DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made of application #18/245,006 filed on 03/13/2023 in which claims 1-23 have been presented for prosecution in a first action on the merits.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of preliminary amendment filed on 03/13/2023 in which claims 11,16,20 and 22 are currently amended, claims 17,21 and 23 have been canceled while claims 1-10,12-15,18-19 remain as originally presented. By this amendment, claims 1-16,18-20 and 22 are now pending in the application for prosecution in a first action on the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner and placed of record. An initialed copy is attached herewith.
Specification
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 22 recites the underlined limitations of: “Charging pole (1) according to claim 14, haracterised in that the charging pole has an energy storage device,…”which should and would read for examination purpose -- Charging pole (1) according to claim 14, characterised in that the charging pole has an energy storage device,…. --.
Claim 11 is objected as being indefinite due to lack of antecedent basis. Claim 11 recites the limitations of, “A process for generating and delivering electricity (100) from a charging pole (1) into a power grid according to claim 1 characterised in that the second control command and/or the control command generated from the second information terminates the energy conversion process”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this underlined limitations in the claim since a second control command must be first recited in parent claim 1.
It is suggested however to change the dependency of claim 11 from claim 1 to claim 8 to resolve the antecedent basis.
Furthermore, the claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors, such colon, comma and proper transitional words such as “wherein” instead of “characterised in that”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations of “the charging pole (1)” and the limitations of “a process for generating and delivering electricity (100)” as recited in claims 11-13 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "…the second control command and/or…" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3,7,13-16,19-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smolenaers US 2020/0062138 A1(also cited by Applicants).
Regarding claims 14 and 1: Smolenaers at least discloses and shows in Figs. 3-5: Charging pole (construed as being part of charging station 5) suitable and intended for charging batteries(3) of electric vehicles(1)(see Figs. 3-4 and 6), wherein the charging pole (construed as being part of charging station 5) -comprises a first connection(plug 81)(see Figs. 3-4 and [0103],[0105]) suitable and intended for delivering electrical energy to an electric vehicle(1), -comprises a second connection(see connection to grid 77 via AC/DC converter 83; see Fig. 3) suitable and intended for delivering electrical energy to a power grid(77) connected to the charging pole (construed as being part of charging station 5), characterised in that the charging pole (construed as being part of charging station 5)comprises communication means(communication module 122)(see Figs. 6-7 and [0105])(see [0026],[0090],[0092],[0094] [0134],[0138] and [0145]) suitable and intended for receiving a first control command(as onboard module 20 which is fitted to vehicle 1; see [0105],[0122],[0134],[0139],[0145] and [0191]) and/or a first information from which a control command is generated.
Claim 1 is a process claim which substantially runs in parallel with claim 14 and thus is also anticipated.
Regarding claim 15, Smolenaers discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 14. Smolenaers further discloses, characterised in that the charging pole(construed as being part of charging station 5) comprises a controller(120) suitable and intended for executing the first control command and/or the control command generated from the first information([0121]-[0132],[0138] and [0145]).
Regarding claims 3,16 and 13, Smolenaers discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 15. Smolenaers further discloses, characterised in that the control unit(120) controls a feed-in device(see cable and plug 81 and coupler 126 and/or 127)(Figs. 3-4 and 8), wherein the feeding device comprises a switching device(124,128,129 which are part or a subset of control unit 120)(see Fig. 8 and [0180]) suitable and intended for starting and/or terminating feeding operations([0084],[0097] and [0103])(as per claims 3 and 13).
Regarding claim 19, Smolenaers discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 14. Smolenaers further discloses, characterised in that the first connection (plug 81) is structurally different from the second connection (connection to the grid 77 as shown in Figs. 3-5)(see [0106]-[0108],[0115]-[0116]).
Regarding 20 and 2, Smolenaers discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 14. Smolenaers further discloses, characterised in that the charging pole has a device(83) for energy conversion, wherein the energy conversion device is suitable and intended for converting a gaseous and/or liquid energy carrier into electric energy(see [0073], [100], [[0101])(as per claim 2).
Regarding claim 7, Smolenaers discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 1. Smolenaers further discloses, characterised in that the energy conversion(via AC/DC converter 83)(see Figs. 3-5) takes place in the charging station(5).
Regarding 22, Smolenaers discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 14. Smolenaers further discloses, characterized in that the charging pole has an energy storage device (80)([0100])(see Figs. 3-5).
Claim 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tseng US 2019/0366868 (also cited by Applicants)
Regarding claim 1: Tseng at least discloses and shows in Fig. 6: A process for generating and delivering electricity from a charging pole into a power grid(see [0076]-[0082] and Fig. 6) comprising the following steps:
-Receiving a first control command and/or first information, from which a control command is generated([0080]), from a data network connected to the charging pole(see Fig. 6 and (50),(400),(15),(14)),
-Execute the first control command and/or the control command generated from the first information(see [0081]-[0082]; Fig. 6 and (200),(12),(14), (13), (131), (500)),
-Start of the feed-in of electrical energy from the charging pole into a power grid(see Fig. 6, (200), (12), (14), (131), (500) and [0081]-[0082]), and
-Termination of the feed-in of electrical energy from the charging pole into a power grid(note-that since the charging time is a finite quantity, the charging start and charging end are well defined), where the charging pole is suitable and intended for charging batteries of electric vehicles(300)([0074]).
Regarding claim 2, Tseng further discloses, characterised in that a process for energy conversion is started(200)(Fig. 6 and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 3, Tseng further discloses, a process for energy conversion is terminated(see (200),(12),(13),(14),(131),(500) and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 4, Tseng further discloses, characterised in that the receiving of a first control command and/or a first information from which a control command is generated and the starting of the feeding of electrical energy from the charging pole into a power grid are causally related(see (200),(12),(13),(14),(131),(500) and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 5, Tseng further discloses, characterized in that the first control command and/or the control command generated from the first information starts the feed-in of electricity from the charging pole into the power grid connected to the charging pole(see (200),(12),(13),(14),(131),(500) and [0081]-[0082]).
Regarding claim 6, Tseng further discloses, characterized in that the control command starts the energy conversion process(see (200),(12),(13),(14),(131),(500) and [0081]-[0082])(note-the energy conversion is started and ended based on the demand/commands received).
Regarding claim 7, Tseng further discloses, characterized in that the energy conversion takes place in the charging station(Fig. 6, (200) and [0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smolenaers US 2020/0062138 A1 in view of Tseng US 2019/0366868 A1 (cited by Applicants).
Regarding claim 18, Smolenaers discloses all the claimed invention as set forth and discussed above in claim 15. While Smolenaers discusses(see [0194]) the use the banks (80) being able to be charged overnight and discharged behind-the-meter to provide some or all of the onsite demand for the micro-grid during day whilst vehicles are operating but not drawing charging current from the stations, he fails to expressly disclose the limitations of, “the charging pole comprises a measuring device suitable for and intended to measure the amount of energy delivered to the power grid connected to the charging pole during a feed-in operation”.
In the same field of endeavor, namely electric vehicle supply system, Tseng discloses and shows in Fig. 6, factual evidence of, the charging pole comprises a measuring device (131) suitable for and intended to measure the amount of energy delivered to the power grid connected to the charging pole during a feed-in operation([0078]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify Smolenaers with the teachings of Tseng by including a measuring device suitable for and intended to measure the amount of energy delivered to the power grid connected to the charging pole during a feed-in operation, as recited, in order that the return-back power output from the output power conversion device can be sold through the intelligent electric meter back to the commercial power supply, as per the teachings of Tseng ([0078])(as per claim 12).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tseng US 2019/0366868 A1 in view of Smolenaers US 2020/0062138 A1 (cited by Applicants).
Regarding claim 8, Tseng does not expressly disclose, a second control command and/or second information from which a control command is generated is received from a data network connected to the charging pole.
However, in the same field of endeavor, namely electric vehicle supply system, Smolenaers disclose, a second control command and/or second information(construed as control pilot signal) from which a control command is generated is received from a data network(construed as station 5) connected to the charging pole (see [0122],[0125])
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify Tseng with the teachings of Smolenaers by including, a second control command and/or second information from which a control command is generated is received from a data network connected to the charging pole, as recited, in order to provide an electrical connection to the anode and cathode of battery bank through the protection circuits and isolation circuits defined by controller, as per the teachings of Smolenaers([0122]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim, patentability exists at least in part with the claimed limitations of, “…the receipt of the second control command and/or the second information and the termination of the feed-in of electrical energy from the charging pole into a power grid are causally related”.
Claim 10 depend directly from claim 9 and thus is allowable for the same reasons.
Claim 11 would be allowable if the dependency is changed from claim 1 to claim 8.
Conclusion
M'BAYE DIAO
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2859
/M BAYE DIAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 December 17, 2025
/TAELOR KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859