Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 19, line 12, “a bearing unit” should be changed to –the bearing unit--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The applicant is claiming two sealing rings but only figures 1 and 2 has the two sealing rings. However, these figures do not show the first sealing ring having two sealing lips where one is interacting with the inner ring of a bearing unit, a shaft, a shaft sleeve, or an inner wall of a bearing house with the strength of a sealing contact between the interaction being increasing directly with a strength of the lubricant flow and the other sealing lip contacting the second sealing ring as claimed. The other sealing ring also only has one sealing lip, not two sealing lips. The claim combination is requiring “a second sealing lip supported by the first sealing ring, the second sealing lip being configured to engage a second sealing ring” but no embodiment having all these features was original disclosed in the written description.
Claims 1-6 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, the limitation “a first sealing lip formed on a surface of the first sealing ring and extending toward the second sealing ring to make sealing contact with an axially inner surface of the second sealing ring” is unclear. The claim is saying “axially inner surface” but does not define what the frame of reference for the “axially inner surface” is in the claim. It is also now unclear how the first sealing ring can extend to the same surface of the second sealing ring but the surface of the second sealing ring can sometimes be an “axially inner surface” in claim 1 or be an “axially outer surface” in the claim 19.
In claim 19, the limitation “a first sealing lip formed on a surface of the first sealing ring and extending toward the second sealing ring to make sealing contact with an axially outer surface of the second sealing ring” is then unclear. The claim is saying “axially outer surface” but does not define what the frame of reference in the claim. It is also now unclear how the first sealing ring can extend to the same surface of the second sealing ring but the surface of the second sealing ring can sometimes be an “axially inner surface” in claim 1 or be an “axially outer surface” in the claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 19-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hartmann (DE 102009022205 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hartmann discloses (in annotated fig. 1H) a bearing unit comprising:
a radially inner ring (9);
a radially outer ring (8),
the inner (9) and outer rings (8) being rotatable relative to one another about a central axis of rotation of the bearing unit;
a plurality of rolling bodies (not shown but located at 15) interposed between the inner ring (9) and the outer ring (8);
a first seal (1) comprising:
a first sealing ring (16);
a second sealing ring (5);
a first sealing lip (17 and 12,17 can be part of the lip and the lip 12 is part of sealing lip arrangement where the elastomeric material that makes the seal is on a surface of the first sealing ring. Any lip made of this material has a base or root “on a surface of the first sealing ring.”) formed on a surface of the first sealing ring (16) and extending toward the second sealing ring (5) to make sealing contact with an inner surface (the surface that is facing the bearing) of the second sealing ring (5, there is no frame of reference establishing the inner surface of the second sealing ring),
the first sealing lip (17 and 12) extending radially inward as the first sealing lip (17 and 12) extends toward the second sealing ring (5),
the first sealing lip (17 and 12) being configured to prevent lubricant from flowing from an interior (15) of a bearing unit (1, 8, 9) to an exterior (outside of 15) of a bearing unit (1, 8, 9) at a first axial end of the bearing unit (1, 8, 9).
Regarding claim 2, Hartmann discloses the bearing unit of claim 1, wherein the first sealing lip (17 and 12) is configured such that a strength of the sealing contact between the axially inner surface of the second sealing ring (5) and the first sealing lip (17 and 12) increases directly with a strength of the lubricant flow (the sealing lip 12 of first sealing ring 16 would push against the second sealing ring 5 and the strength of the seal would increase).
Regarding claim 3, Hartmann discloses (in annotated fig. 1H) the bearing unit of claim 2, wherein the second sealing ring (5) further comprises a skeleton (5) comprising an end portion (EP) configured to be perpendicular to the central axis of rotation of the bearing unit (1, 8, 9), the first sealing lip (12) being disposed in sealing contact with a portion of the axially inner surface formed by the end portion (EP) of the skeleton (5).
Regarding claim 5, Hartmann discloses the bearing unit of claim 3, wherein the first sealing ring (16) further comprises a second sealing lip (11) connected to the surface of the first sealing ring (16),
the second sealing lip (11) being in sealing contact with the portion of the axially inner surface formed by the end portion (EP) of the second sealing ring (11),
the second sealing lip (11) being configured to allow lubricant to flow from the end portion (EP) of the skeleton (5) of the second sealing ring (5) to an end (EPd) of the skeleton (5) distal to the end portion (EP) of the skeleton (5, “configured to allow” does not limit the claim to any particular structure, as the lips are elastic they can yield and deflect under specific conditions and thus any elastic lip could be “configured to allow” the lubricant to flow from one end to another giving any number of different conditions)
and the second sealing lip (11) being disposed downstream of the first sealing lip (12) with respect to a potential flow direction of lubricant (if fluid would get pass the sealing lip 12, then the lubricant would flow past the second sealing lip 11, which is considered downstream of the first sealing lip 12).
Regarding claim 19, Hartmann discloses (in annotated fig. 1H) a bearing unit comprising:
a radially inner ring (9);
a radially outer ring (8),
the inner (9) and outer rings (8) being rotatable relative to one another about a central axis of rotation of the bearing unit;
a plurality of rolling bodies (not shown but located at 15) interposed between the inner ring (9) and the outer ring (8);
a first seal (1) comprising:
first sealing ring (16);
a second sealing ring (5);
a first sealing lip (12) formed on a surface of the first sealing ring (16) and extending toward the second sealing ring (5) to make sealing contact with an axially outer surface (the surface where the sealing lips 11 and 12 touches is an outer perimeter surface) of the second sealing ring (5, there are no frame of reference establishing the outer surface of the second sealing ring),
the first sealing lip (12) being configured to prevent lubricant from flowing from an interior (15) of a bearing unit (1, 8, 9) to an exterior (outside of 15) of the bearing unit (1, 8, 9) at a first axial end of the bearing unit (1, 8, 9),
the first sealing lip (12) being configured such that a strength of the sealing contact between the outer surface of the second sealing ring (5 and the first sealing lip increases with a strength of the lubricant flow (the sealing lip 12 of first sealing ring 16 would push against the second sealing ring 5 and the strength of the seal would increase).
Regarding claim 20, Hartmann discloses (in annotated fig. 1H) the bearing unit of claim 19, wherein the second sealing ring (5) further comprises a skeleton (5) comprising an end portion (EP) configured to be perpendicular to the central axis of rotation of the bearing unit (1, 8, 9), the first sealing lip (12) being disposed in sealing contact with a portion of the axially outer surface formed by the end portion (EP) of the skeleton (5).
Regarding claim 22, Hartmann discloses the bearing unit of claim 20, wherein the first sealing ring (16) further comprises a second sealing lip (11) connected to the surface of the first sealing ring (16),
the second sealing lip (11) being in sealing contact with the portion of the axially outer surface formed by the end portion (EP) of the second sealing ring (5),
the second sealing lip (11) being configured to allow lubricant to flow from the end portion (EP) of the skeleton (5) of the second sealing ring (5) to an end (EPd) of the skeleton (5) distal to the end portion of the skeleton (5, “configured to allow” does not limit the claim to any particular structure, as the lips are elastic they can yield and deflect under specific conditions and thus any elastic lip could be “configured to allow” the lubricant to flow from one end to another giving any number of different conditions)
and the second sealing lip (11) being disposed downstream of the first sealing lip (12) with respect to a potential flow direction of lubricant (if fluid would get pass the sealing lip 12, then the lubricant would flow past the second sealing lip 11, which is considered downstream of the first sealing lip 12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 14, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann (DE 102009022205 A1) in view of Kosugi (US 20130202237 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Hartmann discloses (in annotated fig. 1H) a bearing unit (1, 8, 9) comprising:
a radially inner ring (9);
a radially outer ring (8); the inner (9) and outer rings (8) being rotatable relative to one another about a central axis of rotation of the bearing unit (1, 8, 9);
a plurality of rolling bodies (not shown, but disclosed in para. [0009]) interposed between the inner ring (9) and the outer ring (8);
a first seal (1) comprising:
an axially outer sealing ring (16);
an axially inner sealing ring (5);
a first sealing lip (12) formed on an axially inner surface of the axially outer sealing ring (16) and extending axially inward to make sealing contact with an axially outer surface of the axially inner sealing ring (5),
the first sealing lip (12) being configured to prevent lubricant from flowing from an interior (15) of the bearing unit (1, 8, 9) to an exterior (outside of 15) of the bearing unit (1, 8, 9) at a first axial end of the bearing unit (1, 8, 9),
the first sealing lip (12) being configured such that a strength of the sealing contact between the inner surface of the axially inner sealing ring (5) and the first sealing lip (12) increases with a strength of a lubricant flow from the interior (15) of the bearing unit (1, 8, 9) to the exterior of the bearing unit (1, 8, 9) at the first axial end of the bearing unit (1, 8, 9, the sealing lip 12 of first sealing ring 16 would push against the second sealing ring 5 and the strength of the seal would increase).
Hartmann does not disclose a lubricant inlet and the first seal is disposed axially outside the inlet of the radially outer ring.
Kosugi teaches (in fig. 1A) an inlet (2c) in the radially outer ring (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the inlet in the radially outer ring, as taught by Kosugi, in the bearing unit of Hartmann for the purpose of reducing noise level to improve a working environment (para. [0010]).
Regarding claim 14, Hartmann in view of Kosugi teaches (in Hartmann annotated fig. 1H) the bearing unit of claim 12, wherein the axially inner sealing ring (5) further comprises a skeleton (5) comprising a radially inner end portion (EP) formed perpendicular to a central axis of rotation of the bearing unit (1, 8, 9), the first sealing lip (12) being in sealing contact with an axially outer side surface of the skeleton (5).
Regarding claim 16, Hartmann in view of Kosugi teaches (in Hartmann annotated fig. 1H) the bearing unit of claim 15, wherein the axially outer sealing ring (16) further comprises a second sealing lip (11) connected to the inner side surface of the axially outer sealing ring (5),
the second sealing lip (11) being in sealing contact with an inner surface of the radially inner end portion (EP) of the axially inner sealing ring (16),
the second sealing lip (11) being configured to allow lubricant to flow from the radially inner end portion (EP) of the skeleton (5) of the axially inner sealing ring (5) to an axially outer end portion (EPd) of the skeleton distal to the axially inner end portion (EP, “configured to allow” does not limit the claim to any particular structure, as the lips are elastic they can yield and deflect under specific conditions and thus any elastic lip could be “configured to allow” the lubricant to flow from one end to another giving any number of different conditions),
and the second sealing lip (11) being disposed radially outside of the first sealing lip (12) with respect to a flow direction of lubricant from the interior (15) of the bearing unit (1, 8, 9) to the exterior (outside of 15) of the bearing unit (1, 8, 9, if fluid would get pass the sealing lip 12, then the lubricant would flow past the second sealing lip 11, which is considered downstream of the first sealing lip 12).
Regarding claim 18, Hartmann in view of Kosugi teaches the sealing structure of claim 11, wherein the first sealing lip (12) extends radially inward toward the radially inner ring (9) as the first sealing lip (12) extends axially inward to make sealing contact with the axially outer surface of the axially inner sealing ring (5).
Claim(s) 24 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann (DE 102009022205 A1) in view of Cross (US 20150323012 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Hartmann teaches the bearing unit of claim 3, but does not teach the skeleton contacts the outer ring.
Cross teaches (in fig. 6) the skeleton (130/132) contacts the outer ring (60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the skeleton contact the outer ring, as taught by Cross, as it is substitution of one known mounting configuration for another, yielding the predictable result of securing the component to the corresponding ring.
Regarding claim 26, Hartmann teaches the bearing unit of claim 20, but does not teach the skeleton contacts the outer ring.
Cross teaches (in fig. 6) the skeleton (130/132) contacts the outer ring (60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the skeleton contact the outer ring, as taught by Cross, as it is substitution of one known mounting configuration for another, yielding the predictable result of securing the component to the corresponding ring.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hartmann (DE 102009022205 A1) in view of Watabe (JP 2013133899 A).
Regarding claim 27, Hartmann discloses the bearing unit of claim 19 but does not disclose the first sealing ring is mounted on the inner ring.
Watabe teaches the first sealing ring can be mounted on the inner ring (para. [0018] teaches that the outer ring and inner ring can be reversed, which would allow the first sealing ring to be mounted on the inner ring instead of the outer ring).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first sealing ring be mounted on the inner ring, since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
Alternative rejection #1
Claims 1 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakata (JP 2014234851 A).
Regarding claim 1, Nakata discloses (in annotated fig. 1N) a bearing unit comprising:
a radially inner ring (20);
a radially outer ring (10),
the inner (20) and outer rings (10) being rotatable relative to one another about a central axis of rotation of the bearing unit;
a plurality of rolling bodies (40) interposed between the inner ring (20) and the outer ring (10);
a first seal (fig. 1) comprising:
a first sealing ring (62);
a second sealing ring (52);
a first sealing lip (66b) formed on a surface of the first sealing ring (62) and extending toward the second sealing ring (52) to make sealing contact with an axially inner surface of the second sealing ring (52),
the first sealing lip (66b) extending radially inward as the first sealing lip extends toward the second sealing ring (52),
wherein the first sealing lip (66b) being configured to prevent lubricant from flowing from an interior of the bearing unit (1) to an exterior of the bearing unit (1) at a first axial end of the bearing unit (1).
Regarding claim 25, Nakata discloses the bearing unit of claim 1, wherein the first sealing ring (62) is mounted on the inner ring (20).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 6, 12, 15, 17, 21, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not disclose nor render obvious the combination set forth in claim 4, 6, 12, 15, 17, 21, and 23.
In particular, for claim 12, the prior art of record does not disclose nor render obvious the bearing unit having the radially outer ring further comprises an annular lubricant groove formed on an outer surface of the radially outer ring, wherein the lubricant inlet being disposed annularly in the annular lubricant groove in combination with the other claim limitations.
In particular, for claims 4, 15 and 21, the prior art of record does not disclose nor render obvious a sealing structure with the second sealing ring or axially inner sealing ring further comprises a ring lip, and wherein the ring lip is configured to contact an inner ring of the bearing unit in combination with other claim limitations.
In particular, for claims 6, 17 and 23, the prior art of record does not disclose further comprising: a second seal configured to allow lubricant to flow from an interior of the bearing unit to an exterior of the bearing unit at a second axial end of the bearing unit distal to the first axial end in combination with other claim limitation. Hartmann discloses the same seal on the other axial end of the bearing unit but it is preventing the lubricant from flowing out of the bearing unit. The is no rationale to change the bearing structure of Hartmann to allow lubricant to flow out from the other axial side when the current sealing structure is used to keep the lubricant in the bearing.
Response to Arguments
With regards to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections, applicant amendments has not overcome the previously raised issue.
Applicant's arguments filed 12/18/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant first argued that they defined the for the inner and outer surfaces of the second sealing ring by adding the word “axially” in front of them but it is still unclear what the frame of reference of it. For example, the frame of reference can be everything on the left side of Applicant’s locking nut 9 can an “axially inner surface of the second sealing ring” but it can also be an “axially outer surface of the second sealing ring.” It is also now unclear how the first sealing ring can extend to the same surface of the second sealing ring but the surface of the second sealing ring can sometimes be an “axially inner surface” in claim 1 or be an “axially outer surface” in the claim 19.
Applicant next argued that Hartmann fails to disclose the claimed sealing structure wherein a first sealing lip (12) is formed on the surface of the first sealing ring (16) and that it is formed on the end of a branching sealing lip (17). However, 17 can be part of the lip and the lip 12 is part of sealing lip arrangement where the elastomeric material that makes the seal is on a surface of the first sealing ring any lip made of this material has a base or root “on a surface of the first sealing ring.”
Applicant later argued that in the alternative rejection of claim 1 that the configuration of Nakata’s lip 66b would allow for lubricant to push the lip 66b open and allow flow of lubricant out of the interior. However, that would occur under specific pressure situations as 66b is still a seal touching another surface and would perform the function of “preventing” to a degree and thus meets the claim requirement. No specific structure is being claimed.
Applicant is later arguing there is a frame of reference for claim 19 but the issue is not what the reference has for an inner and outer surface but what the claims has for the frame of reference.
Conclusion
/AIMEE TRAN NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3617
/JOHN OLSZEWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3617