Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 28 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claims 28 satisfies the Step 1 because the claim is an article of manufacture.
In Step 2A prong 1, the claim 28 recites “determining whether … determining that… switching a downlink frequency band…”, which, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, are steps that are performed in the human mind. Claim 28 merely involve determining beam failure and updating or switching frequency band. Such steps of determining beam failure and switching frequency band are steps that are performed in the human mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
In Step 2A prong 2, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because computer-readable storage media and processors are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The elements or steps do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
In Step 2B, the claim do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because computer-readable storage media and processors are general purpose computer components, which are well-understood, routine and conventional (see Decasper et al. (U.S. PGPub 2007/0192474) paragraph 0004 where include conventional components such as a processor, a memory (e.g., RAM)... a network interface, such as a conventional modem), performing the steps recited in the claims and are not sufficient to transform a judicial exception into a patentable invention. Accordingly, claims 28 is not eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9, 14-15, 21-22, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yu Yang and et. al (USPub. No.: US 20210013950 A1, hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches that an electronic apparatus for wireless communications, comprising: processing circuitry, configured to: determine whether a beam failure occurs; and in a case of determining that a beam failure occurs, switch a downlink frequency band for UE from a current downlink frequency band to a particular frequency band (Yang, in Paragraph [0047], teaches that when the target downlink BWP (Bandwidth a Part) (a particular frequency band) is different from the active BWP (the current frequency band) where the beam failure event occurs, the terminal switches to the target downlink BWP, and receives, through the CORESET-BFR (Control Resource Set for Beam Failure Recovery) in the target downlink BWP, response information fed back by the network device according to the beam failure recovery request. Therefore, it is clear that when a beam failure is occurred in the current downlink frequency band for UE, UE switches from the current downlink frequency band to a particular frequency band, if the current downlink frequency band is different from a particular frequency band.).
Regarding claim 2, Yang teaches the features defined in the claims 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yang further teaches that wherein the frequency band is represented by a bandwidth part (BWP), and a particular BWP is one of the following: an initially accessed BWP; a BWP pre-configured by a base station; and a BWP randomly accessed by the UE last time (Yang, in Paragraph [0050], teaches that the target downlink BWP (the BWP pre-configured by Base Station) configured with CORESET-BFR above may be predefined, or configured by the network device through the configuration information of beam failure recovery. When the target downlink BWP is predefined by the protocol, the target downlink
BWP may also be referred to as the default BWP, which may be defined as the same default BWP for other purposes (such as initial access) (in this case, we can call the initially accessed BWP), or may be a downlink BWP configured independently (in this case, we can call the BWP randomly accessed). Therefore, it is clear that the frequency band is represented by a BWP and a particular BWP is one of the following: an initially accessed BWP; a BWP pre-configured by a base station; and a BWP randomly accessed by the UE.).
Regarding claim 3, Yang teaches the features defined in the claims 2, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yang further teaches that wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the particular BWP based on configuration information of a candidate beam set for beam failure recovery from the base station (Yang, in Paragraph [0048], teaches that Assuming that only one downlink BWP (such as BWP1) of the terminal is configured with a CORESET-BFR, and the other downlink BWPs (such as BWP2, BWP3, and BWP4) are not configured with a CORESET-BFR. The current BWP2 is an active BWP. When the terminal detects the BFD RS (Beam Failure Detection Reference Signal) on BWP2, determines that a beam failure event has occurred and finds a candidate beam, the terminal will send a beam failure recovery request to the network device. After that, the terminal switches from BWP2 to BWP1, and monitors CORESET-BFR on BWP1 to receive the response information which is fed back by the network device according to the beam failure recovery request. If the response information is received, it is considered that the beam failure recovery is successful; if the response information is not received, the terminal resends the beam failure recovery request, and then monitors the CORESET-BFR on BWP1 after resending the beam failure recovery request, until it is finally determined that the beam failure recovery is successful or unsuccessful. Therefore, it is clear that the particular BWP can be determined based on configuration information of a candidate beam set for beam failure recovery from the base station.).
Regarding claim 4, Yang teaches the features defined in the claims 2, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yang further teaches that wherein for each BWP other than the initially accessed BWP, only a particular beam is transmitted on the BWP; and all beams are transmitted on the initially accessed BWP (Yang, in Paragraph [0048], teaches that assuming that only one downlink BWP (such as BWP1) of the terminal is configured with a CORESET-BFR, and the other downlink BWPs (such as BWP2, BWP3, and BWP4) are not configured with a CORESET-BFR. The current BWP2 (the initially accessed BWP) is an active BWP. When the terminal detects the BFD RS on BWP2, determines that a beam failure event has occurred and finds a candidate beam (to detect the failed beam and to determine the candidate beams, all other beams are transmitted on BWP2 (initially accessed BWP), the terminal will send a beam failure recovery request to the network device. After that, the terminal switches from BWP2 to BWP1, and monitors CORESET-BFR on BWP1 to receive the response information (including the accepted candidate beam information that is considered as a particular beam.) which is fed back by the network device according to the beam failure recovery request. If the response information is received, it is considered that the beam failure recovery is successful. Based on this observation, it is clear that for each BWP other than the initially accessed BWP, only a particular beam is transmitted on the BWP and all other beams are transmitted on the initially accessed BWP.)
Regarding claim 5, Yang teaches the features defined in the claims 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yang further teaches that wherein while the downlink frequency band for the UE is switched to the particular frequency band, the current downlink frequency band still keeps in an active state (Yang, in Paragraph [0048], teaches that assuming that only one downlink BWP (such as BWP1: considered as the particular frequency band) of the terminal is configured with a CORESET-BFR, and the other downlink BWPs (such as BWP2, BWP3, and BWP4) are not configured with a CORESET-BFR. The current BWP2 (the current downlink frequency band, namely, BWP) is an active BWP. When the terminal detects the BFD RS on BWP2, determines that a beam failure event has occurred and finds a candidate beam, the terminal will send a beam failure recovery request to the network device. After that, the terminal switches from BWP2 to BWP1, and monitors CORESET-BFR on BWP1 to receive the response information which is fed back by the network device according to the beam failure recovery request. If the response information is received, it is considered that the beam failure recovery is successful; if the response information is not received, the terminal resends the beam failure recovery request, and then monitors the CORESET-BFR on BWP1 after resending the beam failure recovery request, until it is finally determined that the beam failure recovery is successful or unsuccessful. Due to this reason, until the beam failure recovery is decided to be successful or unsuccessful, the current downlink BWP (the current downlink frequency band) keeps in an active state to resend the beam failure recovery request message. Therefore, it is clear that while the downlink frequency band for the UE is switched to the particular frequency band, the current downlink frequency band still keeps in an active state.).
Regarding claim 9, Yang teaches the features defined in the claims 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yang further teaches that wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine a candidate beam for beam failure recovery in the particular frequency band (Yang, in Paragraphs [0037]-[0042], teaches that the terminal is detecting a BFD RS (Beam failure Detection Reference Signal) on the active BWP to determine whether the beam failure event occurs. The condition of the occurrence of a beam failure event is: a continuous number of beam failure instances on the downlink active BWP reaches a configuration value of the network device. Then, the physical layer of the terminal measures candidate beam reference signals (candidate beam RS) to find new candidate beams. This step can be executed before or after the beam failure event occurs. The measurement quality of the candidate beam RS exceeds a preset threshold of the layer 1-reference signal received power (Layer 1-Reference Signal Received Power (L1-RSRP), the reporting content, {beam reference signal index (beam RS index), L1-RSRP}, may be reported to the higher layer, and the higher layer of the terminal selects the candidate beams based on the report of the physical layer. The higher layer of the terminal determines the PRACH resource or sequence according to the selected candidate beams. If the terminal determines that the trigger condition of the beam failure recovery request is met, the terminal sends the beam failure recovery request to the network device on the non-contention-based PRACH. The terminal needs to send the beam failure recovery request according to the number of transmissions and/or timers configured by the network device. According to the beam failure recovery request, the terminal receives response information fed back by the network device through a CORESET-BFR in a target downlink BWP (considered as the particular frequency band). To receive, the terminal is monitoring the response information of the network device for the beam failure recovery request (UE monitors gNB response for beam failure recovery request): after the network device receives the beam failure recovery request sent by the terminal, it will the response information on the dedicated PDCCH on the CORESET BFR in a target downlink BWP, where the response information may carry a cell-radio network temporary identity (Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identity, C-RNTI), switching to a new candidate beam, restarting the beam search, or other indication information. When the terminal receives response information on the dedicated PDCCH of CORESET-BFR, it is considered that the beam failure recovery is successful. Therefore, it is clear that the terminal configured to determine a candidate beam for beam failure recovery in the particular frequency band.).
Regarding claim 14, Yang teaches the features defined in the claims 2, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yang further teaches that wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to determine a candidate beam for beam failure recovery on the particular BWP, transmit a determination result to the base station through a beam failure recovery request, and detect a beam failure recovery response from the base station (Yang, in Paragraphs [0037]-[0042], teaches that the terminal is detecting a BFD RS (Beam failure Detection Reference Signal) on the active BWP to determine whether the beam failure event occurs. The condition of the occurrence of a beam failure event is: a continuous number of beam failure instances on the downlink active BWP reaches a configuration value of the network device. Then, the physical layer of the terminal measures candidate beam reference signals (candidate beam RS) to find new candidate beams. This step can be executed before or after the beam failure event occurs. The measurement quality of the candidate beam RS exceeds a preset threshold of the layer 1-reference signal received power (Layer 1-Reference Signal Received Power (L1-RSRP), the reporting content, {beam reference signal index (beam RS index), L1-RSRP}, may be reported to the higher layer, and the higher layer of the terminal selects the candidate beams based on the report of the physical layer. The higher layer of the terminal determines the PRACH resource or sequence according to the selected candidate beams. If the terminal determines that the trigger condition of the beam failure recovery request is met, the terminal sends the beam failure recovery request to the network device on the non-contention-based PRACH. The terminal needs to send the beam failure recovery request according to the number of transmissions and/or timers configured by the network device. According to the beam failure recovery request, the terminal receives response information fed back by the network device through a CORESET-BFR in a target downlink BWP (considered as the particular frequency band). To receive, the terminal is monitoring the response information of the network device for the beam failure recovery request (UE monitors gNB response for beam failure recovery request): after the network device receives the beam failure recovery request sent by the terminal, it will the response information on the dedicated PDCCH on the CORESET BFR in a target downlink BWP, where the response information may carry a cell-radio network temporary identity (Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identity, C-RNTI), switching to a new candidate beam, restarting the beam search, or other indication information. When the terminal receives response information on the dedicated PDCCH of CORESET-BFR, it is considered that the beam failure recovery is successful. Therefore, it is clear that wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine a candidate beam for beam failure recovery on the particular BWP, transmit a determination result to the base station through a beam failure recovery request, and detect a beam failure recovery response from the base station.).
Regarding claim 15, Yang teaches the features defined in the claims 14, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yang further teaches that wherein in a case that a downlink BWP and an uplink BWP are bound to each other, the processing circuitry is further configured to switch the uplink BWP to the particular BWP, and transmit the beam failure recovery request using corresponding resources in a newly activated uplink BWP; (Yang, in Fig. 1 and Paragraphs [0055]-[0059], teaches that when the first uplink BWP is associated with (bounded to) the active downlink BWP where the beam failure event is currently detected but the PRACH resource according to the selected candidate beam (or target candidate beam) to transmit the beam failure recovery request is not located in the first uplink BWP, the terminal switches from the first uplink BWP to the BWP indicated by the BWP ID in the newly added PRACH configuration parameter, where the PRACH resource according to the selected candidate beam or target candidate beam is located in the BWP with the BWP ID. Then, the beam failure recovery request is sent to the network device through the target random access resources located in the BWP indicated by the BWP ID, where the target beam is one candidate beam meeting a preset condition. Therefore, it is clear that when the downlink BWP and the uplink BWP are bounded to each other, the uplink BWP can be switched to the particular uplink BWP or the newly activated uplink BWP and the beam failure recovery request is sent by using corresponding resources in the uplink BWP.) and in a case that the downlink BWP and the uplink BWP are not bound to each other, the processing circuitry is configured to determine whether a current uplink BWP contains available resources for transmission of the beam failure recovery request, transmit the beam failure recovery request using the available resources in the current uplink BWP, in a case of determining that the current uplink BWP contains the available resources, and switch the uplink BWP to an initial uplink BWP or a BWP containing the available resources to transmit the beam failure recovery request, in a case of determining that the current uplink BWP does not contain the available resources (Yang, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraphs [0055]-[0059], teaches that when the first uplink BWP is not associated with (bounded to) the active downlink BWP and when a beam failure event occurs and a candidate beam is found, the terminal determines the PRACH resource according to the selected candidate beam, and sends a beam failure recovery request to the network device on the determined the PRACH resource (a target random access resource). Determining a target random access resource corresponding to a target beam according to a correspondence between the resource information of the candidate beam reference signal and the random access resource information; and sending the beam failure recovery request to the network device through the target random access resource, where the target beam is one candidate beam meeting a preset condition of at least one candidate beam. In the current active uplink BWP, if the target random access resource is not located (as explained in Paragraph [0055]), the terminal switches the current uplink BWP to the uplink BWP that the target random access resource is located, to transmit the beam failure recovery request through the target random resource. Therefore, it is clear that when the downlink BWP and the uplink BWP are not bound to each other and when the beam failure is occurred and the candidate beam is found, the terminal determines the uplink BWP that the target random access resource is located, according to the candidate beam (target candidate beam) and send the beam failure recovery request to the network device through the target random access resource that is located in the selected uplink BWP.).
Regarding claim 21, Yang teaches that generate configuration information of a candidate beam set for beam failure recovery, wherein the configuration information comprises a field of an identifier of a frequency band where a candidate beam is located; and transmit the configuration information to UE, wherein the UE switches to the frequency band indicated by the field upon detection of a beam failure (Yang, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraphs [0040] and [0045]-[0046], teaches that Step 12 in Fig. 1, the terminal receives, through a Control Resource Set for Beam Failure Recovery (CORESET-BFR) in a target downlink BWP, response information fed back by the network device according to the beam failure recovery request. When the target downlink BWP is the active BWP where a beam failure event occurs, receiving, through the CORESET-BFR in the target downlink BWP, response information fed back by the network device according to the beam failure recovery request. Assuming that only one downlink BWP (such as BWP1) of the terminal is configured with a CORESET-BFR, and the other downlink BWPs (such as BWP2, BWP3, and BWP4) are not configured with a CORESET-BFR. The current BWP1 is active BWP. When the terminal detects the BFD RS on BWP1, the terminal determines that a beam failure event has occurred, and finds a candidate beam, the terminal will send a beam failure recovery request to the network device. After that, the terminal monitors the CORESET-BFR in BWP1 to receive the response information which is fed back by the network device according to the beam failure recovery request. If the response information is received, it is considered that the beam failure recovery is successful. In Paragraphs [0162]-[0168], Yang further teaches that the network node sends, on a CORESET-BFR in a target downlink BWP, response information to the terminal according to the beam failure recovery request, where the target downlink BWP corresponds to at least two BWPs, and the at least two BWPs includes the active BWP (it can be considered as the active BWP where the beam failure event occurs). Optionally, the target downlink BWP is predefined, or configured by the network device based on configuration information for beam failure recovery. Optionally, the configuration information includes at least one of the first BWP information of the target downlink BWP where the CORESET-BFR is located, the first resource information of beam failure detection reference signal (Beam Failure Detection Reference Signal, BFD RS), the second resource information of a candidate beam reference signal, namely, the related information of the candidate beam reference signal resource, the random access resource information for transmitting the beam failure recovery request. Therefore, it is clear that the network node generates configuration information of a candidate beam set for beam failure recovery, wherein the configuration information comprises a field of an identifier of a frequency band where a candidate beam is located; and transmits the configuration information to UE, wherein the UE switches to the frequency band indicated by the field upon detection of a beam failure.).
Regarding claim 22, Yang teaches the features defined in the claims 21, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yang further teaches that wherein the frequency band is represented by a bandwidth part (BWP), and the field, in a case of being null, indicates an initially accessed BWP or a BWP randomly accessed by the UE last time (Yang, in Paragraph [0050], teaches that the target downlink BWP (the BWP pre-configured by Base Station) configured with CORESET-BFR may be predefined, or configured by the network device through the configuration information of beam failure recovery. When the target downlink BWP is predefined by the protocol, the target downlink BWP may also be referred to as the default BWP, which may be defined as the same default BWP for other purposes (such as initial access) (in this case, we can call the initially accessed BWP), or may be a downlink BWP configured independently (in this case, we can call the BWP randomly accessed). It is noted that when the network device configures a target downlink BWP for the terminal, the mapping relationship between the target downlink BWP and other BWPs (an initially accessed BWP or a BWP randomly accessed) may no longer be indicated, namely, the indication for other BWPs can be null. Therefore, it is clear that the frequency band is represented by a bandwidth part (BWP) and the field that indicates an initially accessed BWP or a BWP randomly accessed by the UE last time can be null.).
Regarding claim 28, Yang teaches that a method for wireless communications, comprising: determining whether a beam failure occurs; and in a case of determining that a beam failure occurs, switch a downlink frequency band for UE from a current downlink frequency band to a particular frequency band (Yang, in Paragraph [0047], teaches that when the target downlink BWP (Bandwidth a Part) (a particular frequency band) is different from the active BWP (the current frequency band) where the beam failure event occurs, the terminal switches to the target downlink BWP, and receives, through the CORESET-BFR (Control Resource Set for Beam Failure Recovery) in the target downlink BWP, response information fed back by the network device according to the beam failure recovery request. Therefore, it is clear that when a beam failure is occurred in the current downlink frequency band for UE, UE switches from the current downlink frequency band to a particular frequency band, if the current downlink frequency band is different from a particular frequency band.
Although Yang teaches all of claim 28, Examiner notes that this claim contains contingent limitations. For method claims with contingent limitations, the broadest reasonable interpretation includes methods where the condition is met and where the condition isn't met. The limitations starting with " in a case of determining that a beam failure occurs, ... " is contingent limitations. The claim has been interpreted to not require the conditions stated to be met. See MPEP 2111.04 subsection 11.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8 and 16 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu Yang and et. al (USPub. No.: US 20210013950 A1, hereinafter “Yang”) in a view of Yushu Zhang and et. al (USPub. No.: US 20220352958 A1, hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 6, Yang teaches the features defined in the claim 1, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yang does not explicitly teach that wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to trigger a switch timer to start timing when determining that the beam failure occurs, and when the timing of the switch timer reaches a predetermined period of time, the downlink frequency band for the UE is switched to the particular frequency band.
Zhang teaches that wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to trigger a switch timer to start timing when determining that the beam failure occurs, and when the timing of the switch timer reaches a predetermined period of time, the downlink frequency band for the UE is switched to the particular frequency band (Zhang, in Paragraphs [0046], [0048]-[0049], teaches that the MAC layer may include a beam failure instance (BFI) counter that starts at zero and increments every time the MAC layer receives an indication of a beam failure instance from the PHY layer. The MAC layer may also restart a beam failure detection timer (considered as the switch timer) upon receiving a beam failure instance. If the beam failure detection timer expires, the counter may be reset to zero. The MAC layer may declare a beam failure if the BFI counter becomes greater than or equal to a predetermined BFI maximum value while the timer is running. Then, the BFR (Beam Failure Recovery) 300 may include, at 320, the UE 104 sending the BFRQ (Beam Failure Recovery Request) to the base station 108, The BFRQ may inform the base station 108 of the beam failure and may potentially, provide a new beam index or other indication of a selected candidate beam. The BFRQ may be transmitted in a BWP that is different than the active BWP. The BFRQ may encompass one or more transmissions that include the indication of the beam failure or selected candidate beam. The BFR 300 may further include, at 324, the base station 108 sending a BFRR (Beam Failure Recovery Response) to the UE 104. The BFRR may be transmitted in a BWP (a downlink BWP, a particular frequency band) that is different than the active BWP (the initial downlink BWP or frequency band). Therefore, it is clear that a switch timer is triggered to start timing when determining that the beam failure occurs and when the timing of the switch timer reaches a predetermined period of time, the downlink frequency band for the UE is switched to the particular frequency band.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Yang and Zhang to include the technique of wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to trigger a switch timer to start timing when determining that the beam failure occurs, and when the timing of the switch timer reaches a predetermined period of time, the downlink frequency band for the UE is switched to the particular frequency band of Zhang in the system of Yang to provide control signaling and UE behavior to support BFR operation to properly leverage or improve the cell coverage in network environments that may employee mobile or nonterrestrial APs (Access Points) (Zhang, see Paragraphs [0036] and [0037]).).
Regarding claim 7, combination of Yang and Zhang teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhang further teaches that wherein the processing circuitry is configured to trigger the switch timer when a physical layer of the UE reports a beam failure indication to a higher layer (Zhang, in Paragraph [0046], teaches that the MAC layer may include a beam failure instance (BFI) counter that starts at zero and increments every time the MAC layer receives an indication of a beam failure instance from the PHY layer. The MAC layer may also restart a beam failure detection timer (considered as the switch timer) upon receiving a beam failure instance. If the beam failure detection timer expires, the counter may be reset to zero. The MAC layer may declare a beam failure if the BFI counter becomes greater than or equal to a predetermined BFI maximum value while the timer is running. Therefore, it is clear that the switch timer is triggered when a physical layer of the UE reports a beam failure indication to a higher layer.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Yang and Zhang to include the technique of wherein the processing circuitry is configured to trigger the switch timer when a physical layer of the UE reports a beam failure indication to a higher layer of Zhang in the system of Yang to provide control signaling and UE behavior to support BFR operation to properly leverage or improve the cell coverage in network environments that may employee mobile or nonterrestrial APs (Access Points) (Zhang, see Paragraphs [0036] and [0037]).).
Regarding claim 8, combination of Yang and Zhang teaches the features defined in the claim 6, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Zhang further teaches that wherein the higher layer of the UE does not transmit any command of a new beam request to the physical layer of the UE during the timing of the switch timer (Zhang, in Paragraph [0046], [0048]-[0049], teaches that the MAC layer may include a beam failure instance (BFI) counter that starts at zero and increments every time the MAC layer receives an indication of a beam failure instance from the PHY layer. The MAC layer may also restart a beam failure detection timer (considered as the switch timer) upon receiving a beam failure instance. If the beam failure detection timer expires, the counter may be reset to zero. The MAC layer may declare a beam failure if the BFI counter becomes greater than or equal to a predetermined BFI maximum value while the timer is running. As soon as the beam failure is declared, the BFR (Beam Failure Recovery) 300 may include, at 320, the UE 104 sending the BFRQ (Beam Failure Recovery Request) to the base station 108, The BFRQ may inform the base station 108 of the beam failure and may potentially, provide a new beam index or other indication of a selected candidate beam. The BFRQ may be transmitted in a BWP that is different than the active BWP. The BFRQ may encompass one or more transmissions that include the indication of the beam failure or selected candidate beam. The BFR 300 may further include, at 324, the base station 108 sending a BFRR (Beam Failure Recovery Response) to the UE 104. The BFRR may be transmitted in a BWP (a downlink BWP, a particular frequency band) that is different than the active BWP (the initial downlink BWP or frequency band). Therefore, it is clear that the higher layer of the UE does not transmit any command of a new beam request to the physical layer of the UE during the timing of the switch timer, since the BFRQ (the command for a new beam request for the UE) is transmitted when the beam failure detection is declared.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Yang and Zhang to include the technique of wherein the higher layer of the UE does not transmit any command of a new beam request to the physical layer of the UE during the timing of the switch timer of Zhang in the system of Yang to provide control signaling and UE behavior to support BFR operation to properly leverage or improve the cell coverage in network environments that may employee mobile or nonterrestrial APs (Access Points) (Zhang, see Paragraphs [0036] and [0037]).).
Regarding claim 16, Yang teaches the features defined in the claim 15, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yang does not explicitly teach that wherein the available resources comprises one of the following: contention free random access resources associated with the determined candidate beam; contention based random access resources; and resources for transmitting a link recovery request.
Zhang teaches that wherein the available resources comprises one of the following: contention free random access resources associated with the determined candidate beam; contention based random access resources; and resources for transmitting a link recovery request (Zhang, in Fig. 1 and in Paragraphs [0052] and [0056]-[0060], teaches that in Paragraph [0052], the UE 104 may attempt to detect the CBD (Candidate Beam Detection) RS (Reference Signal) in the CB (Candidate Beam) BWP within a time window. The time window may be predefined by a 3GPP technical specification or may be configured by RRC signaling from the base station 108, If the UE 104 cannot detect the CBD RS, the UE 104 may fall back to the initial BWP and trigger a contention-based random-access (CBRA) procedure. The CBRA procedure may be performed with respect to an SSB received in the initial BWP. After the CBRA procedure to request uplink resource, the UE 104 may communicate with the base station 108 or APs 112/116 in the initial BWP based on a beam corresponding to the received SSB to transmit the BFRQ. In Paragraphs [0056]-[0059], Zhang teaches that the BFR (Beam Failure Recovery) configuration provides an indication, for each candidate beam configuration, of a BWP (by provision of the BWP ID) in which the corresponding candidate beam is transmitted. Thus, by this configuration, the UE 104 will be able to identify the CB BWP. Because the BFRQ (Beam Failure Recovery Request: can be considered as link recovery request, since the link failure can be occurred based on the beam failure.) with respect to the secondary serving cell may be transmitted by a primary serving cell, the BFR configuration for the secondary serving cell may not need the PRACH configuration information. For primary serving cell BFR, the BFRQ may be transmitted in a BWP other than the current active BWP and may be carried by a contention free PRACH (CF-PRACH), namely, Contention Free Random Access (CFRA) procedure. This may be done by one of two options. In a first option, a BFRQ corresponding to a primary serving cell BFR may only be transmitted in the initial BWP. In a second option, the BFRQ corresponding to a primary serving cell BFR may be transmitted in the BWP associated with the newly identified beam. Therefore, it is clear that if the candidate beam resource (CBD RS) is not provided, CBRA is performed and otherwise, CFRA is performed, to transmit BFRQ.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine Yang and Zhang to include the technique of wherein the available resources comprises one of the following: contention free random access resources associated with the determined candidate beam; contention based random access resources; and resources for transmitting a link recovery request of Zhang in the system of Yang to provide control signaling and UE behavior to support BFR operation to properly leverage or improve the cell coverage in network environments that may employee mobile or nonterrestrial APs (Access Points) (Zhang, see Paragraphs [0036] and [0037]).).
Claims 10 are rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu Yang and et. al (USPub. No.: US 20210013950 A1, hereinafter “Yang”) in a view of Sung-pyo Hong and et. al (USPub. No.: US 20220086715 A1, hereinafter “Hong”).
Regarding claim 10, Yang teaches the features defined in the claim 9, -refer to the indicated claim for reference(s).
Yang further teaches that wherein the processing circuitry is configured to perform a beam quality measurement for multiple times on a beam in the particular frequency band, and determine the candidate beam based on results of the beam quality measurements; (Yang, in Paragraphs [0045]-[0046] and [0038], teaches that when the target downlink BWP is the active BWP where a beam failure event occurs, receiving, through the CORESET-BFR in the target downlink BWP, response information fed back by the network device according to the beam failure recovery request. Assuming that only one downlink BWP (such as BWP1) of the terminal is configured with a CORESET-BFR, and the other downlink BWPs (such as BWP2, BWP3, and BWP4) are not configured with a CORESET-BFR. The current BWP1 is active BWP. When the terminal detects the BFD RS on BWP1, the terminal determines that a beam
failure event has occurred, and finds a candidate beam, the terminal will send a beam failure recovery request to the network device. Here, the physical layer of the terminal measures candidate beam reference signals (candidate beam RS) to find new candidate beams. This step is not mandatory to be executed after the beam failure event occurs, but can also be executed before the beam failure event occurs. When the physical layer of the terminal receives a request, instruction or notification from
the higher layer of the terminal, it will report the measurement result that meets the preset conditions to the higher layer of the terminal. For example, the measurement quality of the candidate beam RS exceeds a preset threshold of the layer 1-reference signal received power (Layer 1-Reference Signal Received Power (L1-RSRP), and the reporting content may be {beam reference signal index (beam RS index), L1-RSRP}, and the higher layer of the terminal selects the candidate beams based on the report of the physical layer. Therefore, it is clear that a beam quality measurement for multiple times is performed on a beam in the particular frequency band, and determine the candidate beam based on results of the beam quality measurements).
Yang does not explicitly teaches that wherein the UE communicates with a base station located on a satellite through a non- terrestrial network, and the processing circuitry is configured to determine the candidate beam based on location information of the UE, and satellite ephemeris information and/or satellite beam location information; or wherein the UE communicates with a base station located on a satellite through a non- terrestrial network, and the processing circuitry is configured to perform a beam quality measurement on a beam in the particular frequency band, and determine the candidate beam based on a result of the measurement and satellite ephemeris information and/or satellite beam location information or wherein the UE communicates with a base station located on a satellite through a non- terrestrial network, and the processing circuitry is configured to perform a beam quality measurement on a beam in the particular frequency band, and determine the candidate beam based on a comparison between a result of the measurement and a predetermined threshold, wherein the predetermined threshold is lower than a threshold for cell handover decision in layer 3.
Hong teaches that wherein the UE communicates with a base station located on a satellite through a non- terrestrial network, (Hong, in Paragraph [0203], teaches that a user equipment (UE) for performing communication using a non-terrestrial network may perform a step of receiving configuration information for a cell change or a beam failure recovery from a base station at S1210. Therefore, it is clear that the UE communicates with a base station located on a satellite through a non- terrestrial network.) and the processing circuitry is configured to determine the candidate beam based on location information of the UE, and satellite ephemeris information and/or satellite beam location information; (Hong, in Paragraphs [0237] and [0245], teaches that the base station may determine the next candidate satellite beam/cell for a specific UE by using the received information and satellite orbit information (satellite orbit information such as ephemeris is publicly available as explained in [0237]). Alternatively, the base station may know the next candidate satellite beam/cell information at the current location of a specific UE in consideration of the satellite beam change period/interval in an arbitrary location/geographical area/region/zone. For example, if the satellite beam change period/interval is 5 minutes and the current location is estimated to have passed 2 minutes after the beam change, it may be estimated that it will be serviced by satellite beam #2 after 3 minutes, by satellite beam #3 after 8 minutes, and satellite beam #4 after 13 minutes. Therefore, it is clear that the candidate beam is determined based on location information of the UE, and satellite ephemeris information and/or satellite beam location information.) or wherein the UE communicates with a base station located on a satellite through a non- terrestrial network, (Hong, in Paragraph [0203], teaches that a user equipment (UE) for performing communication using a non-terrestrial network may perform a step of receiving configuration information for a cell change or a beam failure recovery from a base station at S1210. Therefore, it is clear that the UE communicates with a base station located on a satellite through a non-terrestrial network.) and the processing circuitry is configured to perform a beam quality measurement on a beam in the particular frequency band, (Hong, in Paragraph [0258], teaches that the base station may indicate, to the UE, a condition for the UE to enter a section in which the beam change or the beam failure detection and recovery is expected. As an example, a measurement threshold (e.g., RSRP (Reference Signal Received Power) threshold) for a corresponding satellite beam may be configured. RSRP is one of quantity for the measurement of the beam quality or cell quality and often both beam quality or cell quality can be used as same meaning. The measurement threshold may be configured in connection with the measurement ID included in the measurement configuration information. The UE may configure a beam failure instance indication counter threshold value received
from a lower layer. When the corresponding condition is configured, the UE may initiate the beam change or the beam failure detection and recovery procedure when the corresponding condition is satisfied. As explained in Paragraph [0071]-[0077], in NR, a UE performs a cell search and a random
access procedure in order to access and communicates with a base station. The cell search is a procedure of the UE for synchronizing with a cell of a corresponding base station using a synchronization signal block (SSB) transmitted from the base station and acquiring a physical-layer cell ID and system information. Based on this procedure, as explained with an example in Paragraph [0077], the frequency band is determined for the communication between the UE and the base station. Therefore, it is clear that a beam quality measurement is performed on a beam in the particular frequency band.) and determine the candidate beam based on a result of the measurement and satellite ephemeris information and/or satellite beam location information (Hong, in Paragraphs [0237] and [0245], teaches that the base station may determine the next candidate satellite beam/cell for a specific UE by using the received information and satellite orbit information (satellite orbit information such as ephemeris is publicly available as explained in [0237]). Alternatively, the base station may know the next candidate satellite beam/cell information at the current location of a specific UE in consideration of the satellite beam change period/interval in an arbitrary location/geographical area/region/zone. For example, if the satellite beam change period/interval is 5 minutes and the current location is estimated to have passed 2 minutes after the beam change, it may be estimated that it will be serviced by satellite beam #2 after 3 minutes, by satellite beam #3 after 8 minutes, and satellite beam #4 after 13 minutes. Therefore, it is clear that the candidate beam is determined based on location information of the UE, and satellite ephemeris information and/or satellite beam location information.) or wherein the UE communicates with a base station located on a satellite through a non- terrestrial network, (Hong, in Paragraph [0203], teaches that a user equipment (UE) for performing communication using a non-terrestrial network may perform a step of receiving configuration information for a cell change or a beam failure recovery from a base station at S1210. Therefore, it is clear that the UE communicates with a base station located on a satellite through a non-terrestrial network.) and the processing circuitry is configured to perform a beam quality measurement on a beam in the particular frequency band, (Hong, in Paragraph [0258], teaches that the base station may indicate, to the UE, a condition for the UE to enter a section in which the beam change or the beam failure detection and recovery is expected. As an example, a measurement threshold (e.g., RSRP (Reference Signal Received Power) threshold) for a corresponding satellite beam may be configured. RSRP is one of quantity for the measurement of the beam quality or cell quality and often both beam quality or cell quality can be used as same meaning since it is determined based on the RSRP of the beam or the reference signal. The measurement threshold may be configured in connection with the measurement ID included in the measurement configuration information. The UE may configure a beam failure instance indication counter threshold value received from a lower layer. When the corresponding condition is configured, the UE may initiate the beam change or the beam failure detection and recovery procedure when the corresponding condition is satisfied. Further, as explained in Parag