DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Action is in response to Applicant’s remarks and amended claims filed on April 29, 2026. Claims 1-3, 9-10, 14-15, and 17-19 are now pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
3. The outstanding rejections of Claims 1-3, 9-11, 14-15, and 17-19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claims 1, 9, and 17 filed on April 29, 2026.
Specification
4. The amendments to the specification regarding the title received on April 29, 2026. These amendments to the title are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 9, 14-15, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2002/0090914 A1), in view of Kaipu Narahari et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0341529 A1), and Rune et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2004/0167988 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kang et al. teach a master-slave switching method (Fig(s).3 and 6) comprising:
broadcasting a master-slave switching message (read as master-slave switch request (Fig(s).3 @ S302, 6 @ S602, and 7)) and waiting for a master-slave switching moment by a first device used as a master device in a broadcast isochronous group after determining that a master-slave switching with a target slave device in the broadcast isochronous group is required (Fig(s).1, 3 @ S304, 6 @ S604, and 7); and
communicating with the master device in the broadcast isochronous group, by the first device switched to the slave device, based on a communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group before the master-slave switching. (Fig(s).1, 3 @ S306, S308, and S310)
However, Kang et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the broadcast isochronous group is a communication system in which communication signals are transmitted unidirectionally from the master device to slave devices;
switching an operating mode to a slave mode by the first device so that the first device becomes a slave device in the broadcast isochronous group when the master-slave switching moment arrives;
Kaipu Narahari et al. teach a method wherein the broadcast isochronous group is a communication system in which communication signals are transmitted unidirectionally from the master device to slave devices (read as “During an isochronous event exchange between unconnected electronic devices 102, a broadcasting electronic device (“broadcaster”) 102 may use a connectionless logical transport called a Broadcast Isochronous Stream (BIS) to broadcast isochronous data in a unidirectional, connectionless manner to multiple receiving electronic devices 102 referred to as scanning devices (“scanners”) forming a Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG).”(Paragraph [0050]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function to generate and transmit a Broadcast Isochronous Stream (BIS) to send data in a unidirectional manner to form a Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG) as taught by Kaipu Narahari et al. with the devices with capabilities for operating as a master/slave as taught by Kang et al. for the purpose of improving selection of devices that use isochronous packets in a piconet.
However, Kang et al. and Kaipu Narahari et al. fail to explicitly teach switching an operating mode to a slave mode by the first device so that the first device becomes a slave device in the broadcast isochronous group when the master-slave switching moment arrives;
Rune et al. teach a method wherein switching an operating mode to a slave mode by the first device so that the first device becomes a slave device in the broadcast isochronous group when the master-slave switching moment arrives (read as “the roles of master and slave can be switched using a master-slave switch mechanism in Bluetooth. (See, e.g., "Specification of the Bluetooth System," version 1.1, Bluetooth Special Interest Group.)”(Paragraph [0031]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the master-slave switching mechanism as taught by Rune et al. and a Broadcast Isochronous Stream (BIS) to send data in a unidirectional manner to form a Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG) as taught by Kaipu Narahari et al. with the devices with capabilities for operating as a master/slave as taught by Kang et al. for the purpose of enhancing communication by devices in a piconet.
Regarding claim 9, Kang et al. teach a master-slave switching method (Fig(s).3 and 6), comprising:
receiving, by a second device (Fig(s).3 @ U20 and 6 @ U2) used as a slave device in a broadcast isochronous group, a master-slave switching message broadcasted by a master device in the broadcast isochronous group (read as master-slave switch request (Fig(s).3 @ S302, 6 @ S602, and 7));
waiting for a master-slave switching moment when it is confirmed that the second device is a target slave device requiring a master-slave switching based on the master-slave switching message (Fig(s).1, 3 @ S304, 6 @ S604, and 7); and
communicating with the slave device in the broadcast isochronous group, after the second device is switched to the master device, based on a communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group before the master-slave switching. (Fig(s).1, 3 @ S312, S314, S316, S318, S320, and S322)
However, Kang et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the broadcast isochronous group is a communication system in which communication signals are transmitted unidirectionally from the master device to slave devices;
switching an operating mode to a master mode by the second device when the master-slave switching moment arrives;
Kaipu Narahari et al. teach a method wherein the broadcast isochronous group is a communication system in which communication signals are transmitted unidirectionally from the master device to slave devices (read as “During an isochronous event exchange between unconnected electronic devices 102, a broadcasting electronic device (“broadcaster”) 102 may use a connectionless logical transport called a Broadcast Isochronous Stream (BIS) to broadcast isochronous data in a unidirectional, connectionless manner to multiple receiving electronic devices 102 referred to as scanning devices (“scanners”) forming a Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG).”(Paragraph [0050]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a Broadcast Isochronous Stream (BIS) to send data in a unidirectional manner to form a Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG) as taught by Kaipu Narahari et al. with the devices with capabilities for operating as a master/slave as taught by Kang et al. for the purpose of improving selection of devices that use isochronous packets in a piconet.
However, Kang et al. and Kaipu Narahari et al. fail to explicitly teach switching an operating mode to a master mode by the second device when the master-slave switching moment arrives;
Rune et al. teach a method wherein switching an operating mode to a master mode by the second device when the master- slave switching moment arrives (read as “the roles of master and slave can be switched using a master-slave switch mechanism in Bluetooth. (See, e.g., "Specification of the Bluetooth System," version 1.1, Bluetooth Special Interest Group.)”(Paragraph [0031]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the master-slave switching mechanism as taught by Rune et al. and the function to generate and transmit a Broadcast Isochronous Stream (BIS) to send data in a unidirectional manner to form a Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG) as taught by Kaipu Narahari et al. with the devices with capabilities for operating as a master/slave as taught by Kang et al. for the purpose of enhancing communication by devices in a piconet.
Regarding claim 17, Kang et al. teach a first device (Fig(s).1 and 3-4, 5 @ 30, 6-7) comprising:
a hardware processor (Fig.5 @ 23, 33)
configured for broadcasting a master-slave switching message (read as master-slave switch request (Fig(s).3 @ S302, 6 @ S602, and 7)) and
waiting for a master-slave switching moment when the first device is used as a master device in a broadcast isochronous group after determining that a master-slave switching with a target slave device in the broadcast isochronous group is required (Fig(s).1, 3 @ S304, 6 @ S604, and 7); and
wherein the processor (Fig.5 @ 23, 33) is further configured for communicating with the master device in the broadcast isochronous group, after the first device is switched to the slave device, based on a communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group before the master-slave switching. (Fig(s).1, 3 @ S306, S308, and S310, and 5)
However, Kang et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the broadcast isochronous group is a communication system in which communication signals are transmitted unidirectionally from the master device to slave devices;
configured for switching an operating mode to a slave mode so that the first device becomes one slave device in the broadcast isochronous group when the master- slave switching moment arrives;
Kaipu Narahari et al. teach a method wherein the broadcast isochronous group is a communication system in which communication signals are transmitted unidirectionally from the master device to slave devices (read as “During an isochronous event exchange between unconnected electronic devices 102, a broadcasting electronic device (“broadcaster”) 102 may use a connectionless logical transport called a Broadcast Isochronous Stream (BIS) to broadcast isochronous data in a unidirectional, connectionless manner to multiple receiving electronic devices 102 referred to as scanning devices (“scanners”) forming a Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG).”(Paragraph [0050]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a Broadcast Isochronous Stream (BIS) to send data in a unidirectional manner to form a Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG) as taught by Kaipu Narahari et al. with the devices with capabilities for operating as a master/slave as taught by Kang et al. for the purpose of improving selection of devices that use isochronous packets in a piconet.
However, Kang et al. and Kaipu Narahari et al. fail to explicitly teach the step configured for switching an operating mode to a slave mode so that the first device becomes one slave device in the broadcast isochronous group when the master- slave switching moment arrives;
Rune et al. teach a switching module configured for switching an operating mode to a slave mode so that the first device becomes one slave device in the broadcast isochronous group when the master- slave switching moment arrives; (read as “the roles of master and slave can be switched using a master-slave switch mechanism in Bluetooth. (See, e.g., "Specification of the Bluetooth System," version 1.1, Bluetooth Special Interest Group.)”(Paragraph [0031]));
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the master-slave switching mechanism as taught by Rune et al. and a Broadcast Isochronous Stream (BIS) to send data in a unidirectional manner to form a Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG) as taught by Kaipu Narahari et al. with the devices with capabilities for operating as a master/slave as taught by Kang et al. for the purpose of enhancing communication by devices in a piconet.
Regarding claims 3 and 19, and as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, Kang et al., as modified by Kaipu Narahari et al. and Rune et al., teach a master-slave switching method and first device (Fig(s).1 and 3-4, 5 @ 30, 6-7) wherein the master-slave switching moment is a starting moment of nth communication event after the first device determines that the master-slave switching with the target slave device in the broadcast isochronous group is required, n is a positive integer greater than or equal to 1.(read as Time Alignment LMP packet (Fig(s).1, 3 @ S306, S312, S318))
Regarding claim 14, and as applied to claim 9 above, Kang et al., as modified by Kaipu Narahari et al. and Rune et al., teach a master-slave switching method wherein if it is confirmed based on the master-slave switching message that the second device is not the target slave device requiring the master-slave switching (read as a packet comprising of AM_ADDR (e.g.: Bluetooth device address (BD_ADDR)) (Fig.2; Paragraph(s) [0007], [0017]) and [0064])),
the master-slave switching method comprises:
communicating with the master device in the broadcast isochronous group continuously based on the communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group. (Fig(s).5 @ 21 and 31)
Regarding claim 15, and as applied to claim 9 above, Kang et al., as modified by Kaipu Narahari et al. and Rune et al., teach a master-slave switching method wherein whether the present slave device is the target slave device designated by the master device is confirmed based on a Bluetooth address of the target slave device in the master-slave switching message (read as a packet comprising of AM_ADDR (e.g.: Bluetooth device address (BD_ADDR)) (Fig.2; Paragraph(s) [0007], [0017]) and [0064]));
the master-slave switching moment is determined based on an indication for indicating the master-slave switching moment in the master-slave switching message. ( (Fig.5 @ 23, 33)
Claims 2, 10-11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2002/0090914 A1), in view of Kaipu Narahari et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0341529 A1), Rune et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2004/0167988 A1), and Daoura et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0256833 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 18, and as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, Kang et al. teach “a wireless communication apparatus, a wireless communication method thereof, and a wireless communication system employing the same, for enabling peer-to-peer communication between slave devices through master-to-slave switching.”(Fig(s).3-7; Paragraph [0002]) Also, Kang et al. teach a master-slave switching method wherein a communication event of the BLE broadcast communication comprises an advertising time slot (read as master-to-slave slot (Paragraph [0016])),
Kaipu Narahari et al. teach “During an isochronous event exchange between unconnected electronic devices 102, a broadcasting electronic device (“broadcaster”) 102 may use a connectionless logical transport called a Broadcast Isochronous Stream (BIS) to broadcast isochronous data in a unidirectional, connectionless manner to multiple receiving electronic devices 102 referred to as scanning devices (“scanners”) forming a Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG).”(Paragraph [0050])
Rune et al. teach “the roles of master and slave can be switched using a master-slave switch mechanism in Bluetooth. (See, e.g., "Specification of the Bluetooth System," version 1.1, Bluetooth Special Interest Group.)”(Paragraph [0031])
However, Kang et al., Kaipu Narahari et al. and Rune et al. fail to explicitly teach broadcasting an advertising message in the advertising time slot before the first device determines that the master-slave switching with the target slave device in the broadcast isochronous group is required,
wherein the advertising message is configured for synchronizing the slave device with the master device and comprises a synchronization parameter for indicating the communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group;
wherein said communicating with the master device in the broadcast isochronous group comprises:
receiving a new advertising message broadcasted by the master device in the advertising time slot,
wherein the new advertising message is generated based on the synchronization parameter for indicating the communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group.
Daoura et al. teach a method broadcasting an advertising message in the advertising time slot before the first device determines that the master-slave switching with the target slave device in the broadcast isochronous group is required (read as BT advertising packet (Fig(s).6C, 8A, 17, 23, and 28)),
wherein the advertising message is configured for synchronizing the slave device with the master device and comprises a synchronization parameter for indicating the communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group (read as SYNCH WORD (Fig(s).8A; 21, 23, and 24));
wherein said communicating with the master device in the broadcast isochronous group comprises:
receiving a new advertising message broadcasted by the master device in the advertising time slot (read as BT advertising packet (Fig(s).6C, 8A, 17, 21, 23, 24, and 28)),
wherein the new advertising message is generated based on the synchronization parameter for indicating the communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group. (read as SYNCH WORD (Fig(s).21,23, and 24))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating, formatting, and exchanging a BT advertising packet as taught by Daoura et al., the master-slave switching mechanism as taught by Rune et al., and a Broadcast Isochronous Stream (BIS) to send data in a unidirectional manner to form a Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG) as taught by Kaipu Narahari et al. with the devices with capabilities for operating as a master/slave as taught by Kang et al. for the purpose of enhancing communication by devices in a piconet.
Regarding claim 10, and as applied to claim 9 above, Kang et al. teach “a wireless communication apparatus, a wireless communication method thereof, and a wireless communication system employing the same, for enabling peer-to-peer communication between slave devices through master-to-slave switching.”(Fig(s).3-7; Paragraph [0002]) Kang et al. teach a method wherein a communication event of the BLE broadcast communication comprises an advertising time slot, before the second device is confirmed the target slave device requiring the master-slave switching based on the master-slave switching message (read as master-to-slave slot (Paragraph [0016])),
Kaipu Narahari et al. teach “During an isochronous event exchange between unconnected electronic devices 102, a broadcasting electronic device (“broadcaster”) 102 may use a connectionless logical transport called a Broadcast Isochronous Stream (BIS) to broadcast isochronous data in a unidirectional, connectionless manner to multiple receiving electronic devices 102 referred to as scanning devices (“scanners”) forming a Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG).”(Paragraph [0050])
Rune et al. teach “the roles of master and slave can be switched using a master-slave switch mechanism in Bluetooth. (See, e.g., "Specification of the Bluetooth System," version 1.1, Bluetooth Special Interest Group.)”(Paragraph [0031])
However, Kang et al., Kaipu Narahari et al., and Rune et al. fail to explicitly teach receiving an advertising message broadcasted by the master device, obtaining a synchronization parameter based on the advertising message,
synchronizing with the master device based on the synchronization parameter for indicating the communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group, by the second device,
wherein said communicating with the slave device in the broadcast isochronous group comprises:
generating a new advertising message based on the synchronization parameter, and
broadcasting the new advertising message in the advertising time slot after the second device is switched to the master device.
Daoura et al. teach a method for receiving an advertising message broadcasted by the master device (read as BT advertising packet (Fig(s).6C, 8A, 17, 23, and 28)),
obtaining a synchronization parameter based on the advertising message, synchronizing with the master device based on the synchronization parameter for indicating the communication rule of the broadcast isochronous group, by the second device (read as SYNCH WORD (Fig(s).21,23, and 24)),
wherein said communicating with the slave device in the broadcast isochronous group comprises:
generating a new advertising message based on the synchronization parameter (read as BT advertising packet (Fig(s).6C, 8A, 17, 23, and 28)), and
broadcasting the new advertising message in the advertising time slot after the second device is switched to the master device. (Fig(s).6C, 8A, 17, 23, and 28)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating, formatting, and exchanging a BT advertising packet as taught by Daoura et al., the master-slave switching mechanism as taught by Rune et al., and a Broadcast Isochronous Stream (BIS) to send data in a unidirectional manner to form a Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG) as taught by Kaipu Narahari et al. with the devices with capabilities for operating as a master/slave as taught by Kang et al. for the purpose of enhancing communication by devices in a piconet.
Regarding claim 11, and as applied to claim 10 above, Kang et al. teach “a wireless communication apparatus, a wireless communication method thereof, and a wireless communication system employing the same, for enabling peer-to-peer communication between slave devices through master-to-slave switching.”(Fig(s).3-7; Paragraph [0002])
Kaipu Narahari et al. teach “During an isochronous event exchange between unconnected electronic devices 102, a broadcasting electronic device (“broadcaster”) 102 may use a connectionless logical transport called a Broadcast Isochronous Stream (BIS) to broadcast isochronous data in a unidirectional, connectionless manner to multiple receiving electronic devices 102 referred to as scanning devices (“scanners”) forming a Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG).”(Paragraph [0050])
Rune et al. teach “the roles of master and slave can be switched using a master-slave switch mechanism in Bluetooth. (See, e.g., "Specification of the Bluetooth System," version 1.1, Bluetooth Special Interest Group.)”(Paragraph [0031])
However, Kang et al., Kaipu Narahari et al., and Rune et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein said generating a new advertising message based on the synchronization parameter comprises:
using a broadcast interval,
an access code,
a check code,
a channel list, and
a time slot allocation scheme as the synchronization parameter in the new advertising message.
Daoura et al. teach a method wherein said generating a new advertising message (Fig.23) based on the synchronization parameter comprises:
using a broadcast interval,
an access code (Fig(s).21, 22A-22C, 23, and 24),
a check code,
a channel list, and
a time slot allocation scheme as the synchronization parameter in the new advertising message.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for generating, formatting, and exchanging a BT advertising packet as taught by Daoura et al., the master-slave switching mechanism as taught by Rune et al., and a Broadcast Isochronous Stream (BIS) to send data in a unidirectional manner to form a Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG) as taught by Kaipu Narahari et al. with the devices with capabilities for operating as a master/slave as taught by Kang et al. for the purpose of enhancing communication by devices in a piconet.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 9-11, 14-15, and 17-19 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Huang (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0069016 A1) teach “the mobile phone 130 may establish a connectionless isochronous channel with the left wireless earbud 110 and the right wireless earbud 120, and the channel uses two LE Broadcast Isochronous Stream (LE-BIS) logical transports and supports unidirectional communication. The two BISs form a broadcast isochronous group (BIG), and each BIS has multiple BIS instances.”(Paragraph [0039])
Sirur et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2023/0064205 A1) teach “a co-existence of Connected Isochronous Group (CIG) and Broadcast Isochronous Group (BIG) at the electronic device to facilitate concurrent music broadcast and unicast call/voice audio.”(Paragraph [0051])
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
May 16, 2026