DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The previous claim rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) over Lorenzi et al. (US 20010018068 A1) as indicated in the Office action dated December 12, 2024 is withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendment made to claim 13, which requires a specific concentration range of one or more sugar alcohols.
The previous claim rejection made under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Zhu et al. (US 9675533 B2) is withdrawn in view of further consideration.
New rejections have been made to address the amended claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 31 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Takada et al. (US 2009/0041875 A1, published on February 12, 2009) (“Takada” hereunder).
Amended claim 13 requires a cosmetic product comprising one or more sugar alcohols, the cosmetic product further comprising one or more other sebum reducing agents and/or anti-acne agents, and further optionally comprising auxiliary substances and/or perfumes, wherein the cosmetic composition or cosmetic product is a skin and/or hair care product, and wherein the one or more sugar alcohol is selected from the group consisting of sorbitol, xylitol, erythritol, maltitol and mixtures thereof.
and wherein the amount of the one or more sugar alcohols is 0.0001 to 1 wt % in the cosmetic product.
Takada discloses a lotion comprising 0.3 wt % nicotinamide (niacinamide, anti-acne agent) and 0.05 wt % of erythritol. See Embodiment 11.
Claims 13 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Lu (CN 107661222 A, published on July 30, 2016).
Lu discloses a cosmetic composition for moisturizing mask comprising 0.05-0.5 wt % niacinamide and 0.005-0.5 wt % of erythritol. See translation.
Claims 13, 23, 24 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 106726799 A, published on May 31, 2017).
Li discloses a moisturizing lotion comprising 1 % of niacinamide and 0.5 wt % xylitol. See translation, p. 2, claim 2. See present claims 13 and 26.
Regarding claim 23, the Li composition further contains the following components in percentage by weight: 1 % of niacinamide, 0.5 wt % xylitol, 4% propylene glycol and 2% glycerol, which make up 5 wt % of a liquid carrier. See also claim 24. The composition further contains 1% hydroxyethyl urea, 1% sodium polyglutamate, 1% ethylhexyl palmitate, 1% aloe oil, 1% cyclomethicone, 1% niacinamide, 0.5% betaine, 0.5% xylitol, 0.4% ammonium acryloyldimethyltaurate/VP copolymer, 0.03% sodium hyaluronate, 0.2% PEG-20 methyl glucose sesquistearate, 0.04% sodium polyacrylate, 0.5% red algae oligosaccharide, 0.7% willow bark extract, 0.4% enteromorpha flatula extract, 0.6% red algae extract, 0.5% pine mushroom extract, 0.3% preservative, and the balance is water.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strodtholz et al. (WO 2005079745 A1, published on September 1, 2005) (“Strodtholz” hereunder).
Strodtholz discloses a lotion comprising salicylic acid (anti-acne agent) and 0.5 wt % of sorbitol (70 % = 0.35wt %). See Example 7.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bajor et al. (US 6599936 B1, published on July 29, 2003) (“Bajor” hereunder).
Bajor discloses a water-in-oil emulsion comprising an anti-sebum ingredient, Exxate ® 71 (acetate ester of branched and straight chain isomers of dimethyl pentanols) 5 wt % and sorbitol 0.5 wt %. See col. 15, line 45 – col. 16, line 15.
Double Patenting
Claims 13, 26 and 30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No.11786570 B2.
The reference claim 1 is a composition comprising: a sugar alcohol and a Tetraselmis extract, wherein the total sugar alcohol content is in an amount of ≥16 wt. % in the overall composition, calculated based on the extract dry weight. The reference claim 7 depends on the claim 1 and is directed to a dermatological product comprising a composition according to claim 1, wherein the amount of the composition of claim 1 is 0.001 to 10 wt % in the total weight of the dermatological product. Thus, the disclosed product of claim 7 would contain the sugar alcohol in the amount of greater than equal to 0.016-0.16 wt % based on the total weight of the dermatological product, which overlaps with the presently claimed range of 0.0001-1 wt % in a cosmetic product. Since the Tetraselmis extract in the reference claims meets the present limitation “a sebum-reducing agent”, the present claim 13 is an obvious variation of the reference claims 1 and 7. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 26 and 30, the combination of niacinamide and a sugar alcohol is disclosed in the reference claim 4.
Oath/Declaration
The Declaration filed under on May 12, 2025 under 37 CFR § 1.132 has been fully considered but is not persuasive. Citing a 2024 reference which finds sebostatic function of niacin, the declarant/co-inventor asserts that niacinamide, due to its structural similarly to niacin, must have a sebum reducing action. However, applicant’s original disclosure indicates that it is not the case, as niacinamide alone does not reduce sebum production in vitro. Thus, applicant’s claim that the sugar alcohols produce synergistic effects across all types of sebum reducing agents is not persuasive.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 13, 15, 23, 24 and 26 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Claims 30 and 31 are free of prior art.
/GINA C JUSTICE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617
1 It is assumed to be Exxate ® 700 which is disclosed in Example 2.