DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant's communication filed on 08/10/2026, wherein:
Claim 1-20 are pending.
Claim 1-7 and 16-20 are withdrawn.
Double Patenting
Claim 8 and 11-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 and 8-10 of U.S. Patent No. US 10187755 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because their scope are overlapped.
Claim 8: A method for determining a presence of an asset or person at a particular area within a location by an electronic location identification and tracking system, said method comprising the steps of (claim 6 – “A method for determining a presence of an asset or person at a particular area within a location by an electronic location identification and tracking system, said method comprising the steps of”):
a. electronically receiving a beacon signal from a beacon associated with a particular asset or person by one or more wireless radio, sound and/or light-based receivers (claim 6 - “a. electronically receiving a beacon signal from a beacon associated with a particular asset or person by one or more wireless radio, sound and/or light-based receivers of a plurality of wireless radio, sound and/or light-based receivers, wherein two or more receivers of the plurality of receivers form a receiver cluster associated with a specific area or spot within the location, wherein each receiver of the plurality of receivers only associated with one receiver cluster”); b. electronically determining whether the beacon signal is from a known beacon (“b. electronically determining a signal strength for the signal received by the one or more receivers”); c. for each signal from a known beacon, electronically determining a signal strength for the signal received by the one or more receivers (“c. electronically determining if a beacon signal was received by each wireless radio, sound and/or light-based receiver associated with a particular receiver cluster”); and d. wherein if the signal strength is above a preconfigured minimum signal strength value electronically determining by an electronic location identification and tracking system (claim 8 – “electronically determining an average signal strength from all of the signal strengths determined from the signal received by the receivers from the particular cluster, where all of the signal strengths exceed the preconfigured minimum signal strength”) that the asset or person is present at the location associated with the receiver (claim 9 – “wherein for the cluster of receivers having a highest average signal strength electronically determining that a particular spot within the location associated with the cluster of receivers having the highest average signal strength is the location where the asset or person is present”).
Claim 11: The method for determining a presence of claim 10 further comprising the step of electronically determining an average signal strength from all of the signal strengths determined from the signal received by the receivers from the particular cluster, where all of the signal strengths exceed the preconfigured minimum signal strength (claim 8 – “electronically determining an average signal strength from all of the signal strengths determined from the signal received by the receivers from the particular cluster, where all of the signal strengths exceed the preconfigured minimum signal strength”).
Claim 12: The method for determining a presence of an asset or person of claim 11 wherein for the cluster of receivers having a highest average signal strength electronically determining that a particular spot within the location associated with the cluster of receiver having the highest average signal strength is the location where the asset or person is present (claim 9 – “wherein for the cluster of receivers having a highest average signal strength electronically determining that a particular spot within the location associated with the cluster of receivers having the highest average signal strength is the location where the asset or person is present”).
Claim 13: The method for determining a presence of claim 8 wherein where the signal strength is above the preconfigured minimum signal strength value for the receiver further comprising the step of electronically determining if the signal strength remains above the preconfigured minimum signal strength value for a preconfigured period of time (claim 10 – “wherein for each receiver in the particular cluster where the signal strength is above the preconfigured minimum signal strength value for the receiver further comprising the step of electronically determining if the signal strength remains above the preconfigured minimum signal strength value for a preconfigured period of time”).
Claim 14: The method for determining a presence of claim 11 wherein for each receiver in the particular cluster where the signal strength is above the preconfigured minimum signal strength value for the receiver further comprising the step of electronically determining if the signal strength remains above the preconfigured minimum signal strength value for a preconfigured period of time (claim 10 – “wherein for each receiver in the particular cluster where the signal strength is above the preconfigured minimum signal strength value for the receiver further comprising the step of electronically determining if the signal strength remains above the preconfigured minimum signal strength value for a preconfigured period of time”).
Claim 15: The method for determining a presence of claim 11 wherein if a signal was not received or a received signal was below the preconfigured minimum signal strength by each receiver associated with the particular cluster further comprising the step of either (i) using a static value for each receiver who did not receive a signal or a signal below the minimum signal strength when calculating an average signal strength for the particular cluster, or (ii) calculating the average signal strength only from the receivers who received a signal having a signal strength above the preconfigured minimum signal strength (claim 6 – “d. wherein if a signal was not received or a received signal was below the preconfigured minimum signal strength by each receiver associated with the particular receiver cluster further comprising the step of either (i) using a static value for each receiver who did not receive a signal or received a signal below the minimum signal strength when calculating an average signal strength for the particular cluster, or (ii) calculating the average signal strength only from the receivers who received a signal having a signal strength above the preconfigured minimum signal strength”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8-12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goh et al. (US 20110148602 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Goh discloses a method for determining a presence of an asset or person at a particular area within a location by an electronic location identification and tracking system (abstract), said method comprising the steps of:
a. electronically receiving a beacon signal from a beacon associated with a particular asset or person by one or more wireless radio, sound and/or light-based receivers (par. 0028-0031, Fig. 7 and par. 0057-0063, 0066-0069 disclose receiving RF signal from hybrid tag 104);
b. electronically determining whether the beacon signal is from a known beacon (par. 0066-0069 disclose associating location ID of smartNODE to hybrid tag to determine location of tag, therefore, the beacon signal with location id is a known beacon);
c. for each signal from a known beacon, electronically determining a signal strength for the signal received by the one or more receivers (Fig. 11 and par. 0097-0103 disclose receiving signal by receiver for presence determination wherein the signal strength is above minimum threshold as discussed in par. 0072-0077); and
d. wherein if the signal strength is above a preconfigured minimum signal strength value electronically determining by an electronic location identification and tracking system that the asset or person is present at the location associated with the receiver (Fig. 11 and par. 0097-0103 disclose receiving signal by receiver for presence determination wherein the signal strength is above minimum threshold as discussed in par. 0072-0077).
Regarding claim 9, Goh discloses the method for determining a presence of claim 8 wherein the one or more wireless radio, sound and/or light-based receivers is a plurality of receivers disposed throughout a location and wherein two or more of the receivers from the plurality of receivers are grouped together to define receiver clusters with cluster comprising two or more receivers that are not part of any other cluster (Fig. 1 and par. 0028-0036 disclose cluster of receiver 110 and receiver 108 in various location such as location 1 and location 2), wherein the method further comprising the steps of electronically determining if a signal was received from the known beacon by each receiver associated within a particular cluster of receivers (Fig. 11 and par. 0097-0103 disclose receiving signal by receiver cluster for presence determination).
Regarding claim 10, Goh discloses the method for determining a presence of claim 9 wherein if the signal was received by each receiver associated within the particular cluster of receivers further comprising the step of electronically determining a signal strength for each beacon signal received by the one or more receivers (Fig. 11 and par. 0097-0103 disclose receiving signal by receiver for presence determination wherein the signal strength is above minimum threshold as discussed in par. 0072-0077).
Regarding claim 11, Goh discloses the method for determining a presence of claim 10 further comprising the step of electronically determining an average signal strength from all of the signal strengths determined from the signal received by the receivers from the particular cluster (Fig. 11 and par. 0097-0103 disclose computing weighted average score of signal strength received above threshold as discussed in 0072-0077 and the signal strength is weighted based on weak or strong signal packet as discussed in par. 0082), where all of the signal strengths exceed the preconfigured minimum signal strength (Fig. 11 and par. 0097-0103 disclose receiving signal by receiver for presence determination wherein the signal strength is above minimum threshold as discussed in par. 0072-0077).
Regarding claim 12, Goh discloses the method for determining a presence of an asset or person of claim 11 wherein for the cluster of receivers having a highest average signal strength electronically determining that a particular spot within the location associated with the cluster of receiver having the highest average signal strength is the location where the asset or person is present (Fig. 11 and par. 0097-0103 disclose computing weighted average score of signal strength and the location with highest score is the current location).
Regarding claim 15, Goh discloses the method for determining a presence of claim 11, wherein if a signal was not received or a received signal was below the preconfigured minimum signal strength by each receiver associated with the particular cluster further comprising the step of either (i) using a static value for each receiver who did not receive a signal or a signal below the minimum signal strength when calculating an average signal strength for the particular cluster, or (ii) calculating the average signal strength only from the receivers who received a signal having a signal strength above the preconfigured minimum signal strength (Fig. 11 and par. 0097-0103 disclose computing weighted average score of signal strength received above threshold as discussed in par. 0072-0077).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goh et al. (US 20110148602 A1) in view of Labview (“Threshold Detector IV”, June 2011).
Regarding claim 13, Goh discloses the method for determining a presence of claim 8, however, silent on further details of claim 13.
Labview discloses wherein where the signal strength is above the preconfigured minimum signal strength value for the receiver further comprising the step of electronically determining if the signal strength remains above the preconfigured minimum signal strength value for a preconfigured period of time (Threshold detector VI function for detecting signal above threshold for a certain width of time wherein the parameter for the function can be electronically entered).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made to modify the invention of Goh, and have parameter regarding to minimum time duration electronically entered, as taught by Labview because doing so would applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to provide ability to detect valid signal.
Regarding claim 14, Goh discloses the method for determining a presence of claim 11, however, silent on further details about wherein for each receiver in the particular cluster where the signal strength is above the preconfigured minimum signal strength value for the receiver further comprising the step of electronically determining if the signal strength remains above the preconfigured minimum signal strength value for a preconfigured period of time.
Labview discloses wherein where the signal strength is above the preconfigured minimum signal strength value for the receiver further comprising the step of electronically determining if the signal strength remains above the preconfigured minimum signal strength value for a preconfigured period of time (Threshold detector VI function for detecting signal above threshold for a certain width of time wherein the parameter for the function can be electronically entered).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date the invention was made to modify the invention of Goh, and have parameter regarding to minimum time duration electronically entered, as taught by Labview because doing so would applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to provide ability to detect valid signal.
Contact Information
/DUNG HONG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643