DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 21, 22 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
In claim 21, line 1, it appears the phrase -- of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers -- should be inserted after the word “rotation” to provide better clarification what is being rotated. In lines 3-4, the phrase “ the at least one linear array of scanning elements” should be changed to -- the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers -- to provide proper antecedent basis.
In claim 22, lines 3-4, the phrase “ the at least one linear array of scanning elements” should be changed to -- the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers -- to provide proper antecedent basis.
In claim 23, line 1, it appears the phrase -- of the at least one linear array of scanning elements -- should be inserted after the word “rotation” to provide better clarification what is being rotated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-15 and 17-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2011/0072905 (Lam et al.) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2009/0036780 (Abraham) and U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0241453 (Nguyen-Dinh et al.).
With regards to claim 1, Lam et al. discloses an ultrasonic probe system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-17, a phased array scanning device 10,100 (e.g. ultrasonic probe apparatus; paragraphs [0049],[0068]) comprising a frame 12,160 (e.g. housing; paragraphs [0050],[0071]) including a top base and side walls extending downwardly from edges of the top base (e.g. observed in Figures 1-2,14-16); at least one deformable bladder 120 (e.g. transparent member; paragraphs [0068]-[0071]) stretched between bottom ends of the side walls such that the at least one deformable bladder, the top base, and the side walls define an interior chamber 110 (e.g. cavity; paragraphs [0068],[0070],[0071]); at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 62,115 (e.g. phased array probe; paragraphs [0057],[0069]) within the interior chamber (e.g. observed in Figures 2,13-17); the interior chamber or a section of the interior chamber includes at least one coupling substance (e.g. water; paragraph [0068]). (See, paragraphs [0048] to [0075]).
The only differences between the prior art and the claimed invention are 1) at least one motor operable to translate the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers across the length and/or width of the interior chamber; 2) the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers is operable to rotate approximately 90 degrees about a pivot point at one end of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers.
For difference 1), Abraham discloses an ultrasonic transducer system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-9, a phased array scanning device (e.g. system illustrated in Figures 1A-1B) comprising a frame 103 (e.g. housing; paragraph [0032]) including a top base and side walls extending downwardly from edges of the top base (e.g. observed in Figures 1A-1B); interior chamber (e.g. open area within the housing; observed in Figures 1A-1B); at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 101,102 (e.g. transducer with linear array transducer elements; paragraphs [0032]) within the interior chamber (e.g. observed in Figures 2,13-17; Abraham, as illustrated in Figure 1B, discloses a frame 103 - e.g. housing, includes an interior chamber for the linear array of ultrasonic transducers 102. As disclosed in paragraph [0032], the “transducer element or a linear array 102 within housing 103”. Hence, one can interpret that the linear array of ultrasonic transducer are within the interior chamber of the frame.); at least one coupling substance (e.g. gel; paragraphs [0003],[0032]); at least one motor 108 (e.g. motor; paragraph [0032]) operable to translate the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers across the length and/or width of the interior chamber (e.g. paragraphs [0032],[0034],[0046]; Figures 2,3). (See, paragraphs [0032] to [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing at least one motor operable to translate the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers across the length and/or width of the interior chamber as suggested by Abraham to the system of Lam et al. to have the ability to provide a more enhanced inspection image of the test object by controlling the direction of sound wave propagation, direction and depth of the signal from the linear array of transducer. (See, paragraphs [0042] to [0042] of Abraham).
For difference 2), Ngueyen-Dinh et al. discloses an ultrasonic probe for scanning comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-5, a phased array scanning device (e.g. system illustrated in Figures 1A-5) comprising at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 1 (e.g. linear array transducer probe; paragraphs [0038],[0037]; Figures 1C,1B); a housing 8 (e.g. housing; paragraph [0048]) includes an interior chamber for the linear array of ultrasonic transducers (e.g. observed in Figure 4); at least one motor 3 (e.g. motor; paragraph [0038],[0037]; Figures 1B) operable to translate the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers across a length and/or width (e.g. slides along major axis; paragraph [0038]; Figure 1B) wherein the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 1 is operable to rotate approximately 90 degrees about a pivot point at one end of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers (e.g. transducer 1 is attached to a coupling arm 31 and is capable of rotating 90 degrees about a pivot point at one end of the transducer – end side of the linear array of transducers which is attached to the coupling arm 31; paragraph [0037]; Figure 1B). (See, paragraphs [0035] to [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing at least one motor operable to translate the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers across the length and/or width of the interior chamber wherein the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers is operable to rotate approximately 90 degrees about a pivot point at one end of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers as suggested by Nguyen-Dinh et al. to the system of Lam et al. to have the ability to provide a more enhanced 2D or 3D inspection image of the test object by controlling the direction of propagation, direction and depth of the emitted signal from the linear array of transducer. (See, paragraphs [0008], [0035],[0037],[0038] of Nguyen-Dinh et al.).
With regards to claim 2, Lam et al. further discloses at least one pump configured to pump in the at least one coupling substance into the interior chamber or the section of the interior chamber (e.g. fluid port for delivering fluid along with a fluid regulating device to control the fluid pressure in the cavity; paragraphs [0070],[0053]).
With regards to claim 3, Lam et al. further discloses the bottom ends of the side walls of the frame 160 include at least one suction cup and/or at least one magnet (e.g. paragraph [0071] that the frame 160 - e.g. housing, is secured to the position block 140 by a magnetic force, which implicitly deem a magnet is deemed necessary to produce a magnetic force, for easy and quick change of the position block for differing configuration).
With regards to claim 5, Abraham further discloses interior surfaces of the side walls of the frame 103 include linear grooves (e.g. grooves/openings are inherent for the rod 304,305; Figure 3; paragraph [0046]) such that edges of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 102 are configured to fit within and move through the linear grooves. (See, paragraph [0046]; Figure 3). [NOTE: grooves/slots 48 for the linear array of transducer 404 is a known concept as evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0173304 in paragraph [0028] and illustrated in Figure 4].
With regards to claim 6, Lam et al. further discloses the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 115 includes a plurality of linear arrays of ultrasonic transducers (e.g. two-dimensional square where the probe elements are arranged as a square matrix; paragraph [0058]).
With regards to claim 8, Abraham further discloses the side walls of the frame 103 include one or more recesses (e.g. recesses/openings are inherent for the rod 304,305; Figure 3; paragraph [0046]) such that the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 102 is configured to fit within the one or more recesses before and/or after performing a full scan. (See, paragraph [0046]; Figure 3). [NOTE: recesses/slots 48 for the linear array of transducer 404 is a known concept as evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0173304 in paragraph [0028] and illustrated in Figure 4]. Also, Abraham indicates in paragraph [0046] that the side walls of the frame 103 (e.g. housing) comprises guide rods 300,301,302,303 which allow y-axis rod 304 to move in an up/down direction and x-axis rod 305 to move left/right direction. In order for the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod to move along the guide rods, each of the guide rods would need to have a recess/slot to position the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod such that the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod has the ability to travel along its respective axis. For the purpose of a conceptual visual, US2006/0173304 issued to Wang is used to illustrate the side walls for the frame 406 include a recess/slot 408 for the ultrasonic transducer 404 traveling along the recess or slot. Hence, broadly interpreting the claim and for the comments set forth above, Lam suggests the sidewalls of the frame 103 include recess/slot for the linear array of ultrasonic transducers to be fitted within the recess (e.g. since the linear array ultrasonic transducer is attached and part of the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod and the x-rod and the y-rod are positioned within the recess/slot of the guide rods) before the scan since the ultrasonic transducers would normally and generally be installed before scanning starts for the entire system to be operable and functional.
With regards to claim 9, Lam et al. discloses an ultrasonic probe system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-17, a method for performing non-destructive testing comprising providing a frame 12,160 (e.g. housing; paragraphs [0050],[0071]) including a top base and side walls extending downwardly from edges of the top base and having at least one deformable bladder 120 (e.g. transparent member; paragraphs [0068]-[0071]) stretched between bottom ends of the side walls such that the at least one deformable bladder, the top base, and the side walls define an interior chamber 110 (e.g. cavity; paragraphs [0068],[0070],[0071]); one or more pulser receivers 63,68 (e.g. phased array controller having with control circuits; paragraph [0059]) individually firing each transducer in the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers according to a predetermined pattern (e.g. paragraph [0020] “a phased array controller for selectively applying varying time delays to the probe elements in the ultrasonic probe such that the ultrasonic beams generated by the ultrasonic probe are steered into a direction in or off the normal direction of the ultrasonic probe”. As illustrated in Figure 7 and disclosed in paragraph [0059], one or more pulser receivers 63,68 - e.g. phased array controller along with array control circuit, control which probe elements are triggered by the pulses each time and, depending on the selected group or individual probe element according to a predetermined pattern - e.g. electrical pulses can be sent at the same time pattern or at different times pattern, to generate ultrasound by sending a high voltage pulse to each of the probe elements and the ultrasonic waves received by the probe elements would be converted into electric signals which would be received by the pulser receivers 63,68 to be processed). (See, paragraphs [0048] to [0075]).
The only differences between the prior art and the claimed invention are 1) at least one motor operable to translate the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers across the length and/or width of the interior chamber; 2) the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers is operable to rotate approximately 90 degrees about a pivot point at one end of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers.
For difference 1), Abraham discloses an ultrasonic transducer system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-9, a phased array scanning device (e.g. system illustrated in Figures 1A-1B) comprising a frame 103 (e.g. housing; paragraph [0032]) including a top base and side walls extending downwardly from edges of the top base (e.g. observed in Figures 1A-1B); interior chamber (e.g. open area within the housing; observed in Figures 1A-1B); at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 101,102 (e.g. transducer with linear array transducer elements; paragraphs [0032]) within the interior chamber (e.g. observed in Figures 2,13-17; Abraham, as illustrated in Figure 1B, discloses a frame 103 - e.g. housing, includes an interior chamber for the linear array of ultrasonic transducers 102. As disclosed in paragraph [0032], the “transducer element or a linear array 102 within housing 103”. Hence, one can interpret that the linear array of ultrasonic transducer are within the interior chamber of the frame.); at least one coupling substance (e.g. gel; paragraphs [0003],[0032]); at least one motor 108 (e.g. motor; paragraph [0032]) operable to translate the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers across the length and/or width of the interior chamber (e.g. paragraphs [0032],[0034],[0046]; Figures 2,3). (See, paragraphs [0032] to [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing at least one motor operable to translate the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers across the length and/or width of the interior chamber as suggested by Abraham to the system of Lam et al. to have the ability to provide a more enhanced inspection image of the test object by controlling the direction of sound wave propagation, direction and depth of the signal from the linear array of transducer. (See, paragraphs [0042] to [0042] of Abraham).
For difference 2), Ngueyen-Dinh et al. discloses an ultrasonic probe for scanning comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-5, a phased array scanning device (e.g. system illustrated in Figures 1A-5) comprising at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 1 (e.g. linear array transducer probe; paragraphs [0038],[0037]; Figures 1C,1B); a housing 8 (e.g. housing; paragraph [0048]) includes an interior chamber for the linear array of ultrasonic transducers (e.g. observed in Figure 4); at least one motor 3 (e.g. motor; paragraph [0038],[0037]; Figures 1B) operable to translate the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers across a length and/or width (e.g. slides along major axis; paragraph [0038]; Figure 1B) wherein the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 1 is operable to rotate approximately 90 degrees about a pivot point at one end of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers (e.g. transducer 1 is attached to a coupling arm 31 and is capable of rotating 90 degrees about a pivot point at one end of the transducer – end side of the linear array of transducers which is attached to the coupling arm 31; paragraph [0037]; Figure 1B). (See, paragraphs [0035] to [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing at least one motor operable to translate the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers across the length and/or width of the interior chamber wherein the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers is operable to rotate approximately 90 degrees about a pivot point at one end of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers as suggested by Nguyen-Dinh et al. to the system of Lam et al. to have the ability to provide a more enhanced 2D or 3D inspection image of the test object by controlling the direction of propagation, direction and depth of the emitted signal from the linear array of transducer. (See, paragraphs [0008], [0035],[0037],[0038] of Nguyen-Dinh et al.).
With regards to claim 10, Abraham does not disclose such parameter (the at least one linear array translates across the full length and/or width of the interior chamber within approximately 2-5 seconds) as in the claim. However, to have set such time characteristics as in the claim is considered to have been a matter of optimization and choice possibilities based on the amount of time desired by the operator/user would have been obvious to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention without departing from the scope of the invention.
With regards to claim 11, Lam et al. further discloses attaching the frame to a test object to be scanned via one or more suction cups and/or magnets connected to the frame (e.g. paragraph [0071] that the frame 160 - e.g. housing, is secured to the position block 140 by a magnetic force, which implicitly deem a magnet is deemed necessary to produce a magnetic force, for easy and quick change of the position block for differing configuration).
With regards to claim 12, Abraham further discloses the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 102 moving out of at least one recess (e.g. recesses/openings are inherent for the rod 304,305; Figure 3; paragraph [0046]) in the frame to begin and moving back within the at least one recess in the frame to end the scan. (See, paragraph [0046]; Figure 3). [NOTE: recesses/slots 48 for the linear array of transducer 404 is a known concept as evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0173304 in paragraph [0028] and illustrated in Figure 4]. Also, Abraham indicates in paragraph [0046] that the side walls of the frame 103 (e.g. housing) comprises guide rods 300,301,302,303 which allow y-axis rod 304 to move in an up/down direction and x-axis rod 305 to move left/right direction. In order for the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod to move along the guide rods, each of the guide rods would need to have a recess/slot to position the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod such that the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod has the ability to travel along its respective axis. For the purpose of a conceptual visual, US2006/0173304 issued to Wang is used to illustrate the side walls for the frame 406 include a recess/slot 408 for the ultrasonic transducer 404 traveling along the recess or slot. Hence, broadly interpreting the claim and for the comments set forth above, Lam suggests the sidewalls of the frame 103 include recess/slot for the linear array of ultrasonic transducers to be fitted within the recess (e.g. since the linear array ultrasonic transducer is attached and part of the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod and the x-rod and the y-rod are positioned within the recess/slot of the guide rods) before the scan since the ultrasonic transducers would normally and generally be installed before scanning starts for the entire system to be operable and functional.
With regards to claim 13, Lam et al. further discloses filling the interior chamber with at least one coupling substance (e.g. water; paragraph [0068])
With regards to claim 14, Lam et al. further discloses the filling of the interior chamber is done by at least one pump connected to the interior chamber (e.g. fluid port for delivering fluid along with a fluid regulating device to control the fluid pressure in the cavity; paragraphs [0070],[0053]).
With regards to claim 15, Abraham further discloses interior surfaces of the side walls of the frame include linear grooves (e.g. grooves/openings are inherent for the rod 304,305; Figure 3; paragraph [0046]) where edges of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers 102 are configured to fit within and move through the linear grooves. (See, paragraph [0046]; Figure 3). [NOTE: grooves/slots 48 for the linear array of transducer 404 is a known concept as evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0173304 in paragraph [0028] and illustrated in Figure 4].
With regards to claim 17, Lam et al. discloses an ultrasonic probe system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-17, a phased array scanning device 10,100 (e.g. ultrasonic probe apparatus; paragraphs [0049],[0068]) comprising a frame 12,160 (e.g. housing; paragraphs [0050],[0071]) including a top base and side walls extending downwardly from edges of the top base; at least one deformable bladder 120 (e.g. transparent member; paragraphs [0068]-[0071]) stretched between bottom ends of the side walls such that the at least one deformable bladder, the top base, and the side walls define an interior chamber 110 (e.g. cavity; paragraphs [0068],[0070],[0071]); at least one linear array of scanning elements 62,115 (e.g. phased array probe; paragraphs [0057],[0069]) within the interior chamber (e.g. observed in Figures 2,13-17; Abraham, as illustrated in Figure 1B, discloses a frame 103 - e.g. housing, includes an interior chamber for the linear array of ultrasonic transducers 102. As disclosed in paragraph [0032], the “transducer element or a linear array 102 within housing 103”. Hence, one can interpret that the linear array of ultrasonic transducer are within the interior chamber of the frame.). (See, paragraphs [0048] to [0075]).
The only differences between the prior art and the claimed invention are 1) at least one motor operable to translate the at least one linear array of scanning elements across the length and/or width of the interior chamber; 2) the at least one linear array of scanning elements is configured to pivot at one end of the at least one linear array of scanning elements such that the at least one linear array is able to rotate by approximately 90 degrees about the one end of the linear array of scanning elements and subsequently continue a scan.
For difference 1), Abraham discloses an ultrasonic transducer system comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-9, a phased array scanning device (e.g. system illustrated in Figures 1A-1B) comprising a frame 103 (e.g. housing; paragraph [0032]) including a top base and side walls extending downwardly from edges of the top base (e.g. observed in Figures 1A-1B); interior chamber (e.g. open area within the housing; observed in Figures 1A-1B); at least one linear array of scanning elements 101,102 (e.g. transducer with linear array transducer elements; paragraphs [0032]) within the interior chamber (e.g. observed in Figures 2,13-17); at least one coupling substance (e.g. gel; paragraphs [0003],[0032]); at least one motor 108 (e.g. motor; paragraph [0032]) operable to translate the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers across the length and/or width of the interior chamber (e.g. paragraphs [0032],[0034],[0046]; Figures 2,3). (See, paragraphs [0032] to [0056]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing at least one motor operable to translate the at least one linear array of scanning elements across the length and/or width of the interior chamber as suggested by Abraham to the system of Lam et al. to have the ability to provide a more enhanced inspection image of the test object by controlling the direction of sound wave propagation, direction and depth of the signal from the linear array of transducer. (See, paragraphs [0042] to [0042] of Abraham).
For difference 2), Ngueyen-Dinh et al. discloses an ultrasonic probe for scanning comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1A-5, a phased array scanning device (e.g. system illustrated in Figures 1A-5) comprising at least one linear array of scanning elements 1 (e.g. linear array transducer probe; paragraphs [0038],[0037]; Figures 1C,1B); a housing 8 (e.g. housing; paragraph [0048]) includes an interior chamber for the linear array of scanning elements (e.g. observed in Figure 4); at least one motor 3 (e.g. motor; paragraph [0038],[0037]; Figures 1B) operable to translate the at least one linear array of scanning elements across a length and/or width (e.g. slides along major axis; paragraph [0038]; Figure 1B); the at least one linear array of scanning elements 1 is configured to pivot at one end of the at least one linear array of scanning elements such that the at least one linear array is able to rotate by approximately 90 degrees about the one end of the linear array of scanning elements and subsequently continue a scan (e.g. transducer 1 is attached to a coupling arm 31 and is capable of rotating 90 degrees about a pivot point at one end of the transducer – end side of the linear array of transducers which is attached to the coupling arm 31; paragraph [0037]; Figure 1B). (See, paragraphs [0035] to [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the at least one linear array of scanning elements is configured to pivot at one end of the at least one linear array of scanning elements such that the at least one linear array is able to rotate by approximately 90 degrees about the one end of the linear array of scanning elements and subsequently continue a scan as suggested by Nguyen-Dinh et al. to the system of Lam et al. to have the ability to provide a more enhanced 2D or 3D inspection image of the test object by controlling the direction of propagation, direction and depth of the emitted signal from the linear array of transducer. (See, paragraphs [0008], [0035],[0037],[0038] of Nguyen-Dinh et al.).
With regards to claim 18, Lam et al. further discloses the at least one linear array of scanning elements 115 includes a plurality of linear arrays of ultrasonic transducers (e.g. two-dimensional square where the probe elements are arranged as a square matrix; paragraph [0058]).
With regards to claim 19, Abraham further discloses the side walls of the frame include one or more recesses (e.g. recesses/openings are inherent for the rod 304,305; Figure 3; paragraph [0046]) where the at least one linear array of scanning elements 102 is configured to fit within the one or more recesses before and/or after performing a full scan. (See, paragraph [0046]; Figure 3). [NOTE: recesses/slots 48 for the linear array of transducer 404 is a known concept as evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0173304 in paragraph [0028] and illustrated in Figure 4]. Also, Abraham indicates in paragraph [0046] that the side walls of the frame 103 (e.g. housing) comprises guide rods 300,301,302,303 which allow y-axis rod 304 to move in an up/down direction and x-axis rod 305 to move left/right direction. In order for the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod to move along the guide rods, each of the guide rods would need to have a recess/slot to position the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod such that the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod has the ability to travel along its respective axis. For the purpose of a conceptual visual, US2006/0173304 issued to Wang is used to illustrate the side walls for the frame 406 include a recess/slot 408 for the ultrasonic transducer 404 traveling along the recess or slot. Hence, broadly interpreting the claim and for the comments set forth above, Lam suggests the sidewalls of the frame 103 include recess/slot for the linear array of ultrasonic transducers to be fitted within the recess (e.g. since the linear array ultrasonic transducer is attached and part of the y-axis rod and the x-axis rod and the x-rod and the y-rod are positioned within the recess/slot of the guide rods) before the scan since the ultrasonic transducers would normally and generally be installed before scanning starts for the entire system to be operable and functional.
With regards to claim 20, Abraham further discloses interior surfaces of the side walls of the frame include linear grooves (e.g. grooves/openings are inherent for the rod 304,305; Figure 3; paragraph [0046]) where edges of the at least one linear array of scanning elements 102 are configured to fit within and move through the linear grooves. (See, paragraph [0046]; Figure 3). [NOTE: grooves/slots 48 for the linear array of transducer 404 is a known concept as evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0173304 in paragraph [0028] and illustrated in Figure 4].
With regards to claim 21, Nguyen-Dinh et al. does not explicitly specify such structural parameter, after rotation, the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers is operable to be translated across a distance in a direction orthogonal to a previous translation direction of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers, as in the claim. However, to have set such structural configuration characteristics, for the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers is operable to be translated across a distance in a direction orthogonal to a previous translation direction of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers after rotation, as in the claim is considered to have been a matter of choice possibilities that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date by using the concepts, like swinging, sliding or rotating or a combination thereof, as taught in the Nguyen-Dinh et al. reference to derive an arrangement for the ultrasonic transducers to translated across a distance in a direction orthogonal to a previous translation direction of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers after rotation to provide a more enhanced 2D or 3D inspection image of the test object by controlling the direction of propagation, direction and depth of the emitted signal from the linear array of transducer without departing from the scope of the invention. (See, paragraphs [0008], [0035],[0037],[0038] of Nguyen-Dinh et al.; Figures 1A-2)
With regards to claim 22, Nguyen-Dinh et al. does not explicitly specify such structural parameter, after rotation, the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers is operable to be translated across a distance in a direction orthogonal to a previous translation direction of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers, as in the claim. However, to have set such structural configuration characteristics, for the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers is operable to be translated across a distance in a direction orthogonal to a previous translation direction of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers after rotation, as in the claim is considered to have been a matter of choice possibilities that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date by using the concepts, like swinging, sliding or rotating or a combination thereof, as taught in the Nguyen-Dinh et al. reference to derive an arrangement for the ultrasonic transducers to translated across a distance in a direction orthogonal to a previous translation direction of the at least one linear array of ultrasonic transducers after rotation to provide a more enhanced 2D or 3D inspection image of the test object by controlling the direction of propagation, direction and depth of the emitted signal from the linear array of transducer without departing from the scope of the invention. (See, paragraphs [0008], [0035],[0037],[0038] of Nguyen-Dinh et al.; Figures 1A-2)
With regards to claim 23, Nguyen-Dinh et al. does not explicitly specify such structural parameter, after rotation, the at least one linear array of scanning elements is operable to be translated across a distance in a direction orthogonal to a previous translation direction of the at least one linear array of scanning elements, as in the claim. However, to have set such structural configuration characteristics, for the at least one linear array of scanning elements is operable to be translated across a distance in a direction orthogonal to a previous translation direction of the at least one linear array of scanning elements after rotation, as in the claim is considered to have been a matter of choice possibilities that would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date by using the concepts, like swinging, sliding or rotating or a combination thereof, as taught in the Nguyen-Dinh et al. reference to derive an arrangement for the scanning elements to translated across a distance in a direction orthogonal to a previous translation direction of the at least one linear array of scanning elements after rotation to provide a more enhanced 2D or 3D inspection image of the test object by controlling the direction of propagation, direction and depth of the emitted signal from the linear array of transducer without departing from the scope of the invention. (See, paragraphs [0008], [0035],[0037],[0038] of Nguyen-Dinh et al.; Figures 1A-2)
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3,5-6,8-15,17-23 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection and/or because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
should be directed to Helen C Kwok whose telephone number is (571)272-2197. The examiner can normally be reached Monday to Friday, 7:30 to 4:00 EST.
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855