DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Claim(s) 4-8, 12-13, 16, and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on December 2, 2025 for claims 1-3, 9-11, 14-15, and 17-19.
Priority
3. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in CHINA on September 08, 2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 202211097353.9 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Objections
5. Claims 9 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
a) On line 10 (page 4) of claim 9, replace “salve” with --slave-- after “device in the broadcast isochronous group, …”;
b) On line 9 (page 5) of claim 10, replace “salve” with --slave-- after “device in the broadcast isochronous group comprises …”;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a) “a transceiver module …”, and “a switching module …” in claim 17;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 9, 14-15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2002/0090914 A1) in view of Rune et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2004/0167988 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kang et al. teach a master-slave switching method (Fig(s).3 and 6) comprising:
broadcasting a master-slave switching message (read as master-slave switch request (Fig(s).3 @ S302, 6 @ S602, and 7)) and waiting for a master-slave switching moment by a first device used as a master device in a broadcast isochronous group after determining that a master-slave switching with a target slave device in the broadcast isochronous group is required (Fig(s).1, 3 @ S304, 6 @ S604, and 7); and
communicating with the master device in the broadcast isochronous group, by the first device switched to the slave device, based on a communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group before the master-slave switching. (Fig(s).1, 3 @ S306, S308, and S310)
However, Kang et al. fail to explicitly teach switching an operating mode to a slave mode by the first device so that the first device becomes a slave device in the broadcast isochronous group when the master-slave switching moment arrives;
Rune et al. teach a method wherein switching an operating mode to a slave mode by the first device so that the first device becomes a slave device in the broadcast isochronous group when the master-slave switching moment arrives (read as “the roles of master and slave can be switched using a master-slave switch mechanism in Bluetooth. (See, e.g., "Specification of the Bluetooth System," version 1.1, Bluetooth Special Interest Group.)”(Paragraph [0031]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the master-slave switching mechanism as taught by Rune et al. with the devices with capabilities for operating as a master/slave as taught by Kang et al. for the purpose of enhancing communication by devices in a piconet.
Regarding claim 9, Kang et al. teach a master-slave switching method (Fig(s).3 and 6), comprising:
receiving, by a second device (Fig(s).3 @ U20 and 6 @ U2) used as a slave device in a broadcast isochronous group, a master-slave switching message broadcasted by a master device in the broadcast isochronous group (read as master-slave switch request (Fig(s).3 @ S302, 6 @ S602, and 7));
waiting for a master-slave switching moment when it is confirmed that the second device is a target slave device requiring a master-slave switching based on the master-slave switching message (Fig(s).1, 3 @ S304, 6 @ S604, and 7); and
communicating with the slave device in the broadcast isochronous group, after the second device is switched to the master device, based on a communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group before the master-slave switching. (Fig(s).1, 3 @ S312, S314, S316, S318, S320, and S322)
However, Kang et al. fail to explicitly teach switching an operating mode to a master mode by the second device when the master-slave switching moment arrives;
Rune et al. teach a method wherein switching an operating mode to a master mode by the second device when the master- slave switching moment arrives (read as “the roles of master and slave can be switched using a master-slave switch mechanism in Bluetooth. (See, e.g., "Specification of the Bluetooth System," version 1.1, Bluetooth Special Interest Group.)”(Paragraph [0031]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the master-slave switching mechanism as taught by Rune et al. with the devices with capabilities for operating as a master/slave as taught by Kang et al. for the purpose of enhancing communication by devices in a piconet.
Regarding claim 17, Kang et al. teach a first device (Fig(s).1 and 3-4, 5 @ 30, 6-7) comprising:
a transceiver module (Fig.5 @ 31) configured for broadcasting a master-slave switching message (read as master-slave switch request (Fig(s).3 @ S302, 6 @ S602, and 7)) and
waiting for a master-slave switching moment when the first device is used as a master device in a broadcast isochronous group after determining that a master-slave switching with a target slave device in the broadcast isochronous group is required (Fig(s).1, 3 @ S304, 6 @ S604, and 7); and
wherein the transceiver module (Fig.5 @ 31) is further configured for communicating with the master device in the broadcast isochronous group, after the first device is switched to the slave device, based on a communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group before the master-slave switching. (Fig(s).1, 3 @ S306, S308, and S310, and 5)
However, Kang et al. fail to explicitly teach a switching module configured for switching an operating mode to a slave mode so that the first device becomes one slave device in the broadcast isochronous group when the master- slave switching moment arrives;
Rune et al. teach a switching module configured for switching an operating mode to a slave mode so that the first device becomes one slave device in the broadcast isochronous group when the master- slave switching moment arrives; (read as “the roles of master and slave can be switched using a master-slave switch mechanism in Bluetooth. (See, e.g., "Specification of the Bluetooth System," version 1.1, Bluetooth Special Interest Group.)”(Paragraph [0031]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the master-slave switching mechanism as taught by Rune et al. with the devices with capabilities for operating as a master/slave as taught by Kang et al. for the purpose of enhancing communication by devices in a piconet.
Regarding claims 3 and 19, and as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, Kang et al., as modified by Rune et al., teach a master-slave switching method and first device (Fig(s).1 and 3-4, 5 @ 30, 6-7) wherein the master-slave switching moment is a starting moment of nth communication event after the first device determines that the master-slave switching with the target slave device in the broadcast isochronous group is required, n is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1.(read as Time Alignment LMP packet (Fig(s).1, 3 @ S306, S312, S318))
Regarding claim 14, and as applied to claim 9 above, Kang et al., as modified by Rune et al., teach a master-slave switching method wherein if it is confirmed based on the master-slave switching message that the second device is not the target slave device requiring the master-slave switching (read as a packet comprising of AM_ADDR (e.g.: Bluetooth device address (BD_ADDR)) (Fig.2; Paragraph(s) [0007], [0017]) and [0064])),
the master-slave switching method comprises:
communicating with the master device in the broadcast isochronous group continuously based on the communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group. (Fig(s).5 @ 21 and 31)
Regarding claim 15, and as applied to claim 9 above, Kang et al., as modified by Rune et al., teach a master-slave switching method wherein whether the present slave device is the target slave device designated by the master device is confirmed based on a Bluetooth address of the target slave device in the master-slave switching message (read as a packet comprising of AM_ADDR (e.g.: Bluetooth device address (BD_ADDR)) (Fig.2; Paragraph(s) [0007], [0017]) and [0064]));
the master-slave switching moment is determined based on an indication for indicating the master-slave switching moment in the master-slave switching message. ( (Fig.5 @ 23, 33)
Claims 2, 10-11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2002/0090914 A1), in view of Rune et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2004/0167988 A1), and Daoura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0256833 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, and as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, Kang et al. teach “a wireless communication apparatus, a wireless communication method thereof, and a wireless communication system employing the same, for enabling peer-to-peer communication between slave devices through master-to-slave switching.”(Fig(s).3-7; Paragraph [0002]) Also, Kang et al. teach a master-slave switching method wherein a communication event of the BLE broadcast communication comprises an advertising time slot (read as master-to-slave slot (Paragraph [0016])),
Rune et al. teach “the roles of master and slave can be switched using a master-slave switch mechanism in Bluetooth. (See, e.g., "Specification of the Bluetooth System," version 1.1, Bluetooth Special Interest Group.)”(Paragraph [0031])
However, Kang et al. and Rune et al. fail to explicitly teach broadcasting an advertising message in the advertising time slot before the first device determines that the master-slave switching with the target slave device in the broadcast isochronous group is required,
wherein the advertising message is configured for synchronizing the slave device with the master device and comprises a synchronization parameter for indicating the communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group;
wherein said communicating with the master device in the broadcast isochronous group comprises:
receiving a new advertising message broadcasted by the master device in the advertising time slot,
wherein the new advertising message is generated based on the synchronization parameter for indicating the communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group.
Daoura et al. teach a method broadcasting an advertising message in the advertising time slot before the first device determines that the master-slave switching with the target slave device in the broadcast isochronous group is required (read as BT advertising packet (Fig(s).6C, 8A, 17, 23, and 28)),
wherein the advertising message is configured for synchronizing the slave device with the master device and comprises a synchronization parameter for indicating the communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group (read as SYNCH WORD (Fig(s).8A; 21, 23, and 24));
wherein said communicating with the master device in the broadcast isochronous group comprises:
receiving a new advertising message broadcasted by the master device in the advertising time slot (read as BT advertising packet (Fig(s).6C, 8A, 17, 21, 23, 24, and 28)),
wherein the new advertising message is generated based on the synchronization parameter for indicating the communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group. (read as SYNCH WORD (Fig(s).21,23, and 24))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating, formatting, and exchanging a BT advertising packet as taught by Daoura et al. and the master-slave switching mechanism as taught by Rune et al. with the devices with capabilities for operating as a master/slave as taught by Kang et al. for the purpose of enhancing communication by devices in a piconet.
Regarding claim 10, and as applied to claim 9 above, Kang et al. teach “a wireless communication apparatus, a wireless communication method thereof, and a wireless communication system employing the same, for enabling peer-to-peer communication between slave devices through master-to-slave switching.”(Fig(s).3-7; Paragraph [0002]) Kang et al. teach a method wherein a communication event of the BLE broadcast communication comprises an advertising time slot, before the second device is confirmed the target slave device requiring the master-slave switching based on the master-slave switching message (read as master-to-slave slot (Paragraph [0016])),
Rune et al. teach “the roles of master and slave can be switched using a master-slave switch mechanism in Bluetooth. (See, e.g., "Specification of the Bluetooth System," version 1.1, Bluetooth Special Interest Group.)”(Paragraph [0031])
However, Kang et al. and Rune et al. fail to explicitly teach receiving an advertising message broadcasted by the master device, obtaining a synchronization parameter based on the advertising message,
synchronizing with the master device based on the synchronization parameter for indicating the communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group, by the second device,
wherein said communicating with the slave device in the broadcast isochronous group comprises:
generating a new advertising message based on the synchronization parameter, and
broadcasting the new advertising message in the advertising time slot after the second device is switched to the master device.
Daoura et al. teach a method for receiving an advertising message broadcasted by the master device (read as BT advertising packet (Fig(s).6C, 8A, 17, 23, and 28)),
obtaining a synchronization parameter based on the advertising message, synchronizing with the master device based on the synchronization parameter for indicating the communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group, by the second device (read as SYNCH WORD (Fig(s).21,23, and 24)),
wherein said communicating with the slave device in the broadcast isochronous group comprises:
generating a new advertising message based on the synchronization parameter (read as BT advertising packet (Fig(s).6C, 8A, 17, 23, and 28)), and
broadcasting the new advertising message in the advertising time slot after the second device is switched to the master device. (Fig(s).6C, 8A, 17, 23, and 28)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating, formatting, and exchanging a BT advertising packet as taught by Daoura et al. and the master-slave switching mechanism as taught by Rune et al. with the devices with capabilities for operating as a master/slave as taught by Kang et al. for the purpose of enhancing communication by devices in a piconet.
Regarding claim 11, and as applied to claim 10 above, Kang et al. teach “a wireless communication apparatus, a wireless communication method thereof, and a wireless communication system employing the same, for enabling peer-to-peer communication between slave devices through master-to-slave switching.”(Fig(s).3-7; Paragraph [0002])
Rune et al. teach “the roles of master and slave can be switched using a master-slave switch mechanism in Bluetooth. (See, e.g., "Specification of the Bluetooth System," version 1.1, Bluetooth Special Interest Group.)”(Paragraph [0031])
However, Kang et al. and Rune et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein said generating a new advertising message based on the synchronization parameter comprises:
using a broadcast interval,
an access code,
a check code,
a channel list, and
a time slot allocation scheme as the synchronization parameter in the new advertising message.
Daoura et al. teach a method wherein said generating a new advertising message (Fig.23) based on the synchronization parameter comprises:
using a broadcast interval,
an access code (Fig(s).21, 22A-22C, 23, and 24),
a check code,
a channel list, and
a time slot allocation scheme as the synchronization parameter in the new advertising message.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating, formatting, and exchanging a BT advertising packet as taught by Daoura et al. and the master-slave switching mechanism as taught by Rune et al. with the devices with capabilities for operating as a master/slave as taught by Kang et al. for the purpose of enhancing communication by devices in a piconet.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Li (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0345082 A1) teaches “the present application use a combination order in a standard Android system to realize master-slave mode switching of the Bluetooth component;”(Paragraph [0051])
Zhang (CN # 111464850 B) teaches “The invention claims a master-slave mode switching method, device and computer storage medium, the master-slave mode switching method comprises: when the first device determines that it needs to be switched from the slave mode to the master mode, sending a switching notification, wherein the switching notification comprises the wireless local area network information to be created by the first device;…”(Abstract)
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
January 16, 2026