DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on [DATE] is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7,12-14,17-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-5,8-12,15-18 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-5, 7-11,13-16 of U.S. Patent No. 11,522,925. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because The instant invention claim is broader in every aspect than the patent claim and is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Instant Invention
Claim(s) 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11,522,925
Claim(s) 1
2
3
4
5
-
-
7
8
9
Instant Invention
Claim(s) 11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
11,522,925
Claim(s)
10
11
-
-
13
14
15
16
-
-
Claims 1-5,8-12,15-18 of the instant invention is anticipated by the US Patent 11,522,925 claims in that this claim of the instant invention contains all the limitations of the claim of the patent as corresponding to the table above. Claims 1-5,8-12,15-18 of the instant invention therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Safaei (US-20170318262-A1) in view of Chou(US-20120281059-A1).
Regarding claim 1, A method for spatially-aware virtual teleconferencing, comprising: receiving, by a first computing device, one or more media streams generated by a corresponding one or more additional computing devices, and a location within a virtual environment associated with each of the one or more additional computing devices, the first computing device associated with a first location within the virtual environment(Safaei teaches at para.[0130] “In one form the central server 201 determines the location information of each one of the avatars in the virtual environment. The central server 201 may also determine the orientation of the avatars relative to the other avatars. The central server 201 can transmit this information to the clients such that the clients are aware of the location and orientation of the other avatars in the virtual environment. In an alternate form the individual clients may determine the orientation of other avatars within the virtual environment. The client may also determine the position of the other avatars within the virtual environment.” This supports the first computing device receiving the virtual locations associated with the other devices’ avatars. Safaei further teaches a local client receiving multimedia streams originating from cameras associated with other clients, directly or through a server at para.[0104-0107],[0113], and receiving server transmitted location information for the corresponding avatars at para.[0130], wherein the local client is associated with its own avatar and virtual viewpoint within the virtual viewpoint within the virtual environment at paragraphs [0098],[0106], [0112]); and rendering, by the first computing device via one or more output devices, a viewport into the virtual environment from the first location, each of the one or more media streams at the location within the virtual environment associated with the corresponding additional computing device, and the adjusted audio of the one or more media streams(Safaei teaches at para.[0111] “FIG. 6 shows a further environment adapted for video conferencing. In FIG. 6 each avatar displays a video stream of the corresponding user that is displayed in the virtual environment. In the example of FIG. 6 a plurality of avatars 610 620 630 640 exist in the form of a video representation of the user. In FIG. 6 the avatars are displayed as individual images spatially arranged across the virtual environment. The avatars are arranged at different angular orientations within the virtual environment. The avatars have different sizes.” This supports displaying each participants stream at its corresponding avatar’s virtual location. Safaei further teaches a receiving client displaying multimedia data through a screen or display at para. [0094] and [0113, presenting the virtual environment from the local avatar’s virtual viewpoint at para. [0098] and [0103], displaying each remote participant’s video stream on its corresponding spatially positioned avatar at para.[0105-106] and [0111], and presenting audio communications with client-adjusted audio levels, including an embodiment adjusting all streams at para.[0107],[0210]-[0211])However, Safaei does not fully disclose adjusting, by the first computing device, audio characteristics of each of the one or more media streams according to a difference between the first location and the location within the virtual environment associated with the corresponding additional computing device.
The combination of Safaei and Chou does teach adjusting, by the first computing device, audio characteristics of each of the one or more media streams according to a difference between the first location and the location within the virtual environment associated with the corresponding additional computing device. (Safaei teaches adjusting, by the receiving client, audio levels of received media streams according to the corresponding avatars’ saliency rankings at para.[0210], including an embodiment adjusting all streams at para.([0211], wherein the rankings incorporate distance and orientation relative to the local client at para.[0149] and [0153], thereby teaching audio adjustment according to the difference between the local and corresponding remote virtual locations. Chou explicitly provides spatial audio support additionally teaching that received audio is “directionally steered to match the angle of the audio source” at para.[0029] and that stereo signal is adjusted to reflect a changed listening position at para.[0035] “Likewise, the stereo signal emanating from the loudspeakers (or headphones) may be adjusted to reflect this changed listening position. Spatial audio, using either loudspeakers or headphones, is well known in the art, and may be used to have the various participants' speech seem to come from the appropriate locations. One recent spatial audio mechanism uses a visual head-tracking mechanism to modify the audio coming from loudspeakers depending on the listener's position. A single-channel microphone is sufficient in most cases to capture audio from each participant.”); It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chou into the teachings of Safaei in order to make sure that each participant’s voice appears to originate from the corresponding avatar’s location relative to the local listener. This would improve spatial realism and maintain consistency between the displayed participants and their perceived audio locations as the listener’s viewpoint changes.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Safaei and Chou disclose all the elements of claim 1 as discussed above. Safaei also discloses wherein adjusting the audio characteristics of each of the one or more media streams further comprises determining a direction and distance between the first location and the location associated with the corresponding additional computing device, and applying spatial processing to the corresponding audio stream based on the determined direction and distance(Safaei teaches at para.[0169] “If the visibility state of the avatar is not completely occluded, the relative distance and orientation of the avatar to the local avatar (camera) are calculated. As shown in FIG. 8, the relative distance of the avatar to the camera is obtained from Equation 1 and is denoted by d:” alongside para.[0172] “The relative angular distance of the viewer (camera) from the normal vector from the video surface is β, the Euler angle about the local y axis. β0 represents the relative angular distance of the centre of the video surface with respect to the camera's normal vector. Avatars with any positions in the scene can be presented by a relative angle of β0 which can be calculated with Equation 2.” Safaei further teaches determining a direction and distance between the local avatar/ camera and a corresponding remote avatar by calculating their relative distance and angular relationship at para.[0169-0172]. Safaei further teaches incorporating these spatial factors into the avatar’s saliency ranking at para.[0149] and [0153] and, upon receiving the corresponding media stream, adjusting their audio levels at the local client according to that ranking, including an embodiment adjusting all streams at para.[0210-0211].)
Claim(s) 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Safaei as modified by Chou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chrysanthakopoulos(US-7113610-B1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Safaei and Chou disclose all the elements of claim 1 as discussed above. However, the combination does not fully disclose wherein adjusting the audio characteristics of each of the one or more media streams further comprises determining a vector between the first location and the location within the virtual environment associated with the corresponding additional computing device, and applying stereo attenuation according to the determined vector.
Chryssanthakopoulos does disclose wherein adjusting the audio characteristics of each of the one or more media streams further comprises determining a vector between the first location and the location within the virtual environment associated with the corresponding additional computing device, and applying stereo attenuation according to the determined vector (Chrysanthakopoulos teaches at col. 10, lines 13-35 “FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating the logical step employed for computing a volume attenuation for one or more physical speakers, based on an orientation of the virtual listener and virtual speakers relative to the virtual sound source. At a step 350, the audio module establishes the local origin at the Cartesian position of the virtual listener in the virtual environment. Effectively, the audio module determines local coordinates for the virtual sound source relative to the position of the virtual listener in the simulated environment. For example, the audio module may simply subtract each global Cartesian coordinate component of the virtual listener from each global Cartesian coordinate component of the virtual sound source to determine local coordinates of the virtual sound source. This localization process need not be applied to the virtual speaker coordinates, since the virtual speakers remain on the unit sphere. Having localized the virtual sound source, the audio module normalizes the virtual sound source vector between the virtual listener and the virtual sound source. As is well known, this normalization may be achieved by dividing each Cartesian coordinate component of the virtual sound source vector by the magnitude (i.e., the length) of the virtual sound source vector.” This directly connects the determined listener-to-source vector to audio attenuation. calculating a vector between a virtual listener and virtual sound source and using that vector to calculate attenuation factors for speaker outputs, including a two-speaker embodiment, shown in Figs. 5-6.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Chrysanthakopoulos into the combination of teachings of Safaei and Chou in order to a allow each remote participant’s audio stream to use the local and remote avatar locations as the listener and source locations, to provide accurate spatial audio cues as the participants move within the virtual environment.
Claim(s) 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Safaei as modified by Chou and Chrysanthakopoulos as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Gerrard(US-20060029243-A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Safaei, Chou and Chrysanthakopoulos discloses all the elements of claim 2 as discussed above. However, the combination does not disclose, wherein adjusting the audio characteristics of each of the one or more media streams further comprises determining that a vector between the first location and a second location associated with a first additional computing device passes through a virtual object, and responsive to the determination, increasing an amount of attenuation for the audio characteristics of the corresponding media stream.
Gerrard does disclose wherein adjusting the audio characteristics of each of the one or more media streams further comprises determining that a vector between the first location and a second location associated with a first additional computing device passes through a virtual object, and responsive to the determination, increasing an amount of attenuation for the audio characteristics of the corresponding media stream(Gerrard teaches determining whether a ray between a listener and sound source intersects a virtual polygon at para.[0075] and, responsive to detecting that intersection, applying the polygon’s acoustic-material attenuation factor to the source audio at para.[0076] and [0079].) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Gerrard into the combination of teachings of Safaei, Chou and Chrysanthakopoulos in order to apply processing remote-participant audio streams, using the local and remote avatar positions as listener and source positions, to simulate reduced audibility caused by intervening virtual objects.
Claim(s) 8, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Safaei in view of Valli (US-20200099891-A1) and Dini(US-20130307942-A1).
Regarding claim 8, Safaei discloses A method for server-side dynamic video aggregation for virtual teleconferencing, comprising(Safaei teaches from para.[0097-0104] server hosted virtual conferences. ): receiving, by a server device, a media stream from each of a plurality of client devices, each client device associated with a location within a virtual environment(Safaei at para.[0104-0105] describe the server receiving participant video streams captured by cameras associated with the clients. Further at para.[0106] associates each client with a movable avatar, implying location is being tracked in an environment.); However, Safaei does not fully disclose for each client device of the plurality of client devices: for each other client device of the plurality of client devices: calculating a distance between a location of the client device within the virtual environment and a location of the other client device within the virtual environment, assigning a resolution to the media stream of the other client device corresponding to the calculated distance, and adding a video frame of the media stream of the other client device to a tapestry image at the assigned resolution; and transmitting the tapestry image to the client device, receipt of the tapestry image causing the client device to extract each video frame of the media stream of the other client devices and render the video frame at a location corresponding to the location of the other client device within the virtual environment
The combination of Safaei, Valli and Dali does disclose for each client device of the plurality of client devices: for each other client device of the plurality of client devices: calculating a distance between a location of the client device within the virtual environment(Safaei at para.[0101] expressly determines virtual distances between avatars.Valli also discloses deriving a distance between participants using their positions in a unified coordinate system at para.[0130]) and a location of the other client device within the virtual environment, assigning a resolution to the media stream of the other client device corresponding to the calculated distance, and adding a video frame of the media stream of the other client device to a tapestry image at the assigned resolution(Valli expressly reduces resolution as a function of distance from a remote node in shared virtual geometry at para.[0137] “Spatial 2D resolution may be reduced approximately proportionally to the inverse of the squared distance” Applying this rule to Safaei’s server supplied the assigned resolution for each remote stream. Dali at para.[0027] combines independent video images into a composite frame. Further at para.[0073] Dali expressly packs component images at different resolutions, for example, one HD-ready stream and two VGA streams. The compose frame maps to the tapestry image using the resolutions selected in the teachings of Valli); and transmitting the tapestry image to the client device, receipt of the tapestry image causing the client device to extract each video frame of the media stream of the other client devices(Dali at para.[0039-0040] and [0053] describe encoding transmitting and receiving the composite video stream. Safaei supplies delivery to the corresponding conferencing client as described above. Dali also discloses at para.[0054] restoring composite frames and demultiplexes their component streams. Further at para.[0069] Dali describes extracting component 2D images by “cutting them out of the HD frames”) and render the video frame at a location corresponding to the location of the other client device within the virtual environment(Safaei at para.[0111],[0113] and [0130] supply client-side display of participant video at spatially arranged avatar locations. This can be used alongside Dali’s extracted participant images for those avatar displays completing the proposed rendering step.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Valli into the teachings of Safaei in order to a use Valli’s distance-dependent spatial-resolution reduction to Safaei’s server-controlled participant video quality, preserving appropriate perceived detail while reducing network load.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Dali into the teachings of Safaei in order to pack the resulting participant frames using Dali’s composite frame technique and extract them at the receiving client for Safaei’s avatar rendering, permitting multiple independently usable video images to travel within one encoded frame.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Safaei, Valli and Dali discloses all the elements of claim 8 as discussed above. Safaei also discloses further comprising, for each client device of the plurality of client devices, transmitting, to the client device, audio of the media streams from each other client device and an identification of the location within the virtual environment corresponding to each other client device(Safaei teaches transmitting multimedia streams to the client associated with a receiving avatar, including audio from other participants at para.[0107], and transmitting location information for the other avatars so that receiving clients know their locations within the virtual environment at para.[0130]. These teachings support transmitting to each receiving client the other participants’ audio and their corresponding virtual location identifications.)
Claim(s) 9,10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Safaei as modified by Valli and Dali as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Sakurai(US-20180033185-A1)
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Saafei, Valli and Dali disclose all the elements of claim 8 as discussed above. However, it does not disclose wherein adding the frame of the media stream of the other client device to the tapestry image further comprises encoding metadata of the frame in the tapestry image.
Sakurai does disclose wherein adding the frame of the media stream of the other client device to the tapestry image further comprises encoding metadata of the frame in the tapestry image(Sakurai teaches encoding binary data as sets of pixels within a composite video frame at para.[0032] and [0035]. Sakurai also teaches generating metadata describing the component streams presentation within that frame at para.[0043], including cropping window information for extracting a component image.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Sakurai into the combination of teachings of Safaei, Valli and Dali to allow for rendering the claimed portion from the graphics buffer while reducing texture switching.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Safaei, Valli, Dali and Sakurai disclose all the elements of claim 9 as discussed above. Sakurai also discloses wherein encoding metadata of the frame in the tapestry image further comprises adding pixels encoding geometry of the frame to a predetermined region of the tapestry image(Sakurai teaches embedding binary data in a composite video frame using pixel blocks positioned within the area left available by the primary video image at para.[0032] and [0035]. It also teaches cropping window information identifying a component image’s region within the composite frame at para.[0025].) The rationale from claim 9 is incorporated herein.
Claim(s) 15,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Safaei in view of Valli, Dali and Sakurai.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Safaei, Valli and Dali discloses A method for server-side dynamic video aggregation for virtual teleconferencing, comprising(Safaei teaches a client receiving participant video streams from a server, with each participant’s client associated with an avatar location in a virtual environment at para.[0104,0106] and [0130].):
However, Safaei alone does not disclose receiving, by a client device from a server device, a tapestry image comprising a video frame from each of one or more additional client devices with a resolution corresponding to a distance between a location associated with the client device within a virtual environment and a location associated with the additional client device; loading, by the client device, the tapestry image into a graphics buffer; and iteratively for each of the video frames in the tapestry image: identifying the location associated with the corresponding additional client device within the virtual environment, and rendering, from the graphics buffer, a portion of the tapestry image comprising the video frame at the identified location within the virtual environment.
The combination of Safaei, Valli and Dali does disclose receiving, by a client device from a server device, a tapestry image comprising a video frame from each of one or more additional client devices with a resolution corresponding to a distance between a location associated with the client device within a virtual environment and a location associated with the additional client device(Valli teachers reducing each remote participant’s spatial video resolution according to distance within the shared virtual geometry at para.[0130], and [0137]). Dali further teaches packing frames from independent video streams at differing resolutions into a composite image and transmitting that image to a receiver at para.[0027], [0039-0040] and [0073], the composite image corresponding to the claimed tapestry image.); and iteratively for each of the video frames in the tapestry image: identifying the location associated with the corresponding additional client device within the virtual environment(Safaei teaches providing the client with the locations of remote participants avatars within the virtual environment at para.[0130] and displaying each participant’s corresponding video stream on its spatially positioned avatar at para.[0111]. Dali further supports this by teaching separating the component video images from a received composite frame at para.[0054].) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Valli into the teachings of Safaei in order to a use Valli’s distance-dependent spatial-resolution reduction to Safaei’s server-controlled participant video quality, preserving appropriate perceived detail while reducing network load.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Dali into the teachings of Safaei in order to pack the resulting participant frames using Dali’s composite frame technique and extract them at the receiving client for Safaei’s avatar rendering, permitting multiple independently usable video images to travel within one encoded frame.
However, the combination still does not disclose loading, by the client device, the tapestry image into a graphics buffer; and rendering, from the graphics buffer, a portion of the tapestry image comprising the video frame at the identified location within the virtual environment.
Sakurai does disclose loading, by the client device, the tapestry image into a graphics buffer(Sakurai teaches this at Fig. 15, teaching loading an aggregate image into graphics memory corresponding to the claimed graphics buffer. ); and rendering, from the graphics buffer, a portion of the tapestry image comprising the video frame at the identified location within the virtual environment(Sakurai teaches rendering unit 20 obtaining texture atlast 41a from VRAM 40 and mapping a selected portion of that atlas onto a polygon using stored texture-position information (Fig. 15). Safaei teaches displaying each participants video on its corresponding spatially positioned avatar at para.[0111], whose virtual location is supplied to the client.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Sakurai into the combination of teachings of Safaei, Valli and Dali to allow for rendering the claimed portion from the graphics buffer while reducing texture switching.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Safaei, Valli, Dali and Sakurai disclose all the elements of claim 15 as discussed above. Sakurai also discloses wherein the tapestry image comprises one or more sets of pixels encoding a geometry of the corresponding video frame from each of the one or more additional client devices(Sakurai teaches encoding binary data within sets of pixels in a composite video frame at para.[0032] and [0035], and providing frame format metadata, including cropping window information used to locate and extract a component image). The rationale from claim 15 is incorporated herein.
Conclusion
/CHRIS ALEJANDRO PUNTIER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2616
/DANIEL F HAJNIK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2616