DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of application #18/245,003 filed on 03/13/2023 in which claims 1-18 have been presented for prosecution in a first action on the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner and placed of record. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Specification
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 14 recites the underlined limitations of: “The process for generating and delivering charging current for an electric vehicle in a charging pole (1) according to claim 1, characterised in that the time t33 is after the time t11”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Note parent claim 1 does neither recite t11 nor t33.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 15 recites the underlined limitations of: “The process for generating and delivering charging current for an electric vehicle in a charging pole (1) according to claim 1, characterised in that the time t33 lies between the end of the charging process tE and a time tB, where tB>0.5*tG with tG as the total duration of the charging process”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since parent claim 13 recite time t33 and not claim 1.
Furthermore, the claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors, such colon, comma and proper transitional words such as “wherein” instead of “characterised in that”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of “the charging pole (1)” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the underlined limitations of: “The process for generating and delivering charging current for an electric vehicle in a charging pole (1) according to claim 1, characterised in that the time t33 is after the time t11”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these underlined limitations in the claim. Note parent claim 1 does neither recite t11 nor t33.
Claim 15 recites the underlined limitations of: “The process for generating and delivering charging current for an electric vehicle in a charging pole (1) according to claim 1, characterised in that the time t33 lies between the end of the charging process tE and a time tB, where tB>0.5*tG with tG as the total duration of the charging process”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim since parent claim 13 recite time t33 and not claim 1
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4,17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smolenaers US 2020/0164755 A1 (cited by applicants).
Regarding claim 1: Smolenaers at least discloses and shows in Figs. 3-4:A process for generating and delivering charging current for an electric vehicle(1) in a charging pole(construed as being part of charging station 5)([0137],[0186]-[0192]), having the following steps:
-Starting an operation to charge an electric vehicle(1)(with the onboard charger; see [0132],[0188],[0191])
-Start charging a battery (80) in the charging pole(construed as being part of charging station 5) (see ([0188],[0191]))
-Termination of the process for charging an electric vehicle(1)(see [0177],[0188],[0191]) (inherent since the charging process has a finite duration)
-Termination of the process of charging a battery (80)([0174],[0175],[0177]) in the charging pole(construed as being part of charging station 5)(inherent since the charging process has a finite duration)
characterised in that
the charging of the electric vehicle(1) and the charging of the battery (80) in the charging pole (construed as being part of charging station 5) take place simultaneously(see ([0188],[0191])).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Smolenaers discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Smolenaers further discloses, characterized in that electrical energy is generated in the charging pole(see [0137],[0183]; Fig. 3 and element (84) can be a fuel cell).
Regarding claim 4, Smolenaers discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 2. Smolenaers further discloses, characterized in that:
The generation of electrical energy in the charging pole takes place in parallel with the charging of the battery (80) and/or the electric vehicle (1)(see [0191])(as per claim 3)
Regarding claim 17, Smolenaers discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Smolenaers further discloses, characterized in that
The energy delivered during a charging process for charging the battery(80) of the charging pole(construed as being part of charging station 5) and/or the electric vehicle (1) is provided by an energy conversion device (converter 83)(see [0183]).
Regarding claim 18, Smolenaers discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Smolenaers further discloses, computer program for controlling the process for delivering charging current (as performed by controller 120 and 17)(see [0178],[0184]) for an electric vehicle (1) and for storing electric current in a charging pole(construed as being part of charging station 5) according to claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-13 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, patentability exists at least in part with the claimed limitations of, “…during s charging process with two times t1 and t2 with t1<t2 PB(t1)>PB(t2) with PB(t1) as the charging power of the charging of the battery (B) at time t1 and PB(t2) as the charging power of the charging of the battery (B) at time t2” as shown in Fig. 3.
Claim 6 depends directly from claim 5 and thus is also allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 7, patentability exists at least in part with the claimed limitations of, “…during a charging process with two times t3 and t4 with t3<t4 PB(t3)<PB(t4) with PB(t3) as the charging power of the charging of the battery (B) at time t3 and PB(t4) as the charging power of the charging of the battery (B) at time t4”, as shown in Fig. 3.
Claims 8-9 depend either directly or indirectly from claim 7 and thus are allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 10, patentability exists at least in part with the claimed limitations of, “…during an entire charging process the charging power of the battery of the charging pole passes through a minimum” as shown in Fig. 3 at point tM.
Regarding claim 11, patentability exists at least in part with the claimed limitations of, “…during a charging process at a time t11 PB(t11)>PE(t11) with PB(t11) as the charging power of the battery (B) at time t11 and PE(t11) as the charging power of the electric vehicle at time t11”.
Claim 12 depend directly from claim 11 and thus is also allowable for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 13, patentability exists at least in part with the claimed limitations of, “…during a charging process at a time t33 PB(t33)<PE(t33) with PB(t33) as the charging power of the battery (B) at time t33 and PE(t33) as the charging power of the electric vehicle at time t33”.
Regarding claim 16, patentability exists at least in part with the claimed limitations of, “…during a charging process at a time t5 with PB(t5)= PE(t5) with PB(t5) as the charging power of the charging of the battery (B) at time t5 and PE(t5) as the charging power of the charging of the electric vehicle at time t5”.
Claims 14-15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to M'BAYE DIAO whose telephone number is (571)272-6127. The examiner can normally be reached M-TH; 9:00AM-07:30PM and some Fridays on an IFP schedule. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
M'BAYE DIAO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/M BAYE DIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 December 15, 2025
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859