DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 09/11/2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information referred to therein has been considered by the examiner.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. See MPEP 606.01 [R-2]
Claim interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the various units in claims 1, 7 and 14 (see Fig. 1 and supporting disclosure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “acquire a distance image indicating a distance to a target object; and a processing unit configured to divide pixels included in the distance image into blocks according to a distance relationship”.
This section is confusing because: (a) how can the distance image, containing multiple pixels, indicates a single distance to the target object? (b) where is the distance to the target object measured from, the imaging unit, or some other reference point? (c) is the distance relationship referring to relationship between pixels, blocks, or something else?
Claim 1 then recites “detect a state of the target object by comparing ratios of pixels included in the respective blocks”.
This section is confusing because it is not clear what is meant by “ratios of pixels”, is there one ratio per block, multiple ratios per block, ratio between different blocks? How can a block of the distance image contain ratios of pixels? Please clarify.
Claims 8, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for the same reasons as stated above.
In addition,
claims 8, 11 and 14 each recites the limitation of acquiring “a distance image in time sequence”. How can a single image be “in time sequence”?
claims 8 and 12 each recites the limitation “at least each state of the target object”, which is confusing because only one “state of the target object” has been defined earlier.
claims 2, 4-5, 9-10, 13 and 15-16 each recites “previous and following” images/areas/volumes/coordinates. It is not clear if/how they are related to the distant image defined in the independent claims they depend from (i.e., claims 1, 8, 11 or 14)
Claim(s) not mentioned specifically is/are dependent on indefinite antecedent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by ZHAO et al. (hereafter referred to as “ZHAO”, US 2015/0055828).
Regarding claim 1, ZHAO discloses a detection system (Figs. 1&2) comprising:
an imaging unit configured to acquire a distance image indicating a distance to a target object (Fig. 1, depth camera 101. Fig. 2, step S201, pg. [0031] “acquiring at least two depth image frames having depth information, which are obtained by continuously taking images of a moving object”); and
a processing unit (Fig. 1, computer 102) configured to divide pixels included in the distance image into blocks according to a distance relationship (pg. [0033] “a plurality of depth areas, which are formed by arranging the continuous depths in an ascending order in each block, and dividing (equally or unequally) the blocks into a plurality of areas”), and detect a state of the target object by comparing ratios of pixels included in the respective blocks (Fig. 2, steps S202 and S203, detect hand movement of the person. Pg. [0040]-[0041], the movement level Cj is based on ratios of pixels Sji/Tji) .
Regarding claim 2, ZHAO discloses the detection system according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit compares pixels included in previous and following distance images, and detects a state variation of the target object from a difference between the pixels (Fig. 2, steps S202 and S203, pg. [0031] “acquiring at least two depth image frames having depth information, which are obtained by continuously taking images of a moving object … The difference between numbers of pixels positioned in respective different depth areas in each of the blocks in the present depth image frame, and numbers of pixels positioned in respective different depth areas in each of the corresponding blocks in each past depth image frame, are calculated (step S202). Based on the calculated difference, a moving block in the present depth image frame is detected, and the detected moving object is constituted (step S203)”).
Regarding claim 3, ZHAO discloses the detection system according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit compares the pixels between frames of the distance image (see analysis of claim 2, Fig. 2, step S202, pg. [0031]).
Regarding claim 4, ZHAO discloses the detection system according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit calculates previous and following virtual areas (pg. [0033] “the depth areas may be divided in units of meters … it is assumed that there are an N number of past depth image frames … the detection of the moving object is usually started from the second frame”) and/or previous and following virtual volumes of the target object by using the pixels included in the blocks, and detects a state variation of the target object by comparing the previous and following virtual areas (Fig. 2, step S202, pg. [0031]) or comparing the previous and following virtual volumes.
Regarding claim 5, ZHAO discloses the detection system according to claim 1, wherein the processing unit compares previous and following coordinates of pixels included in a plurality of the distance images, virtual area images, or virtual volume images, and detects a state variation of the target object from a difference between the previous and following coordinates (Fig. 2, steps S202 and S203, see analysis of claim 2, and more detailed disclosure in pg. [0034]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 6, ZHAO discloses the detection system according to claim 5, wherein the coordinates include any of a singular point, a centroid point, and a vertex included in the distance images, the virtual area images, or the virtual volume images (Figs. 4A&4B).
Regarding claim 7, ZHAO discloses the detection system according to claim 1, further comprising an information presentation unit configured to present one or more of the distance image, a virtual area, a virtual volume, and state information indicating the state of the target object (Fig. 1 and pg. [0029] “applications of interactions between a human and a computer”).
Regarding claim 8, ZHAO discloses a detection method comprising: acquiring, by an imaging unit, a distance image in time sequence, the distance image indicating a distance to a target object; detecting, by the processing unit, a state of the target object by dividing pixels included in the distance image into blocks according to a distance relationship and comparing a ratio of pixels included in the respective blocks (see analysis of claim 1); and calculating a virtual area or a virtual volume for each block for at least each state of the target object by using the pixels included in the respective blocks (see analysis of claim 4. pg. [0033] “the depth areas may be divided in units of meters).
Claims 9-16 have been analyzed and are rejected for the same reasons as outlined above in the rejection of claims 2, 4, 1, 8, 2, 1, 2 and 4, respectively. ZHAO’s system is computer-based. Processor(s) and storage(s) are the main building blocks of a computer system.
Contact Information
/LI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2666