DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
All previous objections and rejections not reiterated herein were overcome by claim amendments and arguments, filed July 8th, 2026, have been fully considered and found persuasive. As such all objections and rejections not reiterated herein have been withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 1, 8 – 13, 22 – 24, 34 – 35, 76 – 92, 129, 139 – 141, and 146 – 151 are currently pending in the application. However, due to a restriction requirement mailed July 18th, 2025, claims 146 – 151 are withdrawn from further consideration and claims 1, 8 – 13, 22 – 24, 34 – 35, 76 – 92, 129, and 139 – 141 are being examined on the merits herein.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: spelling error in line 9 of the claim. Line 9 recites “5-(2-aminomethy-henyl)- thien-2-yl,” which should be “5-(2-aminomethy-phenyl)- thien-2-yl.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, 13, 22, 76, 81 – 83, 85, 90 – 92, 129, 139, and 141 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hillig et. al. ((2019), Discovery of potent SOS1 inhibitors that block RAS activation via disruption of the RAS–SOS1 interaction, PNAS, 116, 2551 – 2560; cited on the IDS dated December 18th, 2023) in view of Li et. al. ((2020), PROTAC**: A Novel Technology for Drug Development, Chemistry Select, 5, 13232 – 13247).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 13, 22, 76, 81 – 83, 85, 90 – 92, 129, 139, and 141, Hillig et. al. teach that the most-studied guanine nucleotide exchange factor (GEF) for RAS is the protein Son of Sevenless (SOS) for which two human isoforms, SOS1 and SOS2, are known. See page 2551 column 2 paragraph 1. Additionally, Hillig et. al. teach that fragment-based screening, rational design, and high-throughput screening approaches led to identification of small molecules addressing the KRAS–SOS1 interaction, resulting in compounds with moderate micromolar affinity. See page 2551 column 2 paragraph 1. Furthermore, Hillig et. al. teach selective and potent compounds with double-digit nanomolar affinity to SOS1, submicromolar antiproliferative activity in tumor cell lines, and synergistic combination potential with the covalent KRASG12C inhibitor ARS-853. See page 2552 column 1 paragraph 1. Specifically, Hillig et. al. teach compounds 1 of structure
with an IC50 = 320 nM, compound 15 of structure
with an IC50 = 170 nM, compound 17 of structure
with an IC50 = 140 nM, and compound 19 of structure
with an IC50 = 51 nM. See page 2555 Figure 3 and page 2557 Figure 4. See claim 1 limitation for a compound of Formula (I) where U = Y = -C=; V = X = -C(R4)= where R4 = -OR1a where R1a = CH3; R1 = either H or CH3; R3 = H; R2 = -CH(CH3)-; and Q = substituted thiophene, naphthalene, or substituted benzene, where Qa = bromo, heteroaryl, or aryl. See claim 8 limitation for a compound of formula II where R2a = H; R2b = CH3; and R2c = substituted thiophene, naphthalene, or substituted benzene. See claim 13 limitation for a compound of claim 8 where R2c = substituted thiophene, naphthalene, or substituted benzene. See claim 22 limitation for a compound where R2c is 3 – bromophenyl, napth-1-yl, and 5-(2-aminomethy-phenyl)-thien-2-yl. See claim 76 limitation for a compound of claim 1 where the moiety is : T1
, T9
, T10
, or T12
. Moreover, Hillig et. al. teach that the IC50 values of these compounds were determined in assay buffer comprising 10 mM HEPES pH 7.4 (AppliChem), 150 mM NaCl (Sigma), 5 mM MgCl2 (Sigma), 1 mM DTT (Thermo Fisher), 0.05% BSA Fraction V pH 7.0 (ICN Biomedicals), 0.0025% (v/v) Igepal (Sigma)]. See page 14 paragraph 3. See claim 141 limitation for a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
However Hillig et. al. fail to teach a compound of Formula (I) where L is a linker and RE is an E3 ubiquitin ligase binding moiety. See claim 1 limitation. Moreover, Hillig et. al. fail to teach a compound where RE is cereblon (CRBN). See claims 81 and 82 limitation. Furthermore, Hillig et. al. fail to teach a compound where the RE moiety has the structure EC-I which encompasses Formula (EC-V). See claim 83 and 85 limitation. Additionally, Hillig et. al. fail to teach a compound where Z is -CH2- or -C(O)-. See claims 90 – 91. Moreover, Hillig et. al. fail to teach a compound where RE5 = H or F. See claim 92 limitation. Furthermore, Hillig et. al. fail to teach a compound where L =
and/ or
. See claim 129 and 139.
Nevertheless, Li et. al. teach that small molecule inhibitors inevitably increase the probability of drug resistance, especially in the late stage of some tumors. See page 13232 column 1 paragraph 1. Li et. al. teach that proteolysis targeting chimeras (PROTACs) can target degrade abnormal proteins by utilizing the ubiquitination-proteasome pathway, which can rapidly and efficiently degrade targets with low concentration and is expected to relieve the drug resistance condition. See page 13232 column 1 paragraph 1. Furthermore, Li et. al. teach that PROTACS are heterobifunctional molecules consisting of three parts: an E3 ligase ligand, a protein of interest (POI) ligand and a chain to connect these ligands (linker). See page 13232 column 1 paragraph 2 and column 2 paragraph 1. Additionally, Li et. al. teach cereblon (CRBN) of structure
. See page 13234 Table 1. See claims 81 and 82 limitation for a compound where RE is cereblon (CRBN). See claims 83 and 85 limitation for a compound of EC-I which encompasses Formula (EC-V)where Z = -CH2- or -C(O)-; Z1 = Z2 = Z3 = Z4 = -C=; RE1 = RE2 = RE5 = H; m = 1; and AE is a bond. See claim 90 limitation for a compound where Z = -CH2-. See claim 91 limitation for a compound where Z = -C(O)-. See claim 92 limitation for a compound where RE5 = H. Moreover, Li et. al. teach example linkers PROTACS 2, 10 and ARV-825, of structures
with the circled linkers. See page 13239 Table 2. See claims 129 and 139 for a compound where L =
and/ or
.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify compounds 1, 15, 17, and 19 of Hillig et. al. in view of Li et. al. that is to attach a linker and E3 ligation moiety. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to overcome or reduce the probability of drug resistance in the late stage tumors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because PROTACS can degrade targets with low concentration and thus is expected to relieve the drug resistance condition.
Claims 9 – 11, 23 – 24, 35, 78 – 79, 80 and 84 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hillig et. al. ((2019), Discovery of potent SOS1 inhibitors that block RAS activation via disruption of the RAS–SOS1 interaction, PNAS, 116, 2551 – 2560; cited on the IDS dated December 18th, 2023) in view of Li et. al. ((2020), PROTAC**: A Novel Technology for Drug Development, Chemistry Select, 5, 13232 – 13247), as applied to claims 1, 8, 13, 22, 76, 81 – 83, 85, 90 – 92, 129, 139, and 141 above.
The teachings of Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. as they relate to claims 1, 8, and 83, from which claims 9 – 11, 23 – 24, 35, 78 – 79, 80, and 84 depend, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
However, the prior art of Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. fail to teach a compound where L-RE is attached at different positions on the ring. See claims 9 – 11, 23 – 24, 35, 78 – 79, and 80 limitation. Moreover, the prior art of Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. fail to teach a where instant AE is attached to the linker at the carbon adjacent to C-RE5. See claim 84 limitation.
Nevertheless, with regards to the limitation of claims 9 – 11, 23 – 24, 35, 78 – 79, and 80, for a compound where L-RE feature is attached at different positions of the rings, given that that only difference between the instant compounds and the combination compound of Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. is the position of the L-RE feature the compounds of both the instant application and combination of Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. are positional isomers. Therefore compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09(II).
Moreover, with regards to the limitation of claim 84, where instant AE is attached to the linker at the carbon adjacent to C-RE5, given that that only difference between the instant compounds and the combination compound of Hillig et. al. and Li et. al.is the position of the AE – L connection, the compounds of both the instant application and the combination compound of Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. are positional isomers. Therefore compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09(II).
Claims 12, and 86 – 89 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hillig et. al. ((2019), Discovery of potent SOS1 inhibitors that block RAS activation via disruption of the RAS–SOS1 interaction, PNAS, 116, 2551 – 2560; cited on the IDS dated December 18th, 2023) in view of Li et. al. ((2020), PROTAC**: A Novel Technology for Drug Development, Chemistry Select, 5, 13232 – 13247), as applied to claims 1, 8, 13, 22, 76, 81 – 83, 85, 90 – 92, 129, 139, and 141 above, and further in view of Ali et. al. ((2014), Input of Isosteric and Bioisosteric Approach in Drug Design, J. Chem. Soc. Pak., 36, page 150-169; cited in the office action dated March 9th, 2026).
The teachings of Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. as they relate to claims 1, 8, and 83, from which claims 12, and 86 – 89 depend, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
However, Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. fail to teach a compound of claim 8 where the compound is a compound of formula (IV)
where V = -N=. See claim 12 limitation. Moreover, Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. fail to teach a compound of claim 83 where the compound is a compound of formula (EC-VI); (EC-IX); (EC-X), or EC-XII. See claim 86 limitation where RE is a moiety having the structure of Formula (EC-VI)
. See claim 87 limitation where RE is a moiety having the structure of Formula (EC-IX)
. See claim 88 limitation where RE is a moiety having the structure of Formula (EC-X)
. See claim 89 limitation where RE is a moiety having the structure of Formula (EC-XII)
.
Nevertheless, with regards to the limitation of claim 12, for a compound where L-RE feature is attached at a different position on the ring, given that that only difference between the instant compounds and the combination compound of Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. is the position of the L-RE feature the compounds of both the instant application and combination of Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. are positional isomers. Therefore compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09(II).
Moreover, with regards to the limitation of claim 88, where instant AE is attached to the linker at the carbon adjacent to C-RE5, given that that only difference between the instant compounds and the combination compound of Hillig et. al. and Li et. al.is the position of the AE – L connection, the compounds of both the instant application and the combination compound of Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. are positional isomers. Therefore compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09(II).
Nevertheless, Ali et. al. teach isosterism or bioisosterism is one of the approaches most frequently used in the design of new molecules. See page 150 column 1 paragraph 1. Furthermore, Ali et. al. teach that bioisosterism is a well-established technique in modern drug design, extensively studied for modification of drug target selectivity, bioactivity, efficacy, potency, membrane permeability, biotransformation pathways and toxicity profile. See page 150 column 1 paragraph 1. Moreover, Ali et. al. teach that the isosteric replacement approach is a practical and, possibly, better substitutes to recent lead optimization techniques. See page 150 column 1 paragraph 1. Specifically, Ali et. al. teach the idea of Benzene ring equivalents in Table 7 page 158, wherein benzene ring equivalents are
. See page 158. Thus Ali et. al. suggest
and
as known in the prior art ring equivalents to benzene. See claim 12 limitation a compound of claim 8 where the compound is a compound of formula (IV)
where V from Formula (I) is -N=. See claims 86 – 89 for a compound of claim 83 where the compound is a compound of formula (EC-VI); (EC-IX); (EC-X), or EC-XII.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify compounds 1, 15, 17, and 19 of Hillig et. al. in view of Li et. al. that is to attach a linker and E3 ligation moiety, and in further view of Ali et. al. to use a
in the R2c position or the AE ring, or to use
that is, have instant V as a N. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to modify a drug target selectivity, bioactivity, efficacy, potency, membrane permeability, biotransformation pathways and toxicity profile. One or ordinary skill in the art would have had a reason expectation of success because
and
as known in the prior art ring equivalents to benzene and are therefore, bioisosteres.
Claim 77 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hillig et. al. ((2019), Discovery of potent SOS1 inhibitors that block RAS activation via disruption of the RAS–SOS1 interaction, PNAS, 116, 2551 – 2560; cited on the IDS dated December 18th, 2023) in view of Li et. al. ((2020), PROTAC**: A Novel Technology for Drug Development, Chemistry Select, 5, 13232 – 13247), as applied to claims 1, 8, 13, 22, 76, 81 – 83, 85, 90 – 92, 129, 139, and 141 above.
The teachings of Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. as they relate to claim 1, from which claim 77 depends, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
However, Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. fail to teach a compound of claim 1, where the moiety is a moiety of a compound having the structure of T44
. See claim 77 limitation.
Nevertheless, as taught above, Hillig et. al. teach compound 19 of the following structure respectively:
. See page 2555 Figure 3. Moreover, the only difference between the prior art compound 19 and examined compound T44 is the substituent group attached to the thiophene ring. Furthermore, both prior art compound 19 and examined compound T44 have identical core scaffolds. Thus given that the only difference between the prior art compound 19 and examined compound T44 is the substituent group attached to the thiophene ring both compounds are close structurally. And a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See MPEP 2144.09 (I).
Claim 140 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hillig et. al. ((2019), Discovery of potent SOS1 inhibitors that block RAS activation via disruption of the RAS–SOS1 interaction, PNAS, 116, 2551 – 2560; cited on the IDS dated December 18th, 2023) in view of Li et. al. ((2020), PROTAC**: A Novel Technology for Drug Development, Chemistry Select, 5, 13232 – 13247), as applied to claims 1, 8, 13, 22, 76, 81 – 83, 85, 90 – 92, 129, 139, and 141 above.
The teachings of Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. as they relate to claim 1, from which claim 140 depends, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
However, Hillig et. al. and Li et. al. fail to teach a compound of claim 1, where the compound is 4-((2-(2-(2-(2-((4-(((R)-1-(3-bromophenyl)ethyl)amino)-6-methoxy-2-methylquinazolin-7-yl)oxy)ethoxy)ethoxy)ethoxy)ethyl)amino)-2-(2,6-dioxopiperidin-3-yl)isoindoline-1,3-dione of structure
See claim 140 limitation.
Nevertheless, as taught above, prior art of Hillig et.al. teach compound 15 of structure
. Moreover, the prior art of Li et. al. teach example linkers in PROTAC ARV-825, of structures
coupled to the E3 ligase moiety cereblon. Thus the prior art of Hillig et. all and Li et. al. teach the three pieces of examined compound 4-((2-(2-(2-(2-((4-(((R)-1-(3-bromophenyl)ethyl)amino)-6-methoxy-2-methylquinazolin-7-yl)oxy)ethoxy)ethoxy)ethoxy)ethyl)amino)-2-(2,6-dioxopiperidin-3-yl)isoindoline-1,3-dione. Given that the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the pharmaceutical arts is relatively high, being that of a Ph.D., Pharm. D. or MD it would have been within the purview of such artisan to combine the three portions into synthesize 4-((2-(2-(2-(2-((4-(((R)-1-(3-bromophenyl)ethyl)amino)-6-methoxy-2-methylquinazolin-7-yl)oxy)ethoxy)ethoxy)ethoxy)ethyl)amino)-2-(2,6-dioxopiperidin-3-yl)isoindoline-1,3-dione.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify compound 15 of Hillig et. al. in view of Li et. al. that is to attach a linker and E3 ligase moiety of ARV-825. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to overcome or reduce the probability of drug resistance in the late stage tumors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success because PROTACS can degrade targets with low concentration and thus is expected to relieve the drug resistance condition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 3rd, 2026, with regards to prior art rejections of claims 1, 8 – 13, 23 – 24, 34 – 35, 81 – 89, 91 – 92, and 141 have been fully considered and were found to be persuasive. Thus the prior art rejection was modified using Hillig et. al. in view of Li et. al.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8, 11, 24, and 141 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 23 of U.S. Patent No. US 12419962 B2 to Erdman et. al. (herein after Erdman‘962).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and the invention of Erdman‘962 direct to a compound of Formula (I)
or an enantiomer, a mixture of enantiomers, a diastereomer, a mixture of two or more diastereomers, a tautomer, a mixture of two or more tautomers, or an isotopic variant thereof. See reference claims 1, 4, and 5. See examined claims 1, 8, 11, and 24. Moreover, Erdman‘962 recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of (reference) claim 1 and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. See examined claim 15. See examined claim 141.
Claims 1, 8 – 13, 22 – 24, 34 – 35, 76 – 92, 129, 139, and 140 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 23 of U.S. Patent No. US 12419962 B2 to Erdman et. al. (herein after Erdman‘962).
Erdman‘962 recite a compound of Formula (I)
or an enantiomer, a mixture of enantiomers, a diastereomer, a mixture of two or more diastereomers, a tautomer, a mixture of two or more tautomers, or an isotopic variant thereof. See reference claims 1, 4, and 5. See examined claims 1, 8, 11, and 24.
However, Erdman‘962 is silent on compounds of Formula (I) where L-RE is attached at different positions on the ring. See examined claims 1, 8 – 13, 22 – 24, 34 – 35, 76 – 92, 129, 139, and 140.
Nevertheless, given that that only difference between the instant compounds and the compounds of Erdman‘962 is the position of the L-RE feature the compounds of both the instant application and copending Erdman‘962 are positional isomers. Therefore compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09(II).
Claim 1, 8 – 13, 22 – 24, 34 – 35, 76 – 92, 129, and 139 – 141 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 8 – 11, 22 – 23, 40 – 45, 50 – 53, and 139 – 140 of copending Application No. 18/542628 to Chan et. al. (reference application; Chan’628).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and the invention of Erdman‘962 direct to a compound of Formula (I)
or an enantiomer, a mixture of enantiomers, a diastereomer, a mixture of two or more diastereomers, a tautomer, a mixture of two or more tautomers, or an isotopic variant thereof. See reference claims 1, 8 – 11, 22 – 23, 40 – 45, 50 – 53. See examined claims 1, 8 – 10, 12, 23, 78 – 79, and 140.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 8 – 13, 22 – 24, 34 – 35, 76 – 92, 129, and 139 – 141 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 4, 16, 95, 105, and 107 of copending Application No. 18/550960 to Chourasia et. al. (Chourasia’960) in view of Boichenko et. al. ((2018), Chemical Ligand Space of Cereblon, ACS Omega, 3, 11163 – 11171; cited in the office action mailed March 9th, 2026).
Chourasia’960 recite a compound of Formula (II)
or an enantiomer, a mixture of enantiomers, a diastereomer, a mixture of two or more diastereomers, a tautomer, a mixture of two or more tautomers, or an isotopic variant thereof where reference R4 is -L-RB where reference RB that is instant RE, is C2-6 fluoroalkyl, C2-6 alkynyl, C3-10 cycloalkyl, C6-14 aryl, C7-15 aralkyl, heteroaryl, or heterocyclyl. See reference claims 1, 8 – 11, 22 – 23, 40 – 45, and 50 – 53. See examined claims 1, 8 – 10, 12, 23, 78 – 79, and 140.
However, Chourasia’960 fail to recite whether reference RB that is instant RE, is an E3 ubiquitin ligase binding moiety. See examined claim 1.
Nevertheless, Boichenko et. al. teach thalidomide and related IMiDs mediate their effects by binding to the protein cereblon, a substrate receptor of the CRL4A E3 ubiquitin ligase complex. See page 11163 column 1 paragraph 2. Furthermore, Boichenko et. al. teach a variety of E3 ubiquitin ligase binding compounds that are 5 – 6 membered rings containing N and O atoms and are heterocyclic. See Figures 2a-b, Figure 3 and Figure 4 page 11165. Thus Boichenko et. al. suggest E3 ubiquitin ligase binding species that are heterocyclic.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the compound of copending Chourasia’960 to include a heterocyclic ring that in view of Boichenko et. al. is a E3 ubiquitin ligase binding moiety. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification and have reasonable expectation of success to bind to the protein cereblon, a substrate receptor of the CRL4A E3 ubiquitin ligase complex.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 8, 11, 24, and 141 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 160 of copending Application No. 19/510087 to Okano et. al. (Okano’087).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant application and the invention of Okano’087 direct to a compound of Formula (I)
or an enantiomer, a mixture of enantiomers, a diastereomer, a mixture of two or more diastereomers, a tautomer, a mixture of two or more tautomers, or an isotopic variant thereof where R1-4, Re, X, V, U, L, A, and are defined. See reference claims 1, 4, and 5. See examined claims 1, 8, 11, and 24. Additionally, Okano’087 recite a compound of (reference) Formula (I) which encompasses (reference) Formulas and structural limitations as recited in reference claims 14 – 155; and overlap with structural limitations of examined claims 1, 8, 11, and 24. Moreover, Okano’087 recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of any one of (reference) claims 1 to 155 and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. See examined claim 156. See examined claim 141. Furthermore, Okano’087 recite a pharmaceutical composition where dosage forms are recited. See reference claims 157 – 160.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 8 – 13, 22 – 24, 34 – 35, 76 – 92, 129, and 139 – 141 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 160 of copending Application No. 19/510087 to Okano et. al. (Okano’087).
Okano’087 direct to a compound of Formula (I)
or an enantiomer, a mixture of enantiomers, a diastereomer, a mixture of two or more diastereomers, a tautomer, a mixture of two or more tautomers, or an isotopic variant thereof where R1-4, Re, X, V, U, L, A, and are defined. See reference claims 1, 4, and 5. See examined claims 1, 8, 11, and 24. Additionally, Okano’087 recite a compound of (reference) Formula (I) which encompasses (reference) Formulas and structural limitations as recited in reference claims 14 – 155; and overlap with structural limitations of examined claims 1, 8, 11, and 24.
However, Okano’087 is silent on compounds of Formula (I) where A-L-Re is attached at different positions on the ring. See examined claims 1, 8 – 13, 22 – 24, 34 – 35, 76 – 92, 129, 139, and 140.
Nevertheless, given that that only difference between the instant compounds and the compounds of Okano’087 is the position of the A-L-Re feature the compounds of both the instant application and copending Okano’087 are positional isomers. Therefore compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2144.09(II).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 8th, 2026, with regards to the provisional nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) and NSDP rejections of examined claims 1, 8 – 13, 22 – 24, 34 – 35, 76 – 92, 129, and 139 – 141 over claims 1 – 23 of U.S. Patent No. US 12419962 B2 to Erdman et. al. (Erdman‘962); claim 1, 8 – 11, 22 – 23, 40 – 45, 50 – 53, and 139 – 140 of copending Application No. 18/542628 to Chan et. al. (Chan’628); and claim 1, 4, 16, 95, 105, and 107 of copending Application No. 18/550960 to Chourasia et. al. (Chourasia’960) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states that they will consider filing a terminal disclaimer once the examined claims are otherwise in condition for allowance. See applicant’s remarks page 40 paragraph 2.
The examiner contends that a complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection is either a reply by applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims, or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance with 37 CFR 1.321 in the pending application(s) with a reply to the Office action (see MPEP § 1490 for a discussion of terminal disclaimers). Such a response is required even when the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisional. (MPEP 804)
Moreover, as filing a terminal disclaimer, or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, such a filing should not be held in abeyance. Only compliance with objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. (MPEP 804(I)B1). Therefore, the provisional nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) and NSDP rejections of instant claims 1, 8 – 13, 22 – 24, 34 – 35, 76 – 92, 129, and 139 – 141 are maintained.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 8 – 13, 22 – 24, 34 – 35, 76 – 92, 129, and 139 – 141 are rejected.
/DAWANNA SHAR-DAY WHITE/Examiner, Art Unit 1627