DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 7, 11, 13, 16, 25 and 27-31 are rejected
Claims 3-6, 8-10, 12, 14-15, 17-24, 26 and 32-33 are objected to
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, 16, 21, 28 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by D’Orazio et al (US PUB 20230370758, hereinafter Dorazio).
Regarding Claim 1, Dorazio discloses an in-ear hearable device for monitoring exposure to continuous noise, impulse noise, blast overpressure, and head impacts (see figures 1 and 2), comprising: a left earpiece and a right earpiece (e.g. left and right earplugs 100) each shaped to fit in a concha of a respective ear of a wearer (see figures 1 and 6), with the left earpiece and right earpiece each including:
a sound port tube (e.g. a sound port tube 104/106) extending from an earpiece interior into an ear canal of the wearer (see figure 2); a sound-attenuating eartip (e.g. earplug 102) fitted to the sound port tube and providing hearing protection without blocking the sound port tube (e.g. the sound port tube 104/106 has an unblocked end 103), (see figure 2); one or more internal acoustic sensors (e.g. acoustic sensor 105) coupled to the sound port tube for measuring continuous and impulse noise exposure (see figure 2); and one or more motion sensors to detect one or more of linear accelerations and angular rates for measuring head impact exposure (e.g. each earplug can include physical elements configured to mitigate false readings from mechanical contact to the earplugs through one or more of the sensors, such as detecting physical shock to the earplug using an accelerometer; also each earplug can include an impact sensor or assessment system (e.g., B3 Impact Assessment System, Linx IAS®) to detect, record, and flag hits to the head), (see Dorazio, [0020], [0022]-[0023], and [0045]-[0046], also figures 1-2 and 5).
Regarding Claim 2, Dorazio discloses the device of claim 1, further including at least one processor (e.g. processing circuit 300), wherein the at least one processor is configured to process a function to receive analog signals or digital signals from one or more internal acoustic sensors (e.g. inter sensor 105) and one or more motion sensors (e.g. an accelerator), and to compute exposure metrics for continuous noise, impulse noise, blast overpressure, and head impacts (e.g. the earplug can include an impact sensor or assessment system (e.g., B3 Impact Assessment System, Linx IAS®) to detect, record, and flag hits to the head; together with a blast monitoring system (e.g., B3 Blast Gauge® System (BGS)), each of these sensors can be fed into a single app, combining blast, noise, and impact monitoring to create a monitor for all major forces that affect the ear and brain); (see Dorazio, [0031] and [0043]-[0046], also figures 3-5).
Regarding Claim 7, Dorazio discloses the device of claim 1, further comprising one or more external acoustic sensors (e.g. external acoustic sensors 112, 115) in each of the left and right earpieces, coupled through an external port (e.g. external port 113, 116) to an environment outside the ear of the wearer (see Dorazio, [0024]-[0025], and figure 2).
Regarding Claim 16, Dorazio discloses an in-ear hearable device for monitoring exposure to continuous noise, impulse noise, blast overpressure, and head impacts (see figures 1 and 2), comprising: a left earpiece and a right earpiece (e.g. left and right earplugs 100) each shaped to fit in a concha of a respective ear of a wearer (see figures 1 and 6), with the left earpiece and right earpiece each including:
a sound port tube (e.g. a sound port tube 104/106) extending from an earpiece interior into an ear canal of the wearer (see figure 2); a sound-attenuating eartip (e.g. earplug 102) fitted to the sound port tube and providing hearing protection without blocking the sound port tube (e.g. the sound port tube 104/106 has an unblocked end 103), (see figure 2); one or more microphones (e.g. interior microphone 105) coupled to the sound port tube for measuring continuous and impulse noise exposure (see figure 2); and one or more accelerometers or gyroscopes to detect one or more of linear accelerations and angular rates for measuring head impact exposure (e.g. the earplug further includes accelerometer and an impact sensor or assessment system such as B3 Impact Assessment System, Linx IAS®, for detecting head impact exposure), (see figures 2), at least one processor (e.g. processing circuit 300), wherein the at least one processor is configured to process a function to receive analog signals or digital signals from one or more internal acoustic sensors (e.g. inter sensor 105) and one or more motion sensors (e.g. an accelerator), and compute exposure metrics for continuous noise, impulse noise, blast overpressure, and head impacts (e.g. the earplug can include an impact sensor or assessment system (e.g., B3 Impact Assessment System, Linx IAS®) to detect, record, and flag hits to the head; together with a blast monitoring system (e.g., B3 Blast Gauge® System (BGS)), each of these sensors can be fed into a single app, combining blast, noise, and impact monitoring to create a monitor for all major forces that affect the ear and brain); ( see Dorazio, [0020], [0022]-[0023], [0031], and [0043]-[0046], also figures 1-5).
Regarding Claim 21, Dorazio discloses the device of claim 16, further comprising one or more external acoustic sensors (e.g. external acoustic sensors 112, 115) in each of the left and right earpieces, coupled through an external port (e.g. external port 113, 116) to an environment outside the ear of the wearer (see Dorazio, [0024]-[0025], and figure 2).
Regarding Claim 28, Dorazio discloses the device of claim 16, further comprising a wireless transceiver configured to communicate exposure metrics to a head or body-mounted monitor (e.g. the earplugs can further include a wireless communication interface to transmit data to devices), (see Dorazio, [0019], figures 2 and 6).
Regarding Claim 30, Dorazio discloses the device of claim 28, wherein the head or body-mounted monitor is configured to provide one or more of visual, tactile, and audible warnings of exposure exceedances (e.g. the devices can alert the subject to unsafe levels), (see Dorazio, [0019], and figures 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 13, 25 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorazio as applied to Claims 1 and 16 above, and further in view of Berg et al (US PUB 20060140425, hereinafter Berg).
Regarding Claim 11, Dorazio discloses the device of claim 7, but fails to explicitly disclose further comprising one or more speakers in each of the left and right earpieces acoustically coupled to the sound port tube.
However, Berg in the same field of endeavor teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a monitoring in-ear hearable device with a right and left earpieces, wherein the each of the left and right earpiece comprises one or more speakers (e.g. speaker 18) acoustically coupled to sound port tube as demonstrated in [0024] and [0027], also figure 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention as taught by Berg in the teachings of Dorazio in order to provide the user with acoustic information regarding the monitoring results, and also to enable the user to receive other pertinent audio information or media contents.
Regarding Claim 13, Dorazio as modified by Berg discloses the device of claim 11, wherein the one or more speakers (speaker 18) provide an aural warning to alert the wearer of exceedances for continuous noise, impulse noise, head impact, or blast exposures (e.g. the devices can alert the subject to unsafe levels), (see Dorazio, [0019], and figures 2-3; also Berg, figures 1-2).
Regarding Claim 25, Dorazio discloses the device of claim 21, but fails to explicitly disclose further comprising one or more speakers in each of the left and right earpieces acoustically coupled to the sound port tube.
However, Berg in the same field of endeavor teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a monitoring in-ear hearable device with a right and left earpieces, wherein the each of the left and right earpiece comprises one or more speakers (e.g. speaker 18) acoustically coupled to sound port tube as demonstrated in [0024] and [0027], also figure 1. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention as taught by Berg in the teachings of Dorazio in order to provide the user with acoustic information regarding the monitoring results, and also to enable the user to receive other pertinent audio information or media contents.
Regarding Claim 27, Dorazio as modified by Berg discloses the device of claim 25, wherein the one or more speakers (speaker 18) provide an aural warning to alert the wearer of exceedances for continuous noise, impulse noise, head impact, or blast exposures (e.g. the devices can alert the subject to unsafe levels), (see Dorazio, [0019], and figures 2-3; also Berg, figures 1-2).
Claim(s) 29 and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dorazio in view on Berg as applied to Claim 28 above, and further in view of Boesen et al (US PUB 20180324515, hereinafter Boesen).
Regarding Claim 29, Dorazio as modified by Berg discloses the device of claim 28, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a wireless communication method is a near-field communication method for establishing a body-area network with a range of less than approximately 30 inches.
However, Boesen in the same field of endeavor teaches that it is well known in the art to provide earpiece with a near-field wireless communication method for establishing a body-area network with a range of less than approximately 30 inches (e.g. within a threshold of about 1 foot or 12 inches) as demonstrated in [0046], also figure 6. Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate a near-field wireless communication as taught by Boesen in the teachings of Dorazio in view of Berg in order to ease communication between the earpieces and any other external devices that are in close proximity, and thereby further enhancing the operation of the earpieces.
Regarding Claim 31, Dorazio as modified by Berg and Boesen discloses the device of claim 28, wherein the wireless transceiver is configured to send and receive synchronization signals between each left and right earpiece and the head or body-mounted monitor (see Boesen, [0076], and figures 5-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 8-10, 12, 14-15, 17-24, 26 and 32-33 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record provided on PTO 892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/OYESOLA C OJO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695.