DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment/Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to the amendment filed on 06/30/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined in this office action.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12-13, 15-17, 19-20 have been amended.
No new claim has been added and no claim has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/30/2026. have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument 1:
Applicant argues that LOU does not claim limitation “First, Applicant respectfully submits that Lou fails to disclose or suggest that a wireless device transmits, to a base station, "a radio resource control (RRC) request message comprising an indication of a request for the wireless device to have priority for accessing a network slice," as recited in claim 1. ” (Emphasized added) .
Applicant argues in substance that “Lou is generally related to a method performed by one terminal device that subscribes to a plurality of network slices. For example, "a terminal device sends a first message to a network device, wherein the first message is used to request to select a network slice for the terminal device. Then the terminal device receives a second message sent by the network device, wherein the second message is used to indicate a network slice selected by the network device for the terminal device." (Lou, Abstract, [0008]).
..
However, Lou's "first message" is not "a request for the wireless device to have priority for accessing a network slice." None of the elements in Lou's "first message" indicate "a request for the wireless device to have priority for accessing a network slice" as recited in claim 1.
Therefore, Lou's "first message" is not equivalent to "a radio resource control (RRC) request message comprising an indication of a request for the wireless device to have priority for accessing a network slice," as recited in claim 1” (See REMAKRs).
Examiner’s Response 1:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims merely recites, A wireless device, “transmits, to a base station, "a radio resource control (RRC) request message comprising an indication of a request for the wireless device to have priority for accessing a network slice” without explaining what “priority” any more detail.
As per Fig. 1, Fig. 3, and paragraphs 0223-0228, 0247, 0248, 0016-0017, 0055-0056, 0082-0082, 0151 of LOU (which are cited by the examiner along with other supporting paragraphs as shown here), Terminal Device (==wireless device in claim ) sends “FIRST MESSAGE” or “RRC Request” to Network Device ([0302], [0223], [0247]. Aforesaid RRC request or “FIRST MESSAGE” indicates service type supports needed by the aforesaid terminal device from the network slice, i.e eMBB, mMTC, URLLC : [0224]). ). It is well known in the art that 3GPP classifies 5G network slices into three main type of service, “In enhanced mobile broadband (enhanced mobile broadband, eMBB) network slice, a massive machine type communication (massive machine type communication, mMTC) network slice, and an ultra-reliable and low latency communications (ultra-reliable and low latency communications, URLLC) network slice”. Aforesaid URLLC service has highest priority and requires “a relatively high requirement for a latency and reliability” than aforesaid eMBB, mMTC. Aforesaid terminal devices requires highest priority access for URLLC service and sends that information to network slice : [0216]).
Thus claim limitation as written, clearly is taught by cited prior art LOU.
Applicant’s Argument 2:
Applicant argues that LOU does not claim limitation “Second, because Lou fails to disclose the claimed request, Lou also fails to disclose or suggest that the wireless device receives, from the base station, "an RRC response message indicating an acceptance of the request based on the indication associated with the RRC request message" in combination with "a request for the wireless device to have priority for accessing a network slice" as recited in claim 1.. ” (Emphasized added) .
Applicant argues in substance that “However, Lou's "second message" does not indicate "an acceptance of the request based on the indication associated with the RRC request message" in combination with "a request for the wireless device to have priority for accessing a network slice" as recited in claim 1.” (See REMAKRs).
Examiner’s Response 2:
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims merely recites, A wireless device, “receives, from the base station, "an RRC response message indicating an acceptance of the request based on the indication associated with the RRC request message”.
LOU teaches in Fig. 3 element 304 that terminal device receives RRC response Message from network Device : [0250]-[0260]; [0263]. RRC response message is indication that a network slice selected by the network device for the terminal device based on terminal device’s request : [0151]). “the first message (==rrc request ) is used to request to select the network slice for the terminal device, and the first information includes any one or any combination of the following: information about a first network slice, first service information, and access information of the terminal device.”: [0029]. “ the network device may select a network slice for the terminal device based on the first information”: [0034].
Thus claim limitation as written, clearly is taught by cited prior art LOU.
Regarding other independent claims 7, 15: the applicant alleges that these independent claims are allowable since they are similar to aforesaid independent claim above. The examiner respectfully disagrees in view of the above explanation of above independent claim. Thus the rejection is deemed proper.
Regarding all dependent claims: the applicant alleges that all dependent claims are allowable since they depend from all the independent claims above. The examiner respectfully disagrees in view of the above explanation of independent claims. Thus the rejection is deemed proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) ) as being anticipated by LOU et al. (US 20190230584 A1; hereinafter as “LOU”; provided in IDS).
Examiner’s note: in what follows, references are drawn to LOU unless otherwise mentioned.
With respect to independence claim:
Regarding claim 1, LOU teaches, A wireless device (see fig. 1: terminal Device with high requirement for rate and mobility : [0216], see fig. 3: terminal device, Fig. 8-9: terminal Device) comprising:
one or more processors (fig. 8 processing unit 801, Fig. 9 Processor ); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see fig.8 processor with memory: : [0340], , Fig. 9 processor and memory : [0340]-[0342), cause the wireless device (see fig. 1: terminal Device with high requirement for rate and mobility : [0216], see fig. 3: terminal device, Fig. 8-9: terminal Device) to:
transmit, to a base station (==Network Device in Fig. 3), a radio resource control (RRC) request message comprising an indication of a request for the wireless device to have priority accessing a network slice (see fig. 3 element 301, element 302: aforesaid “terminal device generates first information, where the first information includes any one or any combination of the following: information about a first network slice (====network slice in claim), first service information, and access information of the terminal device.; “ S301. A terminal device generates first information, where the first information includes any one or any combination of the following: information about a first network slice (==network slice in claim ), first service information, and access information of the terminal device.”: [0223]-[0228];
“ S302. The terminal device sends a first message (==RRC request message ) including the first information to a network device, where the first message is used to request to select a network slice for the terminal device.
[0247] The first message is an air interface message, for example, may be a radio resource control connection request (Radio Resource Control Connection Request, RRC Connection Request) message, an RRC connection reestablishment request (RRC Connection Reestablishment Request) message,….
[0248] By using the method in which the terminal device generates the information about the first network slice in S301, and the terminal device sends the generated information about the first network slice to the network device in S302, ….. , ”: [0246]-[0248];
“highest priority access information of network slice: [0016]-[0017]; [0055]-[0056]; [0082]-[0084], “sending, by a terminal device, a first message to a network device, where the first message is used to request to select a network slice for the terminal device; the first message includes first information, and the first information includes any one or any combination of the following: information about a first network slice, first service information, and access information of the terminal device; and the first network slice is a network slice corresponding to a service initiated by the terminal device; or the first network slice is a network slice with a highest priority; or when the terminal device has preconfigured an identifier of a unique network slice, the first network slice is the unique network slice: [0151] ); and
receive, from the base station (==Network Device in Fig. 3), an RRC response message indicating an acceptance of the request based on the indication associated with the RRC request message (==fig. 3 element S304 RRC Resonse Message from Network Deivce to Terminal Device” : [0250]-[0256]; “ S304. The network device sends a second message to the terminal device, where the second message is used to indicate the network slice selected by the network device for the terminal device.
The second message may include information such as a network slice identifier, a globally unique temporary identity (Globally Unique Temporary Identity, GUTI), a network functional entity identifier, and network slice feature information, for example, a tenant (Tenant) identifier corresponding to a network slice, a network slice that supports a service type, or some or all service information supported by a network slice. The network slice that supports a service type may be an eMBB network slice, a URLLC network slice, or the like. The some or all service information supported by a network slice may be an application identifier, a flow identifier, a data packet identifier, a tunnel identifier, a radio bearer identifier, a service type, a UE usage type, an APN address, an APN identifier, or the like.
The second message may carry a network slice identifier, network slice feature information, and the like, to indicate the network slice selected by the network device for the terminal device. For example, the second message may carry an identifier, a frequency, bandwidth, air interface resource configuration, an access control configuration, and the like of a cell in which the network slice is located. .”: [0258]-[0262]; “ The second message is an air interface message, for example, may be an RRC connection setup (RRC Connection Setup) message, an RRC connection reestablishment (RRC Connection Reestablishment) message, an RRC connection reconfiguration (RRC Connection Reconfiguration) message,”: [0263]; “and receiving, by the terminal device, a second message sent by the network device, where the second message is used to indicate a network slice selected by the network device for the terminal device.”:[0151]).
Regarding claim 7, LOU teaches, A base station (==Network Device in Fig. 3), comprising :one or more processors (fig. 8 processing unit 801, Fig. 9 Processor ); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (see fig.8 processor with memory: : [0340], , Fig. 9 processor and memory : [0340]-[0342) ,
cause the base station (==Network Device in Fig. 3), to:
receive, from a wireless device (see fig. 1: terminal Device with high requirement for rate and mobility : [0216], see fig. 3: terminal device, Fig. 8-9: terminal Device), a radio resource control (RRC) request message comprising an indication of a request for the wireless device to have priority for accessing a network slice (see fig. 3 element 301, element 302: aforesaid “terminal device generates first information, where the first information includes any one or any combination of the following: information about a first network slice (====network slice in claim), first service information, and access information of the terminal device.; “ S301. A terminal device generates first information, where the first information includes any one or any combination of the following: information about a first network slice (==network slice in claim ), first service information, and access information of the terminal device.”: [0223]-[0228];
“ S302. The terminal device sends a first message (==RRC request message ) including the first information to a network device, where the first message is used to request to select a network slice for the terminal device.
[0247] The first message is an air interface message, for example, may be a radio resource control connection request (Radio Resource Control Connection Request, RRC Connection Request) message, an RRC connection reestablishment request (RRC Connection Reestablishment Request) message,….
[0248] By using the method in which the terminal device generates the information about the first network slice in S301, and the terminal device sends the generated information about the first network slice to the network device in S302, ….. , ”: [0246]-[0248];
“highest priority access information of network slice: [0016]-[0017]; [0055]-[0056]; [0082]-[0084], “sending, by a terminal device, a first message to a network device, where the first message is used to request to select a network slice for the terminal device; the first message includes first information, and the first information includes any one or any combination of the following: information about a first network slice, first service information, and access information of the terminal device; and the first network slice is a network slice corresponding to a service initiated by the terminal device; or the first network slice is a network slice with a highest priority; or when the terminal device has preconfigured an identifier of a unique network slice, the first network slice is the unique network slice: [0151] ); and
transmit, to the wireless device (see fig. 1: terminal Device with high requirement for rate and mobility : [0216], see fig. 3: terminal device, Fig. 8-9: terminal Device), an RRC response message indicating an acceptance of the request based on the indication associated with the RRC request message (==fig. 3 element S304 RRC Response Message from Network Device to Terminal Device” : [0250]-[0256]; “ S304. The network device sends a second message to the terminal device, where the second message is used to indicate the network slice selected by the network device for the terminal device.
The second message may include information such as a network slice identifier, a globally unique temporary identity (Globally Unique Temporary Identity, GUTI), a network functional entity identifier, and network slice feature information, for example, a tenant (Tenant) identifier corresponding to a network slice, a network slice that supports a service type, or some or all service information supported by a network slice. The network slice that supports a service type may be an eMBB network slice, a URLLC network slice, or the like. The some or all service information supported by a network slice may be an application identifier, a flow identifier, a data packet identifier, a tunnel identifier, a radio bearer identifier, a service type, a UE usage type, an APN address, an APN identifier, or the like.
The second message may carry a network slice identifier, network slice feature information, and the like, to indicate the network slice selected by the network device for the terminal device. For example, the second message may carry an identifier, a frequency, bandwidth, air interface resource configuration, an access control configuration, and the like of a cell in which the network slice is located. .”: [0258]-[0262]; “ The second message is an air interface message, for example, may be an RRC connection setup (RRC Connection Setup) message, an RRC connection reestablishment (RRC Connection Reestablishment) message, an RRC connection reconfiguration (RRC Connection Reconfiguration) message,”: [0263]; “and receiving, by the terminal device, a second message sent by the network device, where the second message is used to indicate a network slice selected by the network device for the terminal device.”:[0151]).
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1.
With respect to dependence claim:
Regarding claim 2, LOU teaches, The wireless device of claim 1, wherein the instructions further cause the wireless device (see fig. 1: terminal Device with high requirement for rate and mobility : [0216], see fig. 3: terminal device, Fig. 8-9: terminal Device) to receive, from the base station (==Network Device in Fig. 3), a parameter indicating support for the wireless device to have the priority for accessing the network slice (“second message is used to indicate a network slice selected by the network device for the terminal device.”: [0010]; highest priority access for wireless device : [0055]-[0056]; “the first network slice is a network slice corresponding to a service initiated by the terminal device; or the first network slice is a network slice with a highest priority; or when the terminal device has preconfigured an identifier of a unique network slice, the first network slice is the unique network slice; selecting, by the network device, a network slice for the terminal device based on the first information; and sending, by the network device, a second message to the terminal device, where the second message is used to indicate the network slice selected by the network device for the terminal device.”:{0166]).
Regarding claim 3, LOU teaches, The wireless device of claim 1, wherein the priority for accessing the network slice is indicated by one or more bits of a temporary mobile subscriber identity (TMSI) of the wireless device (“the first network slice is a network slice corresponding to a service initiated by the terminal device; or the first network slice is a network slice with a highest priority; or when the terminal device has preconfigured an identifier of a unique network slice, the first network slice is the unique network slice; selecting, by the network device, a network slice for the terminal device based on the first information; and sending, by the network device, a second message to the terminal device, where the second message is used to indicate the network slice selected by the network device for the terminal device”:[0166]; “ Optionally, the information about the first network slice may further include a user identifier, a network functional entity identifier, a public land mobile network (Public Land Mobile Network, PLMN) identifier selected by the terminal device, and the like. For example, the user identifier may be an international mobile subscriber identity (International Mobile Subscriber Identification Number, IMSI), a globally unique temporary user equipment identity (Globally Unique Temporary UE Identity, GUTI), or the like.”: 0225]).
Regarding claim 4, LOU teaches, The wireless device of claim 1, wherein the RRC request message indicates a slice/service type (SST) of the network slice ( “ The first information may be used by a network device to select a network slice for the terminal device. The information about the first network slice is used to indicate a network slice, and the information about the first network slice may be a network slice identifier, network slice feature information, or the like. For example, the information about the first network slice may include a tenant (Tenant) identifier corresponding to a network slice and a network slice that supports a service type. The network slice that supports a service type may be an eMBB network slice, a URLLC network slice, or the like.
[0225] Optionally, the information about the first network slice may further include a user identifier, a network functional entity identifier, a public land mobile network (Public Land Mobile Network, PLMN) identifier selected by the terminal device, and the like. For example, the user identifier may be an international mobile subscriber identity (International Mobile Subscriber Identification Number, IMSI), a globally unique temporary user equipment identity (Globally Unique Temporary UE Identity, GUTI), or the like.
[0226] Optionally, the first service information is used to indicate a service initiated by the terminal device. For example, the first service information may be a service application identifier, a flow identifier, a data packet identifier, a tunnel identifier, a radio bearer identifier, a service type (Service Type), a user usage type (UE Usage Type), an access point name (Access Point Name, APN) address, an APN identifier, or the like.
[0227] The first service information is defined in a standard, and is briefly described below.
[0228] Service application identifier: The service application identifier is an application layer identifier used to uniquely determine a specific service, for example, used to indicate a WeChat service, a virtual reality service, an in-vehicle service, or the like. One network slice may carry one or one type of service. Therefore, there is a mapping relationship between a service app ”: [0224]-[0228]).
Regarding claim 5, LOU teaches, The wireless device of claim 1, wherein the indication is a network slice priority access (ns-PriorityAccess) information element in the RRC request message (RRC message : [0247]; “ select a network slice identifier of a network slice with a highest priority as the information about the first network slice; or”: [0347]).
Regarding claim 6, LOU teaches, The wireless device of claim 1, wherein the indication of priority access is an establishment cause information element in the RRC message (“ The terminal device selects a network slice identifier of a network slice with a highest priority as the information about the first network slice. Priorities of different network slices may be delivered by the network device to the terminal device. For example, when the terminal device has preconfigured at least two network slice identifiers, the terminal device selects a network slice identifier of a network slice with a highest priority from the preconfigured at least two network slice identifiers as the information about the first network slice based on a network slice priority.”: [0242]).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 9, LOU teaches, The base station of claim 8, wherein the parameter indicating the priority for accessing the network slice is included in a message comprising a random access preamble assignment (“ For example, when the access information of the terminal device is a level of the terminal device, the network device may select, as the network slice selected for the terminal device, a network slice suitable for the level of the terminal device based on the level of the terminal device and a preconfigured mapping relationship between a level of the terminal device and a network slice. When the access information of the terminal device is a RACH channel type, the network device may select, as the network slice selected for the terminal device, a network slice suitable for the RACH channel type based on the RACH channel type and a preconfigured mapping relationship between a RACH channel type and a network slice. When the access information of the terminal device is a random access preamble sequence, because different network slices are corresponding to different random access preamble sequences, the network device may identify a network slice corresponding to the random access preamble sequence, and use the network slice as the network slice selected for the terminal device.”: [0256]).
Regarding claim 10, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 14, LOU teaches, The base station of claim 7, wherein the RRC request message indicates a network slice type of the network slice (“ It should be noted that the access barring information corresponding to each of the at least one network slice that is included in the fourth message may be in a plurality of representation forms. For example, network slices may be classified into different types based on attributes of the network slices. Each network slice type may include one or more network slices, and each network slice type is corresponding to one piece of access barring information. For another example, network slices are randomly grouped. Each group of network slices may include one or more network slices, and each group of network slices is corresponding to one piece of access barring information.”: [0288]).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 19, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 6
Conclusion
/M Mostazir Rahman/Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/BRANDON M RENNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411