Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 12/11/2025. As directed by the amendment, the status of the claim(s) are:
Claim(s) 1 has/have been amended; the examiner apologizes for the inadvertent typo in previous office action of “enemy” for “energy” in claim 1 prior art rejection.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are presently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant request regarding double patenting on p. 6 is acknowledged.
With regard to claim rejections under 35 USC 103, Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but have not been found to be persuasive.
Applicant argues on p. 7 of remarks that Weir does not teach the recited “based in part on characteristics of the target” as claimed. Applicant points out on p. 7 of remarks that “at best, Weir teaches that tissue can be identified and then a treatment beam activated” and that Weir [0047] describes user specifying a treatment dose and so the specific parameters of the treatment beam are not based in part on characteristics of the target as claimed. After review, this is not persuasive because of different claim interpretation by Applicant and Examiner.
Applicant’s interpretation is that treatment laser energy settings for fragmenting the target are based on “characteristic of the target”, where “characteristic” is a material property of the target such as natural or resonant frequency of a stone as described in instant specification [0054]. However, under BRI, this is not the only interpretation for the claim recitations. For the prior art rejection/mapping, the Examiner’s interpretation is that the prior art teaches using aiming/imaging beam to distinguish between different tissue types, and once a tissue to be treated is identified based on the reflected beam; a therapeutic laser beam with the appropriate energy settings is applied in order to treat. See Weir claims 12-13 “directing imaging beam…outputting therapeutic beam only when the reflector addresses the target region”, [0092] “therapeutic laser can be automatically controlled to provide treatment to provide treatment”, and [0047] “system can automatically identify a region to be treated by observing, for example, a spectral signature of the fluorescent material”.
The Merriam-Webster dictionary (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/characteristic) definition of “characteristic” is “a distinguishing trait, quality, or property”. Also note that dependent claims 6, 13, 18 further defined “characteristic of the target” as “dimension of the target, a geometry of the target,…a type of the target” amongst others.
Thus, Weir teaches the claim limitation (paraphrased from claim 1) of:
receiving reflected light from a target (via the imaging/aiming beam);
determine a characteristic of the target (determining tissue type, e.g. determining that a stone to be treated is present, this would meet “characteristic” since the distinguishing trait, quality, or property of tissue type is determined, e.g. stone vs other tissue type and in what location, e.g. dimension and geometry of target to be treated are determined);
determine laser energy settings for a second laser energy based in part on the characteristic of the target configured to fragment the target (where stone is present treatment laser energy is applied to fragment, e.g. [0053]; [0055] “treatment wavelengths are selected for tissue effect”; claim 13 “outputting therapeutic beam only when the reflector addresses the target region”).
The system of Weir then is applying laser energy for fragmenting stone only when stone is detected. This reads on “determine laser energy settings for a second laser energy based in part on the characteristic of the target” because the second laser energy with therapeutic laser settings is only allowed to be output when the stone is present. The Merriam-Webster dictionary definition (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/determine) of “determine” is “to settle or decide by choice of alternatives or possibilities” or “to bring about as a result”; the claim recitations under BRI allow for a binary setting in which a first laser energy is applied for imaging, and when a target is detected, a second laser energy is applied as a result of this target. The second laser energy setting is simply based on “characteristic of the target” being whether the target is present or not (see instant claim 6’s “a type of the target”, in which different tissue types such as soft tissue and stone are characteristics).
Double Patenting
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 8-9, 11-13, 15, 19 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 1, 6, 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11786306 in view of Chia (US 9757199 B2). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim(s) is/are broader than the corresponding claim(s) in the reference patent and thus the corresponding claim(s) is/are a species of the more generic instant claim(s). It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furthermore, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim(s) overlap in scope with and are anticipated and/or obvious over the reference claim(s).
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 11786306 teaches a surgical laser system controller (claim 1 “controller”), comprising:
a processor (claim 1 “controller” inherently has processor); and
a memory comprising instructions, which when executed by the processor cause the surgical laser system controller to (claim 1 “controller” inherently has memory):
receive a signal from an optical device, the signal comprising an indication of a reflected light, wherein the reflected light is reflected from a target and is based in part on a first laser energy being incident on the target (claim 1 “feedback”);
determine a characteristic of the target based in part on the reflected light (claim 1 “characteristic”).
U.S. Patent No. 11786306 does not teach determine laser energy settings for a second laser energy different from the first laser energy, based in part on the characteristic of the target, wherein the second laser energy is configured to fragment the target. However, Chia teaches in the same field of endeavor, being a parent patent of the instant application, determine laser energy settings for a second laser energy different from the first laser energy, based in part on the characteristic of the target (claim 18), wherein the second laser energy is configured to fragment the target (claim 20). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teaching of U.S. Patent No. 11786306 to include this feature as taught by Chia because this enables fragmenting the stone as treatment with laser setting set by feedback (claims 18-20).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of U.S. Patent No. 11786306 and Chia teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the surgical laser system controller to configure a laser source to generate the second laser energy having an energy level defined by the surgical laser system controller, wherein the energy level is based in part on the characteristic of the target (claim 1 “determine a first laser energy setting”; Chia claims 18-20).
Regarding claim 4, in the combination of U.S. Patent No. 11786306 and Chia, U.S. Patent No. 11786306 teaches wherein the energy level defines characteristics of a laser pulse train (claim 6).
Regarding claim 5, in the combination of U.S. Patent No. 11786306 and Chia, U.S. Patent No. 11786306 teaches wherein the characteristics of the laser pulse train are one or more of a pulse repetition rate (claim 6), a pulse magnitude, and a pulse width.
Regarding claim 6, in the combination of U.S. Patent No. 11786306 and Chia, U.S. Patent No. 11786306 teaches wherein the characteristic of the target is one or more of a dimension of the target (claim 7), a geometry of the target (claim 7), a vibration frequency of the target (claim 7), a composition of the target (claim 7), a type of the target, a color of the target, or a tensile strength of the target.
Regarding claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 11786306 teaches a computer readable memory storage device, comprising instructions, which when executed by a processor of a surgical laser system controller, cause the surgical laser system controller to:
receive a signal from an optical device, the signal comprising an indication of a reflected light, wherein the reflected light is reflected from a target and is based in part on a first laser energy being incident on the target (claim 1 “feedback”);
determine a characteristic of the target based in part on the reflected light (claim 1 “characteristic”).
U.S. Patent No. 11786306 does not teach determine laser energy settings for a second laser energy different from the first laser energy, based in part on the characteristic, wherein the second laser energy is configured to fragment the target. However, Chia teaches in the same field of endeavor, being a parent patent of the instant application, determine laser energy settings for a second laser energy different from the first laser energy, based in part on the characteristic (claim 18), wherein the second laser energy is configured to fragment the target (claim 20). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teaching of U.S. Patent No. 11786306 to include this feature as taught by Chia because this enables fragmenting the stone as treatment with laser setting set by feedback (claims 18-20).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of U.S. Patent No. 11786306 and Chia teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor cause the surgical laser system controller to configure a laser source to generate the second laser energy having an energy level defined in part by the surgical laser system controller (claim 1 “determine a first laser energy setting”; Chia claims 18-20).
Regarding claim 11, in the combination of U.S. Patent No. 11786306 and Chia, U.S. Patent No. 11786306 teaches wherein the energy level defines characteristics of a laser pulse train (claim 6).
Regarding claim 12, in the combination of U.S. Patent No. 11786306 and Chia, U.S. Patent No. 11786306 teaches wherein the characteristics are one or more of a pulse repetition rate (claim 6), a pulse magnitude, and a pulse width.
Regarding claim 13, in the combination of U.S. Patent No. 11786306 and Chia, U.S. Patent No. 11786306 teaches wherein the characteristic of the target is one or more of a dimension of the target (claim 7), a geometry of the target (claim 7), a vibration frequency of the target (claim 7), a composition of the target (claim 7), a type of the target, a color of the target, or a tensile strength of the target.
Regarding claim 15, U.S. Patent No. 11786306 teaches a surgical laser system, comprising:
a laser source configured to generate a first laser energy (claim 1);
an optical device (claim 1 “analyzer”); and
a controller, the controller comprising a processor and a memory comprising instructions, which when executed by the processor cause the processor to (claim 1):
receive a signal from the optical device, the signal comprising an indication of a reflected light, wherein the reflected light is reflected from a target and is based in part on the first laser energy being incident on the target (claim 1 “feedback”);
determine a characteristic of the target based in part on the reflected light (claim 1 “characteristic”).
U.S. Patent No. 11786306 does not teach determine laser energy settings for a second laser energy different from the first laser energy, based in part on the characteristic of the target, wherein the second laser energy is configured to fragment the target. However, Chia teaches in the same field of endeavor, being a parent patent of the instant application, determine laser energy settings for a second laser energy different from the first laser energy, based in part on the characteristic of the target (claim 18), wherein the second laser energy is configured to fragment the target (claim 20). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teaching of U.S. Patent No. 11786306 to include this feature as taught by Chia because this enables fragmenting the stone as treatment with laser setting set by feedback (claims 18-20).
Regarding claim 19, in the combination of U.S. Patent No. 11786306 and Chia, U.S. Patent No. 11786306 teaches wherein the characteristic of the target is one or more of one or more of a dimension of the target (claim 7), a geometry of the target (claim 7), a vibration frequency of the target (claim 7), a composition of the target (claim 7), a type of the target, a color of the target, or a tensile strength of the target.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7, 8, 10, 14-18, 20 is/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim(s) 9, 10, 12-13, 18-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9757199. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim(s) is/are broader than the corresponding claim(s) in the reference patent and thus the corresponding claim(s) is/are a species of the more generic instant claim(s). It has been held that the generic invention is "anticipated" by the "species". See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furthermore, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim(s) overlap in scope with and are anticipated and/or obvious over the reference claim(s).
Regarding claim 1, U.S. Patent No. 9757199 teaches a surgical laser system controller (claim 9 “controller”), comprising:
a processor (claim 9 “processor”; claim 18); and
a memory comprising instructions, which when executed by the processor cause the surgical laser system controller to (claim 9 “controller” inherently has memory; claim 12; claim 18 “processor” inherently has memory):
receive a signal from an optical device, the signal comprising an indication of a reflected light, wherein the reflected light is reflected from a target and is based in part on a first laser energy being incident on the target (claim 9 “reflected”; claim 18);
determine a characteristic of the target based in part on the reflected light (claim 9 “characteristic”; claim 18) and
determine laser energy settings for a second laser energy different from the first laser energy, based in part on the characteristic of the target (claim 9; claim 18), wherein the second laser energy is configured to fragment the target (claim 20).
Regarding claim 3, U.S. Patent No. 9757199 teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the surgical laser system controller to store the energy level as laser energy settings in the memory (claim 12).
Regarding claim 7, U.S. Patent No. 9757199 teaches wherein the optical device is a spectrometer (claim 13).
Regarding claim 8, U.S. Patent No. 9757199 teaches a computer readable memory storage device, comprising instructions, which when executed by a processor of a surgical laser system controller, cause the surgical laser system controller to:
receive a signal from an optical device, the signal comprising an indication of a reflected light, wherein the reflected light is reflected from a target and is based in part on a first laser energy being incident on the target (claim 9 “reflected”; claim 18);
determine a characteristic of the target based in part on the reflected light (claim 9 “characteristic”; claim 18); and
determine laser energy settings for a second laser energy different from the first laser energy, based in part on the characteristic (claim 9; claim 18), wherein the second laser energy is configured to fragment the target (claim 20).
Regarding claim 10, U.S. Patent No. 9757199 teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the surgical laser system controller to store the energy level as laser energy settings in the computer readable memory storage device (claim 12).
Regarding claim 14, U.S. Patent No. 9757199 teaches wherein the optical device is a spectrometer (claim 13).
Regarding claim 15, U.S. Patent No. 9757199 teaches a surgical laser system, comprising:
a laser source configured to generate a laser energy (claim 9; claim 18);
an optical device (claim 9 “analyzer”; claim 18); and
a controller, the controller comprising a processor and a memory comprising instructions, which when executed by the processor cause the processor to (claim 9;claim 18):
receive a signal from the optical device, the signal comprising an indication of a reflected light, wherein the reflected light is reflected from a target and is based in part on the laser energy being incident on the target (claim 9 “reflected”; claim 18);
determine a characteristic of the target based in part on the reflected light (claim 9 “characteristic”; claim 18); and
determine laser energy settings for a second laser energy different from the first laser energy, based in part on the characteristic of the target (claim 9; claim 18), wherein the second laser energy is configured to fragment the target (claim 20).
Regarding claim 16, U.S. Patent No. 9757199 teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the processor to:
determine an energy level based in part on the characteristic of the target (claim 9 “determine the laser energy setting”); and
store the energy level as laser energy settings in the memory, wherein the laser source is configured to generate the second laser energy based in part on the laser energy settings (claim 12).
Regarding claim 17, U.S. Patent No. 9757199 teaches wherein the energy level defines characteristics of a laser pulse train (claim 10).
Regarding claim 18, U.S. Patent No. 9757199 teaches wherein the characteristics are one or more of a pulse repetition rate (claim 9), a pulse magnitude (claim 9 “power”), and a pulse width (claim 9).
Regarding claim 20, U.S. Patent No. 9757199 teaches wherein the optical device is a spectrometer (claim 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 11-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Weir (US 20080226029 A1; 9/18/2008; cited in IDS; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 1, Weir teaches a surgical laser system controller (Fig. 1; Fig. 17; [0023]), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 1); and
a memory comprising instructions, which when executed by the processor cause the surgical laser system controller to (Fig. 1; [0047]; memory is inherent):
receive a signal from an optical device, the signal comprising an indication of a reflected light, wherein the reflected light is reflected from a target and is based in part on a first laser energy being incident on the target (Fig. 1-3; [0023] “imaging beam” and/or “aiming beam” reads on the first laser energy and “therapeutic beam” reads on the second laser energy); [0046]-[0047]);
determine a characteristic of the target based in part on the reflected light ([0023] “imaging beam” and/or “aiming beam” reads on the first laser energy and “therapeutic beam” reads on the second laser energy); [0046]-[0047]); and
determine laser energy settings for a second laser energy different from the first laser energy, based in part on the characteristic of the target ([0023] “imaging beam” and/or “aiming beam” reads on the first laser energy and “therapeutic beam” reads on the second laser energy; [0046]-[0047]; [0053]; [0092]; claim 13), wherein the second laser energy is configured to fragment the target ([0046] “destruction of kidney stones…thermally destroyed”; [0053] “In opto-thermal shock…send a mechanical shock wave through targeted tissue. This type of treatment is typically used in laser lithotripsy to break up stones or calcification sites”; breaking up stones reads on “fragment”).
Regarding claim 2, Weir teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the surgical laser system controller to configure a laser source to generate the second laser energy having an energy level defined by the surgical laser system controller, wherein the energy level is based in part on the characteristic of the target (Fig. 1-3; [0023]; [0046]-[0047]; [0053]; [0092]).
Regarding claim 4, Weir teaches wherein the energy level defines characteristics of a laser pulse train ([0053] “pulse time”).
Regarding claim 5, Weir teaches wherein the characteristics of the laser pulse train are one or more of a pulse repetition rate, a pulse magnitude, and a pulse width ([0053] “fast pulse time…longer pulse times”).
Regarding claim 6, Weir teaches wherein the characteristic of the target is one or more of a dimension of the target, a geometry of the target, a vibration frequency of the target, a composition of the target ([0047]), a type of the target ([0023] “diseased or damaged tissue”; [0046]-[0047]; [0092]), a color of the target ([0047] “fluorescent”, or a tensile strength of the target.
Regarding claim 7, Weir teaches wherein the optical device is a spectrometer ([0047] “spectral signature”; it is inherent that spectrometer is used to detect/observe spectral signature).
Regarding claim 8, Weir teaches a computer readable memory storage device, comprising instructions, which when executed by a processor of a surgical laser system controller, cause the surgical laser system controller to (Fig. 1; [0047]; memory is inherent):
receive a signal from an optical device, the signal comprising an indication of a reflected light, wherein the reflected light is reflected from a target and is based in part on a first laser energy being incident on the target (Fig. 1-3; [0023] “imaging beam” and/or “aiming beam” reads on the first laser energy and “therapeutic beam” reads on the second laser energy); [0046]-[0047]);
determine a characteristic of the target based in part on the reflected light (Fig. 1-3; [0023] “imaging beam” and/or “aiming beam” reads on the first laser energy and “therapeutic beam” reads on the second laser energy); [0046]-[0047]); and
determine laser energy settings for a second laser energy different from the first laser energy, based in part on the characteristic, wherein the second laser energy is configured to fragment the target ([0023] “imaging beam” and/or “aiming beam” reads on the first laser energy and “therapeutic beam” reads on the second laser energy; [0046]-[0047]; [0053]; [0092]; claim 13), wherein the second laser energy is configured to fragment the target ([0046] “destruction of kidney stones…thermally destroyed”; [0053] “In opto-thermal shock…send a mechanical shock wave through targeted tissue. This type of treatment is typically used in laser lithotripsy to break up stones or calcification sites”; breaking up stones reads on “fragment”).
Regarding claim 9, Weir teaches wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor cause the surgical laser system controller to configure a laser source to generate the second laser energy having an energy level defined in part by the surgical laser system controller (Fig. 1-3; [0023]; [0046]-[0047]; [0053]; [0092]).
Regarding claim 11, Weir teaches wherein the energy level defines characteristics of a laser pulse train ([0053] “pulse time”).
Regarding claim 12, Weir teaches wherein the characteristics are one or more of a pulse repetition rate, a pulse magnitude, and a pulse width ([0053] “fast pulse time…longer pulse times”).
Regarding claim 13, Weir teaches wherein the characteristic of the target is one or more of a dimension of the target, a geometry of the target, a vibration frequency of the target, a composition of the target ([0047]), a type of the target ([0023] “diseased or damaged tissue”; [0046]-[0047]; [0092]), a color of the target ([0047] “fluorescent”, or a tensile strength of the target.
Regarding claim 14, Weir teaches wherein the optical device is a spectrometer ([0047] “spectral signature”; it is inherent that spectrometer is used to detect/observe spectral signature).
Regarding claim 15, Weir teaches a surgical laser system (Fig. 1; Fig. 17; [0023]), comprising:
a laser source configured to generate a first laser energy (Fig. 1-3; [0023] “imaging beam” and/or “aiming beam” reads on the first laser energy and “therapeutic beam” reads on the second laser energy); [0046]-[0047]);
an optical device (Fig. 1-3; [0023] “imaging beam” and/or “aiming beam” reads on the first laser energy and “therapeutic beam” reads on the second laser energy); [0046]-[0047]); and
a controller, the controller comprising a processor and a memory comprising instructions, which when executed by the processor cause the processor to (Fig. 1; [0047]; memory is inherent):
receive a signal from the optical device, the signal comprising an indication of a reflected light, wherein the reflected light is reflected from a target and is based in part on the first laser energy being incident on the target (Fig. 1-3; [0023] “imaging beam” and/or “aiming beam” reads on the first laser energy and “therapeutic beam” reads on the second laser energy); [0046]-[0047]);
determine a characteristic of the target based in part on the reflected light (Fig. 1-3; [0023] “imaging beam” and/or “aiming beam” reads on the first laser energy and “therapeutic beam” reads on the second laser energy); [0046]-[0047]); and
determine laser energy settings for a second laser energy different from the first laser energy, based in part on the characteristic of the target, ([0023] “imaging beam” and/or “aiming beam” reads on the first laser energy and “therapeutic beam” reads on the second laser energy; [0046]-[0047]; [0053]; [0092]; claim 13), wherein the second laser energy is configured to fragment the target ([0046] “destruction of kidney stones…thermally destroyed”; [0053] “In opto-thermal shock…send a mechanical shock wave through targeted tissue. This type of treatment is typically used in laser lithotripsy to break up stones or calcification sites”; breaking up stones reads on “fragment”).
Regarding claim 17, Weir teaches wherein the energy level defines characteristics of a laser pulse train ([0053] “pulse time”).
Regarding claim 18, Weir teaches wherein the characteristics are one or more of a pulse repetition rate, a pulse magnitude, and a pulse width ([0053] “fast pulse time…longer pulse times”).
Regarding claim 19, Weir teaches wherein the characteristic of the target is one or more of a dimension of the target, a geometry of the target, a vibration frequency of the target, a composition of the target ([0047]), a type of the target ([0023] “diseased or damaged tissue”; [0046]-[0047]; [0092]), a color of the target ([0047] “fluorescent”, or a tensile strength of the target.
Regarding claim 20, Weir teaches wherein the optical device is a spectrometer ([0047] “spectral signature”; it is inherent that spectrometer is used to detect/observe spectral signature).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 3, 10, 16 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Weir as applied to claim(s) 2, 9, 15 above, in view of Welches (US 20120022510 A1; 1/26/2012; cited in previous office action).
Regarding claim 3, Weir does not teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the surgical laser system controller to store the energy level as laser energy settings in the memory. However, Welches teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract) wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the surgical laser system controller to store the energy level as laser energy settings in the memory (Fig. 11; [0152] “the map records all the portions that are treated… the map would provide an feedback indicating that the section 1130 are treated with more power/area… The color coding can also indicate intensity of the emitted pulses”). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teaching of Weir to include this feature as taught by Welches because this enables recording of laser energy setting for improved treatment feedback (Fig. 11; [0152]).
Regarding claim 10, Weir does not teach wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the surgical laser system controller to store the energy level as laser energy settings in the computer readable memory storage device. However, Welches teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract) wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor further cause the surgical laser system controller to store the energy level as laser energy settings in the computer readable memory storage device (Fig. 11; [0152] “the map records all the portions that are treated… the map would provide an feedback indicating that the section 1130 are treated with more power/area… The color coding can also indicate intensity of the emitted pulses”). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teaching of Weir to include this feature as taught by Welches because this enables recording of laser energy setting for improved treatment feedback (Fig. 11; [0152]).
Regarding claim 16, Weir teaches determine an energy level based in part on the characteristic of the target (Fig. 1-3; [0023]; [0046]-[0047]; [0053]; [0092]).
Weir does not teach store the energy level as laser energy settings in the memory. However, Welches teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract) store the energy level as laser energy settings in the memory (Fig. 11; [0152] “the map records all the portions that are treated… the map would provide an feedback indicating that the section 1130 are treated with more power/area… The color coding can also indicate intensity of the emitted pulses”). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the teaching of Weir to include this feature as taught by Welches because this enables recording of laser energy setting for improved treatment feedback (Fig. 11; [0152]).
The combination of Weir and Welches teaches wherein the laser source is configured to generate the second laser energy based in part on the laser energy settings (Weir Fig. 1-3; [0023]; [0046]-[0047]; [0053]; [0092]; Welches Fig. 11; [0152]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN T KUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792