Claims 1, and 3-10 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed 12/05/2024 has been received and considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner has cited particular paragraphs/columns and line numbers or figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all of part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Applicant is reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Furthermore, the Examiner is not limited to Applicant’s definition which is not specifically set forth in the claims.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
8. Regarding 103 rejection: Applicant's arguments filed 01/08/2026 have been fully considered. Examiner brings forth new reference, Lee in which is directed to the transitioning of control of a vehicle in autonomous mode to a driver. Zheng discloses using steering angles and a torque amount to determine if these values are exceeding a threshold, in which would transition the steering from being operated during autonomous steering to being operated in a driver-controlled mode. The threshold is also being chosen based on the road conditions, curvatures of the road, steering system dynamics, vehicle types and more. Therefore, Examiner believes that Brooks in view of Lee does teach the capability of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks (US 20190071115) in view of Lee (US 20120283910).
Regarding Claim 1, Brooks discloses A travel control method that controls travel of a work vehicle that is capable of switching between autonomous travel performed by automatic steering and manual travel performed by manual steering by a user, the method comprising the steps of: (Brooks, see at least [0005] wherein automatic steering is enabled, a control system selectively activates and deactivates four-wheel steering depending on turning states of the machine. When automatic steering is enabled, the machine will automatically steer according to a map. Automatic steering is disabled when an operator takes control of steering by turning the steering wheel.)
receiving a user operation performed with respect to an operation tool that causes the work vehicle to execute a predetermined motion; (Brooks, see at least [0027] “the steering controller 120 can determine whether the sprayer 10 is in the automatic steering mode. The sprayer 10 can he put in the automatic steering mode, for example, by an operator's selection via the user I/O device 150. If the sprayer 10 is not in the automatic steering mode, then the process 170 can continue to step 174 in which the sprayer 15 is configured in the manual steering mode in which turning of the steering wheels is controlled by the operator via the steering device.”)
causing the work vehicle to execute a motion corresponding to the user operation performed with respect to the operation tool; (Brooks, see at least [0028] “if the sprayer 10 is put in the automatic steering mode, then the process 170 can continue to step 176 in which the sprayer 15 is configured in the automatic steering mode in which turning of the steering wheels is controlled by commands that are automatically generated by the steering controller 120. Such commands can be generated, for example, to turn left or right at predetermined speeds, so as to execute the prescription map 100 along the travel plan 102 (FIG. 2).”)
switching from autonomous travel to manual travel when a change amount relating to the operation tool corresponding to the user operation exceeds a threshold while the work vehicle is performing autonomous travel; (Brooks, see at least [0026] “A steering device sensor 153 can be configured with respect to the steering device 152 to indicate motion of the steering device 152 to the steering controller 120. This can be used, for example, to allow the steering controller 120 to automatically disable the automatic steering mode when the steering device sensor 153 indicates motion of the steering device 152, such as an operator resuming control of steering the sprayer 10.” And also see at least [0026-0028] wherein the steering device sensor can detect rotation and utilize an angle threshold detector 158.)
Brooks does not explicitly disclose and setting the threshold based on at least one of a vehicle speed of the work vehicle, a work content of the work vehicle, a state of a work area, and a position of a work path.
However, Lee which is directed to transitioning steering control from an autonomous vehicle to a driver discloses and setting the threshold based on at least one of a a position of a work path. (Lee, see at least [0022] wherein the predetermined threshold steering angle and predetermined threshold torque values may depend or vary based on vehicle speed(s), road condition(s), curvature of the road, steering system dynamics, type of vehicle, and/or other factors.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brooks to setting a threshold based on road conditions, curvature of the road, steering system dynamics and other factors as taught by Lee with reasonable expectation that this would allow for the threshold setting to be changed because a higher angle is needed to override the disturbance caused by road conditions/curvatures of the road therefore as the road conditions cause fluctuations for the work vehicle, and utilizing a threshold setting based on road conditions and a vehicle’s turning angle would therefore improve the precision and accuracy of driving mode change and further improve efficiency of the work vehicle.
Regarding Claim 3, Brooks in view of Lee discloses The travel control method according to claim 1, (set forth in the rejection above)
Brooks further discloses wherein the operation tool is at least one of a steering device that changes a travel direction of the work vehicle, a raising/lowering device that raises and lowers a work machine of the work vehicle, and a speed change device that changes a vehicle speed of the work vehicle. (Brooks, see at least [0026] “A steering device sensor 153 can be configured with respect to the steering device 152 to indicate motion of the steering device 152 to the steering controller 120.” Also see at least [0020] wherein discloses a boom in which is connected to a lift arm assembly 32 in which can move the boom up and down And also see at least [0026-0028] wherein the steering device sensor can detect rotation and utilize an angle threshold detector 158. Also see at least Fig. 2 in which the agricultural vehicle can make tight U turns.)
Regarding Claim 7, Brooks in view of Lee discloses The travel control method according to claim 1, (set forth in the rejection above)
Brooks further discloses wherein the work vehicle is provided with a work machine that performs predetermined work, (Brooks, see at least [0020] and Fig. 1 in which the agricultural machine includes sprayer 10 wherein the spray system can be used to spray water or a rinsing solution onto an agricultural field.)
and further executes switching from manual travel to autonomous travel when an operation that drives the work machine is received while the work vehicle is performing manual travel. (Brooks, see at least [0008] “automatic steering and four-wheel steering can be configured to inversely cooperate with one another so that each can be in a ready state, with only one activated at any given time without requiring an operator to manipulate control functions. This can be done by providing automatic steering and four-wheel steering in a ready state and automatically engaging and disengaging based on whether an operator is manually steering. For example, automatic steering can be engaged and four-wheel steering can be disengaged when an operator is not steering through the steering wheel..” And also see at least [0026-0028] wherein the steering device sensor can detect rotation and utilize an angle threshold detector 158.)
Regarding Claim 8, Brooks in view of Lee discloses The travel control method according to claim 7, (set forth in the rejection above)
Brooks further discloses wherein when switching has occurred from manual travel to autonomous travel, the threshold is changed according to a vehicle speed of the work vehicle. (Brooks, see at least [0008] “automatic steering and four-wheel steering can be configured to inversely cooperate with one another so that each can be in a ready state, with only one activated at any given time without requiring an operator to manipulate control functions. This can be done by providing automatic steering and four-wheel steering in a ready state and automatically engaging and disengaging based on whether an operator is manually steering. For example, automatic steering can be engaged and four-wheel steering can be disengaged when an operator is not steering through the steering wheel..” And also see at least [0026-0028] wherein the steering device sensor can detect rotation and utilize an angle threshold detector 158.)
Regarding Claim 9, Brooks discloses A travel control system that controls travel of a work vehicle that is capable of switching between autonomous travel performed by automatic steering and manual travel performed by manual steering by a user, the system wherein: (Brooks, see at least [0005] wherein automatic steering is enabled, a control system selectively activates and deactivates four-wheel steering depending on turning states of the machine. When automatic steering is enabled, the machine will automatically steer according to a map. Automatic steering is disabled when an operator takes control of steering by turning the steering wheel.)
the work vehicle executes a predetermined motion by an operation tool, (Brooks, see at least [0028] “if the sprayer 10 is put in the automatic steering mode, then the process 170 can continue to step 176 in which the sprayer 15 is configured in the automatic steering mode in which turning of the steering wheels is controlled by commands that are automatically generated by the steering controller 120. Such commands can be generated, for example, to turn left or right at predetermined speeds, so as to execute the prescription map 100 along the travel plan 102 (FIG. 2).”) which is received from a user operation performed by a reception processor; (Brooks, see at least [0027] “the steering controller 120 can determine whether the sprayer 10 is in the automatic steering mode. The sprayer 10 can he put in the automatic steering mode, for example, by an operator's selection via the user I/O device 150. If the sprayer 10 is not in the automatic steering mode, then the process 170 can continue to step 174 in which the sprayer 15 is configured in the manual steering mode in which turning of the steering wheels is controlled by the operator via the steering device.” Also see at least [0003] wherein the automatic steering may allow for an onboard computer system. **computers consist of a CPU to perform instructions, tasks, etc.)
the work vehicle executes a motion corresponding to the user operation performed with respect to the operation tool by a motion processor; (Brooks, see at least [0028] “if the sprayer 10 is put in the automatic steering mode, then the process 170 can continue to step 176 in which the sprayer 15 is configured in the automatic steering mode in which turning of the steering wheels is controlled by commands that are automatically generated by the steering controller 120. Such commands can be generated, for example, to turn left or right at predetermined speeds, so as to execute the prescription map 100 along the travel plan 102 (FIG. 2).” Also see at least [0003] wherein the automatic steering may allow for an onboard computer system. **computers consist of a CPU to perform instructions, tasks, etc.)
the work vehicle is performing autonomous travel, which is switched to manual travel by a travel processor when a change amount relating to the operation tool corresponding to the user operation exceeds a threshold, (Brooks, see at least [0026] “A steering device sensor 153 can be configured with respect to the steering device 152 to indicate motion of the steering device 152 to the steering controller 120. This can be used, for example, to allow the steering controller 120 to automatically disable the automatic steering mode when the steering device sensor 153 indicates motion of the steering device 152, such as an operator resuming control of steering the sprayer 10.” And also see at least [0026-0028] wherein the steering device sensor can detect rotation and utilize an angle threshold detector 158.)
Brooks does not explicitly disclose where a setting processor sets the threshold based on at least one of
However, Lee which is directed to transitioning steering control from an autonomous vehicle to a driver discloses where a setting processor sets the threshold based on at least one of (Lee, see at least [0022] wherein the predetermined threshold steering angle and predetermined threshold torque values may depend or vary based on vehicle speed(s), road condition(s), curvature of the road, steering system dynamics, type of vehicle, and/or other factors.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brooks to setting a threshold based on road conditions, curvature of the road, steering system dynamics and other factors as taught by Lee with reasonable expectation that this would allow for the threshold setting to be changed because a higher angle is needed to override the disturbance caused by road conditions/curvatures of the road therefore as the road conditions cause fluctuations for the work vehicle, and utilizing a threshold setting based on road conditions and a vehicle’s turning angle would therefore improve the precision and accuracy of driving mode change and further improve efficiency of the work vehicle.
Regarding Claim 10, Brooks discloses A computer readable non-transitory medium that stores a travel control system that controls travel of a work vehicle that is capable of switching between autonomous travel performed by automatic steering and manual travel performed by manual steering by a user, the program causing one or more processors to execute the steps of: (Brooks, see at least [0005] wherein automatic steering is enabled, a control system selectively activates and deactivates four-wheel steering depending on turning states of the machine. When automatic steering is enabled, the machine will automatically steer according to a map. Automatic steering is disabled when an operator takes control of steering by turning the steering wheel. Also see at least [0026] and Fig. 3 element 156 in which shown is storage medium 156.)
the work vehicle executes a predetermined motion by an operation tool, (Brooks, see at least [0028] “if the sprayer 10 is put in the automatic steering mode, then the process 170 can continue to step 176 in which the sprayer 15 is configured in the automatic steering mode in which turning of the steering wheels is controlled by commands that are automatically generated by the steering controller 120. Such commands can be generated, for example, to turn left or right at predetermined speeds, so as to execute the prescription map 100 along the travel plan 102 (FIG. 2).”) which is received from a user operation that is performed; (Brooks, see at least [0027] “the steering controller 120 can determine whether the sprayer 10 is in the automatic steering mode. The sprayer 10 can he put in the automatic steering mode, for example, by an operator's selection via the user I/O device 150. If the sprayer 10 is not in the automatic steering mode, then the process 170 can continue to step 174 in which the sprayer 15 is configured in the manual steering mode in which turning of the steering wheels is controlled by the operator via the steering device.” Also see at least [0003] wherein the automatic steering may allow for an onboard computer system. **computers consist of a CPU to perform instructions, tasks, etc.)
the work vehicle executes a motion corresponding to the user operation performed with respect to the operation tool; (Brooks, see at least [0028] “if the sprayer 10 is put in the automatic steering mode, then the process 170 can continue to step 176 in which the sprayer 15 is configured in the automatic steering mode in which turning of the steering wheels is controlled by commands that are automatically generated by the steering controller 120. Such commands can be generated, for example, to turn left or right at predetermined speeds, so as to execute the prescription map 100 along the travel plan 102 (FIG. 2).” Also see at least [0003] wherein the automatic steering may allow for an onboard computer system. **computers consist of a CPU to perform instructions, tasks, etc.)
the work vehicle is performing autonomous travel, which is switched to manual travel by a travel processor when a change amount relating to the operation tool corresponding to the user operation exceeds a threshold, (Brooks, see at least [0026] “A steering device sensor 153 can be configured with respect to the steering device 152 to indicate motion of the steering device 152 to the steering controller 120. This can be used, for example, to allow the steering controller 120 to automatically disable the automatic steering mode when the steering device sensor 153 indicates motion of the steering device 152, such as an operator resuming control of steering the sprayer 10.” And also see at least [0026-0028] wherein the steering device sensor can detect rotation and utilize an angle threshold detector 158.)
Brooks does not explicitly disclose where the threshold is set based on at least one of
However, Lee which is directed to transitioning steering control from an autonomous vehicle to a driver discloses where the threshold is set based on at least one of (Lee, see at least [0022] wherein the predetermined threshold steering angle and predetermined threshold torque values may depend or vary based on vehicle speed(s), road condition(s), curvature of the road, steering system dynamics, type of vehicle, and/or other factors.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brooks to setting a threshold based on road conditions, curvature of the road, steering system dynamics and other factors as taught by Lee with reasonable expectation that this would allow for the threshold setting to be changed because a higher angle is needed to override the disturbance caused by road conditions/curvatures of the road therefore as the road conditions cause fluctuations for the work vehicle, and utilizing a threshold setting based on road conditions and a vehicle’s turning angle would therefore improve the precision and accuracy of driving mode change and further improve efficiency of the work vehicle.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks (US 20190071115) in view of Lee (US 20120283910) in further view of Kohei (JP 5368129).
Regarding Claim 4, Brooks in view of Lee discloses The travel control method according to claim 3, (set forth in the rejection above)
Brooks further discloses wherein when the operation tool is the steering device, switching occurs from autonomous travel to manual travel when a change amount relating to the steering device corresponding to the user operation exceeds a first threshold while the work vehicle is performing autonomous travel at a first vehicle speed,
and switching occurs from autonomous travel to manual travel when a change amount relating to the steering device corresponding to the user operation exceeds a second threshold that is smaller than the first threshold while the work vehicle is performing autonomous travel at a second vehicle speed that is lower than the first vehicle speed. (Brooks, see at least [0026] “A steering device sensor 153 can be configured with respect to the steering device 152 to indicate motion of the steering device 152 to the steering controller 120. This can be used, for example, to allow the steering controller 120 to automatically disable the automatic steering mode when the steering device sensor 153 indicates motion of the steering device 152, such as an operator resuming control of steering the sprayer 10.” And also see at least [0026-0028] wherein the steering device sensor can detect rotation and utilize an angle threshold detector 158.)
Brooks does not explicitly disclose exceeds a first threshold while the work vehicle is performing autonomous travel at a first vehicle speed,
exceeds a second threshold that is smaller than the first threshold while the work vehicle is performing autonomous travel at a second vehicle speed that is lower than the first vehicle speed.
However, Kohei discloses exceeds a first threshold while the work vehicle is performing autonomous travel at a first vehicle speed,
exceeds a second threshold that is smaller than the first threshold while the work vehicle is performing autonomous travel at a second vehicle speed that is lower than the first vehicle speed. (Kohei, see at least [0075] wherein disclosed is threshold A is set when the working vehicle speed is high and wherein the threshold can be adjusted when the vehicle speed is low and wherein threshold A1 and A2 correspond to the vehicle’s speed and rotation angle of the work vehicle.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brooks to setting a threshold based on setting and work information of the work vehicle as taught by Kohei with reasonable expectation that this would allow for the threshold setting to be changed when a lower/higher angle is needed to override the disturbance caused by a lower/higher vehicle speed therefore a the changes in vehicle speeds cause fluctuations for the work vehicle, and the threshold setting based on a vehicle speed and a vehicle’s turning angle would therefore improve efficiency of the work vehicle.
Regarding Claim 5, Brooks in view of Lee in further view of Kohei discloses The travel control method according to claim 4, (set forth in the rejection above)
Brooks does not explicitly disclose wherein the threshold is set to a smaller value as a vehicle speed of the work vehicle decreases.
However, Kohei discloses wherein the threshold is set to a smaller value as a vehicle speed of the work vehicle decreases. (Kohei, see at least [0013] “the set turning rotation speed is set by the rotation speed setting means, and the control means controls the engine rotation speed to be the engine rotation speed during work when the turning speed of the steering handle is below the threshold value, and controls the engine rotation speed to be the set turning rotation speed when the turning speed of the steering handle is above the threshold value.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Brooks to setting a threshold based on setting and work information of the work vehicle as taught by Kohei with reasonable expectation that this would allow for the threshold setting to be changed when a lower/higher angle is needed to override the disturbance caused by a lower/higher vehicle speed therefore a the changes in vehicle speeds cause fluctuations for the work vehicle, and the threshold setting based on a vehicle speed and a vehicle’s turning angle would therefore improve efficiency of the work vehicle.
Regarding Claim 6, Brooks in view of Lee in further view of Kohei discloses The travel control method according to claim 4, (set forth in the rejection above)
Brooks further discloses wherein the change amount relating to the steering device is a change amount of at least one of a steering direction, an operation time, an operation amount, and an operation torque of the steering device. (Brooks, see at least [0026] “A steering device sensor 153 can be configured with respect to the steering device 152 to indicate motion of the steering device 152 to the steering controller 120.” And also see at least [0026-0028] wherein the steering device sensor can detect rotation and utilize an angle threshold detector 158.)
Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
EP 3406121 – The invention refers to a controller for a work machine, comprising a first control module configured to perform a first control for a steering device to change a steering angle based on a travel route, and a second control module configured to perform a second control on a speed of a traveling device when the steering angle is equal to or above a threshold value, wherein the first control module prioritizes and performs the first control over the second control to be performed by the second control module. Further, a work machine and a method for controlling a work machine are provided.
CN 110228524 – In order to replace the driver steering operation, height adjusting driving safety the invention claims an unmanned vehicle automatic steering control method based on multi-layer fuzzy control. The method comprises the following steps: firstly, the vehicle system detects the vehicle position and the running state information in real time by the environment sensing module; then according to the vehicle position information and a predetermined vehicle target track, fine tuning PID parameter by fuzzy adaptive algorithm, through the track-angle-current three-layer PID adjusting output EPS control signal (PWM).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NADA MAHYOOB ALQADERI/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664