Applicant’s Submission of a Response
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 8/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites that the decanted liquid supernatant is combined with treated effluent from the activated sludge process. No support is found for said limitation in the originally filed application and the limitation is considered to be new matter.
Claim 2 recites that the phosphorous rich fluid is concentrated via evaporation. No support is found for said limitation in the originally filed application and the limitation is considered to be new matter.
Claim 8 recites that a water treatment facility does not include anaerobic digestion “for the stabilization of the waste activated sludge.” No support is found for the quoted limitation in the originally filed application and the limitation is considered to be new matter.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the activated sludge process." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the liquid waste activated sludge phase." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the settled activated sludge." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is noted that there is antecedent basis for “the settled waste activated sludge solids.”
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the settled activated sludge solids phase." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the effluent stream." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the liquid supernatant is combined “with treated effluent from the activated sludge process for discharge to the effluent stream.” It is unclear what is meant by “discharge to the effluent stream” as the method step merely cites combining the supernatant with effluent from another process and is then discharged to an undefined effluent stream.
Claim 1 step d recites limitations directed to “the activated sludge process” and “treated effluent.” It is unclear what these steps or streams are as said step/stream is generally mentioned and not provided any detail as to what “the activated sludge process” is or what stream “treated effluent” is as it appears no teaching or claim limitations are provided that would provide a basis for these steps/streams in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (US 2019/0185355) in view of Yuan et al. (US 2013/0075327).
Regarding claim 1, Brown teaches a method comprising the steps of: a) transferring a waste activated sludge (12 32) into a reactor vessel (10 30), the waste activated sludge including a polyphosphate accumulating organism (“release phosphorus and/or magnesium from the microorganisms”); b) settling the waste activated sludge within the reactor vessel under quiescent conditions; c) forming a liquid supernatant in an upper zone of the reactor vessel, and forming a settled waste activated sludge solids in a lower zone of the reactor vessel; d) decanting the liquid supernatant (20 36) from the upper zone of the reactor vessel; e) retaining the settled waste activated sludge solids within in the reactor vessel under anaerobic conditions; f) fermenting the settled waste activated sludge solids within the reactor vessel to form a liquid waste activated sludge phase and a settled waste activated sludge solids phase; g) releasing a soluble phosphorus component of the settled waste activated sludge solids into the liquid activated sludge phase; and h) separating the liquid activated sludge phase enriched with the soluble phosphorus component from the settled activated sludge solids phase, to create a phosphorus rich feedstock (Figs. 2-4 and [0024]-[0042]).
It is noted that any effluent removed via lines (20 36) would contain one or both of the supernatant from the settling step and the liquid waste activated sludge phase.
Brown teaches that the feed to the reactor vessel is waste activated sludge but fails to teach the waste activated sludge comprises a plurality of aerobic granular sludge as claimed. Yuan teaches that for reactor vessels that treat activated waste, the activated waste can be formed into aerobic granular sludge that comprise the sludge and microorganisms ([0002]-[009] and [0133]). Further, aerobic granular sludge provides many benefits in the reactor systems, such as reduced settling times, improved biomass retention, and providing the desired conditions on/in the granules ([0063]). As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious for the waste activated sludge to be provided in aerobic granular form in order to reduce settling times, improve biomass retention, and provide the desired conditions on/in the granules.
It is noted that as discussed above, limitation d is unclear as it is not known what is meant by the activated sludge process with treated effluent as such steps were never previously included in the method claim. Brown teaches that the effluent is removed via lines (20 36) and is discharged to various “effluent streams” ([0039]) but fails to teach that different effluents are combined. However, Brown teaches that similar streams can be combined prior to downstream discharge/use (18 22 38 40). As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to provide a means to combine similar streams, such as various effluent streams, as combining similar streams is known in the art and would allow for the combination of similar streams at different points in the process.
Regarding claim 3, Brown teaches that the effluent can be removed and discharged to a variety of different places and/or treatment steps ([0039]-[0042]). However, Brown does not teach the specific decanting and feedstock removing order of steps claimed. It is Examiner’s position that removing fluid via the effluent outlet at one or more different times and providing the fluid to a desired step would have been an obvious matter of changing the order of the method steps especially in view of Brown teaching the fluid removed via the effluent outlet going to a variety of different places (Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959) (Prior art reference disclosing a process of making a laminated sheet wherein a base sheet is first coated with a metallic film and thereafter impregnated with a thermosetting material was held to render prima facie obvious claims directed to a process of making a laminated sheet by reversing the order of the prior art process steps.). See also In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946) (selection of any order of performing process steps is prima facie obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930) (Selection of any order of mixing ingredients is prima facie obvious.). Therefore, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to remove fluid via the effluent outlet in the sequence claimed.
Regarding claim 4, it is submitted that optimizing the ORP to specific values and optimizing the duration of the anaerobic fermentation step with the claimed aerobic granular sludge would have been an obvious matter of optimizing known results effective variables ([0046]-[0054] discussing ORP values and optimizing the process according to data received from the various sensors). "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5, Brown teaches a monitoring/control system as claimed ([0050]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 6, Brown teaches that sensors measuring phosphorous concentration in a variety of outlets are used to provide data input to the control device ([0046]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 7, Brown teaches that the hydraulic retention time is between 4-20 hours. Brown does not teach the specific timeframe for the decanting step being within an hour after transfer to the vessel. Yuan teaches that a decanting step can be performed in as quickly as 30 minutes if desired ([0117]) especially given the reduced settling times due to the aerobic granular sludge. As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to reduce the hydraulic retention time prior to decanting as known times for aerobic granular sludge can be decreased down to 30 minutes.
Regarding claim 8, Brown teaches that anaerobic digesters are not efficient and have high costs ([0003]) and could potentially be used with anaerobic digestion ([0041]). However, as Brown teaches that the process could potentially be used with anaerobic digestion, it would also teach that the process could be used with processes that do not have anaerobic digestion.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (US 2019/0185355) in view of Yuan et al. (US 2013/0075327), and further in view of Rozich (US 2011/0281255).
Regarding claim 2, Brown teaches that the liquid stream is passed through a phosphate recovery process but fails to detail what the phosphate recovery process would entail. Brown also teaches that the solids including the aerobic granular sludge portion after fermentation can be recycled back for further processing (16). Brown fails to teach the phosphate rich stream being further treated via evaporation. Rozich teaches that in treating waters having phosphorous, the treated water streams that contain phosphorous can be further treated to recover phosphate via evaporation thereby producing fertilizer ([0045] and [0086]). As such, one skilled in the art would have found it obvious to provide an evaporative phosphorous recovery step in order to concentrate the phosphorous into a desirable product while further producing clean water.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. It is noted that the above rejection has been modified to address the added and argued claim limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER KEYWORTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776