CTNF 18/244,566 CTNF 91313 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restriction Applicant's election without traverse of Species A (Figure 1) in the reply filed on 2/18/2026 is acknowledged. Applicant argues that “The Restriction Requirement does not specify or suggest any claims that fall within the different species A, B, C, and D, but rather only delineates the different species A, B, C, and D by reference to figures 1, 2, 3, and 4, respectively, of the current application. The Applicant respectfully submits that Species A (figure 1) covers claims 1-20 (see, e.g., paragraph [0058] of the current application). The current claims do not recite explicit limitations directed to specific optical system configurations as shown in figures 2 and 3 or an ambient environment system shown in figure 4. Accordingly, no claims are withdrawn.” This is not found persuasive because when searching for the feature of Species A which is the structure of claim 1, there would be no need to search for the invention of Species B which is the structure of claim 11. Although claims are not specified in the Office Action in the restriction, it is clear from the claims, Figure and from specification that claim 1 corresponds to Species A and claim 11 corresponds to species B as claim 11 requires optical unit and Figure 2 discloses optical unit in detail. From the specification paragraph 17 (as filed) also mentioned that claim 11 is different embodiment. Paragraph 11 recites, “Another exemplary embodiment includes a system which comprises an optical unit, a prober unit, and a control unit configured to control the prober unit and the optical unit. The optical unit and the prober unit comprise an integrated configuration to perform laser annealing operations for tuning junction resistances of superconducting tunnel junction devices on a quantum chip…”. Then Paragraph 25 it is also clear that Figure 2 is separate species to Figure 1. Paragraph 25 recites, “[0025] FIG. 2 schematically illustrates a laser annealing apparatus comprising a modular optical scope unit, according to an exemplary embodiment of the disclosure.”. Therefore, it is clear from the specification that claims 1-10 and 18-20 corresponds to species A and claims 11-17 corresponds to Species B as claim 11 recites, “an optical unit; …. wherein the optical unit and the prober unit comprise an integrated configuration to perform laser annealing operations for tuning junction resistances of superconducting tunnel junction devices on a quantum chip” which is different than Species A (claims 1-10 and 18-20). Applicant’s argument that the current claims do not recite explicit limitations directed to specific optical system is not persuasive because claim 11 recites optical unit and laser annealing apparatus. Therefore, when searching for claim 1 (Species A) it is not required to search for optical unit, laser annealing apparatus and superconducting tunnel junction devices on a quantum chip. So, these non-co-extensive searches would place a search burden on the examiner to search and examine all of the inventions. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/11/2023, 11/07/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-9 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 ( a) (1 ) as being anticipated by Savagaonkar et al. (Hereinafter, “Savagaonkar”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20050116734 A1 . Regarding claim 1, Savagaonkar teaches, a system ( A semiconductor test system and method. More particularly, the invention(s) relates to a semiconductor test system and method that improves probe head to wafer contact using dynamic overdrive compensation; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5; FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a test system; Paragraph [0012] Line 1), comprising: a prober unit [106] ( FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a test system 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention. Referring to FIG. 1, a test system 100 includes a controller 104 that controls a tester 102 and a prober 106; Paragraph [0016] Line 1-4) comprising electrical probes [207+208] ( The SIU 205 includes a probe head 207 mounted on a printed circuit board (PCB) 212. The probe head 207 is mounted on the PCB 212 using a variety of fasteners, e.g., screws. Contact pins 208 extend outwardly from the probe head 207; Paragraph [0021] Line 1-5); and a control unit [104] ( FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a test system 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention. Referring to FIG. 1, a test system 100 includes a controller 104 that controls a tester 102 and a prober 106; Paragraph [0016] Line 1-4) configured to: cause the prober unit [106] to make contact between the electrical probes [207+208] and contact pads [404] (contact points 404 as the contact pads) in Figure 4 ( FIG. 4 is a diagram of a wafer 400 including a plurality of dies 402. Referring to FIGS. 2 and 4, each die 402 includes a plurality of contact points 404 that form a corresponding plurality of channels when connected to the contact pins 208; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-5) of a target device [211 in Figure 2/400 in Figure 4] ( The prober 106, responsive to the tester 102 and the controller 104, tests a wafer (or other DUT) with the test signals it receives from the tester 102; Paragraph [0016] Line 8-11; The controller 204 moves the chuck 209 such that the pins 208 make contact with the various dies 402 (and their associated contact points 404) on the wafer 400 and dictates the tester 202 to measure contact resistance on these dies; Paragraph [0032] Line 10-14); cause the prober unit [106/206] in Figure 1 and 2 to increment a contact overdrive by a specified amount to increase a contact pressure between the electrical probes [207+208] and the contact pads [404] in Figure 4 of the target device [211/400] ( Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, at 302, the controller 204 directs the prober 206 to set a chuck overdrive that is communicated to the chuck 209 (or other material handling equipment). The overdrive controls how far and consequently, with what force, the chuck 209 moves the wafer 211 in Z direction into contact with the probe head 207 and, more particularly, the contact pins 208. The contact pins 208 electrically connect the wafer 211 to the tester 202 via the SIU 205. As the chuck 209 pushes the wafer 211 (more precisely, the DUT on the wafer) into the contact pins 208, it exerts a probe force 214 on the SIU 205; Paragraph [0028] Line 1-11; The controller 204 initially sets the overdrive conservatively and increments it in small steps responsive to measured contact resistance and computed results; Paragraph [0028] Line 14-17); measure a contact resistance between the electrical probes [207+208] and the contact pads [404] of the target device [400] ( If, on the other hand, the overdrive is set lower than the limit, the tester 202 measures a contact resistance of at least one pin or channel associated with multiple random dies scattered throughout the wafer 211 (at 310). In one embodiment, the tester 202 measures the contact resistance of at least one channel on, e.g., five to ten different dies on the wafer; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-7), subsequent to incrementing the contact overdrive ( At 314, the tester 202 tests the standard deviation of all pins computed at 312 to a threshold, e.g., 0.5 .OMEGA.. If the standard deviation is not less than the threshold, the tester 202 increases the overdrive (at 318), compares the overdrive (at 306), measures the contact resistance (at 310), and computes the standard deviation (at 312) until the standard deviation is less than the threshold ; Paragraph [0036] Line 1-7); compare the measured contact resistance with a contact resistance threshold ( the tester 202 increases the overdrive (at 318), compares the overdrive (at 306), measures the contact resistance (at 310), and computes the standard deviation (at 312) until the standard deviation is less than the threshold; Paragraph [0036] Line 3-7; Standard deviation is calculated from the contact resistance and standard deviation is for contact resistance and therefore contact resistance as the standard deviation is compared here with threshold) ; and determine whether to perform an electrical characterization measurement ( a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact could be the electrical characterization or stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact could be the electrical characterization measurement) of the target device [211], based on a result of comparing the measured contact resistance with the contact resistance threshold ( If, on the other hand, the standard deviation on all pins is less than the threshold, the controller 204 optionally determines whether to do a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact between the wafer 211 and the SIU 205 (at 316). If so, the method returns to 306 after optionally increasing the overdrive at 319. Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-8). Regarding claim 2, Savagaonkar teaches, a system, wherein the control unit is configured to perform the electrical characterization measurement ( a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact could be the electrical characterization or stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact could be the electrical characterization measurement) of the target device [211], in response to determining that the measured contact resistance is less than the contact resistance threshold ( If, on the other hand, the standard deviation on all pins is less than the threshold, the controller 204 optionally determines whether to do a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact between the wafer 211 and the SIU 205 (at 316). If so, the method returns to 306 after optionally increasing the overdrive at 319. Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-8). Regarding claim 3, Savagaonkar teaches, a system, wherein in response to determining that the measured contact resistance is not less than the contact resistance threshold [314] (Figure 3), the control unit is configured to: cause the prober unit to incrementally increase the amount of contact overdrive [318] by one or more contact overdrive increments of a specified fixed amount ( At 314, the tester 202 tests the standard deviation of all pins computed at 312 to a threshold, e.g., 0.5 .OMEGA.. If the standard deviation is not less than the threshold, the tester 202 increases the overdrive (at 318), compares the overdrive (at 306), measures the contact resistance (at 310), and computes the standard deviation (at 312) until the standard deviation is less than the threshold; Paragraph [0036] Line 1-7); remeasure the contact resistance between the electrical probes and the contact pads of the target device [310] (compares the overdrive (at 306), measures the contact resistance (at 310), and computes the standard deviation (at 312) until the standard deviation is less than the threshold; Paragraph [0036] Line 1-7), subsequent to each contact overdrive increment of the specified fixed amount ( If, on the other hand, the standard deviation on all pins is less than the threshold, the controller 204 optionally determines whether to do a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact between the wafer 211 and the SIU 205 (at 316). If so, the method returns to 306 after optionally increasing the overdrive at 319; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-6); and perform the electrical characterization measurement ( Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 6-8) when the remeasured contact resistance between the electrical probes and the contact pads of the target device is determined to be less than the contact resistance threshold ( If, on the other hand, the standard deviation on all pins is less than the threshold, the controller 204 optionally determines whether to do a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact between the wafer 211 and the SIU 205 (at 316). If so, the method returns to 306 after optionally increasing the overdrive at 319. Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-8). Regarding claim 4, Savagaonkar teaches, a system, wherein the control unit is configured to: cause the prober unit to incrementally increase the amount of contact overdrive to no more than a specified maximum amount of contact overdrive ( At 314, the tester 202 tests the standard deviation of all pins computed at 312 to a threshold, e.g., 0.5 .OMEGA.. If the standard deviation is not less than the threshold, the tester 202 increases the overdrive (at 318), compares the overdrive (at 306), measures the contact resistance (at 310), and computes the standard deviation (at 312) until the standard deviation is less than the threshold; Paragraph [0036] Line 1-7); and skip the electrical characterization measurement of the target device, in response to determining that the contact resistance between the electrical probes and the contact pads of the target device is still not less than the contact resistance threshold after a total amount of contact overdrive has reached the specified maximum amount of contact overdrive ( Step 314 shows if the contact resistance is not less than threshold then it goes back to process of increasing overdrive and skips the process of 316 and 320. Therefore, it skips the electrical characterization measurement of the target device, in response to determining that the contact resistance between the electrical probes and the contact pads of the target device is still not less than the contact resistance threshold after a total amount of contact overdrive has reached the specified maximum amount of contact overdrive). Regarding claim 5, Savagaonkar teaches, a system, wherein in determining whether to perform the electrical characterization measurement of the target device, based on the result of comparing the measured contact resistance with the contact resistance threshold, the control unit is configured to: perform a contact stability check process to determine whether the contact between the electrical probes and contact pads of the target device is stable (I f, on the other hand, the standard deviation on all pins is less than the threshold, the controller 204 optionally determines whether to do a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact between the wafer 211 and the SIU 205 (at 316). If so, the method returns to 306 after optionally increasing the overdrive at 319. Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-8), in response to determining that the measured contact resistance is less than the contact resistance threshold ( The adaptive nature of the DOC method 300 proves particularly valuable to low-k dielectric wafers that develop latent defects in their inter layer dielectrics due to probing pressures. And the DOC method 300 does not require heuristically determining the appropriate overdrive. As the DOC method 300 adapts to each wafer lot, the overdrive is set accurately from the first production run. Finally, the DOC method 300 determines the contact quality before wafer sorting. This reduces the number of resorts performed due to poor contact; Paragraph [0041] Line 1-9); and perform the electrical characterization measurement ( Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 6-8), in response to determining that the contact between the electrical probes and contact pads of the target device is stable ( If, on the other hand, the standard deviation on all pins is less than the threshold, the controller 204 optionally determines whether to do a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact between the wafer 211 and the SIU 205 (at 316). If so, the method returns to 306 after optionally increasing the overdrive at 319. Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-8). Regarding claim 6, Savagaonkar teaches a system, wherein in performing the contact stability check process, the control unit is configured to: repeat a contact resistance measurement operation for a specified number of times, to obtain a plurality of contact resistance measurements ( Referring back to FIGS. 2-4, in one embodiment, the tester 202 may measure the contact resistance of all (e.g., 132) channels 404 on each of a plurality of dies 402 on the wafer 400. In another embodiment, the tester 202 measures the contact resistance of a grouping of channels 404 (i.e., less than all) on each of the plurality of dies on the wafer 400. The grouping of channels 404 might be related, e.g., to their functionality. Or the grouping of channels 404 might be related to a predetermined random number of channels tested on each of the plurality of dies on the wafer 400. The controller 204 moves the chuck 209 such that the pins 208 make contact with the various dies 402 (and their associated contact points 404) on the wafer 400 and dictates the tester 202 to measure contact resistance on these dies; Paragraph [0032] Line 1-14); determine an amount of variation of the plurality of contact resistance measurements ( The tester 202 measures contact resistance in a variety of manners. In one embodiment, the tester 202 forces a known current I (e.g., 10 mA) through a pin, measures a voltage V, and calculates the ratio of V/I; Paragraph [0033] Line 1-4); and determine whether the contact between the electrical probes and the contact pads of the target device is stable, based on the determined amount of variation ( If, on the other hand, the standard deviation on all pins is less than the threshold, the controller 204 optionally determines whether to do a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact between the wafer 211 and the SIU 205 (at 316). If so, the method returns to 306 after optionally increasing the overdrive at 319. Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-8). Regarding claim 7, Savagaonkar teaches a system, wherein the control unit is configured to: cause the prober unit to increase the amount of contact overdrive by a specified fixed amount, in response to determining that the contact between the electrical probes and contact pads of the target device is not stable ( At 314, the tester 202 tests the standard deviation of all pins computed at 312 to a threshold, e.g., 0.5 .OMEGA.. If the standard deviation is not less than the threshold, the tester 202 increases the overdrive (at 318), compares the overdrive (at 306), measures the contact resistance (at 310), and computes the standard deviation (at 312) until the standard deviation is less than the threshold; Paragraph [0036] Line 1-7); and repeat the contact stability check process [316] with the contact between the electrical probes and contact pads of the target device at the increased amount of contact overdrive ( Referring back to FIGS. 2-4, in one embodiment, the tester 202 may measure the contact resistance of all (e.g., 132) channels 404 on each of a plurality of dies 402 on the wafer 400. In another embodiment, the tester 202 measures the contact resistance of a grouping of channels 404 (i.e., less than all) on each of the plurality of dies on the wafer 400. The grouping of channels 404 might be related, e.g., to their functionality. Or the grouping of channels 404 might be related to a predetermined random number of channels tested on each of the plurality of dies on the wafer 400. The controller 204 moves the chuck 209 such that the pins 208 make contact with the various dies 402 (and their associated contact points 404) on the wafer 400 and dictates the tester 202 to measure contact resistance on these dies; Paragraph [0032] Line 1-14). Regarding claim 8, Savagaonkar teaches a system, wherein the control unit is configured to skip the electrical characterization measurement of the target device, in response to the control unit determining that the contact between the electrical probes and the contact pads of the target device is still not stable after a total amount of contact overdrive has reached a specified maximum amount of contact overdrive ( Step 314 shows if the contact resistance is not less than threshold then it goes back to process of increasing overdrive and skips the process of 316 and 320. Therefore, it skips the electrical characterization measurement of the target device, in response to determining that the contact resistance between the electrical probes and the contact pads of the target device is still not less than the contact resistance threshold after a total amount of contact overdrive has reached the specified maximum amount of contact overdrive). Regarding claim 9, Savagaonkar teaches a system, wherein: the prober unit [206] in Figure 2 further comprises an X-Y-Z stage [209] (chuck 209 as the X-Y-Z stage as the chuck moves in X, Y, Z direction) on which the target device [211] is mounted ( The interface unit 205 is mounted to a top member 203 of the prober 206. A person of reasonable skill in the art should recognize that the interface unit 205 is a sort interface unit (SIU), and the wafer 211 is placed on chuck 209; Paragraph [0017] Line 4-8); the control unit [204] is configured to adjust a Z position of the X-Y-Z stage to bring the contact pads [404] of the target device into contact with the electrical probes [207] ( Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, at 302, the controller 204 directs the prober 206 to set a chuck overdrive that is communicated to the chuck 209 (or other material handling equipment). The overdrive controls how far and consequently, with what force, the chuck 209 moves the wafer 211 in Z direction into contact with the probe head 207 and, more particularly, the contact pins 208; Paragraph [0028] Line 1-7); and the control unit [204] is configured to increment the Z position of the X-Y-Z stage to increment the contact overdrive by the specified amount ( FIG. 4 is a diagram of a wafer 400 including a plurality of dies 402. Referring to FIGS. 2 and 4, each die 402 includes a plurality of contact points 404 that form a corresponding plurality of channels when connected to the contact pins 208. The chuck 209 moves the wafer in X, Y, and Z directions so that the contact pins 208 connect to the plurality of contact points 404 on the plurality of dies 402. It should be clear to a person of reasonable skill in the art that the contact pins 208 may connect to a subset of the contact points 404 on one or more dies simultaneously at any given time. The chuck 209 may reposition the wafer 211 such that the contact pins 208 connect to a subset of contact points 404 on different die(s) with each movement; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-13). Regarding claim 18, Savagaonkar teaches, a method ( A semiconductor test system and method. More particularly, the invention(s) relates to a semiconductor test system and method that improves probe head to wafer contact using dynamic overdrive compensation; Paragraph [0002] Line 1-5; FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a test system; Paragraph [0012] Line 1), comprising: make contact between a electrical probes [207+208] ( The SIU 205 includes a probe head 207 mounted on a printed circuit board (PCB) 212. The probe head 207 is mounted on the PCB 212 using a variety of fasteners, e.g., screws. Contact pins 208 extend outwardly from the probe head 207; Paragraph [0021] Line 1-5) of a prober unit [106] ( FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a test system 100 according to an embodiment of the present invention. Referring to FIG. 1, a test system 100 includes a controller 104 that controls a tester 102 and a prober 106; Paragraph [0016] Line 1-4) and contact pads [404] (contact points 404 as the contact pads) in Figure 4 ( [0031] FIG. 4 is a diagram of a wafer 400 including a plurality of dies 402. Referring to FIGS. 2 and 4, each die 402 includes a plurality of contact points 404 that form a corresponding plurality of channels when connected to the contact pins 208; Paragraph [0031] Line 1-5) of a target device [211 in Figure 2/400 in Figure 4] ( The prober 106, responsive to the tester 102 and the controller 104, tests a wafer (or other DUT) with the test signals it receives from the tester 102; Paragraph [0016] Line 8-11; The controller 204 moves the chuck 209 such that the pins 208 make contact with the various dies 402 (and their associated contact points 404) on the wafer 400 and dictates the tester 202 to measure contact resistance on these dies; Paragraph [0032] Line 10-14); incrementing a contact overdrive by a specified amount to increase a contact pressure between the electrical probes [207+208] and the contact pads [404] in Figure 4 of the target device [211/400] ( Referring to FIGS. 2 and 3, at 302, the controller 204 directs the prober 206 to set a chuck overdrive that is communicated to the chuck 209 (or other material handling equipment). The overdrive controls how far and consequently, with what force, the chuck 209 moves the wafer 211 in Z direction into contact with the probe head 207 and, more particularly, the contact pins 208. The contact pins 208 electrically connect the wafer 211 to the tester 202 via the SIU 205. As the chuck 209 pushes the wafer 211 (more precisely, the DUT on the wafer) into the contact pins 208, it exerts a probe force 214 on the SIU 205; Paragraph [0028] Line 1-11; The controller 204 initially sets the overdrive conservatively and increments it in small steps responsive to measured contact resistance and computed results; Paragraph [0028] Line 14-17); measuring a contact resistance between the electrical probes [207+208] and the contact pads [404] of the target device [400] ( If, on the other hand, the overdrive is set lower than the limit, the tester 202 measures a contact resistance of at least one pin or channel associated with multiple random dies scattered throughout the wafer 211 (at 310). In one embodiment, the tester 202 measures the contact resistance of at least one channel on, e.g., five to ten different dies on the wafer; Paragraph [0030] Line 1-7), subsequent to incrementing the contact overdrive ( At 314, the tester 202 tests the standard deviation of all pins computed at 312 to a threshold, e.g., 0.5 .OMEGA.. If the standard deviation is not less than the threshold, the tester 202 increases the overdrive (at 318), compares the overdrive (at 306), measures the contact resistance (at 310), and computes the standard deviation (at 312) until the standard deviation is less than the threshold ; Paragraph [0036] Line 1-7); comparing the measured contact resistance with a contact resistance threshold ( the tester 202 increases the overdrive (at 318), compares the overdrive (at 306), measures the contact resistance (at 310), and computes the standard deviation (at 312) until the standard deviation is less than the threshold; Paragraph [0036] Line 3-7; Standard deviation is calculated from the contact resistance and standard deviation is for contact resistance and therefore contact resistance as the standard deviation is compared here with threshold) ; and determining whether to perform an electrical characterization measurement ( a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact could be the electrical characterization or stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact could be the electrical characterization measurement) of the target device [211], based on a result of comparing the measured contact resistance with the contact resistance threshold ( If, on the other hand, the standard deviation on all pins is less than the threshold, the controller 204 optionally determines whether to do a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact between the wafer 211 and the SIU 205 (at 316). If so, the method returns to 306 after optionally increasing the overdrive at 319. Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-8). Regarding claim 19, Savagaonkar teaches, a method in response to determining that the measured contact resistance is less than the contact resistance threshold ( If, on the other hand, the standard deviation on all pins is less than the threshold, the controller 204 optionally determines whether to do a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact between the wafer 211 and the SIU 205 (at 316). If so, the method returns to 306 after optionally increasing the overdrive at 319. Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-8), performing the electrical characterization measurement ( a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact could be the electrical characterization or stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact could be the electrical characterization measurement) of the target device [211]; and in response to determining that the measured contact resistance is not less than the contact resistance threshold [314] (Figure 3), the control unit is configured to: incrementally increasing the amount of contact overdrive [318] by one or more contact overdrive increments of a specified fixed amount ( At 314, the tester 202 tests the standard deviation of all pins computed at 312 to a threshold, e.g., 0.5 .OMEGA.. If the standard deviation is not less than the threshold, the tester 202 increases the overdrive (at 318), compares the overdrive (at 306), measures the contact resistance (at 310), and computes the standard deviation (at 312) until the standard deviation is less than the threshold; Paragraph [0036] Line 1-7); remeasuring the contact resistance between the electrical probes and the contact pads of the target device [310] (compares the overdrive (at 306), measures the contact resistance (at 310), and computes the standard deviation (at 312) until the standard deviation is less than the threshold; Paragraph [0036] Line 1-7) , subsequent to each contact overdrive increment of the specified fixed amount ( If, on the other hand, the standard deviation on all pins is less than the threshold, the controller 204 optionally determines whether to do a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact between the wafer 211 and the SIU 205 (at 316). If so, the method returns to 306 after optionally increasing the overdrive at 319; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-6); and one of: (i) performing the electrical characterization measurement ( Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 6-8) when the remeasured contact resistance between the electrical probes and the contact pads of the target device is determined to be less than the contact resistance threshold ( If, on the other hand, the standard deviation on all pins is less than the threshold, the controller 204 optionally determines whether to do a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact between the wafer 211 and the SIU 205 (at 316). If so, the method returns to 306 after optionally increasing the overdrive at 319. Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-8); and (ii) skip the electrical characterization measurement of the target device, in response to determining that the contact resistance between the electrical probes and the contact pads of the target device is still not less than the contact resistance threshold after a total amount of contact overdrive has reached the specified maximum amount of contact overdrive ( Step 314 shows if the contact resistance is not less than threshold then it goes back to process of increasing overdrive and skips the process of 316 and 320. Therefore, it skips the electrical characterization measurement of the target device, in response to determining that the contact resistance between the electrical probes and the contact pads of the target device is still not less than the contact resistance threshold after a total amount of contact overdrive has reached the specified maximum amount of contact overdrive). Regarding claim 20, Savagaonkar teaches, a method, wherein determining whether to perform the electrical characterization measurement of the target device, based on the result of comparing the measured contact resistance with the contact resistance threshold, comprises: performing a contact stability check process to determine whether the contact between the electrical probes and contact pads of the target device is stable (I f, on the other hand, the standard deviation on all pins is less than the threshold, the controller 204 optionally determines whether to do a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact between the wafer 211 and the SIU 205 (at 316). If so, the method returns to 306 after optionally increasing the overdrive at 319. Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-8), in response to determining that the measured contact resistance is less than the contact resistance threshold ( The adaptive nature of the DOC method 300 proves particularly valuable to low-k dielectric wafers that develop latent defects in their inter layer dielectrics due to probing pressures. And the DOC method 300 does not require heuristically determining the appropriate overdrive. As the DOC method 300 adapts to each wafer lot, the overdrive is set accurately from the first production run. Finally, the DOC method 300 determines the contact quality before wafer sorting. This reduces the number of resorts performed due to poor contact; Paragraph [0041] Line 1-9); and performing the electrical characterization measurement ( Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 6-8), in response to determining that the contact between the electrical probes and contact pads of the target device is stable ( If, on the other hand, the standard deviation on all pins is less than the threshold, the controller 204 optionally determines whether to do a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact between the wafer 211 and the SIU 205 (at 316). If so, the method returns to 306 after optionally increasing the overdrive at 319. Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-8); wherein performing the contact stability check process, comprises: repeating a contact resistance measurement operation for a specified number of times, to obtain a plurality of contact resistance measurements ( Referring back to FIGS. 2-4, in one embodiment, the tester 202 may measure the contact resistance of all (e.g., 132) channels 404 on each of a plurality of dies 402 on the wafer 400. In another embodiment, the tester 202 measures the contact resistance of a grouping of channels 404 (i.e., less than all) on each of the plurality of dies on the wafer 400. The grouping of channels 404 might be related, e.g., to their functionality. Or the grouping of channels 404 might be related to a predetermined random number of channels tested on each of the plurality of dies on the wafer 400. The controller 204 moves the chuck 209 such that the pins 208 make contact with the various dies 402 (and their associated contact points 404) on the wafer 400 and dictates the tester 202 to measure contact resistance on these dies; Paragraph [0032] Line 1-14); determining an amount of variation of the plurality of contact resistance measurements ( The tester 202 measures contact resistance in a variety of manners. In one embodiment, the tester 202 forces a known current I (e.g., 10 mA) through a pin, measures a voltage V, and calculates the ratio of V/I; Paragraph [0033] Line 1-4); and determining whether the contact between the electrical probes and the contact pads of the target device is stable, based on the determined amount of variation ( If, on the other hand, the standard deviation on all pins is less than the threshold, the controller 204 optionally determines whether to do a redundant iteration to ensure accurate contact between the wafer 211 and the SIU 205 (at 316). If so, the method returns to 306 after optionally increasing the overdrive at 319. Alternatively, the controller 204 might stop and report a success in establishing reliable contact at 320 directly from 314; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-8) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Savagaonkar ‘734 A1 in view of Mok et al. (Hereinafter, “Mok”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20100213960 A1 . Regarding claim 10, Savagaonkar fails to teach a system, wherein: the electrical probes comprise a 4-wire probe; and the electrical characterization measurement comprises a 4-wire resistance measurement operation to measure a resistance of the target device. Mok teaches measurement and analysis of Integrated Circuit (IC) wafer probe cards (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-2), wherein: the electrical probes comprise a 4-wire probe; and the electrical characterization measurement comprises a 4-wire resistance measurement operation to measure a resistance of the target device ( Each source meter 110 performs electrical measurements of probe card 500. Meters 110 are connected through switch matrix 210 to probe card 500. For example, in the illustrated embodiment, each meter 110 is a 4-wire resistance meter having four terminals 121, 122, 123, and 124 corresponding to Force+ or F+, Sense+ or S+, Sense- or S-, and Force- or F-, and switch electronics 210 can switch each or all of terminals 121, 122, 123, and 124 to any of the tester channel terminals 221-1 to 221-n connected to probe card 500; Paragraph [0049] Line 1-9; f our wire probe is used to measure resistance of the target device ). The purpose of doing so is to provide simplicity and to provide a concrete example, to increase the speed or capabilities of the probe card analysis, can quickly and accurately measures the contact resistance of the individual probes without the variations caused by mechanical relays. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Savagaonkar in view of Mok, because Mok teaches to include a 4-wire probe provides the simplicity and provides a concrete example, to increase the speed or capabilities of the probe card analysis (Paragraph [0049]), can quickly and accurately measures the contact resistance of the individual probes without the variations caused by mechanical relays (Paragraph [0056]) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Saijyo et al. (US 20050258835 A1) discloses, “Method Of Measuring Contact Resistance Of Probe And Method Of Testing Semiconductor Device- [0009] A measuring method of the contact resistance of a probe of the present invention includes bringing a plurality of probes including a first and second probes into contact with a plurality of electrode pads that is disposed on a semiconductor device to be electrically tested and connected each other with a conductive wiring. [0024] In FIG. 1, a schematic block diagram of a prober 10 according to the present embodiment is shown. The prober 10 includes a tester 14 that tests electric characteristics of a semiconductor device (such as CPU, RAM and ROM) formed on a wafer 12 to be tested and measures contact resistance thereof described later; a probe card 18 that, with connected to the tester 14 and with the probe 16 brought into contact with the electrode pad of the semiconductor device, electrically connects the semiconductor device and the tester 14; and a table 20 or the like that moves the wafer 12 so that the probe 16 may come into contact with the electrode pad of the semiconductor device. [0025] The tester 14 and the probe card 18 are controlled with a control portion 22. The table 20 is controlled through a drive portion 24 with the control portion 22. The drive portion 24 drives the table 20 in up and down direction and in left and right direction. That is, the drive portion 24 can move the table 20 in an X-axis direction, a Y-axis direction perpendicular to the X-axis direction, and a Z-axis direction perpendicular to both the X-axis and Y-axis direction shown in FIG. 1, and circularly with the Z-axis at a center. [0026] To the control portion 22, an operation portion 26 that inputs operation instructions and various kinds of parameters; a display portion 28 that displays test results of the wafer 12 and measurements of the contact resistances between the probe 16 and the electrode pad of the semiconductor device-However Saijyo does not disclose cause the prober unit to increment a contact overdrive by a specified amount to increase a contact pressure between the electrical probes and the contact pads of the target device.” Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NASIMA MONSUR whose telephone number is (571)272-8497. The examiner can normally be reached 10:00 am-6:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eman Alkafawi can be reached at (571) 272-4448. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 2 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 3 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 4 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 5 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 6 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 7 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 8 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 9 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 10 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 11 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 12 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 13 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 14 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 15 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 16 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 17 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 18 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 19 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 20 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 21 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 22 Art Unit: 2858 Application/Control Number: 18/244,566 Page 23 Art Unit: 2858