DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is responsive to Applicant's amendment filed on 16 September 2025. Applicant’s amendment on 16 September 2025 amended Claims 1, 20 and 21. Currently Claims 1-18, 20 and 21 are pending and have been examined. The Examiner notes that the 101 rejection has been maintained.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues on page 13-14 that “claim 1 at least additional limitations of “performed by queuing system comprising a display terminal”, “displaying , through the display terminal, the target queuing scheme to a user”, “obtaining a current monitoring image of the first-order item” and “performing an image segmentation on the monitoring image by means of a face recognition technology”, which preclude the claimed subject matter from practically being performed in the human mind… providing a specific queuing scheme to a user, which provides a specific improvement over prior methods, i.e., minimizes the queuing and waiting time of the user for completing all items, thereby improving the queuing efficiency of the user and save the time of the user. Thus, the additional limitations integrate the exception into a practical application… provides a specific improvement over prior methods, i.e., minimizes the queuing and waiting time of the user for completing all items thereby improving the queuing efficiency of the user and saving the time of the user.”.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to the arguments the Applicant’s arguments that the additional limitations integrate the exception into a practical application by providing specific improvements in minimizing queuing times. This argument misapprehends the integration analysis. First, concerning the display terminal and display limitations, these constitute insignificant post-solution activity that merely outputs the results of the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(g) (insignificant extra-solution activity does not integrate an exception into a practical application). The abstract idea of a mental process which utilizes mathematical of determining optimal queuing ordering is complete before any display occurs; displaying the results adds no meaningful limitation to the judicial exception.
Second, regarding the image monitoring and face recognition limitations, the specification reveals at par. [0129] that these represent merely one optional data gathering technique among several alternatives, including “the number of people allocated by a physical examination system” or “some other methods such as sensors.” Where the specification discloses the claimed function can be achieved through multiple conventional data gathering techniques, and the claims are not limited to any particular implementation, such data gathering constitutes insignificant pre-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The core innovation – determining optimal queue ordering through a mental evaluation and possibly mathematical analysis – neither requires nor is meaningfully limited by any particular data gathering method. The claim would read on the same abstract idea performed with manually observed queue counts.
Third, the Applicant characterizes of the claims “minimizing queuing and waiting times” as a “specific improvement over prior methods” conflates an improvement in the abstract idea itself with an improvement to technology or a technical field as required under Step 2A Prong Two. The Federal Circuit has held that “the fact that the required calculations could be performed more efficiently via a computer does not materially alter the patent eligibility of the claimed subject matter.” Bancorp Services, L.L.C. v. Sun Life Assurance Co. Here, the specification demonstrates at par. [0110]-[0119] that the claimed improvement is simply performing the abstract task of queue optimization more accurately than intuitive human decision-making, this is an improvement in performing the abstract idea, not an improvement to computer technology or another technical field. See MPEP 2106.04(d)(1). The claims do not recite how the computer’s functioning is improved, nor do they recite a particular technical solution to technical problem. Rather, they recite using generic computer components (display terminals, processors, memory per [0309]-[0310]) as tools to perform the abstract mental process more quickly than humans.
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the claims must do more than generally link the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or add insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.04(d). The additional elements here – generic display hardware, routine data gathering, and generic computer components – do not impose meaningful limits on the judicial exception and are insufficient to integrate it into practical application. The claims are directed to the judicial exception. The rejection is therefore maintained.
Regarding the remaining Applicant's arguments filed 16 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-18, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the claim(s) 1-18, 20 and 21 as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea. The claim(s) 1-18, 20 and 21 is/are directed to the abstract idea of determining a queuing solution in the form of a queuing scheme. The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Claim(s) (1-18, 20, and 21) is/are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Regarding Step 1 of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test for Products and Processes (from the January 2019 §101 Examination Guidelines), claim(s) (1-18) is/are directed to a method, claim(s) (20) is/ are directed to an electronic device, and claims(s) (21) is/are directed to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium and therefore the claims recites a series of steps and, therefore the claims are viewed as falling in statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong 1
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) a mental process. Specifically, the independent claims 1, 20, and 21 a mental process: as drafted, the claim recites the limitation of determining a queuing solution which is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting a processor, nothing in the claim precludes the determining step from practically being performed in the human mind. For example, but for a processor language, the claim encompasses the user manually determining a queuing solution. The mere nominal recitation of a generic processor does not take the claim limitation out of the mental processes grouping. It has been established by ongoing guidance that claims that contain a generic processor are still viewed as mental process when they contain limitations that can practically be performed in the human mind, however this is different for instance when the human mind is not equipped to perform the claim limitations (network monitoring, data encryption for communication, and rendering images). Therefore, these limitations are viewed a mental process. Additionally, with regard to the instant application the Examiner has reviewed the disclosure and determined that the underlying claimed invention is described as a concept that is performed in the human mind and/or with the aid of a pen and paper, and thus it is viewed that the applicant is merely claiming that concept performed 1) on a generic computer, 2) in a computer environment or 3) is merely using a computer as a tool to perform the concept, and therefore is considered to recite a mental process.
Note to the Applicant per the 2019 October Guidance: The 2019 PEG sets forth a test that distills the relevant case law to aid in examination, and does not attempt to articulate each and every decision. As further explained in the 2019 PEG, the Office has shifted its approach from the case-comparison approach in determining whether a claim recites an abstract idea and instead uses enumerated groupings of abstract ideas. The enumerated groupings are firmly rooted in Supreme Court precedent as well as Federal Circuit decisions interpreting that precedent. By grouping the abstract ideas, the 2019 PEG shifts examiners’ focus from relying on individual cases to generally applying the wide body of case law spanning all technologies and claim types. In sum, the 2019 PEG synthesizes the holdings of various court decisions to facilitate examination.
Step 2A Prong 2
Specifically the determined judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the generically recited computer elements do not add a meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer and additionally the data obtaining steps required to use the determining and correlating do not add a meaningful limitation to the method as they are insignificant extra-solution activity (including post solution activity).
The claim recites the additional element(s): that a processor is used to perform both the calculating and determining steps. The processor in the generic computer function of processing data (to determine the queuing solution). This generic processor limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to the abstract idea.
The claim recites the additional element(s): obtaining a plurality of candidate queuing schemes, obtaining a completion time, obtaining the completion time, displaying the target queuing, obtaining a current monitoring image, and performing an image segmentation for all the other items performs the determining and calculating steps. The obtaining, displaying, and performing steps are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a general means of obtaining information for use in the determining and calculating steps), and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity. The processor that performs the determining and calculating steps are also recited at a high level of generality, and merely automates the determining and calculating steps. Each of the additional limitations is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (the processor).
The Examiner has further determined that the claims as a whole does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application in order to provide an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to other technology or technical field. It has been determined that based on the disclosure does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the claimed invention as providing an improvement. It has not been provided clearly in the disclosure that the alleged improvement would be apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art, but is instead in a conclusory manner (i.e., a bare assertion of an improvement without the detail necessary to be apparent to a person of ordinary skill in the art, and therefore does not improve the technology. Second, in the instance, which in this case it is not clear that the specification sets forth an improvement in technology, the claim must not reflect the disclosed improvement (the claims must include components or steps of the invention that provide the improvement described in the specification).
Note to the Applicant from the October 2019 Guidance: Generally, examiners are not expected to make a qualitative judgment on the merits of the asserted improvement. If the examiner concludes the disclosed invention does not improve technology, the burden shifts to applicant to provide persuasive arguments supported by any necessary evidence to demonstrate that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the disclosed invention improves technology. Any such evidence submitted under 37 C.F.R. § 1.132 must establish what the specification would convey to one of ordinary skill in the art and cannot be used to supplement the specification. For example, in response to a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101, an applicant could submit a declaration under § 1.132 providing testimony on how one of ordinary skill in the art would interpret the disclosed invention as improving technology and the underlying factual basis for that conclusion.
For further clarification the Examiner points out that the claim(s) 1-18, 20 and 21 recite(s) obtaining a plurality of candidate queuing schemes, obtaining a completion time for the first order item, determining a number of increased queuing people, obtaining a completion time for all other items, calculating a total time for completion, displaying the target queuing, determining the number of current queueing people, determining the number of current queuing people, obtaining a current monitoring image, performing an image segmentation, and determining the number current queuing people which are viewed as an abstract idea in the form of a mental process. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the use of a computer for obtaining, determining, calculating, displaying, and performing which is the abstract idea steps of valuing an idea (determining queuing solutions) in the manner of “apply it”.
Thus, the claims recites an abstract idea directed to a mental process (i.e. to determine queuing solutions in the form of queuing schemes). Using a computer to obtaining, determining, calculating, displaying, and performing the data resulting from this kind of mental process merely implements the abstract idea in the manner of “apply it” and does not provide 'something more' to make the claimed invention patent eligible. The claimed limitations of a computing device is not constraining the abstract idea to a particular technological environment and do not provide significantly more.
The determining a queuing solution would clearly be to a mental activity that a company would go through in order to decide how to determine a queuing solution. The specification makes it clear that the claimed invention is directed to the mental activity data gathering, data analysis to provide a determination on providing a queuing solution to people:
The dependent claims recite elements that narrow the metes and bounds of the abstract idea but do not provide ‘something more’.
The dependent claims do not remedy these deficiencies.
Claims 3, 4, 8, 9, and 12-18 recite limitations which further limit the claimed analysis of data.
Claims 2, 5-7, 10, and 11 recites limitations directed to claim language viewed insignificantly extra solution activity.
Using a computer to perform the data processing as claimed is merely implementing the abstract idea in the manner of “apply it” and does not provide significantly more. Additionally with respect to the Berkheimer the Examiner points out that the steps of the claim are viewed to be to nothing more than spell out what it means to apply it on a computer and cannot confer patent-eligibility as there are no additional limitations beyond applying an abstract idea, restricted to a computer. As the claims are merely implementing the abstract idea in the manner of “Apply It” the need for a Berkheimer analysis does not apply and is not required. With respect to the currently filed claims the implementing steps can be found in Zhang which discloses how the claims alone and in combination are viewed to be well understood, routine and conventional based on point 3 of the Berkheimer memo and subsequent evidence, complying with and providing evidence.
Claims 16 and 17 recites limitations directed to claim language viewed non-functional data labels.
Thus, the problem the claimed invention is directed to answering the question based on gathered and analyzed information about the people in a queue and needs to determine a queuing solution. This is not a technical or technological problem but is rather in the realm of queuing people and therefore an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because as discussed with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element in the claim amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component.
The same analysis applies here in 2B, i.e., mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept in Step 2B. This is the case because in order for the claims to be viewed as significantly more the claims must incorporate the integral use of a machine to achieve performance of a method, in contrast to where the machine is merely an object on which the method operates, which does not provide significantly more in order for a machine to add significantly more, it must play a significant part in permitting the claimed method to be performed, rather than function solely as an obvious mechanism for permitting a solution to be achieved more quickly. Whether its involvement is extra-solution activity or a field-of-use, i.e., the extent to which (or how) the machine or apparatus imposes meaningful limits on the claim. Use of a machine that contributes only nominally or insignificantly to the execution of the claimed method (e.g., in a data gathering step or in a field-of-use limitation) would not provide significantly more. Additionally, another consideration when determining whether a claim recites significantly more is whether the claim effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing. "[T]ransformation and reduction of an article ‘to a different state or thing’ is the clue to patentability of a process claim that does not include particular machines. All together the above analysis shows there is not improvement in computer functionality, or improvement to any other technology or technical field. The claim is ineligible.
With respect to the Berkheimer as noted above the same analysis applies to the 2B where the claims are viewed as applying it and as such no further analysis is required. However, with respect to the claims that are viewed as extra solution or post solution activity the Examiner notes that the claims are viewed as well-understood, routine, and conventional because a citation to a publication that demonstrates the well-understood, routine, conventional nature of the additional element(s). An appropriate publication could include a book, manual, review article, or other source that describes the state of the art and discusses what is well-known and in common use in the relevant industry.
The dependent claims recite elements that narrow the metes and bounds of the abstract idea but do not provide ‘something more’. Specifically, the dependent claims do not remedy these deficiencies of the independent claims.
With respect to the legal concept of prima facie case being a procedural tool of patent examination, which allocates the burdens going forward between the examiner and the applicant. MPEP § 2106.07 discusses the requirements of a prima facie case of ineligibility. In particular, the initial burden was on the Examiner and believed to be properly provided as to explain why the claim(s) are ineligible for patenting because of the above provided rejection which clearly and specifically points out in accordance with properly providing the requirement satisfying the initial burden of proof based on the Guidance from the United States Patent and Trademark Office and the burden now shifts to the applicant.
Therefore, based on the above analysis as conducted based on the Guidance from the United States Patent and Trademark Office the claims are viewed as a court recognized abstract idea, are viewed as a judicial exception, does not integrate the claims into a practical application, and does not provide an inventive concept, therefore the claims are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-15, 18, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 110858423 A) (hereafter Zhang) in view of Isert et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0094661 A1) (hereafter Isert) in further view of BEISER et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0191865 A1) (hereafter Beiser) in further view of Miao et al. (U.S. Patent 11,409,983 B2) (hereafter Miao).
Referring to Claim 1, Zhang teaches a method for determining a queuing scheme, comprising:
obtaining a plurality of candidate queuing schemes by using each of to-be-executed items in turn as a first-order item and using the to-be-executed item other than the first-order item as other items (see; pg. 4, par. 5 of Zhang teaches choosing a queuing scheme based on the primary focus of profit (i.e. first order item)).
for each of the candidate queuing schemes, obtaining a completion time for the first- order item according to a number of current queueing people for the first-order item and a unit execution time for the first-order item (see; pg. 4, par. 5 and par. 6 of Zhang teaches determining an end time and maximum profit (i.e. first order item) with respect to the start and end time making up the execution time as well as the average time it takes to account for the number of users in the queue).
determining a number of increased queuing people for each of the other items according to the completion time for the first-order item (see; pg. 14, par. 10 of Zhang teaches monitoring queuing information of each time point, pg. 15, par. 4-9 and par. 15 this capture of the queue is done in real time (i.e. iteratively) and monitors the number of people queued and not queued (i.e. about to be added or increased people), which is all tied to pg. 4, par. 5 and par. 6 teaches determining an end time and maximum profit (i.e. first order item)).
obtaining the completion time for all the other items according to the number of the current queuing people, the number of the increased queuing people and a corresponding unit execution time for each of the other items (see; pg. 15, par. 10-13 of Zhang teaches obtaining a start and end time for each person entering the queue, based on the average time consumption of each item adjust the queue to for all the scheduled items as well as the benefit to get to, pg. 4, par. 5 and par. 6 teaches determining an end time and maximum profit (i.e. first order item)).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose the following limitation, however,
Isert teaches calculating a total time for completion of all the to-be-executed items in each of the candidate queuing schemes, and determining a target queuing scheme according to the total time (see; Abstract and par. [0031] of Isert teaches calculating all applicable times including completion times for all patients based on the queue activities necessary and other indicators and making adjustments to the queue accordingly).
The Examiner notes that Zhang teaches similar to the instant application teaches queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience. Specifically, Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Isert teaches facilitating automatic arrangement of activities of users using a queuing process and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience. However, Zhang fails to disclose calculating a total time for completion of all the to-be-executed items in each of the candidate queuing schemes, and determining a target queuing scheme according to the total time.
Isert discloses calculating a total time for completion of all the to-be-executed items in each of the candidate queuing schemes, and determining a target queuing scheme according to the total time.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Zhang the calculating a total time for completion of all the to-be-executed items in each of the candidate queuing schemes, and determining a target queuing scheme according to the total time as taught by Isert since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Zhang and Isert teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to manage queuing processes and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Zhang in view of Isert does not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however,
Beiser teaches displaying, through the display terminal, the target queuing scheme to a user (see; par. [0040] of Beiser teaches a monitoring terminal (i.e. display terminal), par. [0048] and par. [0051] displaying monitoring the queue extreme and exit queue, par. [0075] where the queue is constantly monitored), and
wherein the method further comprises determining the number of current queueing people for the first-order item (see; par. [0013] of Beiser teaches determining an actual number of people in the queue, par. [0047] as well as additionally estimating a queue).
The Examiner notes that Zhang teaches similar to the instant application teaches queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience. Specifically, Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Isert teaches facilitating automatic arrangement of activities of users using a queuing process and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Additionally, Beiser teaches estimating an expected waiting time for a person entering a queue and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang and Isert which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Zhang and Isert disclose the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience. However, Zhang and Isert fail to disclose displaying, through the display terminal, the target queuing scheme to a user, and wherein the method further comprises determining the number of current queueing people for the first-order item.
Beiser discloses displaying, through the display terminal, the target queuing scheme to a user, and wherein the method further comprises determining the number of current queueing people for the first-order item.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Zhang and Isert the displaying, through the display terminal, the target queuing scheme to a user, and wherein the method further comprises determining the number of current queueing people for the first-order item as taught by Beiser since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Zhang, Isert, and Beiser teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to manage queuing processes and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser does not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however,
Miao teaches wherein determining the number of current queueing people for the first-order item comprises: obtaining a current monitoring image of the first-order item (see; Abstract of Miao teaches determining current queue based on obtaining an image of the first item), and
performing an image segmentation on the monitoring image by means of a face recognition technology (see; col. 10, lines (21-38) of Miao teaches performing an image segmentation based on monitored use of face recognition), and
determining the number of current queueing people for the first-order item according to a result of the image segmentation (see; col. 5, line (66) – col. 6, line (14) of Miao teaches counting the persons entering based on collected image data, col. 10, lines (10-38) and using the image segmentation monitoring).
The Examiner notes that Zhang teaches similar to the instant application teaches queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience. Specifically, Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Isert teaches facilitating automatic arrangement of activities of users using a queuing process and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Additionally, Beiser teaches estimating an expected waiting time for a person entering a queue and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang and Isert which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Additionally, Miao teaches dynamically adding facial images into database, electronic devices and media and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang, Isert, and Beiser which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Zhang, Isert, and Beiser discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience. However, Zhang, Isert, and Beiser fails to disclose determining the number of current queueing people for the first-order item comprises: obtaining a current monitoring image of the first-order item, performing an image segmentation on the monitoring image by means of a face recognition technology, and determining the number of current queueing people for the first-order item according to a result of the image segmentation.
Miao discloses determining the number of current queueing people for the first-order item comprises: obtaining a current monitoring image of the first-order item, performing an image segmentation on the monitoring image by means of a face recognition technology, and determining the number of current queueing people for the first-order item according to a result of the image segmentation.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Zhang, Isert, and Beiser the determining the number of current queueing people for the first-order item comprises: obtaining a current monitoring image of the first-order item, performing an image segmentation on the monitoring image by means of a face recognition technology, and determining the number of current queueing people for the first-order item according to a result of the image segmentation as taught by Miao since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Zhang, Isert, Beiser, and Miao teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to manage queuing processes and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 2, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang further disclose a method having the limitations of:
obtaining the completion time for all the other items by performing iteration according to a number of iterations and according to the number of the current queuing people, the number of the increased queuing people and the corresponding unit execution time for each of the other times (see; pg. 14, par. 10 of Zhang teaches monitoring queuing information of each time point, pg. 15, par. 4-9 and par. 15 this capture of the queue is done in real time (i.e. iteratively) and monitors the number of people queued and not queued (i.e. about to be added or increased people), which is all tied to pg. 4, par. 5 and par. 6 teaches determining an end time and maximum profit (i.e. first order item) and based obtaining a start and end time for each person entering the queue, based on the average time consumption of each item adjust the queue to for all the scheduled items as well as the benefit to get to, pg. 4, par. 5 and par. 6 teaches determining an end time and maximum profit (i.e. first order item), pg. 10, par. 4 shows an example of determining completion time for all queued items).
Referring to Claim 3, see discussion of claim 2 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang further disclose a method having the limitations of:
determining the number of the iterations according to a total number of the to-be- executed items (see; pg. 12, par. 3 of Zhang teaches determining a re-optimization and adjustment (i.e. iteration) on tasks to be completed by the doctor).
a step of determining a next item, comprising, for each of the candidate queuing schemes, determining a current-order item and using an unordered item of the other items in turn as a next-order item (see; pg. 4, par. 17 of Zhang teaches selecting the next item and utilizing a push queuing scheme to, pg. 4, par. 5-6 calculates the time values in real time based on average time and number of people).
a step of calculating the completion time, comprising obtaining the completion time for the next-order item according to the number of the current queuing people, the number of the increased queuing people and the corresponding unit execution time for the next-order item (see; pg. 4, par. 17 of Zhang teaches selecting the next item and utilizing a push queuing sched to, pg. 4, par. 5-6 calculates the time values in real time based on average time and number of people, this information is used pg. 10, par. 4 for example of determining a completion time for al queued items, pg. 15, par. 10-13 which provides a start and end time for each person entering the queue, based on the average time consumption of each item adjust the queue to for all the scheduled items as well as the benefit to get to, pg. 4, par. 5 and par. 6 teaches determining an end time and maximum profit (i.e. first order item)).).
a step of determining a number of increased people, comprising determining, according to the completion time of a current ordered item, the number of the increased queuing people for each of the unordered item other than the current ordered item in the other items (see; pg. 15, par. 10-13 of Zhang teaches providing a start and end time for each person entering the queue, based on the average time consumption of each item adjust the queue to for all the scheduled items as well as the benefit to get to, pg. 4, par. 5-6 calculates the time values in real time based on average time and number of people, this information is used pg. 10, par. 4 for example of determining a completion time for al queued items which determines an end time and maximum profit (i.e. first order item)).
determining the completion time of each order item in turn by repeating, according to the number of the iterations, the step of determining the next item, the step of calculating the completion time and the step of determining the number of the increased people, and obtaining the completion time for all the other items according to the completion time of each order item (see; pg. 12, par. 3 of Zhang teaches determining a completion time for each examination (items) and adjust and re-optimize the queue and the average check time based as well as in queue patients, additionally pg. 15, par. 10-13 providing a start and end time for each person entering the queue, based on the average time consumption of each item adjust the queue to for all the scheduled items as well as the benefit).
Referring to Claim 4, see discussion of claim 2 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang further disclose a method having the limitations of:
obtaining a predetermined number of iterations (see; pg. 12, par. 3 of Zhang teaches adjusting and reoptimizing (i.e. iterations)).
a step of determining a next item, comprising, for each of the candidate queuing schemes, determining a current-order item and using an unordered item of the other items in turn as a next-order item (see; pg. 12, par. 3 of Zhang teaches determining a completion time for each examination (items) and adjust and re-optimize the queue and the average check time based as well as in queue patients, additionally pg. 15, par. 10-13 providing a start and end time for each person entering the queue, based on the average time consumption of each item adjust the queue to for all the scheduled items as well as the benefit, pg. 12, par. 3 where the determination based on adjustment and re-optimization of the queue and adjust to actual situation including availability of equipment (i.e. items for use)).
a step of calculating the completion time, comprising obtaining the completion time for the next-order item according to the number of the current queuing people, the number of the increased queuing people and the corresponding unit execution time for the next-order item (see; pg. 12, par. 3 of Zhang teaches based on adjustments and re-optimization to adjust the queue, pg. 15, par. 10-13 providing a start and end time for each person entering the queue, based on the average time consumption of each item adjust the queue to for all the scheduled items as well as the benefit to get to, pg. 4, par. 5-6 calculates the time values in real time based on average time and number of people, this information is used pg. 10, par. 4 for example of determining a completion time for al queued items which determines an end time and maximum profit (i.e. first order item)).
a step of determining a number of increased people, comprising determining, according to the completion time of a current ordered item, the number of the increased queuing people for each of the unordered item other than the current ordered item in the other items (see; pg. 14, par. 10 of Zhang teaches monitoring queuing information of each time point, pg. 15, par. 4-9 and par. 15 this capture of the queue is done in real time (i.e. iteratively) and monitors the number of people queued and not queued (i.e. about to be added or increased people), which is all tied to pg. 4, par. 5 and par. 6 teaches determining an end time and maximum profit (i.e. first order item) and based obtaining a start and end time for each person entering the queue, based on the average time consumption of each item adjust the queue to for all the scheduled items as well as the benefit to get to, pg. 4, par. 5 and par. 6 teaches determining an end time and maximum profit (i.e. first order item)).
determining the completion time for predetermined-order items corresponding to the predetermined number of the iterations in all the other items in turn by repeating, according to the predetermined number of the iterations, the step of determining the next item, the step of calculating the completion time, and the step of determining the number of the increased people (see; pg. 12, par. 3 of Zhang teaches determining a re-optimization and adjustment (i.e. iteration) on tasks to be completed by the doctor, pg. 15, par. 10-13 providing a start and end time for each person entering the queue, based on the average time consumption of each item adjust the queue to for all the scheduled items as well as the benefit, pg. 4, par. 17 selecting the next item and utilizing a push queuing scheme to, pg. 4, par. 5-6 calculates the time values in real time based on average time and number of people, pg. 10, par. 4 for example of determining a completion time for al queued items which determines an end time and maximum profit (i.e. first order item)).
after the iteration, obtaining the completion time for all the other items according to the completion time for the predetermined-order items (see; pg. 12, par. 3 of Zhang teaches determining a completion time for each examination (items) and adjust and re-optimize the queue and the average check time based as well as in queue patients, additionally pg. 15, par. 10-13 providing a start and end time for each person entering the queue, based on the average time consumption of each item adjust the queue to for all the scheduled items as well as the benefit, pg. 12, par. 3 where the determination based on adjustment and re-optimization of the queue and adjust to actual situation including availability of equipment (i.e. items for use), pg. 15, par. 4-9 and par. 15 this capture of the queue is done in real time (i.e. iteratively) and monitors the number of people queued and not queued (i.e. about to be added or increased people),).
Referring to Claim 5, see discussion of claim 3 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang further disclose a method having the limitations of:
obtaining a movement distance between the first-order item and the next-order item to the first-order item (see; pg. 5, par. 14 of Zhang teaches generating a new queuing scheme in order to provide services to maximize profit).
obtaining movement speed data of a user, and obtaining a movement time of the user according to a ratio between the movement distance and the movement speed data (see; pg. 5, par. 12 of Zhang teaches determining an average time to move a person in the queue).
obtaining the completion time for the first-order item according to the movement time of the user, the number of the current queueing people for the first-order item and the unit execution time for the first-order item (see; pg. 5, par. 12-14 of Zhang teaches determining an end time related to profit (i.e. first order item) based on an average time to complete the exams of the patients).
Referring to Claim 6, see discussion of claim 3 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang further disclose a method having the limitations of:
obtaining a total number of people executing the next-order item according to the number of the current queuing people and the number of the increased queuing people for the next-order item (see; pg. 5, par. 13 of Zhang teaches determining queuing and non-queued people and what services they need end the average profit (i.e. order item)).
obtaining a waiting time for the next-order item according to the total number of people executing the next-order item and the unit execution time for the next-order item (see; pg. 5, par. 13 of Zhang teaches determining queuing and non-queued people and what services they need end the average profit (i.e. order item), this takes into account determining of the waiting time according to the number of people in the queue using allowable wait time).
obtaining the completion time for the next-order item according to the waiting time for the next-order item, the completion time for the current-order item and the unit execution time for the next-order item (see; pg. 12, par. 2-3 of Zhang teaches taking waiting time to get to the next appointment (i.e. current time), pg. 5, par. 14 as well as completion time).
Referring to Claim 7, see discussion of claim 6 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang further disclose a method having the limitations of:
obtaining the completion time for the next-order item according to the waiting time for the next-order item, the completion time for the current-order item and the unit execution time for the next-order item when a sum of the waiting time for the next-order item and the unit execution time for the next-order item is greater than or equal to the completion time for the current first-order item (see; pg. 12, par. 2-3 of Zhang teaches taking waiting time to get to the next appointment (i.e. current time), pg. 5, par. 14 as well as completion time), and adding wait times to determine completing and constantly adjust and re-optimization of the queue).
taking the unit execution time for the next-order item as the completion time for the next-order item when the sum of the waiting time for the next-order item and the unit execution time for the next-order item is smaller than the completion time for the current- order item (see; pg. 12, par. 2-3 of Zhang teaches taking waiting time to get to the next appointment (i.e. current time), pg. 5, par. 14 as well as completion time, and adding wait times to determine completing and constantly adjust and re-optimization of the queue, where re-queuing and adjusting using and queuing scheme is created).
Referring to Claim 8, see discussion of claim 6 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang further disclose a method having the limitations of:
determining, from the unordered item, the order item after the next-order item, and obtaining a movement distance between the next-order item and the order item after the next- order item; (see; pg. 5, par. 13 of Zhang teaches determining where to change queue of the items based on average time and using profit as an item (i.e. order item)).
obtaining movement speed data of a user, and obtaining a movement time of the user according to a ratio between the movement distance and the movement speed data (see; pg. 12, par. 2-3 of Zhang teaches taking waiting time to get to the next appointment (i.e. current time), pg. 5, par. 14 as well as completion time which is viewed as the speed of taking action of the queue).
obtaining the completion time for the next-order item according to the movement time of the user, the waiting time for the next-order item, the completion time for the current-order item and the unit execution time for the next-order item (see; pg. 12, par. 2-3 of Zhang teaches taking waiting time to get to the next appointment (i.e. current time), pg. 5, par. 14 as well as completion time which is viewed as the speed of taking action of the queue, pg. 12, par. 3 specifically determining a re-optimization and adjustment (i.e. iteration) on tasks to be completed by the doctor, pg. 15, par. 10-13 providing a start and end time for each person entering the queue, based on the average time consumption of each item adjust the queue to for all the scheduled items as well as the benefit).
Referring to Claim 9, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang further disclose a method having the limitations of:
obtaining historical data of increased users within a plurality of unit time periods, and determining a number of the increased users within the completion time for the first-order item according to the historical data (see; pg. 5, par. 13 of Zhang teaches using obtained average data (i.e. historical) and based on start and end time in order to target users, pg. 12, par. 3 adjust and re-optimize in real time).
determining the number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the completion time for the first-order item according to the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first-order item (see; pg. 12, par. 2 – par. 3 of Zhang teaches identifying patient in real time using the average time, pg. 5, par. 13 determining an end time, based on pg. 15, par. 4-9 and par. 15 a capture of the queue is done in real time (i.e. iteratively) and monitors the number of people queued and not queued (i.e. about to be added or increased people)).
Referring to Claim 10, see discussion of claim 9 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang further disclose a method having the limitations of:
obtaining a collection period for the historical data (see; pg. 5, par. 13 of Zhang teaches using obtained average data (i.e. historical) and based on start and end time in order to target users).
obtaining the historical data of the increased users within the unit time period of corresponding time points in each collection period according to the collection period for the historical data (see; pg. 5, par. 13 of Zhang teaches using obtained average data (i.e. historical) and based on start and end time in order to target users, pg. 12, par. 3 adjust and re-optimize in real time which is a continuous amount of time periods).
Referring to Claim 11, see discussion of claim 9 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang further disclose a method having the limitations of:
randomly obtaining the historical data of the increased users within the plurality of unit time periods (see; pg. 17, par. 9 of Zhang teaches using average time data (i.e. historical data) to generate a queue using existing queued user and un-queued users (i.e. increased users)).
Referring to Claim 12, see discussion of claim 9 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of, however,
Isert teaches determining a distribution parameter in the first probability distribution according to the historical data, and determining a number of the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item (see; par. [0031] of Isert teaches historical data is used as part of a probability distribution a determination of service time of a patient to get seen by doctors during different time periods including the end of the appointment, to complete necessary tests (i.e. firs order item)), and
determining the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first- order item according to the distribution parameter and the number of the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item (see; par. [0031] of Isert teaches historical data is used as part of a probability distribution a determination of service time of a patient to get seen by doctors during different time periods including the end of the appointment and making modifications as necessary to complete necessary tests (i.e. firs order item).
The Examiner notes that Zhang teaches similar to the instant application teaches queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience. Specifically, Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Isert teaches facilitating automatic arrangement of activities of users using a queuing process and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience. However, Zhang fails to disclose determining a distribution parameter in the first probability distribution according to the historical data, and determining a number of the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item and determining the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first- order item according to the distribution parameter and the number of the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item.
Isert discloses determining a distribution parameter in the first probability distribution according to the historical data, and determining a number of the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item and determining the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first- order item according to the distribution parameter and the number of the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Zhang determining a distribution parameter in the first probability distribution according to the historical data, and determining a number of the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item and determining the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first- order item according to the distribution parameter and the number of the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item as taught by Isert since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Zhang and Isert teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to manage queuing processes and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 13, see discussion of claim 12 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of, however,
Isert teaches determining the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first- order item based on the first probability distribution according to the distribution parameter and the number of the unit time periods, when the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item are all integral unit time periods (see; par. [0031] of Isert teaches determine a queue based on a probability distribution based on time windows and further probabilities are analyzed to understand the ETA (i.e. integral unit time)), and
determining a second probability distribution obeyed by the incomplete unit time period according to the first probability distribution obeyed by the integral unit time period, when the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item comprises the integral unit time period and an incomplete unit time period (see; par. [0031] of Isert teaches multiple different probabilities determining updates to a time of arrival (i.e. time periods) as time passes and the situation updates), and
determining a first number of the increased users within the integral unit time period based on the first probability distribution according to the distribution parameter and the number of the integral unit time periods (see; par. [0031] of Isert teaches multiplying the number of people ahead of the average time, par. [0007] updating based on late arrivals (i.e. increase patients from unexpected situation)), and
determining a second number of the increased users within the incomplete unit time period based on the second probability distribution according to the distribution parameter (see; par. [0007] of Isert teaches based on late arrival data, par. [0031] adjusting the expected arrival and updating based on the probability that is updated further based on ongoing time factors), and
determining the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first- order item according to the first number of the increased users and the second number of the increased users (see; par. [0031] of Isert teaches with the passage of time updating and changing queues in order to identify the best way to handle the additional patients and determine the total time (i.e. completion time)).
The Examiner notes that Zhang teaches similar to the instant application teaches queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience. Specifically, Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Isert teaches facilitating automatic arrangement of activities of users using a queuing process and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience. However, Zhang fails to disclose determining the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first- order item based on the first probability distribution according to the distribution parameter and the number of the unit time periods, when the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item are all integral unit time periods, determining a second probability distribution obeyed by the incomplete unit time period according to the first probability distribution obeyed by the integral unit time period, when the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item comprises the integral unit time period and an incomplete unit time period, determining a first number of the increased users within the integral unit time period based on the first probability distribution according to the distribution parameter and the number of the integral unit time periods, determining a second number of the increased users within the incomplete unit time period based on the second probability distribution according to the distribution parameter, and determining the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first- order item according to the first number of the increased users and the second number of the increased users.
Isert discloses determining the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first- order item based on the first probability distribution according to the distribution parameter and the number of the unit time periods, when the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item are all integral unit time periods, determining a second probability distribution obeyed by the incomplete unit time period according to the first probability distribution obeyed by the integral unit time period, when the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item comprises the integral unit time period and an incomplete unit time period, determining a first number of the increased users within the integral unit time period based on the first probability distribution according to the distribution parameter and the number of the integral unit time periods, determining a second number of the increased users within the incomplete unit time period based on the second probability distribution according to the distribution parameter, and determining the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first- order item according to the first number of the increased users and the second number of the increased users.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Zhang determining the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first- order item based on the first probability distribution according to the distribution parameter and the number of the unit time periods, when the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item are all integral unit time periods, determining a second probability distribution obeyed by the incomplete unit time period according to the first probability distribution obeyed by the integral unit time period, when the unit time periods within the completion time for the first-order item comprises the integral unit time period and an incomplete unit time period, determining a first number of the increased users within the integral unit time period based on the first probability distribution according to the distribution parameter and the number of the integral unit time periods, determining a second number of the increased users within the incomplete unit time period based on the second probability distribution according to the distribution parameter, and determining the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first- order item according to the first number of the increased users and the second number of the increased users as taught by Isert since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Zhang and Isert teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to manage queuing processes and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 14, see discussion of claim 13 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao t teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of, however,
Isert teaches determining an expected value of the first number of the increased users based on first probability distribution according to the distribution parameter and the number of the integral unit time periods (see; par. [0031] of Isert teaches with the passage of time updating (i.e. integral unit time periods) and changing queues in order to identify the best way to handle the additional patients and determine the total time (i.e. completion time) and taking into account discrete time units), and
using the expected value of the first number of the increased users as the first number of the increased users for the integral unit time period within the completion time for the first- order item (see; par. [0031] of Isert teaches based on discrete time units, taking into account each additional patient and determine based on ETA the probability of finishing at different times in completing all the assigned tasks).
The Examiner notes that Zhang teaches similar to the instant application teaches queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience. Specifically, Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Isert teaches facilitating automatic arrangement of activities of users using a queuing process and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience. However, Zhang fails to disclose determining an expected value of the first number of the increased users based on first probability distribution according to the distribution parameter and the number of the integral unit time periods, and using the expected value of the first number of the increased users as the first number of the increased users for the integral unit time period within the completion time for the first- order item.
Isert discloses determining an expected value of the first number of the increased users based on first probability distribution according to the distribution parameter and the number of the integral unit time periods, and using the expected value of the first number of the increased users as the first number of the increased users for the integral unit time period within the completion time for the first- order item.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Zhang determining an expected value of the first number of the increased users based on first probability distribution according to the distribution parameter and the number of the integral unit time periods, and using the expected value of the first number of the increased users as the first number of the increased users for the integral unit time period within the completion time for the first- order item as taught by Isert since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Zhang and Isert teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to manage queuing processes and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 15, see discussion of claim 13 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of, however,
Isert teaches determining an expected value of the second number of the increased users based on the second probability distribution according to the distribution parameter (see; par. [0007], and par. [0031] of Isert teaches as people run late an update takes place to the probability of when patients will be seen is updated), and
using the expected value of the second number of the increased users as the second number of the increased users for the incomplete unit time period within the completion time for the first-order item (see; par. [0007] and par. [0031] of Isert teaches taking unkown information and accounting for late patients (i.e. second) set of patients to predict when each of the patients will be checked in and seen).
The Examiner notes that Zhang teaches similar to the instant application teaches queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience. Specifically, Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Isert teaches facilitating automatic arrangement of activities of users using a queuing process and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience. However, Zhang fails to disclose determining an expected value of the second number of the increased users based on the second probability distribution according to the distribution parameter, and using the expected value of the second number of the increased users as the second number of the increased users for the incomplete unit time period within the completion time for the first-order item.
Isert discloses determining an expected value of the second number of the increased users based on the second probability distribution according to the distribution parameter, and using the expected value of the second number of the increased users as the second number of the increased users for the incomplete unit time period within the completion time for the first-order item.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Zhang determining an expected value of the second number of the increased users based on the second probability distribution according to the distribution parameter, and using the expected value of the second number of the increased users as the second number of the increased users for the incomplete unit time period within the completion time for the first-order item as taught by Isert since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Zhang and Isert teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to manage queuing processes and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 18, see discussion of claim 1 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang in view of Isert does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of, however,
Meiri teaches determining the candidate queuing scheme with a least total time as the target queuing scheme (see; par. [0063] of Meiri teaches updating the estimated queue time based on updated queue information).
The Examiner notes that Zhang teaches similar to the instant application teaches queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience. Specifically, Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Isert teaches facilitating automatic arrangement of activities of users using a queuing process and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Additionally, Meiri teaches queue management of selected resources associated with a queue order and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang and Isert which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Zhang and Isert discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience. However, Zhang and Isert fails to disclose determining the candidate queuing scheme with a least total time as the target queuing scheme.
Meiri discloses determining the candidate queuing scheme with a least total time as the target queuing scheme.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Zhang and Isert determining the candidate queuing scheme with a least total time as the target queuing scheme as taught by Meiri since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Zhang, Isert, and Meiri teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to manage queuing processes and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 20, Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches an electronic device. Claim 20 recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 1, Claim 20 is therefore rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 1, except for the following noted exceptions;
a processor; and a memory having one or more programs stored thereon that, when being executed by the one or more processors (see; pg. 8, par. 13 of Zhang teaches a processor and memory).
Referring to Claim 21, Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium. Claim 21 recites the same or similar limitations as those addressed above in claim 1, Claim 21 is therefore rejected for the same reasons as set forth above in claim 1.
Claims 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (CN 110858423 A) (hereafter Zhang) in view of Isert et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2018/0094661 A1) (hereafter Isert) in further view of BEISER et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0191865 A1) (hereafter Beiser) in further view of Miao et al. (U.S. Patent 11,409,983 B2) (hereafter Miao) in further view of MEIRI et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2016/0232468 A1) (hereafter Meiri).
Referring to Claim 16, see discussion of claim 9 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of, however,
Isert teaches obtaining a historical number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the plurality of unit time periods according to the historical data of the increased users, wherein the historical number of the increased queuing people obeys a third probability distribution (see; par. [0031] of Isert teaches using historical data to create a probability distribution that is utilized and adjusted based on procedure time (i.e. 1st, 2nd, 3rd, etc. probability)).
The Examiner notes that Zhang teaches similar to the instant application teaches queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience. Specifically, Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Isert teaches facilitating automatic arrangement of activities of users using a queuing process and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience. However, Zhang fails to disclose obtaining a historical number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the plurality of unit time periods according to the historical data of the increased users, wherein the historical number of the increased queuing people obeys a third probability distribution.
Isert discloses obtaining a historical number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the plurality of unit time periods according to the historical data of the increased users, wherein the historical number of the increased queuing people obeys a third probability distribution.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Zhang the obtaining a historical number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the plurality of unit time periods according to the historical data of the increased users, wherein the historical number of the increased queuing people obeys a third probability distribution as taught by Isert since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Zhang and Isert teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to manage queuing processes and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao does not explicitly disclose the following limitations, however,
Meiri teaches determining a distribution parameter in the third probability distribution according to the historical number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the plurality of unit time periods (see; par. [0061] of Meiri teaches a first, second, and third probability in the form of an average probability), and
determining the number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the completion time for the first-order item according to the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first-order item and the distribution parameter in the third probability distribution (see; par. [0037] of Meiri teaches when a new person is added to the queue is updated based on weight factors, par. [0061] time is updated).
The Examiner notes that Zhang teaches similar to the instant application teaches queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience. Specifically, Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Isert teaches facilitating automatic arrangement of activities of users using a queuing process and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Additionally, Beiser teaches estimating an expected waiting time for a person entering a queue and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang and Isert which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Additionally, Miao teaches dynamically adding facial images into database, electronic devices and media and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang, Isert, and Beiser which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Additionally, Meiri teaches queue management and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang, Isert, Beiser, and Miao which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Zhang, Isert, Beiser, and Miao discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience. However, Zhang, Isert, Beiser, and Miao fails to disclose determining a distribution parameter in the third probability distribution according to the historical number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the plurality of unit time periods and determining the number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the completion time for the first-order item according to the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first-order item and the distribution parameter in the third probability distribution.
Meiri discloses determining a distribution parameter in the third probability distribution according to the historical number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the plurality of unit time periods and determining the number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the completion time for the first-order item according to the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first-order item and the distribution parameter in the third probability distribution.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Zhang, Isert, Beiser, and Miao the determining a distribution parameter in the third probability distribution according to the historical number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the plurality of unit time periods and determining the number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the completion time for the first-order item according to the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first-order item and the distribution parameter in the third probability distribution as taught by Meiri since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Zhang, Isert, Beiser, Miao, and Meiri teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to manage queuing processes and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Referring to Claim 17, see discussion of claim 16 above, while Zhang in view of Isert in further view of Beiser in further view of Miao in further view of Meiri teaches the method for determining the queuing scheme above, Zhang does not explicitly disclose a method having the limitations of, however,
Isert teaches determining an expected value of the number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items according to the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first-order item and the distribution parameter in the third probability distribution (see; par. [0007], and par. [0031] of Isert teaches as people run late and updates take place to the probability of when patients will be seen is updated), and
using the expected value of the number of the increased queuing people as the number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the completion time for the first-order item (see; par. [0007] and par. [0031] of Isert teaches taking unknown information and accounting for late patients (i.e. second increased) set of patients to predict when each of the patients will be checked in and seen).
The Examiner notes that Zhang teaches similar to the instant application teaches queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience. Specifically, Zhang discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience it is therefore viewed as analogous art in the same field of endeavor. Additionally, Isert teaches facilitating automatic arrangement of activities of users using a queuing process and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. Additionally, Meiri teaches queue management of selected resources associated with a queue order and as it is comparable in certain respects to Zhang and Isert which queuing scheme, queuing pushing method to improve the user experience as well as the instant application it is viewed as analogous art and is viewed as reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor. This provides support that it would be obvious to combine the references to provide an obviousness rejection.
Zhang and Isert discloses the generating a queuing scheme in order to handle multiple project situations and manage the queuing to improve the user experience. However, Zhang and Isert fails to disclose determining an expected value of the number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items according to the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first-order item and the distribution parameter in the third probability distribution and using the expected value of the number of the increased queuing people as the number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the completion time for the first-order item.
Meiri discloses determining an expected value of the number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items according to the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first-order item and the distribution parameter in the third probability distribution and using the expected value of the number of the increased queuing people as the number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the completion time for the first-order item.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include in the task management
(system/method/apparatus) of Zhang and Isert the determining an expected value of the number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items according to the number of the increased users within the completion time for the first-order item and the distribution parameter in the third probability distribution and using the expected value of the number of the increased queuing people as the number of the increased queuing people for each of the other items within the completion time for the first-order item as taught by Meiri since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Additionally, Zhang, Isert, and Meiri teach the collecting and analysis of data in order to manage queuing processes and they do not contradict or diminish the other alone or when combined.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sridhar et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0177590 A1) discloses a single select predictive platform model.
Xu et al. (U.S. Patent 11,354,909 B2) discloses an adaptive queue management system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SSS/
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3623
/RUTAO WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3623