sliding off (col. 2, lines 19-25).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 39-47 and 71-81 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/PETER LUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797