DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claim 1 and 11 are in independent form.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed 9/8/2025 have been fully considered.
Regarding the arguments pertaining to 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the arguments are not persuasive. Claims 3 and 13 recites “the at least one communication interface;” however, it lacks antecedent basis.
Regarding the arguments pertaining to 35 U.S.C. 101, the arguments are persuasive; the rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding the arguments pertaining to 35 U.S.C. 102, the arguments are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Parks et al (US20030084377).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an error detecting device” in claims 11-16 and 19-20. The specification states that each component can be implemented by hardware (e.g. a device or circuit) or hardware with software (e.g. a program installed to the processor), in Paragraph 15 of the Specification of the instant application.
functions completed by this device in claims 11-16 and 19-20 have corresponding structure in Paragraphs [0016]-[0022] of the Specification of the instant application.
“a debug device” in claims 11-12 and 19-20. The specification states that each component can be implemented by hardware (e.g. a device or circuit) or hardware with software (e.g. a program installed to the processor), in Paragraph 15 of the Specification of the instant application.
functions completed by this device in claims 11-12 and 19-20 have corresponding structure in Paragraphs [0016]-[0022] of the Specification of the instant application.
“a transceiving device” in claims 11-12. The specification states that each component can be implemented by hardware (e.g. a device or circuit) or hardware with software (e.g. a program installed to the processor), in Paragraph 15 of the Specification of the instant application.
functions completed by this device in claims 11-12 have corresponding structure in Paragraphs [0016]-[0022] of the Specification of the instant application.
“the remote electronic device” in claims 11-12, 17, and 19. The specification states that each component can be implemented by hardware (e.g. a device or circuit) or hardware with software (e.g. a program installed to the processor), in Paragraph 15 of the Specification of the instant application.
functions completed by this device in claims 11-12, 17, and 19 have corresponding structure in Paragraphs [0016]-[0022] of the Specification of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the communication interface" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the communication interface" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 10-12, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurts et al (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0348361) in view of Parks et al (U.S. Publication No. 2003/0084377).
Regarding claim 1, Kurts discloses:
An electronic device debug method, applied to a target electronic device .. a debug device (Kurts: Paragraph [0025], “The SUT 308 may in turn include a processor 310 (e.g., the integrated circuit device 102) that may be debugged by one or more debug labs 306 at the debugging site 304 and/or another location”), and a transceiving device (Kurts: Paragraph [0025], “To facilitate debugging of the SUT 308, the processor 310 may include a central network terminal access point (TAP) 314 that enables access to/from a network used by the SUT 308”; and Paragraph [0025], “The debug lab 306 may communicate with the processor 310 via a client-side host device 312 that is communicatively coupled to the processor 310 and to the debugging site 304”), comprising:
…generate error information corresponding to the error (Kurts: Paragraph [0026], the request to initiate the remote debug process be performed on the SUT by the debug labs can be generated when an error is found);
(b)transmitting the error information to the transceiving device through the debug device (Kurts: Paragraph [0027], “For example, when the error is a hang (e.g., system freeze), a debugger of the debug lab 306 may analyze information on internal node states of the processor 310 and thus, the JTAG commands may include instructions for performing an internal Array Freeze and Dump (AFD) of processor arrays”; and Paragraph [0025], “To facilitate debugging of the SUT 308, the processor 310 may include a central network terminal access point (TAP) 314 that enables access to/from a network used by the SUT 308”);
(c)transmitting the error information to a remote electronic device through the transceiving device by a wireless network (Kurts: Paragraph [0015], “To determine the error(s) and/or causes of the error(s), the designing party may perform a debug process that involves analysis of the IP. In such cases, the IP may be unlocked to enable full access of the IP during the debugging process. For example, the designing party may perform a terminal access point (TAP) Unlock that enables the designing party to internally and fully debug the integrated circuit device using a special access key while the integrated circuit device is at the client site”; and Paragraph [0025], “To facilitate debugging of the SUT 308, the processor 310 may include a central network terminal access point (TAP) 314 that enables access to/from a network used by the SUT 308”; and Paragraph [0030], “The debug function encoded by the JTAG command may be executed by the SUT 308 as if the SUT 308 were located within the debug labs 306 as opposed to the client site 302. For example, the processor 310 may perform the AFD by copying the internal state(s) of SUT array(s) and thus, preserving information about the implementation environment”); and
(d)controlling the target electronic device to perform a debug procedure corresponding to the error information by the remote electronic device, through the transceiving device (Kurts: Paragraph [0027], “For example, when the error is a hang (e.g., system freeze), a debugger of the debug lab 306 may analyze information on internal node states of the processor 310 and thus, the JTAG commands may include instructions for performing an internal Array Freeze and Dump (AFD) of processor arrays”; Paragraph [0024], “For example, when the debugging site 304 is located away (e.g., different countries) from the client site 302, the debugging site 304 may remotely assesses (e.g., via public internet connections) the integrated circuit device 102 to determine the root cause of the error”; and Paragraph [0015], “To determine the error(s) and/or causes of the error(s), the designing party may perform a debug process that involves analysis of the IP. In such cases, the IP may be unlocked to enable full access of the IP during the debugging process. For example, the designing party may perform a terminal access point (TAP) Unlock that enables the designing party to internally and fully debug the integrated circuit device using a special access key while the integrated circuit device is at the client site”).
Kurt fails to teach explicitly
an error detecting device provided [in the target electronic device]
automatically and periodically [detecting the error]
(a)detecting an error of the target electronic device by the error detecting device …
However, Parks teaches
an error detecting device provided [in the target electronic device] ([0020] an internal process monitor is used to determine whether an error has occurred)
automatically and periodically [detecting the error] ([0019] the process monitor periodically checks to determine whether the list of processes that should be executing on a software layer are executing. Because these periodic checks are happening without any manual intervention, it is occurring automatically).
(a)detecting an error of the target electronic device by the error detecting device … ([0019]-[0020] the process monitor is used in order to determine if there are any errors in the monitored processes)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art because by automating the periodic detection of error by utilizing an internal error detecting device that’s not dependent on user input, the invention would have the predictable result of streamlining the process of error detection and being able to address issues in a timely fashion (Parks, [0006]).
Regarding claim 2, Kurts in view of Parks discloses all of the elements of claim 1 and further discloses:
the target electronic device comprising a wireless communication device (Kurts: Paragraph [0025], “The debug lab 306 may communicate with the processor 310 via a client-side host device 312 that is communicatively coupled to the processor 310 and to the debugging site 304”), the error detecting device (Parks: Paragraph [0019]-[0020], the internal process is used to automatically and periodically detect if there are any errors in the monitored processes), the debug device (Kurts: Paragraph [0025], “The SUT 308 may in turn include a processor 310 (e.g., the integrated circuit device 102) that may be debugged by one or more debug labs 306 at the debugging site 304 and/or another location”), and the transceiving device being provided in the wireless communication device (Kurts: Paragraph [0025], “To facilitate debugging of the SUT 308, the processor 310 may include a central network terminal access point (TAP) 314 that enables access to/from a network used by the SUT 308”; and Paragraph [0025], “The debug lab 306 may communicate with the processor 310 via a client-side host device 312 that is communicatively coupled to the processor 310 and to the debugging site 304”).
Regarding claim 7, Kurts in view of Parks discloses all of the elements of claim 1 and further discloses:
the debug procedure comprising:
controlling the target electronic device to transmit specific data to the remote electronic device (Kurts: Paragraph [0027], “For example, when the error is a hang (e.g., system freeze), a debugger of the debug lab 306 may analyze information on internal node states of the processor 310 and thus, the JTAG commands may include instructions for performing an internal Array Freeze and Dump (AFD) of processor arrays”; Paragraph [0024], “For example, when the debugging site 304 is located away (e.g., different countries) from the client site 302, the debugging site 304 may remotely assesses (e.g., via public internet connections) the integrated circuit device 102 to determine the root cause of the error”; and Paragraph [0015], “To determine the error(s) and/or causes of the error(s), the designing party may perform a debug process that involves analysis of the IP. In such cases, the IP may be unlocked to enable full access of the IP during the debugging process. For example, the designing party may perform a terminal access point (TAP) Unlock that enables the designing party to internally and fully debug the integrated circuit device using a special access key while the integrated circuit device is at the client site”).
Regarding claim 10, Kurts in view of Parks discloses all of the elements of claim 1 and further discloses:
the error detecting device being integrated to the debug device (Parks: Paragraph [0019]-[0020], the internal process is used to automatically and periodically detect if there are any errors in the monitored processes)
Regarding claim 11, Kurts discloses:
An electronic debug system, comprising:
…to generate error information corresponding to the error (Kurts: Paragraph [0026], the request to initiate the remote debug process be performed on the SUT by the debug labs can be generated when an error is found), a debug device (Kurts: Paragraph [0025], “The SUT 308 may in turn include a processor 310 (e.g., the integrated circuit device 102) that may be debugged by one or more debug labs 306 at the debugging site 304 and/or another location”);
a debug device, configured to receive the error information from the error detecting device (Kurts: Paragraph [0027], “For example, when the error is a hang (e.g., system freeze), a debugger of the debug lab 306 may analyze information on internal node states of the processor 310 and thus, the JTAG commands may include instructions for performing an internal Array Freeze and Dump (AFD) of processor arrays”; and Paragraph [0025], “To facilitate debugging of the SUT 308, the processor 310 may include a central network terminal access point (TAP) 314 that enables access to/from a network used by the SUT 308”); and
a transceiving device, configured to receive the error information from the debug device, and configured to transmit the error information to a remote electronic device by a wireless network (Kurts: Paragraph [0015], “To determine the error(s) and/or causes of the error(s), the designing party may perform a debug process that involves analysis of the IP. In such cases, the IP may be unlocked to enable full access of the IP during the debugging process. For example, the designing party may perform a terminal access point (TAP) Unlock that enables the designing party to internally and fully debug the integrated circuit device using a special access key while the integrated circuit device is at the client site”; and Paragraph [0025], “To facilitate debugging of the SUT 308, the processor 310 may include a central network terminal access point (TAP) 314 that enables access to/from a network used by the SUT 308”; and Paragraph [0030], “The debug function encoded by the JTAG command may be executed by the SUT 308 as if the SUT 308 were located within the debug labs 306 as opposed to the client site 302. For example, the processor 310 may perform the AFD by copying the internal state(s) of SUT array(s) and thus, preserving information about the implementation environment”);
the remote electronic device controlling the target electronic device to perform a debug procedure corresponding to the error information through the transceiving device (Kurts: Paragraph [0027], “For example, when the error is a hang (e.g., system freeze), a debugger of the debug lab 306 may analyze information on internal node states of the processor 310 and thus, the JTAG commands may include instructions for performing an internal Array Freeze and Dump (AFD) of processor arrays”; Paragraph [0024], “For example, when the debugging site 304 is located away (e.g., different countries) from the client site 302, the debugging site 304 may remotely assesses (e.g., via public internet connections) the integrated circuit device 102 to determine the root cause of the error”; and Paragraph [0015], “To determine the error(s) and/or causes of the error(s), the designing party may perform a debug process that involves analysis of the IP. In such cases, the IP may be unlocked to enable full access of the IP during the debugging process. For example, the designing party may perform a terminal access point (TAP) Unlock that enables the designing party to internally and fully debug the integrated circuit device using a special access key while the integrated circuit device is at the client site”).
Kurt fails to teach explicitly
an error detecting device, configured to detect an error of a target electronic device
automatically and periodically [detecting the error]
However, Parks teaches
an error detecting device provided [in the target electronic device] ([0020] an internal process monitor is used to determine whether an error has occurred)
automatically and periodically [detecting the error] ([0019] the process monitor periodically checks to determine whether the list of processes that should be executing on a software layer are executing. Because this periodic checks are happening without any manual intervention, it is occurring automatically).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art because by automating the periodic detection of error by utilizing an internal error detecting device that’s not dependent on user input, the invention would have the predictable result of streamlining the process of error detection and being able to address issues in a timely fashion (Parks, [0006]).
Regarding claim 12, Kurts in view of Parks discloses all of the elements of claim 11 and further discloses:
the target electronic device comprising a wireless communication device (Kurts: Paragraph [0025], “The debug lab 306 may communicate with the processor 310 via a client-side host device 312 that is communicatively coupled to the processor 310 and to the debugging site 304”), the error detecting device (Parks: Paragraph [0019]-[0020], the internal process is used to automatically and periodically detect if there are any errors), the debug device (Kurts: Paragraph [0025], “The SUT 308 may in turn include a processor 310 (e.g., the integrated circuit device 102) that may be debugged by one or more debug labs 306 at the debugging site 304 and/or another location”), and the transceiving device being provided in the wireless communication device (Kurts: Paragraph [0025], “To facilitate debugging of the SUT 308, the processor 310 may include a central network terminal access point (TAP) 314 that enables access to/from a network used by the SUT 308”; and Paragraph [0025], “The debug lab 306 may communicate with the processor 310 via a client-side host device 312 that is communicatively coupled to the processor 310 and to the debugging site 304”).
Regarding claim 17, Kurts in view of Parks discloses all of the elements of claim 11 and further discloses:
the debug procedure comprising:
controlling the target electronic device to transmit specific data to the remote electronic device (Kurts: Paragraph [0027], “For example, when the error is a hang (e.g., system freeze), a debugger of the debug lab 306 may analyze information on internal node states of the processor 310 and thus, the JTAG commands may include instructions for performing an internal Array Freeze and Dump (AFD) of processor arrays”; Paragraph [0024], “For example, when the debugging site 304 is located away (e.g., different countries) from the client site 302, the debugging site 304 may remotely assesses (e.g., via public internet connections) the integrated circuit device 102 to determine the root cause of the error”; and Paragraph [0015], “To determine the error(s) and/or causes of the error(s), the designing party may perform a debug process that involves analysis of the IP. In such cases, the IP may be unlocked to enable full access of the IP during the debugging process. For example, the designing party may perform a terminal access point (TAP) Unlock that enables the designing party to internally and fully debug the integrated circuit device using a special access key while the integrated circuit device is at the client site”).
Regarding claim 20, Kurts in view of Parks discloses all of the elements of claim 11 and further discloses:
the error detecting device being integrated to the debug device (Parks: Paragraph [0019]-[0020], the internal process is used to automatically and periodically detect if there are any errors in the monitored processes)
Claims 3, 5-6, 13, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurts in view of Parks in view of Fujii et al (US 2005/0111420 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kurts in view of Parks discloses all of the elements of claim 1
Kurts in view of Park fails to teach explicitly, but Fujii teaches
the target electronic device comprising at least one communication device, ([0006] portable wireless communication terminal, such as a mobile phone or PDA – i.e, a wireless communication device – can be connected to the target electronic device through a wireless communication interface)
and the step (a) detecting if the at least one communication interface has the error. ([0012] error detection for the communication interface)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art to incorporate wireless communication terminal through a wireless communication interface, because by doing so, the target electronic device can make use of various features such as NFC technology which can benefit the users (Fujii, [0006]). Furthermore, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art in order to teach that the error captured automatically through the Kurts in view of Park includes error detected in the communication interface because errors may occur in the communication interface during operations (Fujii, [0012]).
Regarding claim 5, Kurts in view of Parks discloses all of the elements of claim 1
Kurts in view of Park fails to teach explicitly, but Fujii teaches
the target electronic device comprising at least one communication interface, ([0006] portable wireless communication terminal, such as a mobile phone or PDA – i.e, a wireless communication device – can be connected to the target electronic device through a wireless communication interface)
the step(a) detecting if a first communication connection between the communication interface has the error or not, ([0012] error detection for the communication interface) or detecting if a second communication connection between the communication interface and an outer communication interface has the error or not.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art to incorporate wireless communication terminal through a wireless communication interface, because by doing so, the target electronic device can make use of various features such as NFC technology which can benefit the users (Fujii, [0006]). Furthermore, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art in order to teach that the error captured automatically through the Kurts in view of Park includes error detected in the communication interface because errors may occur in the communication interface during operations (Fujii, [0012]).
Regarding claim 6, Kurts in view of Parks discloses all of the elements of claim 1
Kurts in view of Park fails to teach explicitly, but Fujii teaches
the target electronic device comprising a wireless communication device electrically coupled to the target electronic device through a connection interface, ([0006] portable wireless communication terminal, such as a mobile phone or PDA – i.e, a wireless communication device – can be connected to the target electronic device through a wireless communication interface)
the step (a) detecting if the connection interface has the error or not. ([0012] error detection for the communication interface)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art to incorporate wireless communication terminal through a wireless communication interface, because by doing so, the target electronic device can make use of various features such as NFC technology which can benefit the users (Fujii, [0006]). Furthermore, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art in order to teach that the error captured automatically through the Kurts in view of Park includes error detected in the communication interface because errors may occur in the communication interface during operations (Fujii, [0012]).
Regarding claim 13, Kurts in view of Parks discloses all of the elements of claim 11
Kurts in view of Park fails to teach explicitly, but Fujii teaches
the target electronic device comprising at least one communication device, ([0006] portable wireless communication terminal, such as a mobile phone or PDA – i.e, a wireless communication device – can be connected to the target electronic device through a wireless communication interface)
and the error detecting device detecting if the at least one communication interface has the error. ([0012] error detection for the communication interface)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art to incorporate wireless communication terminal through a wireless communication interface, because by doing so, the target electronic device can make use of various features such as NFC technology which can benefit the users (Fujii, [0006]). Furthermore, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art in order to teach that the error captured automatically through the Kurts in view of Park includes error detected in the communication interface because errors may occur in the communication interface during operations (Fujii, [0012]).
Regarding claim 15, Kurts in view of Parks discloses all of the elements of claim 11
Kurts in view of Park fails to teach explicitly, but Fujii teaches
the target electronic device comprising at least one communication interface, ([0006] portable wireless communication terminal, such as a mobile phone or PDA – i.e, a wireless communication device – can be connected to the target electronic device through a wireless communication interface)
the error detecting device detecting if a first communication connection between the communication interface has the error or not, ([0012] error detection for the communication interface) or detecting if a second communication connection between the communication interface and an outer communication interface has the error or not.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art to incorporate wireless communication terminal through a wireless communication interface, because by doing so, the target electronic device can make use of various features such as NFC technology which can benefit the users (Fujii, [0006]). Furthermore, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art in order to teach that the error captured automatically through the Kurts in view of Park includes error detected in the communication interface because errors may occur in the communication interface during operations (Fujii, [0012]).
Regarding claim 16, Kurts in view of Parks discloses all of the elements of claim 11
Kurts in view of Park fails to teach explicitly, but Fujii teaches
the target electronic device comprising a wireless communication device electrically coupled to the target electronic device through a connection interface, ([0006] portable wireless communication terminal, such as a mobile phone or PDA – i.e, a wireless communication device – can be connected to the target electronic device through a wireless communication interface)
the error detecting device detecting if the connection interface has the error or not. ([0012] error detection for the communication interface)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art to incorporate wireless communication terminal through a wireless communication interface, because by doing so, the target electronic device can make use of various features such as NFC technology which can benefit the users (Fujii, [0006]). Furthermore, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the prior art in order to teach that the error captured automatically through the Kurts in view of Park includes error detected in the communication interface because errors may occur in the communication interface during operations (Fujii, [0012]).
Claims 4, 8-9, 14, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurts in view of Parks in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0213875 to Seol et al. ("Seol").
Regarding claim 4, Kurts in view of Parks teaches all of the elements of claim 1. However, Kurts does not appear to teach:
the step (a) detecting whether a state machine of the target electronic device has the error or not.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Seol teaches:
the step (a) detecting whether a state machine of the target electronic device has the error or not (Seol: Paragraph [0053], “For example, information that is provided from a base station may include information related to network performance (e.g., data processing capacity, a call drop rate, and an error generation ratio), information about value measured by a sensor (e.g., temperature and humidity), and information about the operation state of the base station (e.g., power consumption amount, transmission power, and operation voltage). The information that is provided from a base station may include an alarm showing a quantified value or whether a specific state has been generated, etc. Accordingly, the monitoring apparatus can determine an anomaly by checking whether a quantified value comes out of a range defined as normality or checking whether a specific state has been generated”; wherein has the error is interpreted broadly, not as the error being originated from such a machine but whether it possesses any indicative of the error or not).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Kurts in view of Parks by detecting if a state has the error, as taught by Seol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the methods of Seol because it would reduce outages and improve accuracy of error detection. (Seol: Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 8, Kurts in view of Parks teaches all of the elements of claim 1. However, Kurts in view of Parks does not appear to teach:
the debug procedure comprising:
resetting the target electronic device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Seol teaches:
the debug procedure comprising:
resetting the target electronic device (Seol: Paragraph [0096], “When it is determined that there is a fault in software rather than a hardware fault, the monitoring apparatus can give an instruction to perform trouble shooting 1060 for the software. In this case, resetting of software 1064 is remotely performed and the network quality is performed. When the network quality has been recovered, the procedure of handling the fault of the base station is finished. However, when the network quality has not been recovered, the surrounding situations around the base station device are examined through site examination 1066”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Kurts in view of Parks by resetting the system, as taught by Seol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the methods of Seol because it would reduce outages and improve accuracy of error detection. (Seol: Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 9, Kurts in view of Parks teaches all of the elements of claim 1 and further teaches:
the debug device selectively performing following operations after the error detecting device detects the error of the target electronic device (Kurts: Paragraph [0026], “Briefly, the remote debug process may be initiated by the client using, for example, the client site host device 312 when an unexpected error occurs during testing and/or implementation of the SUT 308 at the client site 302. In such instances, the client may request that the remote debug process be performed on the SUT 308 by the debug labs 306”):
transmitting the error information to the remote electronic device (Kurts: Paragraph [0027], “For example, when the error is a hang (e.g., system freeze), a debugger of the debug lab 306 may analyze information on internal node states of the processor 310 and thus, the JTAG commands may include instructions for performing an internal Array Freeze and Dump (AFD) of processor arrays”; Paragraph [0024], “For example, when the debugging site 304 is located away (e.g., different countries) from the client site 302, the debugging site 304 may remotely assesses (e.g., via public internet connections) the integrated circuit device 102 to determine the root cause of the error”; and Paragraph [0015], “To determine the error(s) and/or causes of the error(s), the designing party may perform a debug process that involves analysis of the IP. In such cases, the IP may be unlocked to enable full access of the IP during the debugging process. For example, the designing party may perform a terminal access point (TAP) Unlock that enables the designing party to internally and fully debug the integrated circuit device using a special access key while the integrated circuit device is at the client site”),
However, Kurts in view of Parks does not appear to teach:
automatically resetting a device with the error, and automatically resetting the target electronic device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Seol teaches:
automatically resetting a device with the error, and automatically resetting the target electronic device (Seol: Paragraph [0096], “When it is determined that there is a fault in software rather than a hardware fault, the monitoring apparatus can give an instruction to perform trouble shooting 1060 for the software. In this case, resetting of software 1064 is remotely performed and the network quality is performed. When the network quality has been recovered, the procedure of handling the fault of the base station is finished. However, when the network quality has not been recovered, the surrounding situations around the base station device are examined through site examination 1066”; wherein a device with the error can be interpreted broadly as the target electronic device).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Kurts in view of Parks by resetting the system, as taught by Seol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the methods of Seol because it would reduce outages and improve accuracy of error detection. (Seol: Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 14, Kurts in view of Parks teaches all of the elements of claim 11. However, Kurts in view of Parks does not appear to teach:
the error detecting device detecting whether a state machine of the target electronic device has the error or not.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Seol teaches:
the error detecting device detecting whether a state machine of the target electronic device has the error or not (Seol: Paragraph [0053], “For example, information that is provided from a base station may include information related to network performance (e.g., data processing capacity, a call drop rate, and an error generation ratio), information about value measured by a sensor (e.g., temperature and humidity), and information about the operation state of the base station (e.g., power consumption amount, transmission power, and operation voltage). The information that is provided from a base station may include an alarm showing a quantified value or whether a specific state has been generated, etc. Accordingly, the monitoring apparatus can determine an anomaly by checking whether a quantified value comes out of a range defined as normality or checking whether a specific state has been generated”; wherein has the error is interpreted broadly, not as the error being originated from such a machine but whether it possesses any indicative of the error or not).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Kurts in view of Parks by detecting if a state has the error, as taught by Seol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the methods of Seol because it would reduce outages and improve accuracy of error detection. (Seol: Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 18, Kurts in view of Parks teaches all of the elements of claim 11. However, Kurts does not appear to teach:
the debug procedure comprising:
resetting the target electronic device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Seol teaches:
the debug procedure comprising:
resetting the target electronic device (Seol: Paragraph [0096], “When it is determined that there is a fault in software rather than a hardware fault, the monitoring apparatus can give an instruction to perform trouble shooting 1060 for the software. In this case, resetting of software 1064 is remotely performed and the network quality is performed. When the network quality has been recovered, the procedure of handling the fault of the base station is finished. However, when the network quality has not been recovered, the surrounding situations around the base station device are examined through site examination 1066”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Kurts in view of Parks by resetting the system, as taught by Seol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the methods of Seol because it would reduce outages and improve accuracy of error detection. (Seol: Paragraph [0016]).
Regarding claim 19, Kurts in view of Parks teaches all of the elements of claim 11 and further teaches:
the debug device selectively performing following operations after the error detecting device detecting the error of the target electronic device (Kurts: Paragraph [0026], “Briefly, the remote debug process may be initiated by the client using, for example, the client site host device 312 when an unexpected error occurs during testing and/or implementation of the SUT 308 at the client site 302. In such instances, the client may request that the remote debug process be performed on the SUT 308 by the debug labs 306”): transmitting the error information to the remote electronic device (Kurts: Paragraph [0027], “For example, when the error is a hang (e.g., system freeze), a debugger of the debug lab 306 may analyze information on internal node states of the processor 310 and thus, the JTAG commands may include instructions for performing an internal Array Freeze and Dump (AFD) of processor arrays”; Paragraph [0024], “For example, when the debugging site 304 is located away (e.g., different countries) from the client site 302, the debugging site 304 may remotely assesses (e.g., via public internet connections) the integrated circuit device 102 to determine the root cause of the error”; and Paragraph [0015], “To determine the error(s) and/or causes of the error(s), the designing party may perform a debug process that involves analysis of the IP. In such cases, the IP may be unlocked to enable full access of the IP during the debugging process. For example, the designing party may perform a terminal access point (TAP) Unlock that enables the designing party to internally and fully debug the integrated circuit device using a special access key while the integrated circuit device is at the client site”)
However, Kurts in view of Parks does not appear to teach:
automatically resetting a device with the error, and automatically resetting the target electronic device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Seol teaches:
automatically resetting a device with the error, and automatically resetting the target electronic device (Seol: Paragraph [0096], “When it is determined that there is a fault in software rather than a hardware fault, the monitoring apparatus can give an instruction to perform trouble shooting 1060 for the software. In this case, resetting of software 1064 is remotely performed and the network quality is performed. When the network quality has been recovered, the procedure of handling the fault of the base station is finished. However, when the network quality has not been recovered, the surrounding situations around the base station device are examined through site examination 1066”; wherein a device with the error can be interpreted broadly as the target electronic device).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method taught by Kurts in view of Parks by resetting the system, as taught by Seol. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the methods of Seol because it would reduce outages and improve accuracy of error detection. (Seol: Paragraph [0016]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.L.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2114
/ASHISH THOMAS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2114