DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 17-29 in the reply filed on 12/16/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 30-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/16/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 19 recites the broad recitation chemicals, and the claim also recites other organic materials, which are all chemicals, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claims 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 26 is indefinite for the following reasons:
1) A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 26 recites several broad recitations followed by narrower statements of the range/limitation. They are too numerous to list. One example is “halogen-comprising polymers and the narrower limitation of copolymers of vinyl chloride and vinylidene chloride. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
2) The limitation “polymer blends also long-chain branched polypropylene copolymers” is indefinite. The polymer blends are indefinite, and it is unclear what is intended by “also”.
3) The limitation “and blends with polystyrene or polyamides” under f) is indefinite since it is not clarified what is included in the blends, or particularly what is blended with polystyrene or polyamides.
4) The limitation “and blends” under m) is indefinite. It is unclear which polymers are being blended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taira (JP 03-227938A).
Regarding claims 17-25: Taira teaches a method of adding dehydrodieugenol in the claimed amount as an antioxidant to stabilize an organic material (methyl linoleate or a membrane lipid) that is a chemical (page 3, Examples).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Candau et al. (FR 2918560 A1).
Regarding claims 17-25: Candau et al. teach a method of stabilizing an organic material (a dibenzoylmethane derivative) comprising incorporating into the material a photostabilizing agent (pages 12, 19, abstract; examples). Candau et al. teach incorporating 0.1 to 10 wt% of a compound of formula XV as a photostabilizing agent (page 19). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select dehydrodieugenol (page 19) as the photostabilizing agent in the method of Candau et al.
Regarding claim 26: Candau et al. teach that their method includes silicones and polymers of olefins (pages 9-11, and 22-25).
Regarding claim 27-28: Candau et al. teach at least one of the claimed additives (page 22; Example).
Regarding claim 29: Candau et al. teach the claimed amount of stearate (lubricant) (page 25).
Claim(s) 17-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hikima (JP 10-194961A).
Regarding claims 17-25: Hikima teaches a method of stabilizing an organic material comprising incorporating a biphenyl compound in the claimed amount [0005; Examples]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select dehydrodieugenol [0015] as the biphenyl compound in Hikima.
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763