DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0072905 (Lam et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0036780 (Abraham).
With regards to claim 1, Lam et al. discloses an ultrasonic probe system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-17, a phased array scanning device 10,100 (e.g. ultrasonic probe apparatus; paragraphs [0049],[0068]) comprising a frame 12,160 (e.g. housing; paragraphs [0050],[0071]) including a top base and side walls extending downwardly from edges of the top base (e.g. observed in Figures 1-2,14-16); at least one deformable bladder 120 (e.g. transparent member; paragraphs [0068]-[0071]) stretched between bottom ends of the side walls such that the at least one deformable bladder, the top base, and the side walls define an interior chamber 110 (e.g. cavity; paragraphs [0068],[0070],[0071]); at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 62,115 (e.g. phased array probe; paragraphs [0057],[0069]) within the interior chamber (e.g. observed in Figures 2,13-17); the interior chamber or a section of the interior chamber includes at least one coupling substance (e.g. water; paragraph [0068]). (See, paragraphs [0048] to [0075]).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is at least one motor operable to translate the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers across the length and/or width of the interior chamber.
Abraham discloses an ultrasonic transducer system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-9, a phased array scanning device (e.g. system illustrated in Figures 1A-1B) comprising a frame 103 (e.g. housing; paragraph [0032]) including a top base and side walls extending downwardly from edges of the top base (e.g. observed in Figures 1A-1B); interior chamber (e.g. open area within the housing; observed in Figures 1A-1B); at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 101,102 (e.g. transducer with linear array transducer elements; paragraphs [0032]) within the interior chamber (e.g. observed in Figures 2,13-17); at least one coupling substance (e.g. gel; paragraphs [0003],[0032]); at least one motor 108 (e.g. motor; paragraph [0032]) operable to translate the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers across the length and/or width of the interior chamber (e.g. paragraphs [0032],[0034],[0046]; Figures 2,3). (See, paragraphs [0032] to [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing at least one motor operable to translate the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers across the length and/or width of the interior chamber as suggested by Abraham to the system of Lam et al. to have the ability to provide a more enhanced inspection image of the test object by controlling the direction of sound wave propagation, direction and depth of the signal from the linear array of transducer. (See, paragraphs [0042] to [0042] of Abraham).
With regards to claim 2, Lam et al. further discloses at least one pump configured to pump in the at least one coupling substance into the interior chamber or the section of the interior chamber (e.g. fluid port for delivering fluid along with a fluid regulating device to control the fluid pressure in the cavity; paragraphs [0070],[0053]).
With regards to claim 3, Lam et al. further discloses the bottom ends of the side walls of the frame 160 include at least one suction cup and/or at least one magnet (e.g. magnet creates a magnetic force; paragraph [0071]).
With regards to claim 4, Lam et al. further discloses the scanning device is a handheld scanner in paragraph [0010] such that a handle of some sort is deemed inherently necessary in order to hold the scanning device; however, the reference does not explicitly specify at least one handle extends upwardly from the top base of the frame. To have set such structural characteristics as to include a handle extends upwardly from the top base of the frame is considered to have been a matter of choice location possibilities of where to position the handle would have been obvious to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention without departing from the scope of the invention and without altering and/or changing the operation and/or function of the handle, namely to allow the operator/user to hold the scanning device.
With regards to claim 5, Abraham further discloses interior surfaces of the side walls of the frame 103 include linear grooves (e.g. grooves/openings are inherent for the rod 304,305; Figure 3; paragraph [0046]) such that edges of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 102 are configured to fit within and move through the linear grooves. (See, paragraph [0046]; Figure 3). [NOTE: grooves/slots 48 for the linear array of transducer 404 is a known concept as evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0173304 in paragraph [0028] and illustrated in Figure 4].
With regards to claim 6, Lam et al. further discloses the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 115 includes a plurality of linear arrays of ultrasonic transducers (e.g. two-dimensional square where the probe elements are arranged as a square matrix; paragraph [0058]).
With regards to claim 7, Lam et al. further discloses the coupling substances includes water, an acoustic gel, and/or one or more polymer blocks (e.g. water; paragraphs [0053],[0068]).
With regards to claim 8, Abraham further discloses the side walls of the frame 103 include one or more recesses (e.g. recesses/openings are inherent for the rod 304,305; Figure 3; paragraph [0046]) such that the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 102 is configured to fit within the one or more recesses before and/or after performing a full scan. (See, paragraph [0046]; Figure 3). [NOTE: recesses/slots 48 for the linear array of transducer 404 is a known concept as evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0173304 in paragraph [0028] and illustrated in Figure 4].
With regards to claim 9, Lam et al. discloses an ultrasonic probe system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-17, a method for performing non-destructive testing comprising providing a frame 12,160 (e.g. housing; paragraphs [0050],[0071]) including a top base and side walls extending downwardly from edges of the top base and having at least one deformable bladder 120 (e.g. transparent member; paragraphs [0068]-[0071]) stretched between bottom ends of the side walls such that the at least one deformable bladder, the top base, and the side walls define an interior chamber 110 (e.g. cavity; paragraphs [0068],[0070],[0071]); one or more pulser receivers 63,68 (e.g. phased array controller having with control circuits; paragraph [0059]) individually firing each transducer in the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers according to a predetermined pattern. (See, paragraphs [0048] to [0075]).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is at least one motor operable to translate the at least one linear array across a length and/or a width of the interior chamber.
Abraham discloses an ultrasonic transducer system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-9, a phased array scanning device (e.g. system illustrated in Figures 1A-1B) comprising a frame 103 (e.g. housing; paragraph [0032]) including a top base and side walls extending downwardly from edges of the top base (e.g. observed in Figures 1A-1B); interior chamber (e.g. open area within the housing; observed in Figures 1A-1B); at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 101,102 (e.g. transducer with linear array transducer elements; paragraphs [0032]) within the interior chamber (e.g. observed in Figures 2,13-17); at least one coupling substance (e.g. gel; paragraphs [0003],[0032]); at least one motor 108 (e.g. motor; paragraph [0032]) operable to translate the at least one linear array across a length and/or a width of the interior chamber (e.g. paragraphs [0032],[0034],[0046]; Figures 2,3). (See, paragraphs [0032] to [0056]).
With regards to claim 10, Abraham does not disclose such parameter (the at least one linear array translates across the full length and/or width of the interior chamber within approximately 2-5 seconds) as in the claim. However, to have set such time characteristics as in the claim is considered to have been a matter of optimization and choice possibilities based on the amount of time desired by the operator/user would have been obvious to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention without departing from the scope of the invention.
With regards to claim 11, Lam et al. further discloses attaching the frame to a test object to be scanned via one or more suction cups and/or magnets connected to the frame (e.g. magnet creates a magnetic force; paragraph [0071]).
With regards to claim 12, Abraham further discloses the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 102 moving out of at least one recess (e.g. recesses/openings are inherent for the rod 304,305; Figure 3; paragraph [0046]) in the frame to begin and moving back within the at least one recess in the frame to end the scan. (See, paragraph [0046]; Figure 3). [NOTE: recesses/slots 48 for the linear array of transducer 404 is a known concept as evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0173304 in paragraph [0028] and illustrated in Figure 4].
With regards to claim 13, Lam et al. further discloses filling the interior chamber with at least one coupling substance (e.g. water; paragraph [0068])
With regards to claim 14, Lam et al. further discloses the filling of the interior chamber is done by at least one pump connected to the interior chamber (e.g. fluid port for delivering fluid along with a fluid regulating device to control the fluid pressure in the cavity; paragraphs [0070],[0053]).
With regards to claim 15, Abraham further discloses interior surfaces of the side walls of the frame include linear grooves (e.g. grooves/openings are inherent for the rod 304,305; Figure 3; paragraph [0046]) where edges of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 102 are configured to fit within and move through the linear grooves. (See, paragraph [0046]; Figure 3). [NOTE: grooves/slots 48 for the linear array of transducer 404 is a known concept as evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0173304 in paragraph [0028] and illustrated in Figure 4].
With regards to claim 16, Lam et al. further discloses the scanning device is a handheld scanner in paragraph [0010] such that a handle of some sort is deemed inherently necessary in order to hold the scanning device; however, the reference does not explicitly specify at least one handle extends upwardly from the top base of the frame. To have set such structural characteristics as to include a handle extends upwardly from the top base of the frame is considered to have been a matter of choice location possibilities of where to position the handle would have been obvious to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention without departing from the scope of the invention and without altering and/or changing the operation and/or function of the handle, namely to allow the operator/user to hold the scanning device.
With regards to claim 17, Lam et al. discloses an ultrasonic probe system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-17, a phased array scanning device 10,100 (e.g. ultrasonic probe apparatus; paragraphs [0049],[0068]) comprising a frame 12,160 (e.g. housing; paragraphs [0050],[0071]) including a top base and side walls extending downwardly from edges of the top base; at least one deformable bladder 120 (e.g. transparent member; paragraphs [0068]-[0071]) stretched between bottom ends of the side walls such that the at least one deformable bladder, the top base, and the side walls define an interior chamber 110 (e.g. cavity; paragraphs [0068],[0070],[0071]); at least one linear array of scanning elements 62,115 (e.g. phased array probe; paragraphs [0057],[0069]) within the interior chamber; the at least one linear array of scanning elements 62,115 is operable to pivot at one end of the linear array such that the at least one linear array is able to rotate by approximately 90 degrees and subsequently continue a scan (e.g. broadly interpreted such that the probe having the at least one linear array is able to pivot, like rotating, about the axial axis at an perpendicular angle of the probe housing; Abstract, paragraphs [0024],[0052],[0053],[0073]; Figure 9). (See, paragraphs [0048] to [0075]).
The only difference between the prior art and the claimed invention is at least one motor operable to translate the at least one linear array of scanning elements across a length and/or a width of the interior chamber.
Abraham discloses an ultrasonic transducer system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-9, a phased array scanning device (e.g. system illustrated in Figures 1A-1B) comprising a frame 103 (e.g. housing; paragraph [0032]) including a top base and side walls extending downwardly from edges of the top base (e.g. observed in Figures 1A-1B); interior chamber (e.g. open area within the housing; observed in Figures 1A-1B); at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 101,102 (e.g. transducer with linear array transducer elements; paragraphs [0032]) within the interior chamber (e.g. observed in Figures 2,13-17); at least one coupling substance (e.g. gel; paragraphs [0003],[0032]); at least one motor 108 (e.g. motor; paragraph [0032]) operable to translate the at least one linear array across the length and/or width of the interior chamber (e.g. paragraphs [0032],[0034],[0046]; Figures 2,3). (See, paragraphs [0032] to [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing at least one motor operable to translate the at least one linear array across a length and/or a width of the interior chamber as suggested by Abraham to the system of Lam et al. to have the ability to provide a more enhanced inspection image of the test object by controlling the direction of sound wave propagation, direction and depth of the signal from the linear array of transducer. (See, paragraphs [0042] to [0042] of Abraham).
With regards to claim 18, Lam et al. further discloses the at least one linear array of scanning elements 115 includes a plurality of linear arrays of ultrasonic transducers (e.g. two-dimensional square where the probe elements are arranged as a square matrix; paragraph [0058]).
With regards to claim 19, Abraham further discloses the side walls of the frame include one or more recesses (e.g. recesses/openings are inherent for the rod 304,305; Figure 3; paragraph [0046]) where the at least one linear array of scanning elements 102 is configured to fit within the one or more recesses before and/or after performing a full scan. (See, paragraph [0046]; Figure 3). [NOTE: recesses/slots 48 for the linear array of transducer 404 is a known concept as evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0173304 in paragraph [0028] and illustrated in Figure 4].
With regards to claim 20, Abraham further discloses interior surfaces of the side walls of the frame include linear grooves (e.g. grooves/openings are inherent for the rod 304,305; Figure 3; paragraph [0046]) where edges of the at least one linear array of scanning elements 102 are configured to fit within and move through the linear grooves. (See, paragraph [0046]; Figure 3). [NOTE: grooves/slots 48 for the linear array of transducer 404 is a known concept as evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0173304 in paragraph [0028] and illustrated in Figure 4].
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments filed December 18, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argues one of ordinary skill in the art could not combine Lam reference and Abraham reference.
In response to applicant's argument that Lam reference and Abraham reference is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, both of the references, Lam and Abraham, are related to using ultrasonic probe system comprising a linear array of ultrasonic transducers for detect and monitor changes, like anomalies, of a test object. At the same time, applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Furthermore, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Furthermore, Applicant’s argues Abraham does not suggest the linear array of ultrasonic transducers are within an interior chamber of a frame.
Abraham, as illustrated in Figure 1B, discloses a frame 103 (e.g. housing) includes an interior chamber for the linear array of ultrasonic transducers 102. As disclosed in paragraph [0032], the “transducer element or a linear array 102 within housing 103”. Hence, one can interpret that the linear array of ultrasonic transducer are within the interior chamber of the frame. NOTE: Having an ultrasonic transducer within an interior chamber of a frame is known and acknowledged by Applicant in paragraph [0028] of the Instant application by U.S Patent Application Publication 2016/0243382 issued to Jo disclosing an apparatus for generating high intensity focused ultrasound including a housing which is filled with ultrasound transmitting medium and an ultrasound transducer which is movably disposed inside the housing having a driving unit which linearly moves the ultrasound transducer.
Furthermore, Applicant’s argues Lam does not disclose "wherein the bottom ends of the side walls of the frame include at least one suction cup and/or at least one magnet", as presently claimed in claims 3 and 11.
Lam indicates in paragraph [0071] that the frame 160 (e.g. housing) is secured to the position block 140 by a magnetic force, which implicitly deem a magnet is deemed necessary to produce a magnetic force, for easy and quick change of the position block for differing configuration
Furthermore, Applicant’s argue Abraham and additional cited reference US2006/0173304 do not disclose "wherein the side walls of the frame include one or more recesses, and wherein the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers is configured to fit within the one or more recesses before and/or after performing a full scan", as presently claimed in claims 8, 12 and 19
Lam indicates in paragraph [0046] that the side walls of the frame 103 (e.g. housing) comprises guide rods 300,301,302,303 which allow y-axis rod 304 to move in an up/down direction and x-axis rod 305 to move left/right direction. In order for the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod to move along the guide rods, each of the guide rods would need to have a recess/slot to position the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod such that the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod has the ability to travel along its respective axis. For the purpose of a conceptual visual, US2006/0173304 issued to Wang is used to illustrate the side walls for the frame 406 include a recess/slot 408 for the ultrasonic transducer 404 traveling along the recess or slot. Hence, broadly interpreting the claim and for the comments set forth above, Lam suggests the sidewalls of the frame 103 include recess/slot for the linear array of ultrasonic transducers to be fitted within the recess (e.g. since the linear array ultrasonic transducer is attached and part of the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod and the x-rod and the y-rod are positioned within the recess/slot of the guide rods) before the scan since the ultrasonic transducers would normally and generally be installed before scanning starts for the entire system to be operable and functional.
Furthermore, Applicant’s argue Lam does not disclose "one or more pulser receivers individually firing each transducer in the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers according to a predetermined pattern", as presently claimed in claim 9.
Lam indicated in paragraph [0020] “a phased array controller for selectively applying varying time delays to the probe elements in the ultrasonic probe such that the ultrasonic beams generated by the ultrasonic probe are steered into a direction in or off the normal direction of the ultrasonic probe”. As illustrated in Figure 7 and disclosed in paragraph [0059], one or more pulser receivers 63,68 (e.g. phased array controller along with array control circuit) control which probe elements are triggered by the pulses each time and, depending on the selected group or individual probe element according to a predetermined pattern (e.g. electrical pulses can be sent at the same time pattern or at different times pattern) to generate ultrasound by sending a high voltage pulse to each of the probe elements and the ultrasonic waves received by the probe elements would be converted into electric signals which would be received by the pulser receivers 63,68 to be processed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855