Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-4 are presented for examination.
Claims 1 and 3-4 are amended.
Claim 2 is cancelled.
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected.
This Action is Non-Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/04/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillespie (US Patent Application Pub. No: 20200162442 A1) in view of Fu (US Patent Application Pub. No: 20130060885 A1).
As per claim 1,Gilespie teaches a device management system which is a computer capable of managing a device [Fig.1;Paragraph 0036,…, device manager 108 further comprises device manager (DM) web server 112,…], the device management system comprising:
a control device that includes a processor and functions, through the processor executing a control program [Fig.1; Paragraph 0065, At 402, a device manager is installed on a user device. In embodiments, a one-time install of device manager application 108 is conducted on user computer 104. For example, device manager 108 can be installed from a network resource or other resource coupled to user computer 104. Device manager 108 is configured to automatically execute in the system tray when the computer is started.], as:
a device management page creator that creates a device management page which is a web page for managing the device [Fig.1; Paragraph 0079, At 608, web browser 110 displays the device data and the display interface data sent by the web server, if applicable. For example, web browser 110 can generate a new web page having an uploading icon and a progress bar reflecting the status of the upload.]; and
a connection status confirmer that confirms a connection status of the device to the device management system [Paragraph 0067, At 406, the device manager connects to a web server and opens a login interface. …, device manager 108 utilizes web browser 110 to request login content from web server 114. In particular, server engine 114 can receive a login content population request and subsequently access content database 116 to populate login content (such as GUI login fields) for display on web browser 110.].
Gilespie does not explicitly disclose
a database that holds information indicating the connection status, wherein the connection status confirmer: confirms, when receiving a request for data on the device management page through a predetermined Web browser, whether the connection status of the device managed by the device management page is in an on-line status or in an off-line status ;
confirms, when receiving an instruction for updating the device management page through the Web browser, whether the connection status of the device managed by the device management page is in the on-line status or in the off-line status; and
updates the information held in the database to indicate the confirmed connection status, and the device management page creator creates the device management page indicating in the on-line status or in the off-line status as the confirmed connection status in accordance with the information held in the database.
Fu discloses a database that holds information indicating the connection status [Paragraphs 0023; 0039, …the processor 201 interacts with the connection detector 203 to identify an offline or online status of a network and/or session.], wherein the connection status confirmer: confirms, when receiving a request for data on the device management page through a predetermined Web browser [Abstract, Paragraphs 0027; 0039, A data caching module determines a request from a device for specifying content data directed to at least one web server, at least one storage destination, or a combination thereof. The data caching module processes the content data for storage in one or more web cookies, then causes transmission of the content data via the one or more web cookies to the at least one web server, the at least one storage destination, or a combination thereof based on the request.], whether the connection status of the device managed by the device management page is in an on-line status or in an off-line status [Abstract, Paragraphs 0023;0039, …the processor 201 interacts with the connection detector 203 to identify an offline or online status of a network and/or session.];
confirms, when receiving an instruction for updating the device management page through the Web browser, whether the connection status of the device managed by the device management page is in the on-line status or in the off-line status [Paragraphs 0024-0025, The HTML5 protocol calls for the browser to read a list of URLs referencing the various resources the browser requires to access a target web service offline, download the resources, cache them locally, and automatically keep the locally stored copies up-to-date as they change. By way of this approach, the most up-to-date version of the data is provided once online execution is established.]; and
updates the information held in the database to indicate the confirmed connection status [Abstract, Paragraphs 0023;0039, …the processor 201 interacts with the connection detector 203 to identify an offline or online status of a network and/or session.], and the device management page creator creates the device management page indicating in the on-line status or in the off-line status as the confirmed connection status in accordance with the information held in the database [Paragraph 0044,In step 307 of process 306, the data caching module 115 processes and/or facilitates a process of a size of the content data to determine a number of the one or more web cookies for storing the content data. Per step 309, the data caching module 115 causes a creation of one or more store paths at the device based on the number. As noted previously, the one or more store paths are for storage of the one or more web cookies at the device. The one or more paths permit accessing of the content as stored to respective one or more web cookies by the web server in response to the establishment or reestablishment of a network connection and/or web session.].
It would have been obvious one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to include Fu’s method for enabling offline web application execution into Gillespie’s system for managing wireless peripheral device with web browser through wireless network for the benefit of the offline status of the device is determined with respect to the web server, where the size of the content data is processed to determine multiple web cookies for storing the content data, and thus improving the user experience and the client-side persistence or caching of content entered during offline use of an Internet browser, and facilitating the transmission process in response to a determination of an online status for the network or session (Fu,[0027]) to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
As per claim 3, Gillespie and Fu teach all the limitations of claim 1 above, where Gillespie teaches, a device management system, wherein when a specific period of time has elapsed without receiving a request receipt notification from the device after the connection status confirmer sends a request for the connection status of the device [Gillespie, Paragraphs 0036; 0038, …JWT tokens can include iss (issuer), exp (expiration time), sub (subject), and (audience), and other fields that can be utilized within system 100. For example, a user ID (issuer) can be passed from device manager 108 to web server 106 as a supplemental lookup field, as will be described.], the connection status confirmer determines that the connection status of the device to the device management system is in the off-line status [Gillespie, Paragraph 0079, At 608, web browser 110 displays the device data and the display interface data sent by the web server, if applicable. For example, web browser 110 can generate a new web page having an uploading icon and a progress bar reflecting the status of the upload.].
As per claim 4, claim 4 is rejected in accordance to the same rational and reasoning as the above claim 1, wherein claim 4 is a device for the system of claim 1.
Conclusion
RELEVANT ART CITED BY THE EXAMINER
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is cited to establish the level of skill in the applicant’s art and those arts considered reasonably pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See MPEP 707.05(c).
References Considered Pertinent but not relied upon
Kaneda et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No: 20090147316 A1) teaches an object of the present invention is for a user originally having authority to be capable of performing a copy operation without damaging convenience. Kaneda discloses in order to achieve the above object, a device according to the present invention comprises connecting unit for connecting data of a first document into which first certification information to be inputted for permitting a copy of the document is embedded to data of a second document into which second certification information to be inputted for permitting a copy of the document is embedded.
Lyren et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No: 20140195345 A1) teaches
a computer system analyzes a user profile of a user and determines a product that the user expressed an interest in purchasing. Lyren discloses a template video for the product is obtained and this template video is modified to include personal information about the user in order to generate a customized advertisement that is unique to the user, also the customized advertisement is presented to the user.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GETENTE A YIMER whose telephone number is (571)270-7106. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 6:30-3:00.Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, IDRISS N ALROBAYE can be reached on 571-270-1023. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair my.uspto.gov/pair/ PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GETENTE A YIMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2181